Hey!

29 Oct

Happy almost Halloween, everyone! 🙂

My name is Rachel Simon and as for as long as I can remember, I’ve been making up stories. I usually attribute this to the fact I am an only child and was never allowed any pets. I had to make up for it! 😉

I’m a second-year college student, who is majoring in English and Creative Writing. I’ve wanted to be a writer since I was seven years old, but I stopped wanting to write when I realized writers actually have to WRITE to be considered writers! Instead, I’ve floundered around, wondering what I could do that didn’t involve writing, but still involved writers. I may be going to school to get a degree in Creative Writing, but my career goal is to work in a major publishing house (particularly for children’s, middle grade and young adult literature). I don’t know what exactly I want to do in publishing; every day, I change what position I want (editor? sales and marketing? design?).

Currently, I’m fixing up my resume and writing cover letters for the major publishing houses. I’m hoping to get an internship this summer with one of them (crossing fingers) and figure out if its REALLY what I want to do.

I’m also writing my first serious story (or, as lots of people like to call it, my first novel), a retelling of Beauty and the Beast. It takes place in a country where women are equal to men…or something like that. I’m still figuring it out myself. It is a first draft; I’m still “walking around in the dark” so to speak.

In my spare time, I nominate people for the Emerging Leaders program I was in last year, write with the NaNoWriMo participants that I am friends with (although I, myself, am not participating), and I am also in the process of planning my study abroad to Australia for spring 2011. I also do the normal college student things, like complain about homework, actually do said homework, study, go out with my friends and sigh about the lack of guys at my school.

I can’t wait to share everything I learn with all of you and I am really interested to see how my fellow LTWF buddies do throughout the upcoming year. Best of luck with everything!

– Rachel Simon

Currently Reading: Mutant Message Down Under by Marlo Morgan

4 Responses to “Hey!”

  1. Caitlin November 4, 2009 at 2:57 PM #

    Hey Rachel, I don’t know you but I’m excited to read what you have to say on this website. I always found myself put off by the fact that jobs having to do with books generally involve writing, but I’ve gone down a different path (I’m pre-vet). It’s always nice to see someone who’s still in college, like me, b/c most of the time I feel very young or very old when interacting in online writing communities.

    • rachelsimon November 4, 2009 at 5:04 PM #

      Hey Caitlin, it is so great to meet you! Pre-vet sounds amazing; I only wish I had tolerance for doctoral school and sick animals! 🙂 If you’d like to get to know me further, you can friend me on Livejournal (my link is on the side) and I also have a Twitter account (I am friends with SJ Maas). And super YAY for college students!! 🙂 🙂

  2. JackAttack November 6, 2009 at 1:37 PM #

    Hey Rachel,

    Thanks for sending this link to me…it’s great! I love what I’ve been reading so far and I’m bookmarking it!

    Crazy thing: I was reading this and, at a part that made me giggle, I thought I heard your laugh in the hallway. I’m pretty sure that I did. I actually just waved at you and you completely ignored me haha.

    Anyway, I’ll be looking at this from time to time (when I have time) and I can’t wait to see how it grows!

    -Jackie

    • rachelsimon November 6, 2009 at 2:01 PM #

      You mean…I missed a Jackie sighting?? Boo!

      I am glad you like this website. Its something I wasn’t originally a part of and I was really eager to watch from a bystander’s POV and just read. 🙂 Now I’m part of it which makes it crazier.

      Thanks for stopping by!

Comments are closed.

