The Call

2 Nov

By Mandy Hubbard

~

Hello All! Welcome to the official launch of the Let the Words Flow blog!

I am oh-so-honored to be able to post the first official entry. And I decided to start things off with a bang, because this entry is all about getting THE CALL. What better way to start a blog about the journey to publication than to talk about the moment it all happens?

The Call is so important that it needs no other name. Just The Call. If you’ve ever dreamed of being published then you’ve probably dreamt of what it would be like to hear someone telling you they want to publish your book. For most people, this call comes from their agent. And the second you see your agent’s phone number pop up on caller ID, your heart will race.

A few things are guaranteed to happen: You’ll feel trembly (is that a word?) and short of breath and you will speak in incoherent babble. You won’t remember any of the questions you once planned to ask, and the most intelligent things you’ll say are: cool; uh-huh; awesome.  Your agent will tell you who is interested, how much they want to pay, and for how many books. The details don’t matter, because you’d sell your book for a Big Mac and a carwash token.  You may burst into tears, or those may come later, at some random point in time. Like driving your car to work the next day. (Ahem. That totally didn’t happen to me. That was just an example. NO really! I swear!)

Your agent, on the other hand, will be cool as ice, calmly explaining the details as if it’s a grocery list and not a book deal. She’ll promise to email you the details, because she’ll know you won’t remember any of them.

The Call is guaranteed to multiply into several calls: the one where you call your significant other, who will be very excited for you but who might not totally get how epic this is, and then the one to your critique partner(s) who will probably burst into tears with you because they really do get how epic this is, and the ones where you call your best friend, your mother, and your ex-boyfriend. (Wait, what? I swear I didn’t do that last one.)

In other words? The Call is totally worth everything that came before it—the rejection, the revision, the rewriting, the despair.

So, there you have it! I hope you enjoyed the first post, and we look forward to discussing all aspects of the publishing journey with you! We’ll be posting individual posts (like this one) twice a week, and a group question of the week (in which we’ll welcome questions from you guys too!) every Friday.

~~~

Prada & Prejudice, a novel for teens, is now in stores!

www.mandyhubbard.com

10 Responses to “The Call”

  1. Savannah November 2, 2009 at 11:02 AM #

    Hi Mandy! Congratulations on your first article! I’m so happy for you that you got THE CALL… I guess there’s two kinds of calls though, one for a publisher and one for your agent. I remember my agent THE CALL… I took it in the conference room of my work, lol.

  2. sarahjmaas November 2, 2009 at 11:11 AM #

    Really great post, Mandy!!! I vividly remember The Call that occurred when my agent phoned me to offer representation…It was exactly as you described:

    “You’ll feel trembly…and short of breath and you will speak in incoherent babble. You won’t remember any of the questions you once planned to ask, and the most intelligent things you’ll say are: cool; uh-huh; awesome. ”

    Haha, that’s so accurate. Anyway, I can only imagine how amazing it’ll be when she actually makes THE Call to me! Your vlog entry about The Call still makes me teary-eyed. 🙂

  3. Alexandra Shostak November 2, 2009 at 11:48 AM #

    What a great way to start off the blog! 🙂

  4. junebugger November 2, 2009 at 12:59 PM #

    This is AWSOME! Oh man I am so excited right now to start querying. What an encouraging, inspiring article! Thank you!

  5. sara November 2, 2009 at 3:37 PM #

    Love the post – and love the new blog! Can’t wait to read more 🙂

  6. Jennifer Jabaley November 2, 2009 at 5:14 PM #

    congrats on your new blog!

  7. Schneider November 2, 2009 at 6:25 PM #

    Haha, great post Mandy! It has me even more excited for The Call now! 🙂

  8. rachelsimon November 3, 2009 at 7:18 AM #

    What a wonderful way to kick off our first blog, Mandy. 🙂 You ROCK.

  9. Zerolr November 3, 2009 at 9:55 AM #

    *sniffles*

    What a beautiful post! I’m really far from having anything to publish… I keep putting it off… But I hope to reach that point one day…

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Process of Making A Book « Let The Words Flow - December 16, 2009

    […] my first blog post, I talked about what it’s like to get “the call” that your work is going to be […]

Comments are closed.

