Ask the Audience!

14 Dec

December sure is a busy time of year, especially for young writers. All we ever say to each other at Let The Words Flow anymore is, ‘Sorry, can’t participate right now; finals!’

The good news is that finals will be over soon and we can go back to our regular posting schedule when everyone has a little more time on their hands. Until then, here’s another Ask the Audience:

What is your favorite quote about writing, and why?

PS: If you don’t know any, I recommend www.quotegarden.com. Just go there and type in ‘writing’ into the search box; it’s a lovely way to get inspired.

See you on Wednesday!

32 Responses to “Ask the Audience!”

  1. svonnah December 14, 2009 at 8:09 AM #

    My favorite quote is “If there is a book you really want to read, but it hasn’t been written, then you must write it” by Toni Morrison.

    That’s what writing is really about, to me; entertaining the self, and others by extension.

    • Sandy Shin December 14, 2009 at 10:10 AM #

      I love love this quote as well. It’s definitely one of my favorites. Sharp, succinct, and very much true.

  2. Samantha December 14, 2009 at 8:21 AM #

    My favourite is

    “I must Create a System or be enslaves by another Man’s; I will not Reason and Compare. My business is to Create”
    – William Blake

    It goes to show, your business is to Create, not to compare.

    Cheers! 🙂

    • svonnah December 15, 2009 at 7:54 AM #

      Everyone can use this advice at some point in their life.

  3. Alexandra Shostak December 14, 2009 at 8:40 AM #

    I don’t know where this quote came from, but I hear it everywhere:

    “You can’t fix a blank page.”

    And then of course, any quote that has to do with never, ever giving up is also my favorite.

    • svonnah December 14, 2009 at 5:02 PM #

      Haha, I’ve been thinking about that quote a LOT lately.

  4. Kayleigh December 14, 2009 at 8:44 AM #

    I don’t know anything but the simplest rules of English grammar, and I seldom consciously apply them. Nevertheless, I instinctively write correctly and, I like to think, in an interesting fashion. I know when something sounds right and when it doesn’t, and I can tell the difference without hesitation, even when writing at breakneck speed. How do I do this? I haven’t the faintest idea.

    -Isaac Asimov

    • svonnah December 14, 2009 at 5:03 PM #

      I swear I’ve had that same thought every now and then. Great quote!

  5. A. Laska December 14, 2009 at 9:29 AM #

    This is more about writers & I wouldn’t say favorite but…

    “A person is a fool to become a writer. His only compensation is absolute freedom. He has no master except his own soul, and that, I am sure, is why he does it”
    — Roald Dahl

    and thanks for the quotation website, it’s gold! 😀

  6. A. Laska December 14, 2009 at 9:46 AM #

    I love quotations. I can’t resist posting another one (about writing this time!)

    “Anyone moderately familiar with the rigors of composition will not need to be told the story in detail; how he wrote and it seemed good; read and it seemed vile; corrected and tore up; cut out; put in; was in ecstasy; in despair; had his good nights and bad mornings; snatched at ideas and lost them; saw his book plain before him and it vanished; acted his people’s parts as he ate; mouthed them as he walked; now cried; now laughed; vacillated between this style and that; now preferred the heroic and pompous; next the plain and simple; now the vales of Tempe; then the fields of Kent or Cornwall; and could not decide whether he was the divinest genius or the greatest fool in the world.”
    ~Virginia Woolf, ORLANDO

    • Sarah J. Maas December 15, 2009 at 8:01 AM #

      This is one of my favorite writing quotes EVER. When I read ORLANDO and came across this quote, I cried. I then immediately wrote it down and return to it ever so often. 🙂 Glad to know another person loves this quote!!!

  7. S.J. December 14, 2009 at 11:15 AM #

    “Don’t worry about being silly or outrageous or wrong.” – Ursula LeGuin

    • svonnah December 14, 2009 at 5:03 PM #

      I think I’ve seen you mention that quote before 🙂 Great advice.

  8. A. Barone December 14, 2009 at 11:22 AM #

    “You can’t wait for inspiration, you have to go after it with a club.” ~Jack London.

    I heard this quote in my Grade 12 Writer’s Craft class and I have been attatcd ti it ever since. ^_^

    • A. Laska December 15, 2009 at 10:26 AM #

      Lolol, and with good reason. I love this!

  9. Sandy Shin December 14, 2009 at 1:08 PM #

    My favorite writing quote is the one Savannah posted earlier. But here’s my second favorite:

    “people have writer’s block not because they can’t write, but because they despair of writing eloquently.” — anna quindlen

    • svonnah December 14, 2009 at 5:04 PM #

      Sad and true.

  10. Marina December 14, 2009 at 1:54 PM #

    “When stuff in life gets really rough, I would just die if I was not writing a novel. Once you think it up, it’s like a whole other city with a little door and every time you sit down to write you just open the door and there you are—a wonderful vacation for two hours.” –Lee Smith

    I think this says very well how all writers feel, writing something is essentially leaving reality if only for awhile and it always helps me relax.

    • Kayleigh December 14, 2009 at 3:13 PM #

      This is why I was so happy last night, even though my homework was half-done and I knew I wasn’t going to get much sleep–I’d written 1300 words and that was all I needed.

    • svonnah December 14, 2009 at 5:04 PM #

      That is so exactly true.

  11. Rhiannon December 14, 2009 at 8:07 PM #

    “I love deadlines. I love the whooshing sound they make as they go by.” Douglas Adams.

    😀

    • Cassandra December 14, 2009 at 10:58 PM #

      Heh! I’ve always loved this quote.Douglas Adams is also an amazing writer!!

  12. Ninja Fanpire December 14, 2009 at 8:45 PM #

    “If you would not be forgotten as soon as you are dead and rotten, either write something worth reading or do things worth the writing.” – Benjamin Franklin

    It’s just such a true and great quote! I have considered getting it tattooed on my hands.

  13. Landon December 14, 2009 at 8:55 PM #

    “Don’t stop writing–or reading. It will keep you free. It will keep your mind and heart open, and it will be a refuge when the world is too big, or too small, too cruel and without understanding. Even if you think your idea is stupid, or that people won’t care–just keep writing. Write for yourself–write what you want, not what you think other people want to read. Find love in your writing, and don’t be afraid when you find that it has become a mirror of yourself–and perhaps the reflection is not very pleasing.

    “People will always be petty, and they will always have something nasty to say to you–whether about your writing, or about yourself. There are only two things to do: write them into the story and kill them off in a terrible way (which I have done multiple times), or ignore and embrace it. I’m afraid the latter is much harder, and I have received many scathing reviews that have left me shaken and in tears. But that’s life, and there will never be a shortage of people who suck.”
    -Sarah Maas

    It kind of sums up everything about everything, I think.

    • svonnah December 15, 2009 at 6:41 AM #

      Haha, I love it!

    • Sarah J. Maas December 15, 2009 at 8:00 AM #

      Awww!!!! Thank you!!!!!!! I’m so honored!!!

  14. Cassandra December 14, 2009 at 10:57 PM #

    I’m a quote whore.

    I adore quotes to no end. I will spend hours looking for a perfect quote . . . all while copying and pasting other quotes that don’t REALLY have to do with what I’m writing, but I figure I will fit it in somewhere, perhaps. It’s one of my ways I procrastinate!

    One I always find funny: “Writing is a socially acceptable form of schizophrenia.” E.L. Doctorow

    Also: “The difference between fiction and reality? Fiction has to make sense.” Tom Clancy

    • svonnah December 15, 2009 at 5:36 AM #

      I’m a quote whore too, lol.

  15. Jeannine Kinsey December 15, 2009 at 8:40 AM #

    “I try to leave out the parts that people skip.” ~Elmore Leonard

    This one is my favorite. I remind myself of it all the time while writing, because there is nothing worse than reading a book and skipping through a dull section.

    • svonnah December 15, 2009 at 1:24 PM #

      I think about this one all the time, too! It’s actually helped me a lot.

  16. Schneider December 16, 2009 at 7:41 PM #

    Oh man, there are so many great writing quotes–but I love these three:

    “There’s nothing to writing. All you do is sit down at a typewriter and open a vein.”
    -Walter “Red” Smith

    “How vain it is to sit down to write when you have not stood up to live.”
    -Henry David Thoreau

    “As for my next book, I am going to hold myself from writing it till I have it impending in me: grown heavy in my mind like a ripe pear; pendant, gravid, asking to be cut or it will fall.”
    -Virginia Woolf

    I just love these quotes. <D

  17. Joan June 3, 2010 at 12:03 PM #

    “To sum it all up, if you want to write, if you want to create, you must be the most sublime fool that God ever turned out and sent rambling. You must write every single day of your life. You must write dreadful dumb books and glorious books, and let them wrestle in beautiful fights inside your head, vulgar one moment, brilliant the next. You must lurk in libraries and climb the stacks like ladders to sniff books like perfume and wear books like hats upon your crazy heads. I wish for you a wrestling match with your Creative Muse that will last a lifetime. I wish craziness and foolishness and madness upon you. May you live with hysteria, and out of it make fine stories — science fiction or otherwise. Which means, may you be in love every day for the next 20,000 days. And out of that love, remake a world.”

    Ray Bradbury

Comments are closed.

