Question of the Week: What’s Your New Year’s Resolution?

8 Jan

So first of all, a huuuge thank-you to everyone who subscribed to our YouTube channel! We’re so excited to start vlogging on a regular basis, so definitely keep your eyes peeled for new vlog entries!

Secondly, in honor of the New Year, we’re keeping our QotW pretty simple this week: “What’s Your New Year’s Resolution?”

~~~

I posted my New Year’s resolutions here on my livejournal.

-The Other Writer Waiting on Submissions

~~~~~~

Become an agent. 🙂 That means continue interning and absorb everything I can, and pursue any opportunities with established agencies.

-The Writer With A Book On Shelves

~~~~~~

My New Year’s Resolution would be to discipline myself as a writer. This means to write at least an hour a day rather than staring at the screen, complaining that I cannot write because I lack inspiration to do so.

-The Writer Who Got Two Partial Requests

~~~~~~

I posted the complete list of my New Year’s Resolutions here, but if I were to pick one above all others (even though it’s a bit out of my control), it would be to sell one of my books. Maybe it’s bad luck to announce to the world that it’s my No. 1 goal. *wince*

-The Writer Who’s Waiting on Submissions

~~~

Now, we want to know: what are your resolutions?

Thanks for stopping by–be sure to check back on Monday for Lynn Heitkamp’s post! Have a great weekend, everyone!

~~~

If you want to submit a question, please click on the Ask A Question of the Week link above. We mostly go in order, and after we answer your question, we reply to you with a link to our responses. 🙂

7 Responses to “Question of the Week: What’s Your New Year’s Resolution?”

  1. Bookflower January 8, 2010 at 5:42 PM #

    Hmm… New Year’s resolutions. Well, I won’t bore you with the academic ones, but apart from those, I want to edit my first ever novel, which I wrote (in very rough draft) last year, and I want to write another complete novel. I’ve proved to myself that it is possible, so now I need practice! I’ve no ideas yet, so I guess I’d better start thinking…

  2. Angela January 8, 2010 at 11:49 PM #

    Those are great resolutions. I’m sure you’ll have no problem fulfilling them all.

    I just made a list of things I want to fulfill this year, but I don’t want to bore you with the 11 things I came up with. Some of them just including studying, being more disciplined, and writing everyday.

  3. Samantha January 9, 2010 at 4:55 AM #

    Blah blah blah

    My dad makes us all sit down to tell everyone our resolution; a painful process I assure you but for some reason, this year, I came up with a list.

    Just one:

    Finish my first novel, Berserker by this year 🙂

  4. Julie E January 9, 2010 at 7:15 AM #

    well, the top resolution on my list is “find the best agent for me and my work and get my novel published.”

    but since writing is my number one priority, and searching for an agent is a pretty dreadful process, here are my others:

    develop a network of supportive friends & helpful critics on fiction press;

    write that book that is slowly developing from a concept to real characters in a real world.

    revitalize my two internet writing projects (vlog & blog)

    GAK! that looks like a daunting list of tasks!

    =)

  5. Rowenna January 9, 2010 at 7:43 AM #

    Well, my resolutions are always boring (I wrote in more detail on my blog about this): this year it’s to send birthday cards to my family. Yes, dull. But I know I can actually do it!

    My unofficial writing goals are to find an agent (resolution would be to keep querying until I’ve exhausted options or land an agent) and to finish WIP.

  6. Crissy Rose January 10, 2010 at 1:10 PM #

    Mine is to be less judgmental of things right off the bat; in other words, I want to be more open to new people, experiences, etc.

    I’m new to this blog, so I’m not sure if you’ve done something along these lines yet, but I have a suggestion:

    Why don’t you guys do an article specifically on Fantasy writing? Tips, suggestions, books that helped you (I know Sarah J. Maas did something to this effect on her blog). It seems like the majority of the contributors on this site are Fantasy writers, or have dabbled in Fantasy at some point, and being a lover of Fantasy, myself, I’d love to hear some of your insights on it. :]

    It seems to be one of the most difficult genres to write, seeing as you essentially have to create your own world (or your own spin-off of the already existing one).

    Looking forward to the next post!

    • Iani January 12, 2010 at 6:37 PM #

      yes, I agree. it would be really interesting if you wrote an article on Fantasy writing!

Comments are closed.

