Vlog: Savannah J. Foley on Writers Not Writing

20 Jan
7 Responses to “Vlog: Savannah J. Foley on Writers Not Writing”

  1. Gabby January 20, 2010 at 3:22 PM #

    I don’t so much worry about running out of inspiration – I have at least ten different story ideas right now and growing – as I do about never actually getting any of my stories written. I just can’t seem to get what’s in my head on paper.

  2. Rowenna January 20, 2010 at 5:02 PM #

    Thanks for sharing this! I keep reminding myself that write is a verb, an action, so a writer is someone who performs that action–it keeps me focused on moving forward when I start to get panicky–just keep doing, I tell myself (sometimes through gritted teeth…). Still, I hear on you inspiration. A huge hurdlefor me has been how hard it was to get into book two. I had my idea, I still think it’s a good one, but I wasn’t as attached emotionally. I wasn’t as psyched about any but a few scenes, I wasn’t as deep in the characters’ heads, but I made myself keep sludging into it, and a weird thing happened. I got excited about scenes I didn’t give a fig about before and the characters started to come to life. I think I have to write to get into it, not get into it to write–contrary, isn’t it? Best of luck as you move Antebellum further toward publication, and as you begin to pull your new project into reality.

    • junebugger January 21, 2010 at 7:21 PM #

      *Sniffles* I hope I’ll be able to follow after your footsteps–be that kind of writer who will find inspiration once she gets rolling.

  3. Kym McNabney January 21, 2010 at 10:51 AM #

    Thanks for sharing. Very inspiring. You can check out my blog at, http://kymmcnabney.blogspot.com/.

    Yikes, I should be writing! Thanks again for the kick in the right direction.

  4. junebugger January 21, 2010 at 7:27 PM #

    Oh Savannah,

    You Vlog was just what I needed today. I thought I was going to cry listening to you–especially in the beginning when you mentioned what that other writers said–that we are not a writer unless we write. I’ve been going through an on and off phase–wanting to start a new novel, trying, searching for inspiration with a club, but finding none, and ending up curled up on my bed in tears. It’s so frustrating. But I DID tear up by the end of your video when you said we need to stop panicing, and sometimes it’s ok to wait for inspirating.

    I thought I was the only one going through this! I had NO idea that you hadn’t been writing for two years. I thought there was something wrong with me as a writer..honestly.

    I really really hope everything will go well with you new story! If you can get through it, not writing for two years, and starting up again–I guess I’m not so without hope.

    • Savannah J. Foley January 22, 2010 at 8:56 AM #

      Oh my goodness, not writing just sucks. I know exactly how you feel. I’m still totally scared I’ll never truly write again, so I decided I have to be a big girl and just make myself, even if I don’t like it. I’m so sorry you’re going through the same thing, and I hope we both come out of it back on top!

  5. Didi January 25, 2010 at 10:41 AM #

    Oh. My. God. This is EXACTLY what happened to me! And Junebugger, I know how you feel with the curling up in bed and soaking the pillows. I’m tired of airing my pillows out now…heh…
    It scares me this whole “not writing” phase. I grew up believing my true vocation was writing, and if I’m not writing, then WHAT AM I DOING HERE?! And I totally get you Savannah when you talk about all these things piling up– you know, life getting in the way. A job, a fiance, freelance work, ad-hoc hobbies (e.g. photography)…I know it’s a cop-out. And I’m completely frustrated with myself, and my brain.
    Thanks for letting me know not to panic Savannah– and that I’m not alone. More than anything, I’m thankful for that, just knowing I’m not the only writer experiencing this.
    I wish all writers in our shoes the very best.
    In the meantime, let’s just take a deep breath and chant ‘Ommmm…’
    p/s: Great video hun. And it’s awesome matching voice to your prose / story 😀

Comments are closed.

