Question of the Week: Theme Songs

29 Jan

Music has been a hot topic for the LTWF team this week, so we figured we should have a relevant QotW! So, today, our question is:

If you had to pick one “theme song” for your novel, what would it be?

~~~

My current WIP was inspired by the song “Supergirl” by Saving Jane. But the novel I just completed (my first one yet!) was inspired by the ENTIRE movie soundtrack of ELIZABETH: THE GOLDEN AGE. It’s really hard for me to choose a song from that album that perfectly fits the novel, but this song and this song heavily helped me write the novel.

The Writer Who Just Finished Her First Novel

~~~~~~

It’s impossible for me to pinpoint “theme song” for QUEEN OF GLASS, though the entire series sprang up from listening to the first 60 seconds of this piece of music from Disney’s CINDERELLLA soundtrack. A COURT OF THORNS AND ROSES bloomed before my eyes after listening to “The Demon God” track from the PRINCESS MONONOKE score–I heard it, and instantly knew how the book would begin, and what the tone would be.

HADES is the only book of mine with a theme song. I think “Viva La Vida” by Coldplay fits it perfectly–especially the lyrics.

The Writer Waiting On Submissions

~~~~~~

I would pick Vivaldi’s ‘Winter’ (movement 1 Allegro non molto) for my historical romance, THE RUNAWAY COURTESAN. When I began writing TRC two years ago, this piece was in my playlist, and though I’ve removed and added new songs to my list, ‘Winter’ has always remained. And it was actually this piece I was listening to while writing an outline for my book. Each note in ‘Winter’ struck a chord in my heart, flashed scenes before my eyes, of a fallen woman lost in the glamorous, yet decadent Regency society. Ahhh! It’s heartbreakingly lovely. There’s something about Vivaldi’s ‘Winter’ that sends a shiver down my spine each time I listen to it.

The Writer Who Got Two Partial Requests

~~~~~~

I haven’t found it yet! The work showcases three points of view, and they’re all quite different, so instead of one song, here are three songs; one for each protagonist. Only Mary’s character “voice” was inspired by music, by the song I chose for her. Ingrid’s and Annie’s songs are ones that remind me of them, but neither character was inspired by any kind of music.

For Ingrid: “Lord Don’t Slow Me Down (Liam on Vocals),” by Oasis.

For Annie: “Hope For The Hopeless,” by A Fine Frenzy

For Mary: (funnily enough) “Ingrid’s Lament,” from Peer Gynt Suite No.2, by Edvard Grieg.

The Brand-New LTWF Contributor!

~~~~~~

My WIP was inspired by “Believe Me Natalie” by The Killers. My most famous work, ANTEBELLUM, would probably be best described by “Be Your Love” by Rachael Yamagata.

The Writer Also Waiting on Submissions

~~~~~~

As you can tell, we have someone NEW on our LTWF team!!! Even though it’s not too hard to figure out, she’ll have her LTWF debut next Wednesday!

4 Responses to “Question of the Week: Theme Songs”

  1. Schneider January 29, 2010 at 9:47 PM #

    H’oh man. For my current WIP, ANASTASIA, I’d definitely say that it’s theme song would be “Once Upon a December, from–you guessed it!–the Anastasia Original Soundtrack. It’s just haunting and beautiful enough to fit. :]

    As for my vampire novel on hiatus… Oddly enough, “Poor Unfortunate Souls,” from The Little Mermaid, particularly piano renditions of it. It really matches the dramatic flair of the story.

    What can I say? I’ve got a Disney fix. =D

  2. priscillashay January 30, 2010 at 5:15 PM #

    hmmm, I don’t know if my WIP (Willful Wisdom) has a definite theme, especially now that I’m rewriting. But, I did play “For You I Will” by Teddy Geiger, “Hurry Up and Save Me” by Tiffany Giardina, and Taylor Swift’s “Love Story” a lot.

    I have songs for the characters, but I don’t know why it didn’t occur to me to have one for the overall story, lol.

  3. Rowenna January 31, 2010 at 6:05 PM #

    Great question…so good I had to answer it on my blog mysefl 🙂 Keep the great inspiration coming, ladies 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Nutcase Updating Blog at 4am « June's Blog - January 31, 2010

    […] My answer to LTWF question of the week: If you had to pick one “theme song” for your novel, what would it be? is being reposted onto […]

Comments are closed.

