Making It Official: New LTWF Contributor!

3 Mar

Hi everyone!

As if it wasn’t obvious enough, what with my picture and bio already having been in the contributor page for a couple of weeks now, we just wanted to make it official: I’m Vanessa Di Gregorio, the new LTWF contributor! I am super excited to be a part of this group of amazing and talented writers, and I hope my experiences on the other side of publishing prove to be useful!

So, I suppose I should tell you a little bit about myself. I apologize in advance if you already know most of this, but bear with me!

I’m twenty-three years old, and the third member of LTWF living in Toronto, Canada. Currently, I have an English Literature degree, and am now enrolled in a Publishing Program. I worked for 5 years at a book wholesaler, selling books to schools and libraries; and it was there that I realized I wanted a career in this industry. Children’s and YA books are my favorites, be they graphic novels, picture books, non-fiction, fiction – I love it all. While I’m not completely sure what I want to be, I do know that I am loving my current intern position at a literary agency called The Rights Factory; where I edit manuscripts, write proposals, read queries/partials/full manuscripts, write rejections, and do some design work (create party invitations, a revised logo, email signatures, etc). I love editing manuscripts, so a career as an editor or agent is something I will probably pursue in the near-future.

I started out writing when I was 12, scribbling over pieces of lined paper. To my great dismay, I still have pages and pages of this as proof, sitting in the bottom of a drawer somewhere in my room (collecting dust, of course). I later moved to fanfiction.net, where I began writing; and after a few years, I then moved onto Fiction Press, although by this point in time, I was writing rather sporadically. Eventually, I decided to leave; so I took my FP account down.

It wasn’t until a year ago that I began to write again (and then, I only wrote a prologue and a couple of chapters). The files were somehow deleted, and it took me quite a few months before I could get over my heartbreak and attempt a rewrite. Currently untitled, it is a YA fantasy set in another world revolving around a young woman named Danae, and her journey into a realm she has only ever read about. A lover of stories and curious by nature, Danae takes a path most of her people do not; she ends up leaving her sheltered life amongst her people to explore new lands, find a lost friend, and discover the truth.

Now, with an internship, a part-time job, and school, I have very little time for writing (let alone for any of my other numerous hobbies, such as drawing, painting, or playing excessive amounts of video games). But at least I write when I can! At this point in time, though, I am happy with editing other people’s manuscripts and helping their work get published. Though I would one day like to be published myself, my main priority is helping other writers with their work. Oh, and trying to land myself a real job. While planning my wedding.

Nice to (officially) be a part of the group!

Vanessa

~

Currently reading: Chuck Palahniuk, Choke
Currently playing: Starcraft 2 beta

11 Responses to “Making It Official: New LTWF Contributor!”

  1. priscillashay March 3, 2010 at 9:51 AM #

    lol, wow, I think you’re also the third member that’s engaged. 🙂

    but, congrats! And hi!

    • svonnah March 3, 2010 at 9:55 AM #

      She totallly is, lol! We’re just at that time in our life, I guess…

    • Vanessa March 3, 2010 at 11:04 PM #

      3 is my lucky number too!!! 😀

  2. Angela March 3, 2010 at 6:59 PM #

    Congrats! I look forward to the awesome articles I know you’ll be posting on LTWF. 🙂

    By the way, what happened to Alexandra Shostak? D:

    • Vanessa March 4, 2010 at 12:20 AM #

      Thanks Angela! I hope to live up to your expectations!

      As for Alexandra, she’s on hiatus at the moment, and is focusing on her writing.

  3. Caitlin March 5, 2010 at 12:34 AM #

    Hey, it’s nice for you to be formally introduces and all, but in addition to a note about what you’re currently reading at the bottom of your post do you think you could indulge us (or maybe just me) and let us know what you’re currently playing as a gamer and all?

    • Vanessa March 5, 2010 at 1:39 AM #

      Oooh, sure thing! (I should’ve thought of that!). I’m a bit behind in my gaming right now (it’s been pretty hectic), but here’s what I’ve been playing recently!

      Right now I’m playing the beta for Starcraft 2. (Yay! Zerg!)

      The last game I played before SC2 was Dragon Age:Origins for the PC… and I am anxiously awaiting the release of Final Fantasy XIII on Tuesday!!!!

  4. gabydasilva March 5, 2010 at 12:21 PM #

    Congrats, Vanessa! I’m indebted to you for telling me of this blog, so I’m really happy for you ^^
    I’m looking forward to read what you post here!

    • Vanessa March 5, 2010 at 6:48 PM #

      Thanks Gaby!!!
      I’m happy that you are liking this blog (and that I was able to get a hold of you after SOO long!)
      😀

  5. Jennifer March 5, 2010 at 1:49 PM #

    Oh, another writer who is a gamer! I frequently run across people who say that games stunt the imagination, so it’s nice to know that I’m not alone. =)
    Congrats on joining the team!

    • Vanessa March 5, 2010 at 6:53 PM #

      I actually thank video games… it’s one of the reasons I love great stories as much as I do!! If it wasn’t for RPG’s as a child, I don’t think I would’ve been as voracious a reader as I am now. The best video games, in my mind, are the ones that have great plots/characters. I have always been the person arguing about the pros of video games!

      I’m happy that I’m not the only gamer/writer out there too!

      And random fact! Random House (BIG publishing house) is actually taking on video games now! (It was just announced a few days ago!). Apparently, instead of just publishing video game books, Random House wants to be a part of the creative process, and help write video games!!! How cool is that? (Now THAT is a dream job! lol)

Comments are closed.

