Vlog: Sarah and Savannah on Revisions

9 Mar

Sarah and Savannah discuss the Revisions process, both pre-agent and post-agent.

~~~

Savannah J. Foley is the author of the Antebellum (originally known as Woman’s World) series on Fictionpress. She has written five novels, owns her own freelance writing company, and is signed with the Bradford Literary Agency. Antebellum is currently out on submissions. Her website is www.savannahjfoley.com, but she updates more frequently on her livejournal.

~~~

Sarah J. Maas is the author of several novels, including QUEEN OF GLASS, a YA fantasy retelling of Cinderella. Her agent currently has her novel on submissions to editors. Sarah resides with her fiancé in Los Angeles. You can visit her blog here.

3 Responses to “Vlog: Sarah and Savannah on Revisions”

  1. Victoria Dixon March 9, 2010 at 3:28 PM #

    Great post! Thanks. I’ve had comments over the years on the occasional purple end of my prose spectrum and I’ve cut so much of it. I don’t want to cut more metaphors as I feel they’re part of me and my style. However, I had one more commentor this morning remark that a few of my descriptions slowed down the flow of his reading. Of course, this is a subjective thing, but I’m really hoping my metaphors won’t stop an agent. If I have to go back through and cut some of the “art” from my artwork, I think I’ll feel like there’s no point in making art, ya know? I’ve killed beloved darling scenes and I recognize why I had to. But these metaphors say so much in one compact sentence, I hate to lose that. Obviously, I’m still trying to justify keeping them. LOL

    • Vanessa March 10, 2010 at 10:31 AM #

      I love the vlogs, guys!

      And Victoria, I totally understand. I have a tendency to be a bit melodramatic in my writing at times; and while I don’t notice it, others are quick to point out that perhaps I should tone it down.

      Of course, a part of me thinks, “but that just IS my writing style”, so it’s really all about compromise. So like you, I hope my style doesn’t turn off any future agents or editors.

  2. Victoria Dixon March 10, 2010 at 1:43 PM #

    Thanks, Vanessa! It’s nice to know I’m not alone. 🙂

Comments are closed.

