BIG NEWS!!!

22 Mar

Okay, so this is pasted from my personal blog, but I just wanted to share the big news with you guys, too!!!

-Sarah

~

So, I’ve been daydreaming about today  for a long, long while.

And by “a long, long while” I mean over eight years.

It’s actually really hard to type right now, mostly because I’m trembling (and maybe crying a little bit), but also because I have no idea how to phrase this other than…

QUEEN OF GLASS WILL BE PUBLISHED BY BLOOMSBURY!

It’s too early to have a release date, but we expect it to be late 2011/early 2012!

I seriously cannot express enough how THRILLED I am right now. Bloomsbury has published so many books that I absolutely adore, and when my agent gave me The Call, I just…well, I’ll show you how I felt.

Yes, show you. Because after I stopped hysterically crying and laughing, I managed to clean myself up and turn on the video camera.

Warning: I’m an emotional person. And I cry in this vlog. A lot. But this was how I felt immediately after receiving The Call. No retakes, no edits. This is just me, literally processing everything.

In case you don’t have time to watch, I just wanted to quickly thank some people–without whom I wouldn’t be here today. (Please bare with me for all of this…I’ve been dreaming of this moment for a while, and might not get a chance to do this again)

To my parents, thank you for reading me fairy-tales, and never telling me that it was unrealistic to believe in them. To my brother, Aaron–thank you for enduring a big sister who often kicked you out of her room to write. To my friends: thank you for understanding that some nights, I couldn’t go out, but forcing me to go with you, anyway.

A massive thank-you to Mandy Hubbard–because the email you sent me in 2008 changed my life, and gave me that push out the door.

And to everyone at FictionPress…There aren’t enough words in the English language for me to properly thank all of you. I said it in my vlog, and I’ll say it again–this moment belongs as much to you as it does to me. You have no idea what your encouragement and support have meant to me. I am eternally grateful, and love you all.

I’ll post later this week with all of the details about what comes next (short answer: lots of work!), but for today…today, I’m just gonna savor this moment a bit longer.

So, here’s to proof that hard work and dedication can pay off. And here’s to the next leg of the journey!

~~~

Sarah J. Maas is the author of several novels, including QUEEN OF GLASS, a YA fantasy retelling of Cinderella that will be published by Bloomsbury in late 2011/early 2012. Sarah resides with her fiancé in Los Angeles. You can visit her blog here.

61 Responses to “BIG NEWS!!!”

  1. Vanessa March 22, 2010 at 1:57 PM #

    WOOOOOOO!!! CONGRATS HUN!!!!!

    I am so close to finally realizing my dream of having QoG on my bookshelf!!!!!

    I AM SO HAPPY FOR YOU!!!!!! (caps lock proves it, ahaha)

    • Vanessa March 22, 2010 at 1:58 PM #

      AND damn you and your crying woman! It made ME cry!

      • Sarah J. Maas March 22, 2010 at 5:36 PM #

        Yay!!!!!!!!

        And thanks for the congrats!

  2. Kat March 22, 2010 at 1:57 PM #

    Congratulations! May this be only the first in a long career full of The Calls : )

  3. Renee C March 22, 2010 at 1:58 PM #

    Seeing your joy about this awesome accomplishment is truly beautiful. Congratulations!!! Enjoy the moment.

  4. thmafi March 22, 2010 at 1:58 PM #

    this post made me tear up!!! *sniffle* *happy tears!!* SO SO SO thrilled for you!!!! so excited for you!! can’t wait for your book to come out and wishing you all the best!!!

    *more happy tears!*

    CONGRATS!!!!!!!!

    • Sarah J. Maas March 22, 2010 at 5:40 PM #

      Thanks so much!!! ANd yay for happy tears!!!

  5. rikaashton March 22, 2010 at 2:02 PM #

    Congrats!!! I’m so happy for you!

  6. Praya March 22, 2010 at 2:18 PM #

    OH MY GOSH! I AM SO EXCITED! WELL DONE!!!!!!!
    I CAN’T WAIT TO BUY MY COPY!!! I can’t believe you’re being published by the same people who published Harry Potter! CONGRATULATIONS!!!!

    • Sarah J. Maas March 22, 2010 at 5:41 PM #

      Thank you! I know, right?! I can’t believe it, either!

  7. Mac_V March 22, 2010 at 2:25 PM #

    Congratulations! I think we’ve all been waiting for this moment too and I know I couldn’t be happier for you! And I think the consensus so far is that you’ve made us all cry, but ours were happy tears, too! I hope you enjoy this day and remember it forever and I’m so happy you’ve shared it with us. I know I was among the loyal fans of fictionpress and I’m feeling very special for being mentioned even generally! I have plans to write for several hours today at Barnes & Noble and I think I might spend a little time picturing just where Queen of Glass is going to be in such a short amount of time among the books in the YA section. You’re an inspiration to so many of us and I say again congratulations! You’re success helps a lot of us to keep going with our dreams and I’m so glad you’re sharing the whole process with us!

    • Sarah J. Maas March 22, 2010 at 5:43 PM #

      Haha, awww!!! Thank you so much for sticking with QoG, and for all of the encouragement! I’m so honored to have met so many lovely people through my writing–and even more honored to have inspired them.

  8. Biljana March 22, 2010 at 2:35 PM #

    YYYYYAYYY!!! :D: You are so beautiful and intelligent and inspiring!! You deserve this so much and it sure has been a long time coming :D.

    Congratulations!!:):):):):)

    • Sarah J. Maas March 22, 2010 at 5:44 PM #

      Haha, YOU are so beautiful and intelligent and inspiring.

      But thank you!

  9. svonnah March 22, 2010 at 2:38 PM #

    I can’t wait to watch this video when I get home tonight!!!

    • Sarah J. Maas March 22, 2010 at 5:44 PM #

      You had better! Or else!!!!!

  10. Lynn Heitkamp March 22, 2010 at 2:38 PM #

    THAT IS SO AWESOME!!! Congratulations! I am really looking forward to getting a chance to walk into a bookstore and buy a copy of Queen of Glass!

  11. Samantha W. March 22, 2010 at 3:07 PM #

    I feel like jumping up and down while screaming like a fan girl… But there are people around me, so I’ll settle for trying not to cry after watching your vlog, instead. Really though, I had no doubt this day would come. Way back when QoG was still on Fiction Press, I remember thinking “Wow, this is going to be a book on my shelf someday” and I cannot express how happy I am that it will be!

    It was just a matter of time… 🙂

    • Sarah J. Maas March 22, 2010 at 5:47 PM #

      Haha, I had the most epic dance party once I stopped crying long enough!!!

      Thanks for all of the support and encouragement!

  12. Noelle March 22, 2010 at 3:23 PM #

    I screamed when I saw the blog. Actually freaked out my parents and everything. The people who published frikkin Harry Potter, the Harry potter and I can’t wait to get this on my bookshelf. 🙂

    • Sarah J. Maas March 22, 2010 at 5:48 PM #

      Haha, that is AMAZING!!!!! Thank you!!

      And yeah–I’m still dazed about the HP thing. 🙂

  13. Corona March 22, 2010 at 3:39 PM #

    snif ;_; 😀

    • Corona March 22, 2010 at 3:41 PM #

      Okay now that I dried my tears a bit, CONGRATULATIONS!!!

  14. janijon March 22, 2010 at 3:58 PM #

    i cried too! people at my work place were giving me funny looks. lol. I feel like dancing! wheeee

    • Mac_V March 22, 2010 at 5:15 PM #

      I did dance. ^^ Just get up and do it! It’s such a happy day!

      • Sarah J. Maas March 22, 2010 at 5:50 PM #

        Haha I’ve been dancing and crying today–just from being so excited and touched by everyone’s comments!! 😀

    • Sarah J. Maas March 22, 2010 at 5:48 PM #

      Hahahahahaha I love you!!!!

  15. junebugger March 22, 2010 at 6:45 PM #

    Ahhhh SARAH! I am SOOOO happy for you!!!! I teared up while watching your video. You are SUCH and AMAZING and INSPIRING writer!!!!!!!!!!!!!! [Capitals and explamation marks abound in this comment because I have no other way to express my exhileration!] AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH WOO HOOOOO

  16. Angela March 22, 2010 at 6:57 PM #

    CONGRATS!!! I’m so happy for you. I’ll be the first one to place an order for your book 🙂

  17. Sam March 22, 2010 at 7:39 PM #

    I totally started crying when I watched your video! I never read the whole of QoG on FP, but I’d begun reading it when you took it down. I’m not good at reading stuff on the Internet, so I’m glad I’ll be able to hold it in my hands one day! I’m definitely going to pre-order – you have one FP reader who will definitely be buying QoG.

    • Sarah J. Maas March 22, 2010 at 7:41 PM #

      Thank you so much, Sam!!! 🙂 🙂

  18. Jennifer March 22, 2010 at 7:48 PM #

    Congratulations, Sarah! I am so glad for you! It feels like just yesterday I was reading it online (I finished it about a week before you removed it), and by now a year or two to get an actual copy seems hardly long at all.
    Thank you so much for sharing your journey to publication with us. You and the rest of the LTWF ladies have inspired me so, so much. I honestly teared up watching your vlog, and don’t worry – you’re a lady who still manages to look beautiful when you cry.
    Again, CONGRATULATIONS!

  19. Aurora Blackguard March 23, 2010 at 5:11 AM #

    You are one INSPIRING person 🙂 After a full year of following you on your misadventures.. I know this sounds corny and weird, but it feels like, in a way, I’ve been walking right behind you on your journey!!

    Congratulations, Sarah! You’ve definitely earned it!! 🙂

    • Sarah J. Maas March 24, 2010 at 2:29 PM #

      Awww, thanks, Aurora!!! It’s been such an honor to have so many lovely people along with me on this journey!!!

  20. Caitlin March 23, 2010 at 3:47 PM #

    I was definitely thinking it was about time for QoG to get picked up when reading this weeks question of the week. Congratulations.

    Anyway, does anyone know what the best strategy for getting the book as much recognition and attention as possible would be? More pre-orders? requesting it at libraries? requesting it at local bookstores, etc.? i figure we have a little while to figure out if we want to do something special.

    • Sarah J. Maas March 24, 2010 at 7:52 PM #

      Thank you!!! If you come up with any good marketing ideas, let me know! I’m open to anything that’ll get the word out about QoG!!! 🙂 Thanks for the support!

  21. cgwriter March 23, 2010 at 5:01 PM #

    Wowww, I almost cried myself while watching! Congratulations, we all knew it was going to happen! :] I can’t wait to buy my copy of QoG … It’ll actually be my first time reading it because I heard of it after it was taken down. Good luck, enjoy the process, and congratulations again! I can’t believe you landed the publisher of your dreams ❤

    -Crissy Rose

    • cgwriter March 24, 2010 at 6:55 PM #

      OH! And P.S. … do you have any plans for the cover art yet?

      • Sarah J. Maas March 24, 2010 at 7:53 PM #

        Haha, authors don’t get much input about their covers, but I’m hoping that Bloomsbury will want to hear my thoughts. They usually have such lovely covers that I know I’m in good hands.

    • Sarah J. Maas March 24, 2010 at 7:54 PM #

      Thank you!!! 🙂

  22. Maj March 23, 2010 at 6:34 PM #

    Congrats! I’m so thrilled for you and QoG getting published. You’ve worked so hard for your dream these past few years and are an inspiration. I don’t know if you remember but you sent me an email on facebook about querying and encouraged me to continue when I was about to give up.
    I’m so happy for you and you have to celebrate and this will be the first among many in your career as a published author
    congrats again!

    • Sarah J. Maas March 24, 2010 at 7:55 PM #

      Thank you! I’m so thrilled that my FB message helped you–never give up on your dreams of publication! 1 day is all it takes to go from an aspiring author to a professional one. 🙂

  23. Becca March 23, 2010 at 7:48 PM #

    Oh, Sarah. I have long followed your journey from a distance. I think all of us are trembling along with you and wish we could reach through that vlog of yours and hug the crap out of you.
    Thank you for inspiring us all that no matter what, no matter how much time, dreams come true. I have a feeling this masterpiece is going to be as big, if not bigger than we have all imagined.
    Congratulations seems like such a blase word, but it’s all I’ve got!
    I think I’ll go along with June and put ! x a million.
    😀
    xoxo
    Becca

    • Sarah J. Maas March 24, 2010 at 7:56 PM #

      Thank you, Becca!! I certainly hope QoG proves to be as big as you think it’ll be!

  24. Marina March 23, 2010 at 9:24 PM #

    Congratulations Sarah! Keep us posted, because I want to know the minute the book is in the stores because I’m going to go and get it as soon as it’s on a shelf.

  25. Seahn March 24, 2010 at 6:23 AM #

    Congrats again, I commented on live journal but didn’t watch the vlog. But am happy I went and looked because your happy tears made me so proud of you- I don’t know you but loved QoG on FP . By the way you are not ugly when you cry, you actually look quite good, I’m a little jealous of that. Again can’t wait to have it- I think QoG should be published in Australia (I know it;s crazy to want that but it would be great to see it in stores near me in 2011/2012) there is always online stores though.

    • Sarah J. Maas March 24, 2010 at 7:57 PM #

      Thanks, Seanh! And haha–you should have seen me when I was wearing my normal mascara–my face had rivers of black running down it!

      I reallllly hope QoG gets picked up abroad!

  26. Ella March 24, 2010 at 11:53 AM #

    Congratulations!

    I saw parts of QoG back when it was on Fictionpress, but it was taken down before I could go back to read it in earnest. I was so disappointed. ;_; But really, you’re just incredibly inspiring to all of us young writers and hopeful authors here, and I’m so happy for your happiness!

    Tell us when you have a publishing date so I can put it on my calender *_*

    • Sarah J. Maas March 24, 2010 at 7:58 PM #

      Thanks, Ella! I’ll definitely let you know when I get an actual date!

  27. Sophelia March 24, 2010 at 7:59 PM #

    Congrats! :]

    I only found this blog recently, but I already knew about Queen of Glass ages ago when it was still up on fictionpress. Unfortunately, I never got around to reading it then… (60+ chapters was pretty daunting — especially when you have a ton of homework to do, and you KNOW you’re going to be reading nonstop once you start). It’s weird, because I am so excited for you even though I’ve never even read the story or followed your journey like everyone else has. I can’t wait to finally read Queen of Glass! Best wishes to you :]

  28. Ashley October 14, 2010 at 1:26 AM #

    Sarah,

    About six years ago, I was browsing around on Fictionpress.net and came across a story that blew me away, yours.

    Fast forward to now, I’ve had that story in my mind for months and months. I haven’t read it since I was sixteen years old, but even then I could tell it was good. I’ve gone back to FP several times to see if I could find it, but I couldn’t remember the title! Finally I decided to use good ol’ Google and typed in “Fictionpress story assassin in a salt mine”. Seriously, that’s what I typed in. Low and behold, it worked. A link for Let the Words Flow was the fourth on the page and I gasped with delight when I realized I had found what I was looking for.

    No wonder I couldn’t find Queen of Glass on FP anymore, its been taken down and being published!!! I can’t believe this. I know you don’t know me and I don’t know you, and this may come off as random and strange, but I have a deep sense of pride in you. I know that being published from FP is rare but possible, and am so happy that you are one of the chosen few. Now its been a very long time since I’ve read QoG, but I remember enough to know that you deserve this, and you can bet that I will be at my local Borders or Barnes & Noble the day your book hits the shelf.

    A million times congratulations, all your hard work has finally paid off. You have fans that love you and Queen of Glass so dearly, and have been with you from the beginning in one way or another, like me. I’m disappointed that I have to wait a little while to read Queen of Glass, but am ever more so excited that when I do, I’ll have a tangible, hopefully hard cover, book to read it from, and not a computer screen!

    You are truly talented and blessed Sarah, and I can’t tell you how pleasantly surprised and happy I am for you.

    ~Ashley

Comments are closed.

