New LTWF Contributor

29 Mar

Hello!

They’re actually letting me post so I guess this means the secret initiation rituals are over. I’m honored to be joining the lovely and accomplished group of ladies here at Let the Words Flow. I am Jenn Fitzgerald and I’m twenty-two years old. I grew up in suburban Maryland and went to college in Virginia where I majored in anthropology. Nobody ever knows what anthropology means but that’s okay because I’m actually an archaeologist. I’m planning on entering a Ph.D program in archaeology in Boston this fall. Hopefully it won’t consume so much of my life that it interferes with my writing. I’m hoping there’s a way I can balance both. We’ll see how that goes.

Writing is my hobby and my addiction when it’s not part of my job. I’ve been writing in my spare time since I was in middle school, in snatched instants when an idea struck or late into the night when scenes wove together and demanded to be recorded. The first story I ever finished had vampires and was written in second person. Yes, it is as cringe worthy as you think. I spent several years writing mostly fanfiction and improving as a writer before I went back to working on original projects.

I started posting on fictionpress during college because I wanted to share my stories and because I wanted feedback on my writing ability. I also needed the feedback to motivate me to finish one thing instead of jumping from beginning to beginning and story to story. I can almost never work on only one thing at a time but I’ve been handling this by writing short stories attached to my main WIP on Fictionpress. I am also still updating and posting new stories there.

PRISCILLA THE EVIL is the reason I’m here. It’s the first book-length project I’ve finished since those silly vampires and I thought it was worth a shot trying to get it published. It’s about a girl named Priscilla who gets fed up with her life and decides that she’s going to be powerful and respected. Naturally, the only way to do this is by being evil. So, she declares herself an evil queen and sets out to acquire all the standard things evil people need, like a barbarian army, an evil dragon and dark castle. I’ve received a request for a full from one agent. Now I’m waiting to hear back from her and working on a synopsis for other agencies’ submissions.

~~~

Currently Reading: The Food of a Younger Land by Mark Kurlansky

32 Responses to “New LTWF Contributor”

  1. Biljana March 29, 2010 at 12:22 AM #

    Good to have you :).

  2. junebugger March 29, 2010 at 1:29 AM #

    Yay! I’m so glad to have you in our group as well πŸ™‚

    • jennfitzgerald March 29, 2010 at 11:47 AM #

      I’m so glad you all let me join πŸ™‚

  3. Samantha W March 29, 2010 at 2:25 AM #

    Welcome! πŸ™‚

    • jennfitzgerald March 29, 2010 at 11:43 AM #

      Thanks! πŸ˜€

  4. Aurora Blackguard March 29, 2010 at 4:10 AM #

    NIce to meet you! πŸ˜€

    • jennfitzgerald March 29, 2010 at 11:51 AM #

      Thanks, I’m glad I get to contribute. Hopefully I’ll have interesting things to say πŸ™‚

  5. Rowenna March 29, 2010 at 8:14 AM #

    Nice to meet you–Priscilla sounds like a fun read!

    • jennfitzgerald March 29, 2010 at 11:52 AM #

      Thanks! I tried to keep it fun, so it gets pretty wacky at some points πŸ™‚

  6. Rachel Simon March 29, 2010 at 9:30 AM #

    I’m so glad you’re in LTWF, Jenn! And when are you officially coming to Boston? Thats so close to me!!!!

    • jennfitzgerald March 29, 2010 at 11:59 AM #

      Probably in August. I have to find an apartment before that, and a roommate, agh!

  7. Vanessa March 29, 2010 at 11:30 AM #

    Happy to have you in the group!

    I still think you have THE coolest job ever!

    • jennfitzgerald March 29, 2010 at 12:12 PM #

      Is it wrong that I also think I have one of the coolest jobs? When I actually get paid to do it that is…

      • Vanessa March 29, 2010 at 10:43 PM #

        Nope. Having one of the coolest jobs entitles you to also think so. It’s just how cool jobs work! πŸ˜€

        (and I feel you on the whole not-getting-paid yet thing!)

  8. Kat March 29, 2010 at 11:55 AM #

    Nice to meet you! That’s so exciting about your book, and I hope you hear great news soon! : )

    • jennfitzgerald March 29, 2010 at 12:13 PM #

      Thanks you so much, I’m keeping my fingers crossed!

  9. Caitlin March 29, 2010 at 12:27 PM #

    Being an Archaeologist/Anthropologist (they study cultures right?) sounds pretty awesome. Are we allowed to ask how such a background affects your work (if it does)?

    • jennfitzgerald March 29, 2010 at 12:39 PM #

      Yes, the cultural anthropologists study current human cultures, archaeologists study previous ones and the biological ones study primates, human origins, or modern human bodies (either from archaeological sites or from the police).

      I was actually just thinking about writing a post on how anthropology affects the way I write, so all questions are welcome!

  10. svonnah March 29, 2010 at 4:23 PM #

    Jenn, you should so write an article on what it’s like to be an archaeologist/anthropologist, especially since they always told us in school that while we may like dinosaurs, it’s a terrifically hard field to get into and succeed in. At least, that’s what they always told me πŸ™‚

    (and yes, I know there’s more to archaeology than dinosaurs πŸ˜‰

    • jennfitzgerald March 29, 2010 at 5:09 PM #

      I actually just started one on how being an anthropologist affects the way I write! I think one just on archaeology would have to go on my blog though, since it’s not writing related. The difficulty of getting in really depends on what you want to do. Historical archaeology in America is no problem while Egyptology is all kinds of cut throat.

      Also the paleontologists get the dinosaurs, not the archaeologists πŸ™‚

      • svonnah March 29, 2010 at 7:28 PM #

        Damn, I thought I was getting it right, lol!

  11. cgwriter March 29, 2010 at 5:58 PM #

    Congrats and welcome, Jenn!! I’m excited to read your future articles. :]

    • jennfitzgerald March 29, 2010 at 7:49 PM #

      Thank you! I hope they don’t disappoint!

  12. Angela March 29, 2010 at 7:58 PM #

    You make anthropology sound interesting. The college I’m entering in two days makes anthropology a required subject for everyone in my department.

    I’ll be sure to follow your blog. Maybe I’ll learn something that relates to school. =D

    • jennfitzgerald March 29, 2010 at 8:17 PM #

      Hopefully you’ll learn something interesting! I think anthropology classes can really open up the way you look at the world, so I’m glad you’re taking it. I hope you get a good professor πŸ™‚

  13. janijon March 29, 2010 at 11:30 PM #

    Priscella the Evil sounds SO COOL! Good luck with the publishing process; I want to read PtE right NOW. haha. =)

    hihihihi. Welcome!

    -Jane

    • jennfitzgerald March 30, 2010 at 2:24 AM #

      thanks so much! and if you really want to read it, half of it’s on fictionpress right now πŸ˜‰

  14. Ella March 30, 2010 at 6:17 PM #

    My real name’s Priscilla. C;

    Looking forward to see you make your presence known here.

    • Jenn March 30, 2010 at 8:39 PM #

      now we all know you’re secretly evil! πŸ˜€

  15. Dani March 31, 2010 at 1:02 PM #

    Hi Jenn,

    I’m with Levine Greenberg Literary Agency and was wondering if you would mind sending me a more detailed synopsis of your project, PRISCILLA THE EVIL (and perhaps a sample chapter or two).

    Thanks,
    Dani

    • jennfitzgerald March 31, 2010 at 1:44 PM #

      Thanks for the interest Dani, I will. Would you like me to email it to the address listed on your website or somewhere else?

      Jenn

  16. Dani March 31, 2010 at 6:19 PM #

    Can you see the email address for this and the last comment? If not, can you comment back here with your email address and I’ll get back to you directly? I wouldn’t want it to get lost in our slush.

    Thanks!

Comments are closed.

