Introducing Julie, the Newest LTWF Contributor

9 Apr

Hello!

I’m honored to introduce myself as the newest member of Let the Words Flow, and I hope my presence here will add to what is already an awesome community of writers.

My name is Julie Eshbaugh, and I’m forty (something) years old.  Having grown up outside of Philadelphia, I spent my first few years after high school traveling widely and living in places as varied as Provo, Utah; Paris, France; and New York City.  When I finally settled down back home in Philadelphia, I graduated summa cum laude from Rider University.

I’ve written two-and-a-half novels.  The first was written when I was thirty and is an unpublished legal thriller.  I came close to landing representation for that manuscript, but I just didn’t love it the way an author needs to love their work in order to take it all the way.  After that first novel, I focused my artistic energies on filmmaking and eventually online video.  I made two short films (the second of which showed at film festivals around the country) and then spent several years producing an online video series about a teenage boy.  That series, “Dylan’s Couch,” achieved a respectable amount of success and received several honors from the Webbie Awards.

A few chapters of my unfinished second novel RUNNING TO STAND STILL are posted on Fiction Press.  It’s an ‘edgy’ YA about a young woman’s descent into drug addiction in NYC’s East Village of the 1980s.  I began that novel in 2008 but found it too emotionally draining to finish at the time, although it’s close to complete.  I hope to return to that novel in the future.

My third novel is the one that got me my agent.  Currently untitled, the manuscript managed to get me two offers of representation, and I ultimately decided to sign with Natalie Fischer of the Sandra Dijkstra Literary Agency.  Natalie is fantastic; she has offered me tremendous support and advice in revising the manuscript.

I’m looking forward to getting to know all of the wonderful LTWF readers!

~~~

Julie is currently working on revisions with her agent and brainstorming ideas for future projects.

37 Responses to “Introducing Julie, the Newest LTWF Contributor”

  1. Kat Zhang April 9, 2010 at 12:07 AM #

    Yay! I get to be the first to say hello! 🙂

  2. Julie Eshbaugh April 9, 2010 at 12:10 AM #

    Thanks Kat! I’m excited to be joining LTWF.

  3. Sarah J. Maas April 9, 2010 at 12:34 AM #

    YAYYYYYYYY!! It’s official!! Though I’m mad at Kat that she got to be the first one to say hello!!!

    ❤ I'm SO happy to have you join us!!!!

  4. Julie Eshbaugh April 9, 2010 at 12:38 AM #

    Thanks Sarah! I wouldn’t be here if it weren’t for you. Thanks for introducing me to such an extraordinary group of writers.

  5. Samantha W April 9, 2010 at 3:01 AM #

    Firefly sounds exciting! Welcome to LTWF, glad to have you here! 🙂

    • Julie Eshbaugh April 9, 2010 at 9:40 AM #

      Thanks Samantha! It’s great to be here. I’m glad you like the sound of Firefly! Being out on submission can be a very nerve-wracking time. That’s why it’s so great to have the support of a group like LTWF!

  6. Savannah April 9, 2010 at 8:19 AM #

    Welcome, welcome, welcome!!!

    • Julie Eshbaugh April 9, 2010 at 9:41 AM #

      Hey Savannah! Thanks so much for the warm welcome!!!

  7. Vanessa April 9, 2010 at 12:21 PM #

    We’re so glad to have you! 😀

    • Julie Eshbaugh April 9, 2010 at 12:31 PM #

      Thanks Vanessa! I really couldn’t imagine a better writing group! You guys are all so awesome. I hope I can live up to the standard you’ve all set. You all write pretty great articles! *bites nails worrying about future article posts*

      • Julie Eshbaugh April 9, 2010 at 12:33 PM #

        One thing I can promise – I won’t use the word “all” in every sentence like I did in that last comment!

      • Vanessa April 17, 2010 at 1:17 PM #

        Hahaha!!

        I felt the same way when I joined! I had never written articles EVER. My first post, even though it was a guest post, was so much fun to write! (Mind you, I also stressed about WHAT to write for DAYS… and then just started writing whatever came to mind). But then I kept checking back every 5 min to see if I got any comments, ahaha. I was so worried about what people would think!

        We’re super lucky to have YOU in the group now! I can’t wait for your articles!

  8. Rowenna April 9, 2010 at 1:15 PM #

    Hi! Very cool-sounding YA MS. Best of luck with its publication, and glad to meet you!

    • Julie Eshbaugh April 9, 2010 at 2:55 PM #

      Hi Rowenna! It’s great to meet you too! Thanks for the kind words about FIREFLY. I appreciate your good wishes. 😉

  9. Caitlin April 9, 2010 at 2:12 PM #

    Filmmaking!?!? Can we pick your brain about that as well? Did you act as writer/director/producer? What was it like? Oh my goodness you are officially awesome!

    • Julie Eshbaugh April 9, 2010 at 3:05 PM #

      Hi Caitlin! Yes, I did act as the writer/director/producer. However, the second short I made was based on a short story by Frank O’Connor. One of my earliest experiences with a lit agency was with the permissions department of the agency that reps his estate! Anyway, you can find it listed on IMDB. It’s called “The Drunkard.”
      Anyway, thanks for the compliment! I’m off to check out your LiveJournal!

      • Caitlin April 9, 2010 at 6:31 PM #

        Hopefully you’re not bored to death by my livejournal, I don’t update nearly as much as I should or with posts anywhere as interesting as these ladies content-wise. I’m a film studies minor though and my brother and I are very slowly starting a film/TV blog so I might pick your brain a little about your film experiences if that’s alright.

      • svonnah April 9, 2010 at 8:13 PM #

        Haha, I know what your articles are going to be about!

    • Julie Eshbaugh April 9, 2010 at 9:40 PM #

      Hi Caitlin,
      You can ask me anything you like about filmmaking! I’ll tell you the good and the bad. Because there is plenty of both, that’s for sure! 😉

  10. Myra April 9, 2010 at 4:26 PM #

    Firefly sounds awesome! I’m just starting to get into scifi, and the steampunk/historical elements make it all the more interesting. Best of luck with getting it published. 🙂

    Also–living in Paris sounds like heaven to me. 😉 I visited earlier this spring (/endof winter) and I definitely want to go back. Did you like living there?

    • Julie Eshbaugh April 9, 2010 at 4:45 PM #

      Hi Myra, thanks for the welcome! I’m glad you like the premise of Firefly – and you don’t need to be into Sci-Fi to enjoy it. It’s more like a love story with Sci-Fi elements. 🙂
      Paris… I LOVED it there. I almost made it my permanent home. It was the first city I’d ever seen that wasn’t in the US, and I was blown away by the history and the sense of being a part of a place where so many famous & infamous people had lived. I was there long enough to have to decide – stay forever or return to the States? New York City had enough allure to pull me home…

  11. Becca April 9, 2010 at 7:21 PM #

    I am becoming more and more impressed with the contributors you ladies manage to snag!
    😀

    Very exciting!

    • Julie Eshbaugh April 9, 2010 at 9:37 PM #

      Hi Becca!
      Wow, thanks. I hope I live up to the hype! I still need to contribute that first real article, and these women are very good. The bar has been set very high indeed!

  12. Biljana April 9, 2010 at 11:35 PM #

    Good to have you, Julie :D.

    • Julie Eshbaugh April 9, 2010 at 11:44 PM #

      Thanks Biljana! You are one of the article writers I hope to live up to! Your articles are awesome!

  13. Rachel Simon April 10, 2010 at 9:06 AM #

    Welcome to LTWF, Julie. You lived in Paris and were a filmmaker? That is so cool! And you lived in Utah as well? How was that? Was it as barren as I imagine it to — landscape-wise?

    And a final world, Julie, I’m so excited for FIREFLY and for your articles. 🙂

    • Julie Eshbaugh April 10, 2010 at 2:58 PM #

      Hi Rachel!
      Actually, central Utah, where I lived, is very lush! The towns are all in green valleys between snow-capped mountains. It’s one of the most beautiful places I’ve ever seen. It IS more barren in southern Utah – where Bryce Canyon National Park is. You’ve probably seen pics of Bryce’s natural bridges. That’s more of an “Old West” landscape, but still beautiful.
      Thanks for the welcome, Rachel. I’m really excited to be here!

  14. Victoria Dixon April 10, 2010 at 11:57 PM #

    Sounds fabulous, Julie!

  15. Julie Eshbaugh April 11, 2010 at 3:40 AM #

    Thanks Victoria! I checked out your blog and it looks like you’ve got a lot going on as well! I saw you had an event with Laura Manivong. That’s wonderful. I’m familiar with her book Escaping the Tiger. I will definitely visit your blog again in the future. 🙂

  16. Victoria Dixon April 11, 2010 at 8:02 AM #

    Thanks for checkig me out, Julie! I appreciate that. Yes, if you’re interested, there’s also a review of “Tiger” and an interview with Laura, posted on March 29th. Laura’s a friend and let me talk with her about “Tiger” once we knew the release date. ;D

  17. Julie Eshbaugh April 11, 2010 at 6:19 PM #

    I will definitely check out your interview with Laura! I learned about TIGER when I saw the book trailer. Then I went to her website and read about her amazing family. I can’t wait to read the interview on your site. Thanks! 🙂

  18. Victoria Dixon April 13, 2010 at 6:53 AM #

    Thanks, Julie! I appreciate it. 🙂

    • Julie Eshbaugh April 13, 2010 at 8:03 PM #

      Hi Victoria! I read the interview with Laura on your blog and loved it! What a fascinating woman she is.

  19. Victoria Dixon April 13, 2010 at 11:46 PM #

    Thanks again, Julie. I just realized I left a bizarre message to you on my blog logged in accidentally with my Craigslist ID. I’m still laughing at myself. ;D

    • Julie Eshbaugh April 14, 2010 at 7:11 AM #

      LOL – I’m running over to check it out right now! 😉
      No worries, I’ve done the same thing before. 😉

  20. Laura Manivong April 26, 2010 at 10:03 AM #

    My ears were burning, aka I Googled myself, so I thought I’d drop in to say hi, and beg you to please tell my children that I am a fascinating woman!! : )

    • Julie Eshbaugh April 26, 2010 at 10:37 AM #

      Hey Laura! Wow! It’s so awesome to hear from you. =D Please feel free to print out my comment about how fascinating you are and hang it on your children’s bedroom walls!!!

Comments are closed.

