QOTW Week: Book Covers

16 Apr

Hey all, just a quick reminder, we are still having a Comedy Contest, the deadline for which is May 1st. We’ve got a few entries already and they look pretty solid, so whip out your banana peels and make some funny!

~~~

Right now we’re doing a Question of the Week Week to alleviate our backlog of Questions. Today’s question is from June:

90. Because I’m curious…and I’m not sure if this question has been asked yet… What are some of your favorite book covers?

~~~

-The Newest LTWF Contributor Who is Already Out on Submissions!

~~~

The Writer Who Just Began Querying!

~~~

-The Intern Writing her First Book

~~~

-The Writer Editing Her Second Novel

~~~

The Writer With Her First Book Deal

~~~

-The Writer Waiting on Submissions

~~~

-The Writer Who Got a Full Request!

~~~

What are YOUR favorite book covers?

~~~

You can ask us a Question of the Week by clicking on QOTW in the upper part of our website and leaving us a comment. We try to answer Questions in the order they are received, unless something is really pressing.

17 Responses to “QOTW Week: Book Covers”

  1. Vanessa April 16, 2010 at 12:12 AM #

    OMG Sarah!!! I can’t believe you picked Sabriel as one of your faves! I was going to pick it as well… but I think I like the cover of Lirael just a tad bit more for some reason.

    Oh, and Sav… I LOVE the cover of Rant! One of my faves as well! Out of all of Chuck’s novels, that one has the best cover IMO.

    • Sarah J. Maas April 16, 2010 at 6:11 PM #

      I was PISSED because you picked LIRAEL for one of your faves! I was gonna list both of them! But at least we covered both books (I hate the ABHORSEN cover)!!!

  2. Samantha W April 16, 2010 at 2:30 AM #

    The copy of Sabriel I have is much more plain… I feel gypped!

    I really love the covers of “Wicked Lovely” and “Fragile Eternity”. 🙂

    • Kat Zhang April 16, 2010 at 9:27 AM #

      Oh, I love the Wicked Lovely cover! I read that book for the cover, haha

    • Vanessa April 16, 2010 at 2:48 PM #

      I really like the Wicked Lovely cover as well! If only I liked the book as much as I do the cover…

      And Kat, I totally picked up Wicked Lovely just because of the cover too!

  3. Julie Eshbaugh April 16, 2010 at 7:10 AM #

    All of you made such amazing choices! Jenn: Mr Darcy, Vampyre… fabulous pick! Vanessa: Flight… holy moly what an image! Rachel: Love the Nancy Drew! Sarah: The Black Swan cover is enchanting! Savannah: I almost picked the Lovely Bones but I’m most impressed with your Animorphs choice! June: Atonement… what can I say? That simple cover captures the book perfectly! GREAT CHOICES!!!

    • Vanessa April 16, 2010 at 2:50 PM #

      All of the Flight books have gorgeous covers. Course, they’re graphic novel anthologies, so I’d be pretty bummed if they didn’t all have gorgeous covers! But Volume Four has such an amazing image… It makes me so happy looking at it! :p

      And I’ve always loved that cover for A Wrinkle In Time!

  4. svonnah April 16, 2010 at 9:31 AM #

    I love how our favorite covers reflect our writing styles! Sarah’s all into fantasy, Rachel’s into modern lit, Julie and Jenn obviously like classics, Vanessa likes spec fic, and I’m just random. 🙂

  5. Rachel Simon April 16, 2010 at 9:34 AM #

    OMG TOBIAS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!*dies of first love*

    And Jenn, I love that Mr. Darcy, Vampyre cover. Wow.

    • jenn fitzgerald April 16, 2010 at 12:36 PM #

      I love everybody’s covers! We have such a range of great pictures 🙂

      Also, I’ve never read Mr. Darcy, Vampyre, but every time I see that cover I want to

    • svonnah April 16, 2010 at 3:44 PM #

      That is the book that made me fall in love with Tobias, yes. 🙂

  6. June April 17, 2010 at 2:45 AM #

    A couple of my favorite covers are…

    MARA, DAUGHTER OF THE NILE:
    http://a3.vox.com/6a00c225224ce58e1d00cd97045e1b4cd5-500pi

    A SONG FOR SUMMER

    and SABRIEL. That book was so intense 🙂

    Aw, thanks for answering my QOTW! I thought that you guys wouldn’t get to it until later in the year since I’d only asked a few weeks ago! 🙂 I got such a thrill when I saw it!

    • Julie Eshbaugh April 17, 2010 at 1:23 PM #

      It was a great question! It seems book covers are a passion of many people – writers and readers alike.

      I enjoyed your picks, too. Thanks for sharing them. 🙂

    • Vanessa April 17, 2010 at 4:15 PM #

      A SONG FOR SUMMER – I really like that cover!!

      And when we decided to do the QOTW Week, we just couldn’t pass up your awesome question!

      Maybe next time we should post our least favourite book covers… haha

    • jenn fitzgerald April 18, 2010 at 12:46 AM #

      I really like the Mara, Daughter of the Nile cover! It looks like it’s done sort of in the old travel poster style that I love.

  7. Glaiza April 17, 2010 at 9:29 PM #

    I love the Lirael cover..
    Some of my favourite covers include:

    Ashling:

    The Keeping Place – the older version I first read:

    the new version I own:

  8. Julie Eshbaugh April 18, 2010 at 7:05 AM #

    Wow! Those Isobelle Carmody covers for The Keeping Place are AMAZING! Thanks for sharing them. 🙂

Comments are closed.

