Saturday Grab Bag: Mashup

1 May

First, a quick reminder that all entries for the Comedy Contest and the Book Cover Contest must be received by today in order to be considered for the critiquing prizes!!!

~~~

Secondly, we’ve changed our book of the month to YA writer Alexandra Bracken’s recently released debut novel Brightly Woven! Brightly Woven is making a big splash among readers, and with a cover like that can you really say you’re surprised?

~~~

Thirdly, today we’re announcing a new feature: Saturday Grab Bag! A few weeks ago we asked for your suggestions on things you’d like to see from us, and we decided to combine all of your good ideas into one Saturday post. We didn’t want to devote Saturdays to just book reviews or just mashups, etc., so we decided to do all of them, randomly. You never know what you’re gonna get 😉

This Saturday we thought we’d start with a mashup of cool/interesting writing-related links we’ve found over the past few weeks!

The Alot is Better Than You At Everything (and Followup)

Stop Being Afraid to Post Your Work Online

How to Fulfill the Prophecy

Blogger goes to see Stephen King’s Rockband

Evernote: Organize your Writing Notes

Is Publishing Sexist?

Use Less Ink by Changing Your Font

Author vs. Author

Copy Editors are Important: ‘Ground Black People’

Green Book Covers Don’t Sell as Well?

Young Adult Blog Directory

~~~

What fun writing-related links have you come across lately?



11 Responses to “Saturday Grab Bag: Mashup”

  1. Kat Zhang May 1, 2010 at 11:11 AM #

    I just downloaded Evernote! Let’s see if I can get the hang of it soon 🙂

  2. Julie Eshbaugh May 1, 2010 at 11:31 AM #

    I would download Evernote, but I’m too busy fulfilling the prophecy! 😉

  3. Kayleigh May 1, 2010 at 11:50 AM #

    I found a huge list of links to great articles about writing: http://mysterywritingismurder.blogspot.com/2010/04/twitterific_24.html

  4. Angela May 1, 2010 at 9:26 PM #

    I like the article about publishing being sexist.

    I used to think that a lot of the books I came across were more geared towards female readers, but I brushed that off, thinking that I wasn`t looking in the right places.

    😮

  5. Glaiza May 1, 2010 at 11:04 PM #

    I really liked that article too: Is publishing sexist?
    It made me think about what books I’ve read in the past that don’t have an implicit female reader target…there are quite a few but it also explains why i have difficulty trying to think of books to recommend to my younger brother when he is bored and wants to read things, it’s rather lucky my sister and i do read a lot of novels that aren’t just targeted to the female reader..
    oh and i’m curious to try out evernote 🙂

    • Julie Eshbaugh May 1, 2010 at 11:13 PM #

      I thought it was interesting the way the article talked about the YA section of your average chain bookstore. I never realized how much that section was geared toward girls! That was a real eye-opener!

  6. priscillashay May 1, 2010 at 11:39 PM #

    lol, I read the “ground black people” one on yahoo..it was just…sad..

    • Vanessa May 2, 2010 at 2:58 PM #

      Oh god… I know, right? Absolutely terrible!

  7. Praya May 2, 2010 at 2:34 AM #

    I also just downloaded Evernote! I mean, it’s got to be more environmentally friendly than overloading my room with pink post-its, right? Haha it seems confusing, but I’m sure I’ll overcome my fear.

    And yeah- the ‘is the publishing industry sexist?’ article was really interesting. I didn’t really know much about how the publishing world works before reading this blog, but the general impression I was getting was that it seemed to be dominated by women. Does anyone have any ideas about why that is?

  8. Ali May 3, 2010 at 10:58 AM #

    Good stuff!

    I like to check in with this page every so often:
    http://io9.com/tag/writing/

    It’s all the articles on the scifi site io9 that are tagged with #writing.

Comments are closed.

