Introducing Cristina, the Newest LTWF Contributor

3 May

by Cristina Rose

~~~

Hi everyone!

I’m so thrilled to be introducing myself to you all as the new LTWF member. My name is Cristina Rose Guarino (you’ll mostly see me going by just “Cristina Rose”), and I’m currently finishing up my second year of college as an English major. I’ve lived in NYC all my life and plan on staying here indefinitely, though I hope to get quite a bit of traveling done.

I guess you can say I’ve been writing my entire life, from short “picture books” as a child to anime fanfiction as a teen to short stories and poems as a young adult. Finally, in 2008, I wrote my first and currently only novel JADE for NaNoWriMo, which may or may not be renamed as I continue to edit it. It’s an adult fantasy novel set in Manhattan about a young woman named Jade who is struggling with a sex addiction that’s taking over her life. While scrambling to conquer her problem, she discovers her roots in a fantastical history of the human race that most are unaware of, and must deal with the possibility that the addiction is in her blood. The novel follows her struggles as she learns about her ancestor and the elusive cure for her addiction, which eventually becomes a fight for her life against her ancestor’s enemies. There isn’t any graphic sex in the novel, believe it or not, so the main character’s age (24) is the main factor separating it from YA.

The novel needs a LOT of work before I start querying agents (and so does the summary, I’m not happy with it at all!), but I am serious about getting it published. I will be working on it this summer, as well as researching material for my next novel, which will be set in Colonial America.

I am currently interning at the Queens Gazette newspaper here in Queens, NY, as a reporter. I am also trying to help a friend of mine revive our school’s Literary Journal to give the creative writers a voice on campus. In the future, I hope to make my way into the publishing industry, preferably as a Literary Agent.

I look forward to getting to know all of you!

~~~

Cristina is interning at a local newspaper, where she hopes to earn a fixed position soon. She is working her way through her second semester as a college sophomore and plans to revise her novel JADE this summer. You can read her blog here and follow her twitter.

25 Responses to “Introducing Cristina, the Newest LTWF Contributor”

  1. Kat Zhang May 3, 2010 at 12:03 AM #

    Hi Cristina! Nice to meet you ;P

    Can’t wait till your first article, and your story sounds really unique and interesting. I wrote the first half of my first novel for NaNoWriMo, too! It really gives you that kick in the pants to get going sometimes.

    • Cristina Guarino May 3, 2010 at 5:56 PM #

      Haha thanks! I’m glad you think so. Nice to meet you too πŸ˜‰

      And yeah, I plan on donating to NaNo one day. I think it’s such an invaluable resource for writers. Anyone can do it on their own, but the community really gets you going and gives you something to look forward to.

  2. janiieyz May 3, 2010 at 4:16 AM #

    yay! i love it when new authors join ltwf , and i get to read their bios! =) welcome, Christina!

    • Cristina Guarino May 3, 2010 at 5:56 PM #

      Thank you!! Glad to be here πŸ˜€

  3. Julie Eshbaugh May 3, 2010 at 9:17 AM #

    Hey Cristina!!! I’m so happy to have you here at LTWF! Oh, and you’ll probably enjoy this little tidbit — my agent worked for her local newspaper between her internship with her agency and being re-hired to work as an agent. So you are on a good path to reach your dream of agenting!
    Welcome, welcome, welcome! πŸ™‚

    • Cristina Guarino May 3, 2010 at 5:57 PM #

      Thank you, thank you, thank you!

      And thanks for the tidbit — definitely some encouragement I need right now.

  4. McQuinn May 3, 2010 at 9:42 AM #

    Woo! Queens, represent!

    Can’t wait to read your stuff. πŸ˜›

    • Cristina Guarino May 3, 2010 at 5:57 PM #

      Thanks! And you’re from Queens too, then? I love good ol’ NYC πŸ™‚

      • McQuinn May 3, 2010 at 7:13 PM #

        I’m originally from Queens, and went to college in Manhattan.

        My family moved out to Nassau County, though, so we live about a mile from JFK. It’s kind of boring here! πŸ˜›

  5. Rowenna May 3, 2010 at 11:25 AM #

    Glad to meet you! Looking forward to reading more!

    • Cristina Guarino May 3, 2010 at 5:58 PM #

      Thanks, nice to meet you as well!

  6. Kayleigh May 3, 2010 at 11:29 AM #

    Hi Christina! Your novel sounds really interesting; don’t ever give up trying to get published, because I’d like to be able to buy it someday.

    • Cristina Guarino May 3, 2010 at 5:59 PM #

      OMG thank you! That just made me feel so much better about it, haha. I’ll be posting updates on it once I get going with revisions on my blog, if you want to stay updated on it πŸ™‚

  7. Sarah J. Maas May 3, 2010 at 12:46 PM #

    YAY!!! πŸ™‚

    • Cristina Guarino May 3, 2010 at 6:16 PM #

      WOO!! πŸ˜€

  8. svonnah May 3, 2010 at 2:27 PM #

    Again, nice to have you with us πŸ˜€

    • Cristina Guarino May 3, 2010 at 6:16 PM #

      Thank you thank you!

  9. Biljana May 3, 2010 at 4:35 PM #

    Yus! Good to have you :D.

    • Cristina Guarino May 3, 2010 at 6:16 PM #

      Thanksss! So excited πŸ˜€

  10. priscillashay May 3, 2010 at 5:36 PM #

    oh! good luck! I’m in NY too and we recently revived our Lit Mag..and got a printed and bound copy last week! It was so much fun πŸ™‚

    • Cristina Guarino May 3, 2010 at 6:17 PM #

      Thanks! Yeah, I want to get it going but it’s really not working out well. I’m not in charge, and the girl who is is always so busy… it’s just going to drag by and die, I think, unfortunately.

      I’d take up the position as editor in chief, myself, but I have too much going on as well.

      • priscillashay May 4, 2010 at 9:55 AM #

        I wasn’t editor in chief…that’s a lot of responsibility and I just didn’t have time this semester. I was one of the regular old editors πŸ™‚ But, def try to keep it going.

        • Cristina Guarino May 4, 2010 at 11:35 AM #

          Yeah that’s what I’m hoping to do, I think we might have certain editors–fiction editor(s), poetry editor(s), etc. But we’ll see! Congrats on getting it going πŸ™‚

          • priscillashay May 4, 2010 at 8:55 PM #

            thanks πŸ™‚ at first we had specific editors, but we didn’t have that many submissions since it was the first edition so we ended up being general editors. In the mean time, try to come up with a name!!!! That was the last thing (AND THE HARDEST) thing to do

            • Cristina Guarino May 4, 2010 at 11:22 PM #

              We actually have a name already–Utopia Parkway–because it’s an older journal we’re reviving. We figured keeping the same name would draw back the old readers. But it’s becoming increasingly hard to get submissions from people.

Comments are closed.

