Introducing Kat, the Newest LTWF Contributor

17 May

Hello everyone! Isn’t it funny? I’ve been so fired up about introducing myself as the newest member of Let The Words Flow, but as the countdown of days dwindled to three, two, one, I suddenly started putting off writing this. I guess I’m just so excited I don’t know what to say!

My name is Kat Zhang, and I’m a nineteen-year-old English major with a concentration in Creative Writing. I also write for my college newspaper and perform as a Spoken Word poet both on and off campus. I love to draw (especially my vision of characters in books!) and am a staunch supporter of the Oxford comma.

As far as professional writing goes, I’m gearing up to query HYBRID, a YA novel about a world where everyone is born with two souls, both with control of the body. One of these souls (the recessive) is supposed to fade by the age of four or five. HYBRID is the story of Eva, a recessive who, at fifteen, discovers she may have the chance to move her body once more.

I’m also about 10,000 words into THE FINEST OF LINES, which I have excerpts of on my blog. Unfortunately, I no longer post on Fictionpress, though I still browse through from time to time in search of good stories.

Let The Words Flow has been such a wonderful resource for me—not only because of the articles, but also because of the community. I can’t stress enough how much I love discussing stories, writing, and craft. So please, feel free to contact me through Livejournal, Twitter, Blogspot—anything. I can’t wait to begin contributing!

~~~

Kat Zhang is an English major with a concentration in Creative Writing. She spends most of her free time either getting HYBRID in shape for querying or pounding out the first draft of THE FINEST OF LINES. Both are YA novels. You can read about her writing process and thoughts at her blog.

33 Responses to “Introducing Kat, the Newest LTWF Contributor”

  1. Julie Eshbaugh May 17, 2010 at 7:31 AM #

    Hey Kat! Welcome to LTWF! Hybrid sounds so fascinating. A writer, student, Spoken Word poet… I can tell it’s going to be hard to keep up with you. 🙂

    • Kat Zhang May 17, 2010 at 7:43 AM #

      Lol, Julie! I could say the same for you, with your film-making and Firefly!

  2. Praya May 17, 2010 at 7:49 AM #

    Yay, I love seeing new contributors! And Kat- the premise for HYBRID sounds hyper-amazing! I would definitely want to read that. Best of luck heading into querying and can’t wait to see your posts 🙂 PS I totally dig your hat.

    • Kat Zhang May 17, 2010 at 7:54 AM #

      Thanks, Praya! I’m glad you think it’s interesting–I’m terrible at summaries, so I’m going to have to practice before writing a query letter. And yeah, I have a bit of an obsession for hats, haha.

  3. Christina May 17, 2010 at 7:53 AM #

    Wow I just wanted to say that I do the exact same thing! I LOVE to draw and even more so when I draw how I feel the characters should look. It makes it easier for me to write when I have a concrete picture of them instead of just fuzzy images in my head. But I am really interested in your story as well. Sounds very interesting and fascinating!

    Welcome to LTWF! I look forward to reading your posts!

    • Kat Zhang May 17, 2010 at 7:57 AM #

      When I was very small, I used to play what probably amounted to roleplaying games (lol) with my best friend, and we’d always draw our characters (author inserts, more like!) before acting out our stories. So I guess I’ve been drawing characters longer than I’ve been writing, and the habit stuck! Thanks for your welcome 😀

  4. Angela May 17, 2010 at 8:01 AM #

    Hey there! =D Like I posted on your blog earlier, I can`t wait to see what articles you`ll share with us.

    And lol I used to roleplay in some way, except that it was on forums. I pretended to be a bisexual, violent Japanese male.

    Yeah, lol, those days were fun, but I try not to think of them too much LOL

    • Kat Zhang May 17, 2010 at 8:08 AM #

      LOL, Angela. That sounds much more interesting than my games…those just involved cuddly animal-like companions, traveling the world, and defeating baddies!

    • Biljana May 17, 2010 at 6:32 PM #

      Ahahahahaha my respect for you just rose a bit.

  5. Rowenna May 17, 2010 at 8:26 AM #

    I love the Oxford comma too! Can I count the ways? Looking forward to reading your posts here 🙂

    • Kat Zhang May 17, 2010 at 9:29 AM #

      It’s nifty, isn’t it? Thanks!

    • Vanessa May 17, 2010 at 10:32 AM #

      I’m totally an oxford comma person too!

    • Biljana May 17, 2010 at 6:33 PM #

      Same. It just sounds rushed without it. I hate it when people edit it out of my work. I always, very pointedly, put it back in :P.

  6. Savannah J. Foley May 17, 2010 at 8:54 AM #

    Ha, I’ve been using the Oxford Comma and didn’t know that was what it’s called… thanks!

    And welcome Kat! We’re so glad to have you!

    • Kat Zhang May 17, 2010 at 9:29 AM #

      Thank you, Savannah! I’m so glad to be here 😀

  7. Judy May 17, 2010 at 11:08 AM #

    I already follow you on your blog XD
    But it’s nice to see an intro. I liked your last post here so I’m looking forward to more good posts!

    HYBRID sounds fantastic and it seems like something I would pick up and read.

    • Kat Zhang May 17, 2010 at 1:07 PM #

      I’m glad you enjoyed my last post 🙂 And I hope you do get the chance to see HYBRID between covers one day!

  8. Samantha W May 17, 2010 at 12:36 PM #

    I knew you were the new contributor already… It was posted on the contributors page early. 😛

    Welcome to LTWF! 😀

    • Kat Zhang May 17, 2010 at 1:08 PM #

      Oh no, I was discovered early! :O

      Haha, just kidding! Thank you, Samantha.

  9. Sarah J. Maas May 17, 2010 at 1:45 PM #

    YAY!!! ❤ the Oxford comma!!!

    And I ❤ how the colors in your author pic totally match the current layout/theme colors of the blog!!! Totally not intentional, but it was super-cute when I realized it!

    • Kat Zhang May 17, 2010 at 1:51 PM #

      I totally didn’t realize that until you mentioned it! And we should apparently all start a Oxford Comma Club! (The OCC??)

  10. Myra May 17, 2010 at 5:57 PM #

    Supporters of the Oxford comma unite. 😉

    Also, Hybrid sounds amazing! I didn’t know what it was about before, but now that I do, I totally want to read it. The concept of two souls is fascinating.

    • Kat Zhang May 17, 2010 at 8:17 PM #

      Thanks! It’s nice to know I’m not the only one wanting it to be published, haha.

  11. Biljana May 17, 2010 at 6:35 PM #

    Welcome! 😀 It’s so great that you’re not secret anymore :D.

    I love the Oxford comma. I’m super stubborn about it :).

    • Kat Zhang May 17, 2010 at 8:19 PM #

      Yes, it was getting stuffy in the super-secret LTWF dugout… Finally, a breath of fresh air and sunlight! ;P

      Perhaps I should write a whole article on the Oxford comma, lol…

  12. JaniJon May 17, 2010 at 8:46 PM #

    Yay, Kat! I’m glad to see you finally out and about on LTWF! =)

    So glad I met you through Sarah via FB. Maybe we’ll meet in real life when I visit my alma mater (oooooh, feels so great to type that) some time in the near future! =)

    • Kat Zhang May 17, 2010 at 8:57 PM #

      Oh, I didn’t realize you graduated this year! Congratulations! I’m really glad to have met you, too, and we should definitely meet when you come back to visit.

  13. Fan Fan May 17, 2010 at 9:43 PM #

    OMMGGG KAT!!! Congratulations! I am so proud of you :] I love you and I’m going to be an avid follower of your posts.

    • Kat Zhang May 17, 2010 at 10:04 PM #

      Hey Fan Fan! Thanks! That makes me really happy 😀

  14. Victoria Dixon May 18, 2010 at 8:31 AM #

    Yeah, Kat! Nice to see you here, too. ;D

  15. Dani Young May 19, 2010 at 12:32 PM #

    Hi Kat,

    We’d very much like to take a look at HYBRID at Levine Greenberg Literary Agency. If you’re interested, please send the first 50 pages to me directly.

    Best,
    Dani Young
    Editorial Reviewer
    Levine Greenberg Literary Agency

    • Kat Zhang May 19, 2010 at 1:25 PM #

      Thank you for your interest! I will send you the pages shortly.

Comments are closed.

