QOTW: Ideal Fictional Man

18 Jun

The deadline for the Query Critique Contest is today! Get yours in!

~~~

This question comes from Christina:

Who would be your ideal fictional man and why? (Forgetting for a moment your significant other) I feel like there is always at least one male character in a book for everyone that just makes you wish with everything you have that he was real and with you, and just makes you fall in love with him and smile whenever his name shows up on a page.

~~~

My all-time favorite fictional man is Tobias from The Animorphs. Trapped in the body of a hawk, he’s not exactly the most ideal love interest, but that’s not really why you fall in love with Tobias: He’s sweet, sensitive, humble, loyal, and self-sacrificing. When he falls for you, you know he’d do anything, even take on the entire Yeerk army, in order to keep you safe. His internal sadness and joy at any amount of kindness makes me just want to cuddle him and tell him everything will be okay. Plus, I’m totally attracted to angst, and a guy trapped in a non-human body in love with a human girl has more angst than you would believe (and deservedly so).
But, childhood loves aside, I’d also totally get with Buster ‘Rant’ Casey from RANT by Chuck Palahniuk. A rabies-infected, venom-addicted, recreational car crashing, possibly-immortal, society-redefining, small town hero with a sensitive side? Send that mess my way. 🙂
-The Writer Waiting on Submissions
~~~

Hmmm, tough question. My first love was Darcy. But that was puppy love. Now I’d have to say my true love is for Mr Rochester from ‘Jane Eyre’. (I know, I know, he locked his wife up while hitting on a younger lady…but still…) I’m a sucker for brooding men. I guess it’s because I love the idea of there being a woman who will be able to draw him out from his cynicism. At first I actually didn’t like Rochester too much, especially as he was described to be ugly, and I’m somewhat superficial when it comes to descriptions of men in books. But beauty truly is in the eye of the beholder. As you read the conversations Rochester shares with Jane, I ended up fallin in love with his mind, and soon I began seeing him as one of the most gorgeous man in English literature. Of course, I wouldn’t want to be married to him in real life, but in my fantasy world, he’s my ideal guy.

– The Writer Who Got A Full Request

~~~

While I see the appeal of Rochester, Heathcliff, the Phantom of the Opera, and all that brooding jazz, I personally wouldn’t want to be in a relationship with a guy permanently PMSing. If I were choosing someone for myself it would definitely be Mr. Tilney from Northanger Abbey (especially as played by JJ Feild). He’s funny, sarcastic and witty. Who doesn’t love a funny guy? A good sense of humor is a must! He’s intelligent, likes to read and is a snappy dresser. Clothes may not make the man, but the right ones will many any man look finer. He’s never creepy, which is wonderful and deserves bonus points. I hate when the romantic lead in a book is creepy or does creepy things; it makes it impossible for me to like the guy. And, most importantly, Mr. Tilney is So Freaking Nice. He’s forgives Catherine for being absolutely ridiculous and shocking after all. And (spoiler alert) he spends a year writing to Catherine, waiting for his father to give his permission for them to marry. Yes please, I’ll take two.

-The Writer Revising Between Queries

~~~

Definitely George Cooper. If you have read The Lioness Quartet by Tamora Pierce, you would understand. This was a guy who waited, what, eight years for the woman he loved? Yeah. How can you say no? Sure, brooding guys are fun and all, but it feels like there is so much work involved in making them fall for you in return. And those guys who are hopelessly in love and are either annoying or awkward about it? That’s not for me – they tend to be too clingy. I also don’t like guys who are too ideal (remember?), and George certainly has flaws (which makes me like him so much more). And, George is just patient. He waits while Alanna goes off into the arms of 2 different men before he is finally able to claim that he “finally tamed himself a Lioness”. Plus, he’s THE Rogue (ie. the king of thieves). And I like thieves (Gen from Megan Whalen Turner’s The Thief is pretty awesome too). I’m not sure if I just associate all thieves with Aladdin (and perhaps I do, to an extent), but they just really appeal to me. They’re mysterious, stealthy, cunning, and can be surprisingly strong. Oh, and they tend to a bit mischievous (which means guys like George Cooper have an awesome sense of humour). He’s a bad boy with one hell of a heart. I mean, what isn’t there to love?

The Writer Working in Publishing

~~~

Wow – this  is a tough one.  I love Heathcliff, I love Darcy (no, not the one you think! I mean Mark Darcy of the Bridget Jones books!) but my favorite has to be *drumroll* Robbie Turner of Atonement.  I really can’t begin to explain why I love him more than any other fictional man, but I do.  Perhaps it’s because his character carries a burden he never deserved, and he carries it so courageously, so humanly, so romantically.  He handles his struggles in such a romantic way, of course, because the novel itself is, in so many ways, about the romance of… well, novels.  So how could there be a more amazing romantic hero than one who was created to represent the classic romantic hero?  (That explanation of my choice came together in such a cohesive way; I almost convinced myself!  But the truth is I just love Robbie Turner, and there is really no explaining love!)

~~~

My love for fictional men always turns stale after a bit of time has passed. I could say Heathcliff and Darcy, and I had a crush on Artemis Fowl when I was a kid, but the problem with all these guys is that whenever I start thinking about what they’re like the first thing I think of is that in real life they’d be pretty unappealing. Realism, and pessimism, unfortunately get in the way for me whenever I start developing strong feelings for a type of guy in a book. Which I suppose is healthier than falling in love with a fictional character :P, but I do understand that it’s the idea that makes women like them, and I can’t live with just an idea; it has to be real.

However, I love stories where the relationship is a bit dysfunctional and banter is constant, mostly because I love banter and a good argument. Any guy in a book that has intelligent snark, doesn’t treat the girl like glass, and isn’t a total asshole/knows when to stop is awesome in my eyes. If I could find a guy like that in real life, I’d be happy. But that’s why they call them fictional ;).

-The Writer Revising Her First Novel

~~~

I’m jumping into the game a bit late today (sorry everyone for my belated answer)! I’m definitely into the whole brooding dude thing, and I definitely like my love interests tall, dark, and handsome. I’ve had two major literary crushes in my life: Er’ril of Standi (from WIT’CH FIRE) and Lucivar Yaslana from THE BLACK JEWELS TRILOGY. Er’ril was just this uber-hot, immortal warrior dude who was smart and selfless, and I’m not quite sure why I love him so much, but I was obsessed with him at the age of 12, and that obsession definitely followed me as I grew up.

Lucivar, though…Well, I still think he’s one of the hottest guys ever written. Not only is he a stone-cold kick-ass warrior, but he’s also fiercely loyal and comes up with all kinds of witty retorts (gotta love a guy fluent in sarcasm and cursing). He’s also got a bit of a temper (which is somehow really hot to me), but never directs it on the people he cares for. AND he’s respectful of women (major turn-on). And he has wings. WINGS. Huge, demon-y wings. Yum. I sound ridiculous describing him, because it’s really only something you can get if you read the series.

-The Writer With Her First Book Deal

~~~

Who is YOUR ideal fictional man? And tell us on Twitter using the hashtag #idealficman !

82 Responses to “QOTW: Ideal Fictional Man”

  1. Gabriela da Silva June 18, 2010 at 12:24 AM #

    I’m with Jenn on this one – I used to love brooding guys, now I just know I’d be so bored with them, and I hate the idea of being the One who drags him out of his sadness – such responsibility.

    So it’s Mr. Tilney for me too. Can we share?

    Alright, I’ll get my own.

    Just for the record, my silliest crush EVER was Legolas because OMG he’s an elf.

    Right now?
    I’d totally marry Sir Gawain, BUT the Sir Gawain from the English side – not the stupid French side which transformed him into an idiot who lost to Lancelot.

    No, I’ll take King Arthur’s best knight, the solar hero who grows stronger with the sun and risks his life for friendship and loyalty. He never breaks a promise, even if that means he’ll probably die (or marry a monster), he fights for those who need it and is always truthful.

    Best of all (for me)? He’d be off doing knight stuff and leave me to work in peace, he’d come back for a few weeks, we’d have fun, off he goes again. Freedom!

    Yes, I’d totally marry Gawain – if he wasn’t married to Lady Ragnell. Or dead. Curse you Lancelot!! Curse youuuuuu!!

    • Julie Eshbaugh June 18, 2010 at 12:31 AM #

      OMGoodness, Sir Gawain! *swoons*

      • Vanessa June 18, 2010 at 8:59 AM #

        *doubly swoons*

    • jenn fitzgerald June 18, 2010 at 9:05 AM #

      Sir Gawain is a great choice! (especially as that means I get to keep Mr. Tilney) He is way better than Lancelot, who I always found kind of annoying.

    • Rowenna June 18, 2010 at 9:36 AM #

      Agreed! I melted for Gawain when I read Kingdom of Summer by Gillian Bradshaw (called Gwalchmai in that version)–a rather broad reimagining, but he’s completely swoon-worthy. And loyal. And brooding. And…yeah.

  2. Marina June 18, 2010 at 12:47 AM #

    Rhett Butler please. I don’t care if society kicked him out, society can suck it for all I care. Rhett is the ultimate anti-hero, and he’s also handsome, dashing, has a great sense of style, he’s funny, loaded and he’s a great father! Besides he waited patiently for Scarlett, he gave her everything she wanted even if he didn’t think it was the best of ideas; and quite frankly I’m happy he left her at the end of the book. She didn’t deserve him and it took her the whole effin’ book to realize she was in love with him. If a man loved me like that, I’d forget that stupid, whimpy Ashley.

    And sure, he’s a bit up there in age, but holy crap if he looks anything like Clark Gable, I don’t care how old he is.

    Also agree with Vanessa; George! I would have never thought of him. It’s been awhile since I read that book. I would never have patience to wait for a brooding guy, he’d make me feel all depressed myself, and yes, clinging-ness is a turn-off.

    • Vanessa June 18, 2010 at 9:01 AM #

      I have a lot of video game crushes (and I DO mean a lot!), but when it came to books, George was always number one. I know I’ve adored some other fictional males, but George was always the one I would compare them too, haha!

      • jenn fitzgerald June 18, 2010 at 9:09 AM #

        I’ve still only read the first Alanna book (I do intend to fix that eventually), and while I really liked George, I just had the impression he was way older than Alanna

        • Vanessa June 19, 2010 at 2:08 PM #

          Oh, he is (around 7 years older, I think). But age is just a number, right? And Alanna is no longer a child when she finally chooses him.

          • jenn fitzgerald June 19, 2010 at 5:40 PM #

            yeah, it’s just a number when everyone’s a consenting adult, lol. when i heard she married george i couldn’t help thinking 12 yr old girl + 19 yr old man = ew But when they’re older it doesn’t bother me.

    • Rowenna June 18, 2010 at 9:30 AM #

      Agreed–and since Clark Gable aged wonderfully, I’m sure your Rhett is still in prime condition 🙂

  3. LePipette June 18, 2010 at 12:55 AM #

    George is definitely a babe.
    Tho’ the newest Rogue – Beka Cooper style – seems to be holding up pretty well under my scrutiny. : )

    MY favourite fictional man is probablyyy….hm.
    Let’s think.

    Tristan Thorne, from Stardust – haven’t read the book in a long while, so for now that’s influenced by the movie, which I watched recently (and love.). But he grows from the hopelessly in love, geeky, shop boy who’s infatuated with a total jerkface, to a strong, capable man ready to pursue a functioning relationship – and rule an entire kingdom.

    And then, of course, there’s Tortall world, with the best men ever – Numair or Neil. Both favourite, favourite characters who have been with me for forever. Both intellectuals, both need a certain sort of taking care of, and both with a wry sense of humour. It works.

    Or Bingley. I love Bingley. He’s so adorable, like a puppy.

    Looks like I should start a man-harem.

    • jenn fitzgerald June 18, 2010 at 9:11 AM #

      a man-harem is totally acceptable. I love the latest movie version of Bingley the best, he’s so goofy and adorable as he follows Jane around!

      • LePipette June 18, 2010 at 11:03 AM #

        I knooow, so cute! Ahaha. Though he’s also an incredible sweetheart in the BBC production when he goes with Darcy to see Elizabeth at the inn after all those months. : )

  4. kate June 18, 2010 at 1:08 AM #

    i have two ideal fictional men (is that cheating?): mr. darcy and rhett butler. why? because they both love fictional women who are strong, and unafraid to speak their minds–and darcy and rhett love them for it. they’re witty and well-educated and can give it as good as they get it; they’ve both got gigantic soft spots that are unapparent at first; and they do things (often, if not always) because they believe them to be right and good, instead of what is easiest. and…rhett, at least, is good with kids, and is mischievous, and desperately in love with an unloving scarlett–which, in fiction, kind of makes me forgive the fact that he is a womanizer and a host of other nasty things.
    lastly–and forgive me that this is shallow, but hey, we’re talking ideals here–they’re rich and good looking to boot.

    • jenn fitzgerald June 18, 2010 at 9:15 AM #

      Both good choices, I love Darcy and Elizabeth together, he really needs someone who will make fun of him to his face. I’ve only seen the movie of gone with the wind but I liked rhett a lot and thought he deserved someone a little less self-centered and crazy than Scarlet. Then again, he did go into it knowing she loved Ashley.

      • kate June 18, 2010 at 1:16 PM #

        you’ve only seen the movie? gasp! the book-scarlett is so fierce and determined and strong–and yes, self-centered–and vivian leigh, for all that she got mad kudos for the role, was a pathetic scarlett (in my opinion).

        and the book rhett is SO much better than clark gable could have possibly played him (to be fair–better than really almost any real man could have played him…). so witty. so charming. so…devilish. excuse me as i swoon aunt pitty-pat-style.

        gone with the wind was so super formative for 12-year-old me, and has remained one of my best bookfriends. i’ve dog-eared probably 5 copies to death. i know i don’t know you…and i know i’ve made questionable grammatical and punctuation choices in this response…so perhaps it’s bold to make the following strong statement, but believe me: you MUST read it. go. do it now. 🙂

  5. Sandra June 18, 2010 at 2:07 AM #

    Not sure why but the classics don’t really do it for me. I’m probably the only one here but Peeta from THG, forget the name, I was determined not to like him because of Gale but he won me over anyway. His kindness, love, and dedication to things that matter endear him to me and his ability to say exactly the right thing makes him unforgettable in my mind.

    Thinking about it more, I have to mention Char from Ella Enchanted. His goodness is pure love and that book probably secured my love of reading for all eternity.

    Still, I would never want my ideal fictional man because I think their counterparts are irreplaceable and a large part of the reason I love them is because of their love for the main character.

    Even if Rhett Butler deserves better, if he wants Scarlett, I want him to have her (And I’m glad they get together in the sequel)

    Lastly, I was also guilty of the Legolas lovin- he might be an exception because as far as I can remember he didn’t have a lady love. My very first experience with fan fiction was a one-shot featuring him and a girl (I was young and naive enough to think it was an excerpt from one of Tolkein’s works at first). & When he kissed her at the end (something I did not see coming at all) I think my little 11-year-old heart broke. It put me off fan fiction for life. =]

    • svonnah June 18, 2010 at 7:45 AM #

      Oh, I forgot about Char in Ella Enchanted! He’s definitely a contender…

    • jenn fitzgerald June 18, 2010 at 9:17 AM #

      Char! I love Char! I totally forgot about him, thanks for reminding me 🙂

    • Susan June 18, 2010 at 10:57 AM #

      Char! Char had freckles…oh, wow, totally just realized I have a thing for freckles.

    • hayleighbird June 18, 2010 at 11:52 AM #

      I am so with you on Peeta from THG! I was on team Peeta from the get go. He is so sweet and lovable and reliable. I am rooting for him in Mockingjay…

    • Caitlin June 18, 2010 at 12:13 PM #

      Sandra, I am so with you on like almost all of this.

      In fact until last year I really didn’t have any literary crushes per se because what I loved was their relationship with the female lead and the way the two of them were perfect for each other. Then I read a little book entitled The Hunger Games and realized while arguing quite vehemently with a dear friend about who was better for Katniss that I wasn’t actually choosing based on who was best for Katniss, but on who I would pick (because obviously he was the best choice). For the first time ever the conversation my friend and I were having about literary characters could easily be transposed into one about what we would like for ourselves in real life.

      Unfortunately I also realized that although I could totally believe there are Gales out there in the world Peeta does not exist as a human boy. (actually when I was considering how unreal he was is when I first saw the Christ-like parallels in his character and I was like Oh!, then I posted on facebook about it :-).)

      I also have to thank Vanessa for bringing this QotW to Twitter too, it’s actually what prompted me to come over to read this today instead of the usual 3 days behind I am in reading. (Also I’d probably be right there with you on Eugenides except that I cannot separate him from his world in my mind so I can’t see him apart from the events of the books. Have you read A Conspiracy of Kings yet though? It was so good IMHO.)

      Also as a last note (I promise) I’m currently reading the fav. book of the guy I’m crushing on in real life and I can totally tell the main character is his Han Solo which is weird as all else.

      • Vanessa June 19, 2010 at 2:12 PM #

        Awww, thanks Caitlin!

        I actually haven’t read A Conspiracy of Kings yet! (It is on my long to-read list though!) I’ll let you know when I finally do get around to reading it! I just absolutely love that series. But I can see how it would be hard to separate him from his world. Especially with him growing older in each book. The Gen I’m still crushing over is the one in the first book!

  6. Meagan Spooner June 18, 2010 at 3:36 AM #

    I totally second (or third or fourth, at that) the brooding man thing. I used to be gaga for it, and I will still happily lose myself in the angst and drama of a broody man, but that tends not to be what sticks with me in the end.

    I like a man who is so very tough on the outside that when he DOES show vulnerability it’s heartbreakingly sweet. The best example I can think of is Radcliffe Emerson from the Amelia Peabody books by Elizabeth Peters. I mean, god, who WOULDN’T fall for a hot, sapphirine-eyed archaeologist with a passion for preserving history and thwarting criminals who is just absolutely, thoroughly in love with you? I get all tingly just thinking about it. (Sorry Amelia.)

    In general, the hottest thing for me is not actually any one characteristic in a guy. It’s the strength and depth of his devotion for the girl in question. When a male character is so hopelessly in love (and often it IS hopeless, making it that much more romantic) my heart just melts for him. It’s the characters who wait ten years for the girl of their dreams, who would die for her, kill a thousand dragons for her, circumnavigate the globe and be back in time to bring her some ice cream–those are the ones that set my heart a-flutter.

    • jenn fitzgerald June 18, 2010 at 9:23 AM #

      Emerson! He was one of my top picks, him or grown-up Ramses. I absolutely adore Emerson, but I adore him with Amelia, bickering with her and digging her out of collapsed tombs, complaining as she goes to poke at the dead bodies.

      • Meagan Spooner June 18, 2010 at 9:33 AM #

        Grown-up Ramses is pretty much fantastic, too, but I have the problem that I knew him when he was an infant! I watched him grow up over the course of the series and I feel just squicky and pervy thinking he’s hot, so I just… try not to think about it…

        My not-so-secret secret is that my copy of Crocodile on the Sandbank falls open to the page of Emerson and Amelia’s first kiss. Totally by coincidence, of course. It is in no way due to the fact that I have read those pages like a million times. Really.

        • jenn fitzgerald June 18, 2010 at 9:56 AM #

          Of course. lol! I think The Curse of the Pharaohs is still my favorite because it’s the first one I read. I don’t feel squicky about Ramses because I started reading the series when I was ten. I try not to think about how Emerson is like 60 now. I’m also a fan of John from the Vicky Bliss series, have you read those?

  7. tymcon June 18, 2010 at 6:07 AM #

    Lol i just noticed something. Am i the only guy that comes to this website?

    • svonnah June 18, 2010 at 7:46 AM #

      Sorry! Lol, who’s your ideal fictional woman?

      • tymcon June 18, 2010 at 9:33 AM #

        Haha yay. Um i guess my ideal fictional women would be Sabrina from the Alex Rider series, probably becuase she’s the character closest to my age group. God, I actually haven’t read that series in so long i’m not even sure if that’s her nameXD

        • Vanessa June 19, 2010 at 2:14 PM #

          Have you seen the Alex Rider comic book series? I thought they were pretty good!

    • Vanessa June 18, 2010 at 9:21 AM #

      There are others!!! You’re just the most vocal! 😉

      • jenn fitzgerald June 18, 2010 at 9:24 AM #

        Yeah, I was just about to say that. I’ve seen a couple others 🙂

  8. Renee June 18, 2010 at 7:26 AM #

    Gotta agree with Sandra, I LOVE Peeta! He’s extremely sweet, very sensitive, willing to sacrifice himself for the woman he loves…not a bad guy at all. I got tired somewhere down the road of men in fiction who treat women like crap, yet the women love them anyway. I think it was Twilight that turned me off.

    BUT ANYWAY, Peeta and Gale both from Hunger Games are sort of what I’d look for in a guy in Real Life, so of course I love them. :3

    (But my ultimate fictional guy will always be Snow Villiers. He’s from Final Fantasy, though, so I don’t think that counts. 😛 )

    • Vanessa June 18, 2010 at 9:23 AM #

      Renee, I will ALWAYS have a thing for Cloud from FFVII. Talk about a total heartbreaker! Sure, he loses his mind for a bit… but he was definitely one of my first loves.

      Oh, and Master Chief from Halo! Mmmmm…

      • Caitlin June 18, 2010 at 12:01 PM #

        Have you taken the time to see Advent Children? I’ll never forget the first day my best friend and I shared a locker in HS she posted a picture of Cloud, proudly stating it was our version of the “eye candy” dotting all the other girls’ lockers.

        • Vanessa June 19, 2010 at 2:17 PM #

          Yes!! I LOVE Advent Children! I even have a collectors edition!

          And I love that you had Cloud in your locker instead of… wow, I can’t think of… Taylor Lautner or something (not that he was around then, but you get my drift!) :p

    • Meagan Spooner June 18, 2010 at 9:34 AM #

      I absolutely ADORE Balthier from FF12. Mmmmmm skypirate. And that smirk! Love!

      • Renee June 18, 2010 at 8:17 PM #

        Ahhh, agreed! 😀 Zack from Crisis Core isn’t hard on the eyes either. :3

      • Vanessa June 19, 2010 at 2:20 PM #

        Balthier was just SO good-looking and suave! Now I’ll be daydreaming of skypirates!

  9. Sophelia June 18, 2010 at 8:31 AM #

    This is really funny… because I was just talking about this with a friend, and I ended up writing a blog post about this less than a week ago.

    My number one childhood favorite? Gilbert Blythe from Anne of Green Gables — hands down. Smart, handsome, selfless — and not only that, he treated Anne as his equal, which is something you don’t necessarily see with male leads, even today.

    • svonnah June 18, 2010 at 9:28 AM #

      You gotta love a guy who respects his woman 🙂

    • Nhi June 18, 2010 at 10:36 PM #

      I definitely second that! (:

  10. priscillashay June 18, 2010 at 9:17 AM #

    My ideal fic man ..right now..(i think that makes me fickle, oh well) is Spencer from Tessa Dare’s One Dance With a Duke..you guys have to have to have to read that one 🙂 He’s arrogant, manipulative, brooding, but he;s a gentleman about a lot of his arrogance o.O it’s an odd mix that seems to work.

  11. svonnah June 18, 2010 at 9:37 AM #

    Ooh, what about Will from The Subtle Knife?

    • Susan June 18, 2010 at 10:55 AM #

      Yes! oh my gosh, I’d totally forgotten about Will. I adored that kid when I read that series. Time to reread that trilogy!

    • Vanessa June 19, 2010 at 2:21 PM #

      Oh wow, why didn’t I think of that?!?! I absolutely LOVED him when I was younger!

  12. Cari June 18, 2010 at 9:59 AM #

    Oh the brooding Byronic hero. The first time I read Jane Eyre in high school, I couldn’t stand it and I didn’t know why. When I re-read it my last year of college I realized it: it wasn’t Jane, I loved her; it was Rochester. I told my class he was like a black hole that sucked all the goodness out of Jane. That didn’t make me very popular.

    As for males I DO like in books… Neal from Tamora Peirce. He’s so easy going and fun and such a wonderful friend. Also Luthe from McKinley’s The Hero and the Crown. I liked his dry humor and his honesty. Is it cheating to put characters from plays? Because my absolute favourite fictional guy is Henry V from Shakespeare.

  13. Susan June 18, 2010 at 10:28 AM #

    I can’t lie, all of my true ideal fictional men have come from Sarah Dessen novels. First, I was totally in love with Wes Baker from “The Truth About Forever”…but then over time, I just realized he was a little too perfect. Sure, he’s got his “flaws,” but honestly. He’s simply too gorgeous and understanding and overall wonderful. So my actual ideal fictional man is Owen Armstrong in “Just Listen.” He’s tall, obsessed with music, mildly brooding (okay, he had to go through anger management, but he’s now 99% capabale of dealing with it), and best of all – totally potential REAL. He gets hurt, he gets exasperated with but loves his little sister, and is sweet in a way guys probably would be in real life – bordering on chivalrous, but still masculine. Every time I read that novel, I fall a little bit more in love with him. 🙂

  14. Hanna C. Howard June 18, 2010 at 10:46 AM #

    Oh, man. I’m a pathetic sucker for fictional men.

    Johnny Tremain was my first love.
    Then it was Char, from Ella Enchanted.
    Then Gilbert Blythe.

    From there it gets hazy. I’ve adored Peter Pan, Croggon’s Cadvan of Lirigon, Ron Weasely, Sirius Black, and Severus Snape. Prince Hamlet, Darcy, Gale, Aragorn, Prince Caspian, Sherlock Holmes, and yes, Edward effing Cullen. I even had a crush on Ripred, the *RAT* in Suzanne Collins’ Underland series. Yeah.

    Verdict: I’m a literary whore. But this is such a great topic…

    • LePipette June 18, 2010 at 11:04 AM #

      Ah, Gilbert Blythe…

    • Vanessa June 19, 2010 at 2:22 PM #

      AH! Ron Weasely! I definitely had a bit of a thing for him for a while there… haha!

  15. hayleighbird June 18, 2010 at 11:55 AM #

    Like many of you, I will always have my Mr. Darcy fantasies…sigh. It’s those fiery love-hate relationships that get to me.

    If I can delve into the realm of (bad) TV, I will also always hold a candle for Pacey Witter.

    Gosh there are so many more…I can’t begin to list them in fear that my real life man might pale in comparison to all the idealized versions!

  16. Rachel Simon June 18, 2010 at 12:52 PM #

    Tobias from Animorphs hands down.

    The boy is in love with a girl named Rachel.
    End of story.

  17. Olga June 18, 2010 at 1:12 PM #

    Jack Boudreaux from Tami Hoag’s Cry Wolf. He was just hot on so many levels!! James Mallory (Gentle Rogue) for being a smartass (retired) pirate. Dick Diver from F. Scott Fitzgerald’s Tender Is The Night for being irresistible in so many indefinable ways. He’s the toughest one to explain…he just IS. And he IS in such an amazing way that I can’t resist!

    So it would have to be between Jack and Dick. Leaning heavy towards Jack. Because he’s a writer and who doesn’t love those? He’s also a total ass and I have never been able to resist jackassery. (I think ass is my word of the day. Ass.)

  18. Nicole June 18, 2010 at 2:35 PM #

    The first one that comes to mind is Bean from Orson Scott Card’s Ender Series, he is selfless and has many flaws that make a genetically modified super genius more assessable to a reader. And his story! As a character his back story makes me cry and his present and future stories make me cry harder. Card does an amazing job with Bean. But as a love interest? Sorry, he would be way to intimidating. I have to say that romance that happens with Petra in so sweet and sad.

    I have to agree with Ms Vanessa that George from the Lioness Quartet is captivating. In fact all of Alanna’s men are (Especially the Dragon. Mmmm…).

    I think somebody mentioned Char form Ella Enchanted. I agree, except for the fact I want to smack from for being so gullible sometimes.

    • svonnah June 18, 2010 at 2:40 PM #

      Oh, Bean! You’re right, he’s totally the perfect guy. I used to love Ender but he just got so soft in the second book…

      • Nicole June 18, 2010 at 5:54 PM #

        Ender is the continuing books is an adult has has lived pretty much of his life being spit upon and everyone he has grown up with is long dead. He is ready to settle down and save the Piggies!

  19. Lua June 18, 2010 at 3:11 PM #

    Hımm I’m going to have to say Mr. Wentworth from Persuasion! 🙂 Then again, any Austen men would be just perfect but Mr. Wentworth is the kind of guy who isn’t afraid to give second chances and is capable of doing something most men can’t; forgiving…

    • Susan June 19, 2010 at 12:50 PM #

      Captain Wentworth is by FAR the best male lead in Austen’s novels. Love him so much!

  20. Schneider June 18, 2010 at 4:40 PM #

    On the contrary, I don’t think I’ve ever fallen in love with any fictional men haha. :p

    If we’re talking women, on the other hand, I think I’d have to admit that I’ve always sort of loved Bellatrix Lestrange. Completely insane of me, considering that she is a manic murderer obsessed with a soulless monster, but I’ve always found that about her so tragic and heartbreaking.

    (‘Course, it’s entirely possible that my opinion of her is being influenced by a spectacular fanfic I read, so who knows.)

    Another literary crush of mine would be Mrs. Coulter from Pullman’s His Dark Materials trilogy. I have no idea why, but something about her coolness, her assuredness and cunning, and her position of complete power has always intrigued me.

    …I’m sensing a bad trend here.

    I think the only non-disturbed fictional woman I’ve crushed on Is Calypso from Rick Riordan’s Percy Jackson and the Olympians series. She only appears in one book, but she’s an incredibly sweet and good-natured character…who just so happens to be horribly cursed. 😀

    • svonnah June 18, 2010 at 4:42 PM #

      I love how a lot of HP characters took on personas not present in the books… for example, Bella and Draco. They both became awesome characters that were completely not canon, lol.

      • Schneider June 18, 2010 at 4:52 PM #

        Seriously. When I read A Keen Observer on ff.net, I was pretty much way more in love with the Bella that had started off childish and sweet and a little selfish and then slowly descended into madness. Having her story told like that…

        Well, it suddenly made her not so evil. :p

    • Rachel Simon June 18, 2010 at 8:22 PM #

      Mrs. Coulter is one of my favorite women in YA. For real. She rocks.

      • Schneider June 18, 2010 at 8:28 PM #

        Agreeeeed! 😀

    • jenn fitzgerald June 18, 2010 at 9:22 PM #

      lol that is a bad trend! though a good fanfic can totally change the interpretation of a character… but Bella is still crazy as a pack of rabid bats. I totally admire Mrs. Coulter, though 🙂

      • Schneider June 19, 2010 at 11:57 AM #

        An endearing pack of rabid bats, I’m sure haha.

        As for Mrs. Coulter: I think it’s safe to say she’s unanimously irresistible. :p

    • Vanessa June 19, 2010 at 2:26 PM #

      I definitely admire Mrs. Coulter! Sometimes you just can’t help but feel something for the bad guys (or girls)!

      • Schneider June 20, 2010 at 5:57 PM #

        Haha exactly. Mrs. Coulter ftw!

  21. Harmony June 18, 2010 at 11:48 PM #

    I’m gonna sound like such a GRACELING fangirl, but I don’t care!

    My lit. crush is definitely PO from Graceling by Kristin Cashore!

    *swoon*

    He’s just awesomely awesome in very way! He’s selfless, humble, slightly cocky (which for some strange reason, I love) AND if I wanna tell him something private in a room of people, I just have to think it! I know the whole “thing” in the end might freak some people, but his Grace allows him to see more than normal anyway!

    MOVE aside, Katsa! Just kidding, just kidding. You can keep him…for now 😛

    • Renee June 19, 2010 at 3:03 AM #

      I’m so glad you mentioned Po, because in an act of blasphemy I forgot to mention him! *cringes* Can we share him? ;D He’s made of pure epic awesome!

    • Vanessa June 19, 2010 at 2:27 PM #

      Oh Po! ❤

  22. Sammy June 19, 2010 at 1:22 AM #

    Savannah: TOBIASSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS!

    • svonnah June 19, 2010 at 7:21 AM #

      He’s Miiiiiiiiine! Rachel Simon and I were having a Twitter war over who was more obsessed with him. 😄

    • Vanessa June 19, 2010 at 2:28 PM #

      Ahahahaha, I’ve been afraid to admit that I had a bit of a crush on Tobias as a kid too!

  23. Aly June 19, 2010 at 1:04 PM #

    Here are my top three ideal fictional men:

    Rhett Butler. My friend is a big GWTW fan like me and we had lots of fun one weekend going ‘Oh, Rhett!’ in terrible Southern accents. I mean, umm, we had fun discussing the book. (:

    The Phantom of the Opera. Yes, he is rather dark and brooding and half of his face is ugly, but let me listen to him sing and I won’t even remember what he looks like! Plus, I love to sing too. Hee hee!

    I don’t think anyone’s said this yet, but my number one ideal fictional man is Howl from Howl’s Moving Castle (the book Howl, not the movie one). He loves to bicker and is quite the drama queen but he’s very caring and won’t let harm come to his family and friends. *spoiler for the sequal here* It turns out that he’s a good father and a powerful wizard as well! I would totally run off and live in the castle with him and Calcifer if I could.

    • jenn fitzgerald June 19, 2010 at 5:48 PM #

      I love Howl! I actually really like both versions. He is such an endearing drama queen but he can actually be brave when he has to be 🙂

  24. Olga June 20, 2010 at 11:45 PM #

    Oh! Side note to all the girls who want the deep brooders. I just got off the phone with one. He plays drums and has long hair and the prettiest blue eyes I’ve ever seen. He’s serious, doesn’t smile much, and is very rarely happy. He’s a widower with a daughter and a muddled past and a troubled present.

    I’m chipper, cheerful, and am always laughing and grinning like an idiot about something or other. I have parents who love me and friends who adore me.

    Romance novel waiting to happen, yes? No. A thousand times NO. Having gotten off the phone with him, I wanted to tell all of you that you do NOT want someone like him. Because “brooding” can sound a lot like “whining” in real life.

    Give me a man who can make me laugh. (My biggest childhood crush was on Genie from Aladdin – and I STAND BY THIS!!!)

  25. Kat Zhang June 21, 2010 at 12:51 AM #

    I can not BELIEVE I missed this conversation!! D:

  26. Vahini June 23, 2010 at 5:48 AM #

    Sav, I thought I was the only person strange enough to love Rant Casey. But apparently not. YES, I am no longer alone 🙂

    Other ideal fictional men include Jonathan from the Song of the Lioness Quartet, Gilbert Blythe, Joe Fontaine from The Sky is Everywhere, Prince Charmont from Ella Enchanted.

Comments are closed.

