Saturday Grab Bag: New This Month, Poll, and Mashup

26 Jun

New This Month!

Everlasting by Angie Frazer

Sailing aboard her father’s trade ship is all seventeen-year-old Camille Rowen has ever wanted. But as a girl of society in 1855 San Francisco, her future is set: marry a man she doesn’t love, or condemn herself and her father to poverty.

On her final voyage before the wedding, the stormy arms of the Tasman Sea claim her father, and a terrible family secret is revealed. A secret intertwined with a fabled map, the mother Camille has long believed dead, and an ancient stone that wields a dangerous—and alluring—magic.

The only person Camille can depend on is Oscar, a handsome young sailor whom she is undeniably drawn to. Torn between trusting her instincts and keeping her promises to her father, Camille embarks on a perilous quest into the Australian wilderness to find the enchanted stone. As she and Oscar elude murderous bushrangers and unravel Camille’s father’s lies, they come closer to making the ultimate decision of who—and what—matters most.

Beautifully written and feverishly paced, Everlasting is an unforgettable journey of passion, secrecy, and adventure.

Contributor Comments:

This debut is historical YA, with a bit of romance. While I’m hoping that it has more adventure than romance, it certainly looks interesting. But perhaps that’s because it involves boats. And, well, I have a soft spot for boats. AND, it’s historical! And everyone knows how much I love history! Historical YA hasn’t been doing so well lately in the market, but I’ve always enjoyed them immensely. It was released on June 1st, so this book is already sitting out on shelves, just waiting for me to snatch it up!

Vanessa Di Gregorio

~~~

Android Karenina

Sense and Sensibility and Sea Monsters co-author Ben H. Winters is back with an all-new collaborator, legendary Russian novelist Leo Tolstoy, and the result is Android Karenina; an enhanced edition of the classic love story set in a dystopian world of robots, cyborgs, and interstellar space travel.

As in the original novel, our story follows two relationships: The tragic adulterous love affair of Anna Karenina and Count Alexei Vronsky, and the more hopeful marriage of Nikolai Levin and Princess Kitty Shcherbatskaya. These characters live in a steampunk-inspired world of robitic butlers, clumsy automatons, and rudimentary mechanical devices. But when these copper-plated machines begin to revolt against their human masters, our characters must fight back using state-of-the-art 19th-century technology and a sleek new model of ultra-human cyborgs like nothing the world has ever seen.

Filled with the same blend of romance, drama, and fantasy that made the first two Quirk Classics New York Times best sellers, Android Karenina brings this celebrated series into the exciting world of science fiction.

Contributor Comments:

The newest Quirk classic is the heftiest yet, and is more sci-fi than the others with cyborgs, robots, and interplanetary travel. If you love a quirky read (and have a thing for classics), or like sci-fi, this could make a very interesting read! Definitely recommended if you liked Pride and Prejudice and Zombies, or Sense and Sensibility and Sea Montsers. Released on June 8th, you can already get your hands on this!

Vanessa Di Gregorio

~~~

We Want To Know…

~~~

Mashup:

~~~

Are there any new releases out this month that you can’t wait to get your hands on? Or any awesome links you’ve come across?

And don’t forget to check out the Book Recommendation for Shapeshifter!

5 Responses to “Saturday Grab Bag: New This Month, Poll, and Mashup”

  1. Olga June 26, 2010 at 10:51 AM #

    I’m definitely in the 80+ crowd, though I’ve only gone through about 20 or so this year. So behind!! But I always catch up, so no biggie. I have a stack of 21 new books behind me, so I’m stocked for now.

    • Vanessa June 26, 2010 at 6:46 PM #

      Perhaps while I was in university I was reading 80+, but I can’t imagine having that much time! Although I am trying to read a ton of books this year!

      • Olga June 27, 2010 at 10:53 PM #

        I stay up till all hours of the night with a book. I read on breaks at work, too. I’m also a bit of a hermit, so I guess that helps. If my friends want to see me, they pretty much have to not give me a choice in the matter.

  2. Marina June 26, 2010 at 2:22 PM #

    I wish I had time to read up to 80 books. But with all the reading I have to do for college, by the time I’m done I don’t have any energy to read anything for myself. Now I read somewhere between 15-20 books, maybe.

    I found these links this week:

    Show, don’t tell examples: http://www.stumbleupon.com/su/1oNtPe/jerz.setonhill.edu/writing/creative/showing.htm
    Plague words:
    http://grammar.ccc.commnet.edu/grammar/plague.htm

    • Vanessa June 26, 2010 at 6:47 PM #

      Great links! Thanks for sharing!!

      And yeah, I probably read 15-20 per year usually. I really want to challenge myself and read a LOT more this year though!

Comments are closed.

