Saturday Grab Bag: Mashup and Quotes

3 Jul

Mashup

Notes from the Twittersphere

  • Best advice I’ve ever received: “Finish.” PETER MAYLE –@AdviceToWriters
  • Do not rush. The more time you spend nurturing and preparing your novel, the more on-edge readers will be to get their hands on it! –@EvaMcWriting
  • Fiction is a lie, and good fiction is the truth inside the lie. STEPHEN KING –@AdviceToWriters
  • If the words “nearly complete” or “expected wordcount” or “anticipated length” are in your query, DO NOT SEND IT. –@CA_Marshall
  • Writers: Social media is a two way street. Don’t just promote yourself. Have a conversation –@ShennandoahDiaz

Quotes to Live By

  • The worst enemy to creativity is self-doubt. ~Sylvia Plath
  • Easy reading is damn hard writing. ~Nathaniel Hawthorne
  • Every writer I know has trouble writing. ~Joseph Heller
  • Writing is both mask and unveiling. ~E.B. White

~~~

Are there any great links you’ve come across? Or some cool tweets or quotes? Share them in the comments.

And don’t forget to check out the Book Recommendation for our Book Of The Month, Stolen!

5 Responses to “Saturday Grab Bag: Mashup and Quotes”

  1. Savannah J. Foley July 4, 2010 at 10:26 PM #

    Fabulous Grab Bag! Thanks Vanessa for putting this together!

    • Vanessa July 5, 2010 at 10:37 AM #

      It was my pleasure! 😀

  2. Kate July 5, 2010 at 4:07 AM #

    Ahh I’ve been so busy with summer stuff I forgot to check this blog! I love the mash-up in this Grab Bag. The article about characters and settings was really beneficial to me. Every time I read articles like that I feel like I’m growing as a writer.

    Thanks so much for taking the time to post these. They’re really helpful and motivational because I always feel like writing or tweaking my story once I’m finished!

    • Vanessa July 5, 2010 at 10:39 AM #

      Haha, I figured that weekend posts in the summer might get put on the backburner! I’m always out and about on the weekends! Summer is never long enough for me!

      I’m glad the article on characters was helpful! I really liked it when I read it; there were so many good points!

  3. Cassandra July 7, 2010 at 8:59 PM #

    Thanks for including my tweet!

Comments are closed.

