The Latest in LTWF Contributors!

4 Jul

Hola, compadres! I’ve been so excited to write this post that I may or may not have started (and restarted) it about five times. I’m over-the-moon excited to be the latest LTWF contributor! I’ve been talking to the ladies here for a while, and really respect what they do on this blog. Not to mention, they’re all incredible people. So getting to join them (and you!) here is kind of surreal. And awesome.

Since I’m supposed to be introducing myself, I guess I should probably do that. So! In case you didn’t already know, my name is Sammy Bina, I’m 22, and a fifth year senior majoring in Creative Writing. I grew up in Wisconsin, but I’ve also lived in Minnesota, Washington D.C., and Ireland. I’ll hopefully be moving to New York next fall!

But I’m getting ahead of myself.

I’ve been writing since… Well, probably since I could pick up a pen. I’m proud to admit that my first full-length story was a Harry Potter fanfic (which I’ve sadly lost), closely followed by a string of La Femme Nikita fanfic (if you remember that show, you get brownie points). It wasn’t until high school that I really started to come up with my own ideas. Oddly enough, it was my favorite math teacher who encouraged me to write (probably because I was doing so poorly in his class). And the rest is history.

I finished my first full-length novel my freshman year of college. I’ve finished a few other novels since then, but the one I’m currently querying is my senior thesis, an adult dystopian romance called THE AGE OF NEVER GROWING OLD. I’m also really excited about my most recent project, a YA paranormal romance entitled SCARRED.

Right now I’m currently living in D.C. and interning at the Elaine P. English literary agency. I’m also the co-founder of the livejournal group Plagiarism Haven, which came about after a bunch of fellow FP writers had their work stolen. Back in Wisconsin, I’m a member of our university’s literary journal, The Madison Review, and a local magazine we put out called Souvenirs. I’ve also interned at the University of Wisconsin Press. As a writer, it’s been really great to see the other side of things, and my current internship has really solidified my goal to one day become an agent. There’s just something about publishing that I love! I can’t put my finger on it, probably because there are too many things I could say.

But I can say that I’m SO excited to be here!

Love,
Sammy

18 Responses to “The Latest in LTWF Contributors!”

  1. Julie Eshbaugh July 4, 2010 at 12:14 AM #

    Sammy, you did a great job with your intro! You are already such a great contributor to our community and I’m excited about your future posts. Welcome!!!!!

    • samanthabina July 4, 2010 at 12:19 AM #

      Thanks, Julie!

      I hope you’re feeling better!

  2. Kelly Belly July 4, 2010 at 2:40 AM #

    haha YAY!!! A new contributor! I’ve been snooping about on your blog and I can’t wait to read your witty, well-articulated articles. Hurrah!!!

    • Sammy July 4, 2010 at 5:12 PM #

      Haha, thanks, Kelly! I’m glad someone’s been getting some use out of my blog 😉

  3. Angela July 4, 2010 at 5:19 AM #

    Interesting history. I`m looking forward to your amazing contributions to LTWF. =D

    • Sammy July 4, 2010 at 5:13 PM #

      Aaw, thank you! I’m looking forward to it, too!

  4. Kat Zhang July 4, 2010 at 6:52 AM #

    Welcome, welcome, welcome! So glad you’re here 😀

    • Sammy July 4, 2010 at 5:14 PM #

      Thanks, Kat!

  5. Olga July 4, 2010 at 8:39 AM #

    Hooray!! E-confetti is now being dumped on your head. 🙂

    • Sammy July 4, 2010 at 5:15 PM #

      Oh, jeez :-p For some reason, people like to stick confetti inside envelopes when they mail me things. Now all I see when I hear the word confetti is a mess, hahaha. Thanks for the welcome! E-confetti is so much cleaner ❤

  6. Vanessa July 4, 2010 at 11:47 AM #

    Woooo! I’m glad that it’s official now!!! 😀

    • Sammy July 5, 2010 at 12:24 PM #

      Me too!

  7. Savannah J. Foley July 4, 2010 at 10:24 PM #

    Yay Sammy! So glad you’re here 🙂

    • Sammy July 5, 2010 at 12:24 PM #

      Yay! I’m so glad to BE here!

  8. Ereza July 5, 2010 at 1:20 AM #

    Another LTWF contributor :D! I can’t wait to read what your future posts.

    • Sammy July 5, 2010 at 12:25 PM #

      Thanks, Ereza! I’ve already got some ideas stewing 😉

  9. Myra July 5, 2010 at 1:35 AM #

    Welcome, Sammy! 😀

    • Sammy July 5, 2010 at 12:26 PM #

      Thanks, Myra!

Comments are closed.

