Short Story Ending Contest!

10 Jul

Special Report

Kat Zhang is having a contest over at her blog, The Katacomb. Here’s a little blurb explaining how things work. Check it out if you’re interested!

~~~

Okay, it’s time for another contest! (And this one is a real contest, I swear…) Below, I have posted the first couple paragraphs of a short story. Your job is to finish it. You can take ten pages if you want. Or, you could take a single paragraph. Doesn’t matter to me–just write me the best ending you can think of!

The contest ends next Friday, July 16, at midnight EST. You have a week–get going!

What’s the prize? I’m offering another 15,000 word critique. The people I edited for last time seem to think I didn’t do such a bad job 😀 I’m very in-depth with my comments, addressing character arc, plot troubles, description, writing flow, etc. In other words, I do line critiques AND give my general thoughts at the end. So don’t think I’ll just be sending you a little paragraph or something.

But if writing short stories isn’t for you, you can still win a 5,000 word critique just by tweeting or blogging about this contest. You get 1 entry per tweet (total of 5, one per day), and 2 entries for a blog post! (please link your posts for me in the comments and put @Katzhang at the END of your tweets)

Please email your short story endings to me at katzhang3 AT gmail DOT com. I will post the entries up once the contest is over (I won’t say who wrote which one!), and I’ll let you guys vote for the winner!

Alright. I’m very excited about this! Don’t let me down, my fellow writers…I want to know how this story ends!

~~~

The beginning of the short story is at The Katacomb. Please direct all comments and links to tweets/blog posts over there. Thanks a lot, and get cracking on that short story ending!

5 Responses to “Short Story Ending Contest!”

  1. Julie Eshbaugh July 10, 2010 at 11:54 AM #

    Hey Kat – What a great contest! I read through the story starter on The Katacomb and I love it. It would be so fun to write an ending, and the prize is well worth the effort. I have an idea I’m working on right now. 🙂

    • Kat Zhang July 10, 2010 at 11:58 AM #

      Ooh, can’t wait to see it! 🙂

  2. Link July 11, 2010 at 4:38 AM #

    http://lincolnlaw.wordpress.com/2010/07/11/that-magical-number/
    Here’s a link to my blog entry where I linked to the contest. I would do a story, but as the blog post says, I just reached 100,000 words on my novel and that means crazy writing time.

    • Kat Zhang July 11, 2010 at 8:33 AM #

      Thanks, Link. And congrats! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. That Magical Number « Lincoln Law - July 11, 2010

    […] over at LTWF, there is a contest going for a 15,000 word critique from the wonderful Kat Zhang.  It requires […]

Comments are closed.

