Book Giveaway: The Foretelling by Alice Hoffman

11 Jul

I was born out of sorrow, so my mother named me Rain.

So begins The Foretelling; a favourite book of mine which I read a few years ago. It is a very short story, but the lyrical beauty of Hoffman’s prose is absolutely enchanting. Rain, a young woman shunned by her own mother, struggles in her search for her own identity. She is desperate to prove herself in a society of strong Amazon women; but she will soon discover that she sees a different future for herself.

After recently discovering that I actually had two copies of this book, I’ve decided to give one of them away!

Here’s the description from Goodreads:

A stunning tale of primal power and mythic beauty from a New York Times bestselling author. Rain is a girl of the Amazon tribe of women warriors, the daughter of Queen Alina, living in a time of blood and fear. As the future leader of her people, she must seek and hold fast to her inner warrior. But amid the horrors of the battlefield, Rain is startled and mystified by the first stirrings of mercy towards the enemy–men–within her. What she encounters along the poignant and harrowing path toward her destiny–a kind young man, a strange recurrent prophecy, and a condemned baby brother–lead her, against odds, to forge mercy, love, and peace.

~~~

I think any writer could learn from Hoffman’s prose; she absolutely amazes me. And any reader would be entranced by her prose and storytelling.

How to enter:
This contest is open internationally.
All you need to do is leave a comment and your email to be entered in the contest. For extra entries, you can do any (or all!) of the following:

+1 for following LTWF on Twitter (add your twitter name to your comment so I know you’re following)
+1 for being a fan on Facebook
+3 for following this blog – (if you don’t, just subscribe to us with your email!)
+1 for sharing this contest on Twitter – (please provide the link of your tweet in the comments)
+2 for sharing this contest on your blog – just be sure to leave a link (so that we know who you are, and how you’re sharing it!)

There are 9 entries in total. Don’t forget adding your email so that we can contact you!

The contest ends at noon EST on Saturday, July 31st. The winner will be picked using random.org, and will be announced on Sunday, August 1st.

Good luck!

~Vanessa

34 Responses to “Book Giveaway: The Foretelling by Alice Hoffman”

  1. Jess July 11, 2010 at 12:09 AM #

    Awesome giveaway! 🙂
    +1 for following on Twitter (username is nlmars)
    +3 for following this blog
    +2 for sharing on my blog: http://nl-mars.livejournal.com/26226.html
    +1 for sharing on Twitter: http://twitter.com/nlmars/status/18244818474

  2. Joan July 11, 2010 at 12:54 AM #

    Woot! Great giveaway x)

    +1 for following on Twitter (zanirra)

  3. Joan July 11, 2010 at 12:55 AM #

    +1 for being a fan on facebook!

  4. Angela July 11, 2010 at 2:23 AM #

    +1 for following LTWF on Twitter: aekubo
    +1 for being a fan on Facebook
    +3 for following this blog
    +1 for sharing this contest on Twitter – http://twitter.com/aekubo/favorites
    +2 for sharing this contest on your blog – http://aekubo.livejournal.com/10148.html

    • Susan July 11, 2010 at 4:51 AM #

      Cool contest! Thanks!

      +1 for following on Twitter (name = stdennard)
      +3 for following this blog (via GoogleReader)
      +1 for sharing on twitter

  5. tymcon July 11, 2010 at 5:49 AM #

    Im on your facebook, I think i’m called Timothy Connolly, but i’m not sure. If you want to check just search the freinds list whit Tim, I’m wearing a black shirt in my facebook picture. I don’t think i can give any more info:P
    Here’s my twitter: http://twitter.com/TymCon
    I’m following this blog. I’m not sure how. I think i’ve suscribed in email, or wordpress. All i know is i’m getting emails about new entrysXD
    My email is: ti_may_y@hotmail.com
    (Yes i know my names aren’t very original)
    My blogs in the website part of my comment.

  6. Caroline July 11, 2010 at 5:54 AM #

    I love Alice Hoffman, fingers crossed!
    +1 for twitter (CazApr1)
    +3 for being e-mailed the blog

  7. Jill Gessen July 11, 2010 at 6:33 AM #

    Hi, hope it’s OK to drop you a line here. I’m with a new giveaway search engine: Giveaway Scout (http://www.giveawayscout.com) and would like to offer you to have your blog included. Have a look and if interested, use our online form to add your blog (http://www.giveawayscout.com/addblog/ ). thanks, Jill

  8. Karina July 11, 2010 at 8:41 AM #

    Count me in!

  9. Christina July 11, 2010 at 8:57 AM #

    +1 for following Facebook
    +3 for following your blog

    I’ve never read that book, but I’ve heard great things about it!

  10. lostinbelieving July 11, 2010 at 10:25 AM #

    Oooh, this book sounds really good ! So thanks for the giveaway 😀

    +1 Twitter Follower
    (@DreamBelieve3)
    +3 Blog follower/Email subscriber
    +1 Tweet
    http://twitter.com/DreamBelieve3/status/18274429673

    Total: 5

    Thanks again !

    ~Alison
    lostinbelieving(at)yahoo(dot)com

  11. Sheila July 11, 2010 at 1:40 PM #

    I would love to read this book—please enter me to win!

    skkorman AT bellsouth DOT net

  12. Donna July 11, 2010 at 1:41 PM #

    Sounds like a good read; please include me in your giveaway!

    dlhaley[at]hotmail[dot]com

  13. Schneider July 11, 2010 at 2:39 PM #

    Sweet contest. I’m in. 😀

    +3 for following this blog

    nekojin_5@hotmail.com

  14. mindy July 11, 2010 at 5:41 PM #

    this looks wonderful thanks for the giveaway minsthins at optonline dot net

  15. Meagan Spooner July 11, 2010 at 8:32 PM #

    Sounds like a good read, count me in. 🙂

    +1 for following LTWF on Twitter (@meaganspooner)
    +1 for being a fan on Facebook
    +3 for following this blog (via Google Reader)
    +1 for sharing this contest on Twitter (retweeted)

  16. Joan July 11, 2010 at 9:40 PM #

    +3 for following this blog x)

  17. Joan July 11, 2010 at 9:49 PM #

    +1 for sharing this contest on Twitter

    RT here: http://twitter.com/zanirra

  18. Caitlin July 11, 2010 at 10:10 PM #

    this is my entry, I enter my email when I post so do I need to write it again? I will if necessary. Also

    +1 for Twitterstalking (@CaitlinVanasse if you weren’t sure)
    +1 for being a fan on FB, I had forgotten about this until you tried to increase your followership, thanks for the reminder.

    • Vanessa July 26, 2010 at 2:14 PM #

      If you’ve entered your email when you post, then that’s fine!

  19. Chelsea July 12, 2010 at 12:00 AM #

    +1 for being a fan on Facebook
    +3 for following this blog – (if you don’t, just subscribe to us with your email!)

    ms.w UNDERSCORE chels AT live.com 🙂

  20. Mary Ward July 12, 2010 at 1:51 PM #

    I absolutely love Alice Hoffman and haven’t read this one yet.

  21. susan July 12, 2010 at 1:55 PM #

    this would be great to read please count me in!

  22. Sharon A July 12, 2010 at 6:02 PM #

    I want to read this book based on the Goodreads synopsis.

  23. Deedles July 13, 2010 at 12:07 PM #

    I would love to be entered. This sounds like a great book.

  24. Alex Fuller July 13, 2010 at 4:59 PM #

    Thanks mucho =)

  25. Rebecca Robbins July 20, 2010 at 11:17 AM #

    Great giveaway!

    Rebecca Robbins rebrecker[at]hotmail[dot]com

    +1 for following LTWF on Twitter (Twitter name: StarsnGuitars)
    +1 for being a fan on Facebook
    +3 for following this blog – (I’ve subscribe via email!)
    +1 for sharing this contest on Twitter – (http://twitter.com/StarsnGuitars/statuses/19000780922)

    7 in total!

    Thanks 🙂

  26. Emily July 21, 2010 at 12:38 PM #

    Sounds like a great book. Thanks for the contest.

    Follower
    Sidebar: http://itsjustlifeasiknowit.blogspot.com

    Emily ebdye1(at)gmail

  27. Annemarie Hunt July 21, 2010 at 4:19 PM #

    +1 for being a fan on Facebook
    +3 for following this blog
    4 entries
    This book sounds really good.

  28. Taffy July 24, 2010 at 12:33 PM #

    1 FB
    1 Twitter (taffylovell(
    3 follower
    2 posted
    = 7

    http://taffyscandy.blogspot.com/2010/07/more-contests-wanna-win.html

  29. Ella July 25, 2010 at 11:47 AM #

    Oh! Lovely :3 Even if I don’t win, I’ll be sure to check this one out!

    hacktest714 at gmail dot com

    +3 for following this blog
    +1 for joining on Facebook

  30. SC8003 July 27, 2010 at 10:15 AM #

    Hm… That sounds absolutely fabulous! I am a subscriber of the blog +3… 4 entries in total. 🙂 You can reach me at luvpinkpanther@gmail.com

  31. Vanessa August 3, 2010 at 3:02 PM #

    CONTEST HAS ENDED – thanks to all who participated!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Foretelling Giveaway Winner!!! « Let The Words Flow - August 1, 2010

    […] Aug The winner for The Foretelling Giveaway […]

Comments are closed.

