Prompts. Let’s see what you got.

14 Jul

by Biljana Likic

~~~

A couple months ago, we asked you guys what you wanted to see more of on LTWF. One of the comments, reinforced by similar comments, was this:

“TymCon: You could give a weekly/monthly writing prompt and then judge the stories and declare a winner.”

We’re not quite at the point of a contest yet, and none of these are going to be judged, but today I wanted to experiment with this prompt idea.

So here’s today’s exercise.

Choose your favourite prompt and run with it.

~~~

1. You’re walking down the street and you bump into a person. Their first response towards you is desperate flirtation.

2. You’re at a carnival and in line for a shoot-em-up. You unwittingly pick up a real gun.

3. You’re a spy who’s just been caught selling secrets via dating websites. You have one last chance to cover it up.

4. You didn’t intend on kidnapping anyone.

5. A telephone rings. You don’t own a telephone.

~~~

CHECK IT: If ideas run dry, but you don’t feel you’ve exploited the prompt enough, add [Cont.] to the end and invite somebody else to pick it up.

CHECK IT SOME MORE: Fun fact I’ve noticed while writing this post. Prompts are hard to come up with. I challenge you to put any that come to mind in the comments.

~~~

Have fun, and don’t be shy!

~~~

Biljana Likic is an aspiring author, currently revising her first novel, TIME IS A FUNNY THING. She just graduated high school and is on her way to university where she can’t wait till she’s out so she’ll finally have all the time in the world to write. You can visit her blog here.

33 Responses to “Prompts. Let’s see what you got.”

  1. Kat Zhang July 14, 2010 at 12:05 AM #

    Number 5 is all kinds of awesome! If I weren’t so incredibly busy right now, I’d so write something for it. Maybe I will anyway 😛

    But for now…bed beckons!

    • Biljana July 15, 2010 at 6:00 PM #

      Do it anyway :D.

  2. fromawriter July 14, 2010 at 2:40 AM #

    I’d really like to do Number 5. Once I have the time, I’ll pretty much write it down, yup.

    • Biljana July 15, 2010 at 6:00 PM #

      Feel free to share if you do end up writing something :).

  3. Aurora Blackguard July 14, 2010 at 5:23 AM #

    Prompt: You’re climbing out of the window to sneak out and you run into people trying to break into your house.

    Oh gosh, I would totally love to do 3! I don’t know why but it seems hilarious! 😀

    • Landon July 14, 2010 at 11:46 AM #

      I love your prompt! I definitely have to try this.

      • Myra July 14, 2010 at 4:36 PM #

        OMG, this prompt is all kinds of crazy and awesome. I’m definitely going to try it out too.

    • Biljana July 15, 2010 at 6:02 PM #

      Ahaha that’s great. And yeah 3, I like to think, has potential for rib-cracking fun :D. Or even terrible heartbreak.

      Which will it be??

  4. tymcon July 14, 2010 at 6:01 AM #

    Lol proudest moment of my life. I like no.5 and 4. 4 seems like it could be fun to write:P

    • Biljana July 15, 2010 at 6:02 PM #

      I have to admit that Savannah helped me with 4 :).

  5. Olga July 14, 2010 at 8:15 AM #

    Prompt: Your car breaks down three blocks from a mechanic’s. You don’t get there. Why?

    Prompt: You lose your car keys an hour before a job interview.

    Prompt: Your computer starts talking to you. Complete with asking you out and getting hurt when you say no.

    • Kat Zhang July 14, 2010 at 10:34 AM #

      Hahaha, I adore your third one 😛

      • Olga July 14, 2010 at 8:58 PM #

        Thanks!! I’m half tempted to start a new project with it. But I will NOT abandon my WIP at 11k. I’ve come too far (a tenth of the way. >.<) to give up!

  6. Angela July 14, 2010 at 8:35 AM #

    I love them all, especially number 3. It makes me want to write a short story. O.O

    • Biljana July 15, 2010 at 6:03 PM #

      DO IT. And then send it in :D.

  7. Vanessa July 14, 2010 at 9:35 AM #

    Biljana, 4 and 5 are AWESOME!!! Must find time to write now!

  8. Savannah J. Foley July 14, 2010 at 9:44 AM #

    Most awesome prompt ever that Biljana thought was lame: You are hiking in the woods when you stumble upon a baby Bigfoot crying over its dead mother. What do you do?

    This would have so been the most epic children’s movie ever in the 80’s. Some teenage guy takes the baby Bigfoot (nicknamed Biggie of course) home with him to San Francisco. Hijinks ensue, including a media blitz as scientists and stuff try to confiscate him to a zoo, but the guy eventually makes a deal with a rehabilitation squad to return Biggie to the wild.

    You know that would have been your absolute favorite movie when you were a kid.

    • Julie Eshbaugh July 14, 2010 at 1:59 PM #

      You need to write that script, Savannah!

    • authorguy July 14, 2010 at 6:04 PM #

      I wrote a scene pretty much like tht in my first novel, Unbinding the Stone.

    • samanthabina July 14, 2010 at 11:02 PM #

      Can someone write that in the next month and submit it to the agency I work for so I can go, “LOOK AT THIS AWESOME MANUSCRIPT WE MUST SIGN IT WE MUST. [pause] Can we have film rights?”

      • authorguy July 15, 2010 at 8:52 PM #

        You can have the film rights to my version.

    • Biljana July 15, 2010 at 6:04 PM #

      Lol Sav!

      All I could think of when you were telling me about it was E.T. and that really stupid movie Mighty Joe Young.

      • svonnah July 16, 2010 at 9:10 PM #

        Mighty Joe Young was awesome, don’t lie!

  9. Myra July 14, 2010 at 4:49 PM #

    Number five creeps me out so much, because if that ever happened I would just FREAK. Actually, it happened this morning–sort of. What I thought was a cell phone was just a bird outside my window at five AM. I was half-asleep, evidently, but it woke me up completely.

    Anyway, I’m going to try my hand at this one.

    • Biljana July 15, 2010 at 6:05 PM #

      Awww that sucks haha. And I agree. Phones ringing when you don’t have them are scary as crap.

  10. jenn fitzgerald July 14, 2010 at 6:44 PM #

    great prompts billy! i think one could be so hilarious, and it kinda sounds like a chick flick plot

    • Biljana July 15, 2010 at 6:07 PM #

      Lol I know. Second scene of a romantic comedy right there. Following the beginning where some person gets their wish to be desirable.

      “How will they know who really loves them?”

  11. priscillashay July 17, 2010 at 11:52 PM #

    hmmm..I’m a little late..but what about combining two of your prompts???

    The spy selling secrets one with your non-existent ringing phone.. 🙂

    I’ll get writing tomorrow!.. Post here or email??

    • Biljana July 17, 2010 at 11:54 PM #

      Combining sounds good :D. And you can post it wherever; here, you can email it, or maybe post it to your own blog and link us :).

  12. priscillashay July 18, 2010 at 12:47 AM #

    K! Will do 🙂

  13. Launo July 18, 2010 at 7:25 PM #

    I am going to try this one soon.
    4. You didn’t intend on kidnapping anyone.

    • Biljana July 19, 2010 at 1:53 PM #

      Link us when you’re done, if you want :).

  14. Alcoholism Treatment : November 1, 2010 at 1:54 AM #

    there are so many dating websites these days and it is a very profitable business too ‘

Comments are closed.

