Book Recommendation and Giveaway: PARANORMALCY

20 Jul

By

Sarah J. Maas

~~~

Publisher: HarperTeen

Release Date: August 31, 2010

Summary (from Amazon.com):

Evie’s always thought of herself as a normal teenager, even though she works for the International Paranormal Containment Agency, her ex-boyfriend is a faerie, she’s falling for a shape-shifter, and she’s the only person who can see through paranormals’ glamours.

But Evie’s about to realize that she may very well be at the center of a dark faerie prophecy promising destruction to all paranormal creatures.

So much for normal.

~~

It’s not every day that I get SUPER, UNBELIEVABLY EXCITED about upcoming books. But from the moment I saw the cover for Kiersten White’s PARANORMALCY, I got that “MUST READ NOW” feeling. And when I received an ARC of it last week, I pretty much died. No joke, I was actually dead to the world. I curled up on the couch and didn’t stop reading until 2:30 AM. I didn’t watch TV, answer emails, take phone calls, or pay attention to my poor hubby–I just Could. Not. Stop. Reading.

It was love at first paragraph, and Evie stole my heart when she described her blinged-out pink taser (nicknamed Tasey). I rarely get attached to heroines the way I got attached to Evie–she’s the perfect blend of sass, smarts, and sensitivity, and I found myself laughing and crying along with her.

And the love interest–Lend! Can I say how HOT he is? I mean, he’s a freaking shapeshifter, which is pretty awesome, but more than that he’s just a nice, GOOD guy. He’s not one of those brooding, menacing, “I love you, but I want to kill you” dudes that pop up all too often in YA, but rather a kind, smart, and funny guy. I adore books where the romantic interest is an actual good guy (but maybe that’s just because I married one). In a desert of stalker-esque, sparkling, and all-around emo love interests, Lend is an oasis.

In a nutshell, PARANORMALCY is a combination of BUFFY: THE VAMPIRE SLAYER, HELLBOY, and all that’s best in YA paranormal lit. I haven’t read something this delightful in a while–I kinda want to cuddle my ARC right now. I could definitely come up with ten more paragraphs regarding WHY it’s so awesome, but…I think you already get the point. Plus, I’m still in that post-reading “!!!!” phase where I can’t formulate coherent thoughts (even a few days later).

I honestly can’t wait until PARANORMALCY hits shelves, because I’m pretty sure it’s gonna be a huge hit–and because I want all my friends to read it ASAP! August 31st cannot come soon enough!

Pre-Order it. NOW. You won’t regret it.

BUT just in case you can’t wait until August 31st, we’re hosting a giveaway of our ARC! That’s right–you can have a copy of PARANORMALCY before it even hits shelves!

All you have to do to enter is leave a comment with your email address AND answer this question:

Evie comes across a lot of fascinating and terrifying creatures in PARANORMALCY–if you could be any paranormal/mythological creature (vampire, werewolf, mermaid, etc.), what would you be and why?

For extra entries, you can do any (or all!) of the following:

+1 for following LTWF on Twitter (add your twitter name to your comment so I know you’re following)
+1 for being a fan on Facebook
+3 for following this blog – (if you don’t, just subscribe to us with your email!)
+1 for sharing this contest on Twitter – (please provide the link of your tweet in the comments)
+2 for sharing this contest on your blog – just be sure to leave a link (so that we know who you are, and how you’re sharing it!)

There are 9 entries in total. Don’t forget adding your email so that we can contact you! (Also, please note that this contest is NOT open internationally–US and Canadian residents only, please)

The contest ends at noon EST on Friday, August 6th. The winner will be picked using random.org, and will be announced on Saturday, August 7th. Good luck!!!

~~~

ARC Received From Publisher

~~~

Sarah J. Maas is the author of several novels, including QUEEN OF GLASS, a YA fantasy retelling of Cinderella that will be published by Bloomsbury in late 2011. Sarah resides with her husband in Los Angeles. You can visit her blog here.

94 Responses to “Book Recommendation and Giveaway: PARANORMALCY”

  1. Meagan Spooner July 20, 2010 at 1:35 AM #

    I’ve been waaaaiting to read this ever since you mentioned it the first time. So on board.

    The question is WAY TOO HARD though. I instantly think mermaid, so I’ll just go with my gut on that, even if I’m sure I’m going to think of about ten thousand things I’d want to be when I press “submit.” Maybe a shapeshifter. Yeah, better just hit submit before I get stuck changing my mind…

    +1 following on Twitter (@meaganspooner)
    +1 facebook fan
    +3 following blog via Google Reader
    +1 tweet: http://twitter.com/MeaganSpooner/statuses/18970755060
    +2 blog post: http://meaganspooner.livejournal.com/5698.html

    • Sarah J. Maas July 20, 2010 at 3:17 AM #

      Haha, I kinda want to be a mermaid. Or a unicorn. (yes, unicorn. that’d be totally pimp)

      • Vanessa July 20, 2010 at 9:23 AM #

        Mermaid for SURE!!!

  2. Mary July 20, 2010 at 2:11 AM #

    I would be a mermaid, because you get to live underwater and of course that’s awesome!

    • Sarah J. Maas July 20, 2010 at 3:06 AM #

      Ever since I saw THE LITTLE MERMAID when I was like…3 years old (it was the first movie I saw in theaters), I’ve always had a soft spot for mermaids!

      Also–you forgot to leave your email address!

  3. Mary July 20, 2010 at 2:12 AM #

    I just subscribed to your blog 🙂

  4. fromawriter July 20, 2010 at 2:38 AM #

    Hm what would I be? Maybe a shapeshifter or a siren.
    Loved your review for this one~ by the way.
    Tasey sounds cute!
    I’d probably be a shapeshifter, but an awesome one, so I could be a lot of things. So like a mermaid I could go into the water, like a werewolf, I could be a wolf, and etc. And if I’m extra awesome I could even change into a werewolf, mermaid, fairy, siren thing.
    I subscribe to the blog, by email because reading this blog in my email is fun.
    I follow on twitter also, by gubuchu.

    • Sarah J. Maas July 20, 2010 at 3:08 AM #

      Ooh, a shapeshifter wold be sooo cool. Lend–the love interest in PARANORMALCY is a REALLY cool kinda shapeshifter. ❤

    • Vanessa July 20, 2010 at 9:24 AM #

      Oooh, a siren! I like that one!!!

  5. tessaquin July 20, 2010 at 4:37 AM #

    Vampire. Definitely. Why? Well, I’ve been a fan of vampires since Interview with a Vampire, and I have no idea why I’m so fascinated by them. Maybe it’s their beauty, strength, or mystery. I don’t know, but it would be a vampire.

    +1 for Twitter: TessyQuin
    +1 for Facebook: Tessa Quin
    +3 for blog: Tessaquin@gmail.com
    +1 for sharing on Twitter: http://twitter.com/TessyQuin
    +2 for sharing on blog: http://tessyquin.blogspot.com/2010/07/paranormalcy-giveaway.html

  6. Angela July 20, 2010 at 4:57 AM #

    Being a mermaid would be cool, but I can`t swim, and I`m terrified of the water. Angels are paranormal creatures, right? I want to be some sort of fallen angel =D Cause my name is Angela, and the word angel is in my name lol

    +1 for following LTWF on Twitter aekubo
    +1 for being a fan on Facebook Check
    +3 for following this blog – Check
    +1 for sharing this contest on Twitter – http://twitter.com/aekubo/statuses/18979426228
    +2 for sharing this contest on your blog – http://aekubo.livejournal.com/10901.html

    • Angela July 20, 2010 at 8:14 AM #

      Wait! Nevermind ): I just noticed the part where international people can`t enter. Forget my post above.

  7. Kate July 20, 2010 at 5:34 AM #

    I would want to be a werewolf. I think the thrill of exposing instinct is a really cool ability. And the fact that you can live longer but not forever is pretty awesome.

    +1 for following LTWF on Twitter (@sithereandread)
    +3 for following this blog: follow by RSS
    +1 for sharing this contest on Twitter: http://twitter.com/sithereandread/status/18980954240
    +2 for sharing this contest on your blog – sidebar: http://www.sithereandread.com

    Thanks!!

    sithereandread (at) gmail (dot) com

  8. tymcon July 20, 2010 at 6:11 AM #

    Lol i’m not U.S., so i can’t enter. I’m going to answer the question anyway:D
    I wouldn’t mind being a Fairie (Banshee would be my first pick, but woe is me that category’s very gender specific). Probably because in the storys I read they are either menacing, funny, good or conniving. Or just a mix of all the above.

  9. Aurora Blackguard July 20, 2010 at 7:35 AM #

    LOL 😦 not internationally opened? A tragedy 🙂

    I would totally be a leprechaun. I know, I know, like tymcon up there, it’s more of a guy creature but dude, how could you NOT want to be able to travel across rainbows and have pots of gold and wear green and be super duper lucky? Epic win!

    But if I can’t, I would love to be a Muse 🙂 Like the Greek kind!

    • tymcon July 20, 2010 at 5:00 PM #

      lol to get technical you could be a female leprachuan. Banshees in myth are spirit, kind of, so there’s no reason for there to be a male. But since leprachuans in myth were living, there’d have to be females unless they were asexual. Yeah so you could beXD
      Oh a muse! A muse that’s a writer. Wohoooo, talk about a brilliant never ending circle:P

      • Aurora Blackguard July 21, 2010 at 6:00 AM #

        LOL 😀 I suddenly have the image of Ink Exchange (melissa marr) in my head! bananach!! buahahahaahaha 🙂

  10. Savannah J. Foley July 20, 2010 at 9:02 AM #

    I’m a contributor… how many points does that get me? 😉

    I just wanted to chime in and say that I would totally be a dragon. Flight, long lives, beauty/strength/mystery… I would curl up in a cave in east Europe somewhere and befriend pretty loner girls.

    • Vanessa July 20, 2010 at 9:25 AM #

      DRAGON?! That’s badass Sav!

      • Sarah J. Maas July 20, 2010 at 1:27 PM #

        lol, now I have an image of a giant green dragon with Sav’s face at the end of its neck. The Gatekeeper indeed.

  11. Cassandra July 20, 2010 at 9:12 AM #

    I’d love to be a mermaid. I enjoy swimming, and wish I could swim underwater and not have to worry about cold water and all that. Plus, a tail would be pretty neat. 😛

    Extra Entries:
    +1 for following LTWF on Twitter (@cc9309)
    +3 for following this blog – (if you don’t, just subscribe to us with your email!)

    Total: 5 entries

  12. Kim July 20, 2010 at 9:15 AM #

    I would want to be a “Jumper” (yes, that Hayden Christensen film) so I can jump to the US, enter this competition, win the book, and jump back to Australia. But we all know this is wishful thinking.. 🙂

    • Susan July 20, 2010 at 11:25 AM #

      I didn’t even think of this! Deeeefinitely. But minus Samuel L. Jackson out to kill.

  13. Olga July 20, 2010 at 9:28 AM #

    I would give anything to be a faerie. There’s just so much lore and so many possibilities and…it’s basically the embodiment of freedom. You answer to laws, yes, but the laws are as flexible and changeable as yourself. I want this. I want that complete fluidity of life.

    Twitter – OlgaZelenova
    Facebook – Olga Zelenova
    Followingggg!!

    • Olga July 20, 2010 at 9:29 AM #

      Another reason – I don’t like salt anyway.

  14. Susan July 20, 2010 at 11:24 AM #

    If I could be any, I think I might want to be a phoneix. Granted, they are birds, but they’re so totally awesome! They didn’t cause destruction, but tended to be peace-bringers. Not to mention their songs.
    But if I wasn’t a phoneix, I’d probably want to be a unicorn.

    +1 for being a fan on Facebook
    +3 for following this blog (I should be following it at susan.noble@uconn.edu!)

  15. Cassandra C July 20, 2010 at 11:25 AM #

    +1 twitter follower CassayC

    +1 for tweeting http://twitter.com/CassayC/status/19001585968

    Cassandra C
    cassandra dot crouser at yahoo dot ca

  16. Lydia Sharp July 20, 2010 at 11:41 AM #

    I *so* want this book!

    I’ve always been an undersea creature at heart, for as long as I can remember. Mermaid for sure. Or maybe an octopus-woman (like Ursula in The Little Mermaid). Those are pretty sweet, too.

    Do I get extra points for having a published short story that includes both mermaids *and* an octopus-man? Here is the link to the anthology it is in: http://tinyurl.com/369vuw3 (scroll to the bottom of the page to see my “author page” link; I’m not making this up)

    +3 I have subscribed to this blog through email: lydiasharp4sff@yahoo.com

    +1 I am following on Twitter: @lydia_sharp

    +1 shared the contest on Twitter: http://twitter.com/lydia_sharp/status/19001705450

    Thanks!

  17. Brittany Landgrebe July 20, 2010 at 11:59 AM #

    I have no freaking idea what paranormal I’d want to be. Hm. Maybe a Siren or a Dragon. Yeah. Dragon. I LIKE THAT. Especially because I’m writing ABOUT dragons, lol.

    +1 I follow! @BLandgrebe
    +1 Fanned it up on Facebook 😛
    +3 Lurking via RSS
    +1 Sharing on Twitter! (even though I didn’t want to because WANT lol) http://twitter.com/BLandgrebe/status/19003781012

    Total of 7. Thanks so much for this giveaway! I’m having a hard time waiting for PARANORMALCY to come out, lol.

    brittany[at]brittanylandgrebe[dot]com

    ^_^

  18. Ella July 20, 2010 at 12:18 PM #

    Oof. No blog or Twitter, so…
    +3 for following this blog

    hacktest714 at gmail dot com

    As for what paranormal creature I would be…hmph, that’s hard >> Maybe a siren? Magical voice, beautiful appearance, wings, and aquatic features as well according to some legends. Plus I’d always have two big sisters to hang out with 😉

    We’d totally ditch sitting on a rock all day and luring mariners, though |D

  19. Gabby July 20, 2010 at 12:41 PM #

    Once, long ago, before all the vampire lit, I would have said vampire (in part because I’m photosensitve). Now I lean more towards either a fairy or a mermaid. Though a fairy that lived in or around water and only came out at night, or a nocturnal mermaid. Maybe a selkie. Really I’d be happy as anything that lived in a shady, watery place and had a very, very long lifespan.

    +3 for following

  20. Saffia July 20, 2010 at 1:08 PM #

    Prolly vampire, enough said. Or a mermaid. Love mermaids since I saw little mermaid in ’89 haha
    facebook fan
    Twitter follower

  21. Jessica July 20, 2010 at 3:24 PM #

    I would definitely want to be a witch/sorceress/mage because I would enjoy the spell casting process…it reminds of chemistry and working in a lab which I love. But since I am not sure if that counts as a mythological creature I would have to say unicorn to satisfy the question 🙂

  22. Carmen July 20, 2010 at 7:00 PM #

    Well…let’s see. I’ve always wanted some sort of magic, but not any ‘foolish wand-waving’. More like an intrinsic magic with a specialty. Like, everyone can do everything, but each person has a sort-of special talent for a part of magic. Mine would have to be some sort of healing thing. However, when it comes to mythical creatures specifically I always wanted to be a human with wings. Whatever the proper name for that is, that’s what I wanted to be.

  23. Madeleine July 20, 2010 at 7:32 PM #

    I would be a mermaid because I want to learn to swim better… and because Evie’s friend is a mermaid….

    +1 I follow on twitter – @MadeleineRex
    +3 I am subscribed
    +1 tweeted – http://twitter.com/MadeleineRex/status/19030756676
    +2 In my sidebar – http://madeleinerex.com

    I’m only 14 and prefer not to leave my email in the comment for all to see. 😀 It might be programmed into this comment automatically because I have a WordPress blog, but if not, you can DM me on twitter, and I can give you my email then. I hope this is OK. It’s all for security purposes. Thanks!

  24. Samantha Wekstein July 20, 2010 at 8:15 PM #

    I would definitely be a Pegasus. Horses are cool on their own, but a horse with wings? Awesome.

    Facebook group

    Augy555@aol.com

    • Vanessa July 22, 2010 at 12:25 PM #

      Ooooh! That’s a good one!

  25. lostinbelieving July 20, 2010 at 8:48 PM #

    Oh gosh, thank you for giving this away ! This book sounds amazing !

    +1 Twitter Follower
    (@DreamBelieve3)
    +1 Facebook fan !
    +3 Blog follower/Email subscriber

    Total: 5

    If I could be a paranormal creature, I would choose to be a ghost! They are invisible and can feel/not feel at the same time! Everything about them is really cool!

    Thank you again!

    ~Alison
    lostinbelieving(at)yahoo(dot)com

  26. June July 21, 2010 at 2:20 AM #

    +1 for following LTWF on Twitter (xjune_bug)
    +1 for being a fan on Facebook
    +3 for following this blog – (june.sham@yahoo.com)

    I kind of love the idea of being a phoenix 😀 Exploding into flames seems quite memorable! And the whole thing with fire being a cleansing and destructive power just makes it all better 😀

  27. Emily July 21, 2010 at 11:29 AM #

    This is a tough question. I actually like being human. I only sometimes wish I were able to fly. So I guess I would like to be something that could fly and still let me be human.

    I follow through Google Reader
    I posted a link on my blog: http://itsjustlifeasiknowit.blogspot.com

    Emily ebdye1(at)gmail

  28. Kaye July 21, 2010 at 1:03 PM #

    I would totally be a mermaid. Even though I can just barely swim (I failed the test to swim in the ‘deep end’ at our local pool several times as a child)I’ve always loved being under water.

    +3 for following this blog (bluekcy@aol.com)

  29. Meg July 22, 2010 at 6:20 PM #

    Uh, I’ve never been really interested in being any kind of creature I’m more of the type who’d just like to meet them all. I guess I kind of view how it would be to have grown up in that world as opposed to what it would be like to just be normal… and get to see it for the first time.

    I’d say a shape-shifter because out of all the creatures I could be that one seems like the most cryptic. They’re the race you’d call to infiltrate the enemies hide out. They’re practically contructed to be The Future Spies of (insert country). Sorry, I’ve been watching a lot of Alias lately. 🙂

    +1 for Twitter (meglanding)
    +1 for Facebook (megan gould)
    +3 for blog – (meglanding @ yahoo . com)

  30. Lesley July 24, 2010 at 10:58 AM #

    I would want to be a siren. They are known to be extremely beautiful, and at the same time can be dangerous even deadly.

    +1 Twitter (yabreviewed)
    +1 facebook
    +3 subscribe/follow
    +2 added to my site (in the sidebar) (http://yabreviewed.blogspot.com)

  31. Angela Messer July 24, 2010 at 10:58 AM #

    I would like to be an elemental witch. Manipulating the elements would be amazing 🙂

    Thanks for the giveaway, I follow you on twitter @readingangel002

    dukesangel002(at)yahoo(dot)com

  32. Chasta July 24, 2010 at 11:01 AM #

    That’s a hard question but I think I would have to choose mermaid. I would choose mermaid probably because I have always wanted to be one! I remember when I was little I would always watch mermaid movies and wish I could be like that! Free to live and swim in the sea, sounds good to me. And when I read the book forgive my fins it became one of my favorites because of the whole idea about mermaids and them falling in love, and the way Tara Lynn childs (the author) describes the way a mermaid lives and they way the water feels to mermaids is just amazing! And of course how could I not want to be a mermaid after that!?

  33. Holly July 24, 2010 at 11:01 AM #

    I’d want to be a mermaid. I’ve always loved the water and The Little Mermaid is by far my favorite Disney movie ever! The songs just never get old.

  34. Leira Carola July 24, 2010 at 11:04 AM #

    I would be a shape-shifter because getting to experience life from different points of view on a first hand basis would be priceless.

  35. TuraLura July 24, 2010 at 11:12 AM #

    I would be a tiger shape-shifter. Tigers are my favorite animal. ^_^

    +1 Twitter follower (@luraj2612)
    +1 Facebook fan
    +3 blog follower

    ^_^
    TuraLura
    luraj2612@gmail.com

  36. naica plaisir July 24, 2010 at 11:18 AM #

    if i could be any creature i would want to be a vampire because its always kind of been a dream of mine. i always dreamed that as soon as i turn 21, a vampire would turn me and we would live together for eternity.

  37. Kallie Mathews July 24, 2010 at 11:23 AM #

    I would want to be a witch! That way I could still come across as human and live a somewhat normal life!

  38. monica July 24, 2010 at 11:28 AM #

    I would be a vampire with an animal to call. I have been in love with vampires for as long as I can remember. With having an animal to call, I would have their powers too.

  39. asacredwork July 24, 2010 at 11:31 AM #

    I would be a mermaid because drowning is my worst fear and it would be so cool to see the deep sea with super-night-vision! +1

    I already follow you on twitter (@katrinalantznov) +1
    I tweeted here: http://twitter.com/harperteen/status/19425567595 +1
    I subscribed to your blog via email +3

    Total: +6 entries
    katrina [dot] lantz [at] gmail [dot] com

  40. Cinnamon July 24, 2010 at 11:39 AM #

    I would either want to be a shapechanger or a siren because I love to sing. Can I be both? 😉

    Cinnamon
    ajourneyofbooks-at-gmail.com

  41. Julie July 24, 2010 at 11:57 AM #

    I would love to be a mermaid! I love to swim and breathing underwater would be pretty awesome

    julie102794@gmail.com

  42. Katie July 24, 2010 at 12:01 PM #

    I would LOVE to be faerie!!! they’re so mystical and have so much freedom and it would be fun to play some pranks on people

  43. Yara S July 24, 2010 at 12:09 PM #

    Its a draw between Vampire and Mermaid.
    Being a vampire having that eternal beauty and living in the Oceans as a Mermaid just sounds Beautiful

    onceupontwilight(at)live.com

    +1 for following LTWF on Twitter @TwilightsDance
    +1 for being a fan on Facebook
    +3 for following this blog
    +1 for sharing this contest on Twitter

  44. Rayn Insley July 24, 2010 at 12:10 PM #

    Definitely a fairy… Just finished reading The Iron Daughter and let me tell you, they are so badass. I would want to be able to glamour and all that cool stuff.

  45. Jamie Manning July 24, 2010 at 12:32 PM #

    Would definitely have to be vampire…I’m in love with them!

    Thanks for this awesome contest…I can’t wait to read Paranormalcy!

    +1 for following on Twitter @jmanni32

    jmanni32@yahoo.com

  46. Taffy July 24, 2010 at 12:33 PM #

    1 FB
    1 Twitter (taffylovell)
    3Follower
    2 posted
    = 7

    http://taffyscandy.blogspot.com/2010/07/more-contests-wanna-win.html

  47. Nicole July 24, 2010 at 1:13 PM #

    werewolf!

    +1 twitter @prplbookworm

  48. Kristina July 24, 2010 at 1:39 PM #

    If could be a mythological creature I would want to be a witch the most because I would love to be able to see and do magic.

    My email address is jayhawks22@sunflower.com

    For extra entries, you can do any (or all!) of the following:

    +1 for being a fan on Facebook- Kristina Foster
    +3 for following this blog – (if you don’t, just subscribe to us with your email!)- jayhawks22@sunflower.com

  49. Lillie H (AliseOnLife) July 24, 2010 at 1:56 PM #

    I would want to be a member of the Unseelie fey (the Dark Court) that had shapeshifting abilities. Probably a large cat, like a panther.

    PolarisGreen[at]gmail[dot]com

    +1 Twitter follower
    +1 Facebook follower
    +3 RSS subscriber/blog follower
    +1 Tweeted: http://twitter.com/AliseOnLife/statuses/19436403039

  50. Krista July 24, 2010 at 3:07 PM #

    +1 facebook fan

    For my paranormal creature pick it would be a vampire. I’ve loved vampires ever since Dark Shadows.

  51. Lora Wiedenheft July 24, 2010 at 3:50 PM #

    Evie comes across a lot of fascinating and terrifying creatures in PARANORMALCY–if you could be any paranormal/mythological creature (vampire, werewolf, mermaid, etc.), what would you be and why?

    I would be a vampire. Have immortality. I would be in an intimate ( very intimate relationship) I would be strong and fast and able to go on little sleep lol.

  52. Lora Wiedenheft July 24, 2010 at 3:51 PM #

    I am a follower on twitter @Lora1967

  53. Lora Wiedenheft July 24, 2010 at 3:52 PM #

    I am a new follower on facebook Lora1967

  54. Lora Wiedenheft July 24, 2010 at 3:53 PM #

    I retweeted the contest
    @Lora196

  55. Christine July 24, 2010 at 4:01 PM #

    I would probably be a mermaid, mostly because I am a swimmer and I love the silky feel of it.

  56. Christina G July 24, 2010 at 4:45 PM #

    Perhaps a faerie. The nice kind though lol

  57. Lynn July 24, 2010 at 5:55 PM #

    Mermaid, hands down. Ever since I was a kid I would swim with my legs together (still do, actually) and hold my breath until I about drowned myself. The tail, the mystery, the places you could explore…definitely mermaid!

    +1 for following on Twitter (@lynnflips)
    +1 for Facebook
    +3 subscribing (camehloht@yahoo.com)
    +1 for tweeting (http://twitter.com/lynnflips/status/19448494896)

    Total: 7 entries

  58. Judyth A. July 24, 2010 at 7:44 PM #

    I would want to be a shapeshifter, probably of some kind of cat. I’ve just always loved animals, and it would be fun being able to be one.

    E-mail: charmed_pheobe764[at]hotmail[dot]com

    +1 for being a fan on Facebook
    +3 for following this blog – (if you don’t, just subscribe to us with your email!)

  59. Allie Sanders July 24, 2010 at 11:30 PM #

    To be any paranormal being? I’d probably go with a witch. Not the Wicca, in-tune with the earth type of witch but the real magical kind. I’ve always wanted to bend things to my will and to be able to curse people who annoy me. Also they have protection skills so I wouldn’t be so worried about walking about my town at night. Okay, so I probably wouldn’t curse the people who annoy me but a nice spell to take their voice for a bit would be wonderful.

    +1 For Twitter (Allie_Sanders89)
    +1 for re-tweeting http://twitter.com/Allie_Sanders89/statuses/19466466400
    +2 For sharing on my blog http://writers-rambles.tumblr.com/post/854991204/want-to-win-paranormalcy
    Alyssa_Sanders@Rocketmail.com

  60. McQuinn July 25, 2010 at 1:33 AM #

    Awesome giveaway, ladies!

    +1 for following LTWF on Twitter — “McQuinnish”
    +1 for being a fan on Facebook
    +3 for following this blog –- subscribed
    +1 for sharing this contest on Twitter –- http://twitter.com/LTWFblog/status/18992471354 = RTed this Tweet. It shows up on my profile, though: http://twitter.com/McQuinnish.

    That’s 6 total. 🙂

    McQuinn (mcquinn1010@gmail.com)

  61. Jamie Wilson July 25, 2010 at 9:26 AM #

    +3 for following this blog –- subscribed
    Thanks for this amazing giveaway and this was a really hard decision to make i’ll be vampire because i like the fact you don’t age and have superhuman strenght

  62. Elizabeth July 25, 2010 at 5:04 PM #

    Fun! I would totally be a witch. And I suspect I’d abuse the power making my daily life easier, even for little things like not having to get up to turn off the light. Plus I love hanging out with cats and books, so it seems ideal.

    My email address is ElizabethRyann (at) gmail (dot) com, and I’m a fan on facebook. Yay!

  63. Alejandra Salcedo July 25, 2010 at 8:23 PM #

    If i could be any paranormal/mythical creature it would probably have to be a werewolf because it would be awsome to change into a wolf and i LOVE wolves.
    +1Follower on Twitter (WolfVamp1)

    littletinkerbell1995(at)yahoo(dot)com

    Awsome give away!I hope i win Im DESPERATE!!!!!!

  64. Ava July 25, 2010 at 9:09 PM #

    I think I’d want to be a werewolf because they still get to be human some of the time, plus I love wolves and it would be so cool to be one!
    +3 I subscribed to this blog
    +1 I follow on twitter (avacyphera)
    Total: 5 entries

    Thanks for the giveaway!

  65. Kjovus July 25, 2010 at 10:19 PM #

    I would be a shape shifter, it would be great to fly one minute and swim the next.

    +1 for being a fan on Facebook
    +3 for following this blog – (if you don’t, just subscribe to us with your email!)
    +2 for sharing this contest on your blog – just be sure to leave a link (so that we know who you are, and how you’re sharing it!)
    7 entries
    kjovus(at)gmail(dot)com

  66. Peggy July 25, 2010 at 10:51 PM #

    Awesome contest!

    I would be a fairy. As in the TOOTH fairy. Then my poor little kiddies wouldn’t get forgotten so often. 😉

    +1 for being a fan on Facebook
    +3 for following this blog

  67. Aik July 26, 2010 at 4:36 AM #

    I’d love to be a shapeshifter. [US]

    +1 for following LTWF on Twitter @aikchien
    +1 for being a fan on Facebook [Aik Chien]
    +3 for subscribing to this blog
    +1 for sharing this contest on Twitter

    +2 for sharing this contest on your blog (sidebar)
    http://aik-friendsnfamily.blogspot.com

  68. Emily July 27, 2010 at 1:22 AM #

    Shapeshifter 🙂

    +1 following on Twitter- Emily_writer
    +1 for being a fan on Facebook
    +3 for following this blog
    +1 for sharing this contest on Twitter – https://twitter.com/Emily_writer

  69. Adriana Marachlian July 30, 2010 at 10:24 PM #

    This sound really interesting 😀 I’m not sure why, but I think I like the ex-boyfriend… Is that even normal? I have a thing for fairies.

    I think I would want to be an Enchantress. Ever since reading The Enchanted Forest Chronicles by Patricia C. Wrede and Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones I just fell in love with the idea of being one. Being able to manipulate magic around you just sounds awesome, and I like that there is the limitation of what to do when there is NO magic around. Hmmm. Characters with flaws are just that much better.

    I don’t think an enchantress counts as a mythological creature, though lol So I could be my second favorite creature: A fairy. Because fairies are awesome. Witches are awesome, too. This is way too hard…

    +1 for following LTWF on Twitter: SparklingA
    +1 for being a fan on Facebook
    +3 for following this blog
    +1 for sharing this contest on Twitter:

    • Adriana Marachlian August 2, 2010 at 10:48 AM #

      oh, stupid me ¬¬ forgot to put the “sharing on Twitter” link. Here it is :p https://twitter.com/SparklingA

  70. Amanda Anjier July 30, 2010 at 10:33 PM #

    My email: amandagail11@hotmail.com

    I would be a shape shifter, because they… can shift shapes. HAHA, great reason, right? No, it’s just something I’ve always wished I could do. The ability to turn into an animal? That would be awesome. Personally, I find it a lot better than drinking blood or turning into a man-eating wolf every full moon. Although I do love the things that come along with being a vampire, drinking blood does not strike a sweet spot in me. Shape shifting is just all together awesome.

    Ok, I’m following on Twitter.
    http://www.twitter.com/amandagail11

    I’m a fan on facebook… (Amanda Anjier)

    I just subscribed to this for my email.

    This is my blog post:
    http://opinionsopinionsopinions.tumblr.com/post/882314652/let-the-word-flow-is-giving-away-a-book

    I tweeted. http://twitter.com/Amandagail11/status/19959033331

    So that is 9 entries. 😀

  71. Anaiz August 2, 2010 at 4:20 PM #

    I would definitely be a werewolf. Something about running in the woods sounds appealing. Thank you for having a great giveaway!
    +1 for being a fan on Facebook
    +3 Subscribed
    +2 Will blog about tomorrow on theanaizview.com

    My email is nizmart@gmail.com

    • Brooke August 6, 2010 at 11:16 AM #

      I think I’d be a dragon, but I’m not sure why. Probably because they can fly. And breathe fire.

      +3 for following, via Google Reader, if it matters
      Email is texas_gal45@hotmail.com

  72. Alyssa August 27, 2010 at 4:44 PM #

    Hmmm. Hard question. I think it would depend on the situation. But I think I’d be a timid Vampire.

    Something about that sounds intriguing, no?

    E-mail — alyssachristine@ymail.com

    I’ve been looking everywhere for a book like this. Has all my favorites wrapped into one. I am so happy to be entering.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Paranormalcy Giveaway « Tessa Quin's Blog - July 20, 2010

    […] will be short today. Let the Words Flow is having a giveaway. It is the book Paranormalcy, by Kiersten […]

  2. Who wants to win some libros? « - August 2, 2010

    […] Aug Let the Words Flow is giving away an ARC of Paranormalcy and you have until August 6th to enter, good […]

  3. QOTW: Complete Ideas « Let The Words Flow - August 6, 2010

    […] Aug Today is the last day to enter for the Paranormalcy Giveaway, which ends […]

Comments are closed.

