Saturday Grab Bag: Mashup & Poll

31 Jul

Mashup:

Here are some great articles we think you should definitely check out.

~

  • How to Judge a YA Book by its Cover
  • – Another post about book covers – though this one looks at how some YA covers are embarrassing to be seen with in public

  • The Great Peeta vs Gale Debate: Peeta is a Pansy
  • – Same blog as above, but different post. Henri throws in his two cents over the whole Peeta/Gale debate; and it’s clear whose side he’s on. Definitely one hilarious argument. (Side note: MOCKINGJAY is coming out in 24 days! YESS!)

  • Literature Police
  • – Okay, so this isn’t an article, but the blog itself that we’re linking to. WARNING: There ARE swear words and very strong opinions on this blog. This is more of a rant-type blog that is hilarious.

  • Atlana’s Red Hot Author
  • – A great and encouraging article on YA author Jackson Pearce (author of SISTERS RED)!

  • Jane Austen’s Fight Club on Youtube
  • – Yes, that’s right. A youtube video that is Jane Austen AND Fight Club mashed together. Quite possibly more kick-ass than PRIDE AND PREJUDICE AND ZOMBIES!

  • Crit Partner Arsenal
  • – An absolutely GREAT post about the different roles some of your crit partners might play, and why these particular roles are helpful in their own right. Very, very good read.

  • The Boy Problem
  • – YA author Hannah Moskowitz gives her opinion on the boy problem in YA lit

    ~~~

    Quotes to Live By:

    [ image from We Heart It ]

    ~~~

Poll – Binding Preference:

~~~

Have you come across any noteworthy links this week? Share them in the comments! (You know we love to hear from you, so don’t be shy!)

And don’t forget to check out our book recommendation for The Poison Diaries!

20 Responses to “Saturday Grab Bag: Mashup & Poll”

  1. Nicole July 31, 2010 at 2:45 AM #

    I dont know how to answer the poll! During, say, school, I prefer the hardback because I’m going to be traveling with it, stuffing it into bags, carrying it in the rain etc. But paperbacks are good when trying to travel with only one bag (small, compact and light), or laying around the house.

    I have never used a Nook or Kindle, but I find reading on my iTouch gives me a headache after a couple of hours but is very mobile.

    • Vanessa July 31, 2010 at 10:20 AM #

      Yeah… there are just some moments where hardcover feels good in my hands.

      And your iTouch probably gives you a headache because it’s backlit, like computers. eReaders such as the Nook or Kindle aren’t, so they’re much easier on the eyes. I still don’t own an eReader, though! I feel so behind on the times! :p

  2. tymcon July 31, 2010 at 9:35 AM #

    Lol a nice sturdy hardback:P
    Ohhhhhhhh i’ve heard of this book. I don’t know where but it was somewhere. Ugh, i have to delete some books on ym to buy list. There’s like sixtyXD

    • Vanessa July 31, 2010 at 10:23 AM #

      I feel you there!! I always have WAY too many books I want to buy!

  3. Kayleigh July 31, 2010 at 12:39 PM #

    Thank you so much for finding Literature Police. I’ve already finished reading the whole blog and left a comment.

    • Vanessa July 31, 2010 at 6:30 PM #

      Glad you liked them! :p

  4. Kate July 31, 2010 at 1:55 PM #

    LOL @ Peeta vs. Gale debate. That was very interesting to get a guys’ take on it. Even more interesting that one of his biggest points was the sex.

    I dunno, there’s something about the cute little pillsbury dough boy that is Peeta that I like. He is unbearably sweet, yes. But he’s still human. We did get to see his angry side once or twice. Plus, he seems pretty intelligent. Intelligent men = YES.

    Then again, there’s Gale. I’d be lying if I said I didn’t have a crush on him too. But due to the lack of Gale scenes in the books all I can say about him is that he is obviously hot and more masculine than Peeta.

    It doesn’t matter who Katniss ends up with because I will be happy and sad at the same time since I love both of the dudes. Now, if one of them dies THAT’S a different story…

    • jenn fitzgerald July 31, 2010 at 3:57 PM #

      It was fun to get a guy’s perspective, especially as they argue back and forth. I have to admit I’m a Gale fan, but I don’t think Peeta’s a wimpy dough-boy either. He’s got some pretty snappy comebacks too which makes it harder to choose!

      • Myra July 31, 2010 at 4:27 PM #

        Hahaha, I just pictured Peeta as the Pillsbury dough boy.

        😄

        • Launo July 31, 2010 at 5:26 PM #

          I think of pita bread when I head Peeta. I’m a Gale fan, but I like Finnack too.

          • Myra July 31, 2010 at 6:51 PM #

            Meh, the reason I don’t really like Peeta much at all is because of how freaking patronising he is. He acts as if he always has to protect Katniss, as if she needs to be protected by him. No, Peeta bread, no! You’re doin it wrong!

            She is fully capable of taking care of herself and kicking ass. (In fact, I’m pretty she could kick Peeta’s ass.)

            And Gale knows that.

            Plus, it’s Gale. Nuff said!

            • Kat Zhang July 31, 2010 at 9:08 PM #

              The whole self-sacrificing, OMG-I-need-to-protect-Katniss thing did get a little old, but I adore adore adore his ability to sway the masses. He can play the publicity game like nobody’s business, and that earns him mad points in my book 🙂

              But as for the romance/who-gets-with-Katniss question? I don’t really care…hahahaha

              • jenn fitzgerald July 31, 2010 at 9:32 PM #

                Part of me just thinks after all she’s gone through she should be able to have them both. No choosing required, and that way the boys will balance out each other’s negative qualities. Lol!

  5. Linna @ 21 Pages July 31, 2010 at 2:03 PM #

    I’ve always loved paperbacks- I’m not even quite sure why, haha. Perhaps it’s because I’m just so used to reading them, but they always make me feel all nostalgic. (Which is why I can never seem to get used to digital readers!).

    Awesome links by the way. I wouldn’t have found them otherwise, so thanks so much for sharing! 😀

    • Vanessa July 31, 2010 at 6:33 PM #

      Thanks Linna! We’re glad you enjoyed them!

      And I’m a sucker for paperbacks as well. I just like the feel of them in my hands. I still don’t have an eReader because I like buying physical books. There’s just something so satisfying about turning the last page and closing a book when I’m done; and I love seeing them on my bookshelves.

  6. Myra July 31, 2010 at 2:50 PM #

    I’m too tired from work to properly sum up my thoughts on Moskowitz’s post… which I have mixed feelings about, though mostly I disagree with it… but, uh… well, I think Kayla put it way more eloquently than I. She’s written a fantastic post on the “boy problem”.

    http://manifesta.dreamwidth.org/34417.html

    Oh! And Tamora Pierce’s reply to Hannah Moskowitz is also must read if you’re reading about the “boy problem”. It was linked by Kayla, and it is just as awesome as Kayla’s post.

    http://tammypierce.livejournal.com/40594.html

    • jenn fitzgerald July 31, 2010 at 4:06 PM #

      Thank you so much for posting these links! They’re great responses and I think most of us here adore Tamora Pierce

    • Vanessa July 31, 2010 at 9:44 PM #

      Thanks so much for sharing these responses to Hannah’s post! Tamora Pierce had such a great response, as did Kayla.

    • Sarah J. Maas July 31, 2010 at 10:44 PM #

      Tammy’s reply pretty much made my LIFE. I couldn’t agree more with her.

  7. Kaya July 31, 2010 at 5:05 PM #

    I prefer paperbacks if i’m borrowing from the library but hardcovers if I’m buying the book forever.

Comments are closed.

