YOU WISH Release!

5 Aug

Guess what today is? The release date for YOU WISH!!!! We’re dedicating the day to our very own Mandy Hubbard and her new novel, YOU WISH (did we mention it just came out today?)!

[Description from Goodreads]

What if all your wishes really came true?

Kayla McHenry’s sweet sixteen sucks! Her dad left,
her grades dropped, and her BFF is dating the boy
Kayla’s secretly loved for years. Blowing out her candles,
Kayla thinks: I wish my birthday wishes actually
came true. Because they never freakin’ do.

Kayla wakes the next day to a life-sized, bright pink
My Little Pony outside her window. Then a year’s
supply of gumballs arrives. A boy named Ken with
a disturbing resemblance to the doll of the same
name stalks her. As the ghosts of Kayla’s wishes-past
appear, they take her on a wild ride . . . but they
MUST STOP. Because when she was fifteen? She
wished Ben Mackenzie would kiss her. And Ben is
her best friend’s boyfriend.

~~~

* CONGRATS, MANDY! *

To celebrate, we’re doing a few things.

1. Sarah is giving away a SIGNED copy of YOU WISH on her blog. So, pretty sure you should enter. Cause you know you want a SIGNED copy! And, you know, while you’re there, check out Sarah’s review.

2. Biljana has posted an interview with Mandy on her blog!

3. We thought we’d share 1 RIDICULOUS thing we would wish for.

4. And while we’re talking about wishes, we’ll also add what our MS/WIP protagonists would wish for!

Vanessa:

I’d wish for a unicorn. Just cause!

Danae would wish for a tanning bed – if they existed in her world. Okay, even if they did, she wouldn’t…. but living in those caves leaves one with rather pasty skin, and a serious lack of vitamin D!

Sarah:

I’d wish for super-fast metabolism, so I can eat as much junk food as I want and never have to worry about gaining weight. And a lifetime supply of Cheetos and cookie dough.

Celaena would wish for a Beauty and the Beast-sized library. And to go on a massive shopping spree. Oh, and freedom. 😛

Biljana:

I would wish for control of time, the kind where if it stops or you take a trip back your body doesn’t age.

Ingrid would wish for instant gratification. Not much patience, that one.

Savannah:

I would wish for a remote control that could let me pause life, but get to walk around in it. As my first order of business as Almighty Life remote Holder I would probably break into the Pentagon and find the files on aliens and Bigfoot.

The Poetess would wish for freedom, obviously. As a secondary concern i think she would probably wish to erase all the misery that Shae endured.

Kat:

I would wish for a big fat Undo button. Because we all need one of those sometimes…. 😀

Eva would wish for acceptance. And maybe a little privacy…

😛

Jenn:

I would wish for Chris Hemsworth.

Priscilla seriously wishes for a shark tank, and if there were friggin’ lasers in her world, she’d want them on the sharks’ heads, because she believes in standards.

~~~

So, what ridiculous/silly thing would YOU wish for?

&

What would your protagonist wish for?

26 Responses to “YOU WISH Release!”

  1. CA Marshall August 5, 2010 at 1:22 AM #

    I’m giving away a signed copy of the book too! The post is here: http://www.camarshall.com/2010/08/win-signed-copy-of-mandy-hubbards-you.html

    I’m so excited for Mandy! YAYYY!

  2. Madeleine August 5, 2010 at 1:52 AM #

    I would most definitely wish for both of the things Sarah mentioned… but if I had to pick one for myself, it would be the first. I can get the second one on my own. ;D

    My MC would probably wish for… his dead friend to reanimate and somehow not seem undead… just, um, not dead.

  3. Mandy Hubbard August 5, 2010 at 2:01 AM #

    OH, man, I love you guys.

    *HUGS*

    Y’all rock.

    Mandy

    • Vanessa August 6, 2010 at 10:48 AM #

      We ❤ you more! Congrats again! 😀

  4. Samantha K. Walker August 5, 2010 at 3:50 AM #

    Super-fast metabolism is one I wouldn’t have thought of, but it is the PERFECT wish. Because I love juice (full of sugar) and I love baked goods (butter). Oh to wish…

  5. Nice August 5, 2010 at 4:56 AM #

    I would wish for a very large sum of money that never runs out, this probably sounds really shallow but I’ll explain. I’m about to start university at a school that’s over half my parents income and desire scholarship the future of my credit score and debit is looking very bleak.

    My protagonist would wish for Athena-like wisdom and guidness. She is much nobler than I.

    • Nice August 5, 2010 at 4:57 AM #

      Desire is supposed to be despite

  6. tessaquin August 5, 2010 at 5:54 AM #

    I’d like to own a debt-free house. Doesn’t have to be huge, just a big enough house for my family, and whatever money we’d make after that could go to other things than paying debts. The loan system in Iceland sucks, you never really manage to pay up your house.

  7. tymcon August 5, 2010 at 6:30 AM #

    I’d wish for the bookXD

    • Vanessa August 6, 2010 at 10:50 AM #

      Omg! Why didn’t I think of that as MY wish?! You, Tim, are a genius!

  8. Aurora Blackguard August 5, 2010 at 8:20 AM #

    I would wish for a magic broom 🙂 Or the suddenly ability to take any umbrella and start flying. actually, I’d just wish to fly!!!!

    Glassriel would wish her hair didn’t suddenly turn from brown to gold without the benefit of hair dye. Oh and that she wasn’t going to shatter into a million pieces in approximately two hundred pages

  9. tymcon August 5, 2010 at 8:28 AM #

    Oh i just figured out i don’t know what my character would wish for. That actually sounds like a good way to flesh out my character:D

  10. Launo August 5, 2010 at 8:49 AM #

    10000000000000 more wishes for me 😀
    Karine would wish for power.

    • Vanessa August 7, 2010 at 10:27 PM #

      Ooooh! Smart wish! (Why didn’t I think of that?!)

  11. priscillashay August 5, 2010 at 10:31 AM #

    I’d wish for a machine that would write things down when I think them >_< because I hate when I don't have a notebook/pen with me…esp in the middle of the night

    Sophia..would probably wish for her father's love or affection because it's the only thing she really wants (even more than she wants the hero! ^_^ )

  12. Julie Eshbaugh August 5, 2010 at 11:53 AM #

    The very best of best wishes to you Mandy!!! You deserve all your success and MORE! Can’t wait to read YOU WISH!!!

  13. Ella August 5, 2010 at 1:03 PM #

    Wow, congrats to Mandy! Give yourself a huge pat on the back. ❤

    And I would most definitely wish for the ability to enter any story I write (preferably without dying miserably, suffering horribly, or being lynched by my dear, sweet protagonists.)

    Of my two FMC's, one would wish for her family's lives back and the other would probably want for some freaking free time.

  14. Miss Rosemary August 5, 2010 at 1:24 PM #

    Congratulations! And my protagonist would wish that she actually DIDN’T marry the prince.

    • Vanessa August 7, 2010 at 10:26 PM #

      LOVE your protagonist’s wish!

  15. Gabby August 5, 2010 at 1:27 PM #

    I’d wish for a million more wishes. I’m greedy like that 🙂

    As for my MC . . . well, my current one probably wishes her uncle would vanish without a trace. Which he will, eventually, though not forever.

  16. Theresa Milstein August 5, 2010 at 2:17 PM #

    “Because they never freakin’ do.” Awesome line! I wonder if it was in the query letter.
    What a great idea for a book.

    I don’t remember most of my birthday wishes. I’m pretty sure one of them was for a Barbie Dreamhouse. I have no use for that now! My last one was to become a published writer.

  17. Gabriela Da Silva August 5, 2010 at 4:04 PM #

    Congratulations Mandy!! Best wishes for you and this book, let’s make today a second birthday – only, instead of wishing for many happy years ahead, let’ wish for many happy books! Which I’m sure will come 😉

    Lemme play along!

    I wish for flight ability. Traffic’s getting SO bad here in Mexico City, I seriously need an alternate way of moving… also, *flying*.

    And Umberto wishes people around him stopped dying. Except the Teacher. He can die.

    • Vanessa August 7, 2010 at 10:25 PM #

      I wish I had thought of flying! I have no idea why unicorn was the first thing that popped into my mind…

  18. Marina August 5, 2010 at 6:08 PM #

    I’d wish for a “Fix All” button. So whenever something was wrong or I needed something I could just click and get it. 😀
    I think my MC would wish for a somewhat normal life and safety for her family.

  19. A. Barone August 5, 2010 at 8:22 PM #

    If I could have one wish I’d wish for everlasting love, cause I’m a hopeless romantic like that. As for my protagonist, well my current one would wish for the strength to stand up in front of people and sing–which she does but only because she’s backed into a corner.

  20. Susan August 6, 2010 at 12:23 PM #

    I agree with you, Jenn! (That 5 minute Thor trailer? mmm…)

    I think I’d wish for a male to female (and vice versa) translator. Like a spanish/french/english/whatnot dictionary, but guys and girls. It’d make life much, much easier.

Comments are closed.

