Mockingjay Predictions

23 Aug

Eeee! MOCKINGJAY’s coming out tomorrow!!

We girls at Let The Words Flow are quite excited 😀 So much so, in fact, that we all decided to make predictions as to what’s going to happen in this final installment of Suzanne Collin’s epic trilogy.

Come chat with us as we count down the hours until MOCKINGJAY’s release. What do YOU think is going to happen?

One note: In case you haven’t heard, someone who got their hands on a copy has posted spoilers on the MOCKINGJAY Goodreads page. So please don’t visit it if you’d like to remain spoiler free! Also, if YOU have somehow already read the book, DO NOT put any spoilers in the comments. Kat will hunt you down with sharp, pointy things. 😀

Okay, on to the predictions…!

~*~

My prediction: Peeta is going to die in some ridiculous martyr-istic way to save Katniss (I only say “ridiculous” because Katniss will probably not want/need to be saved), and, in his last moments, encourage her to be with Gale. She will then be too shook up to actually be with Gale, and they’ll be really, really awkward for a while. Then book will end with them reuniting as friends but leave things open so there’s a possibility of them getting together romantically in the future…

And I will be angry…

Hm…there is also the possibility of this happening the other way ’round, with Gale dying. I know, I know. I’m a happy one, aren’t I? 😛

Oh, and Prim is going to play a much larger role. Maybe she’ll come up with an important plan or be sent on a mission or something. Either way, she’ll prove herself just as strong and resourceful as her sister 🙂

~Kat

~*~

I predict that Gale will become a leader in the coming revolution. He has those natural skills of understanding and predicting prey, right?
Peeta and Katniss will also get involved, and Katniss will have “romantic moments” with both of them, confusing her more but also giving both boys the feeling that they are her choice.

Then, in the final battle that crushes the Capitol, Katniss Everdeen will be killed, probably in some noble sacrificial gesture. The “Girl on Fire” who sparked a revolution will become a martyr to the cause of freedom she came to represent. Yes. I predict… Katniss… Will… Die.

RIP, Katniss Everdeen. “It doesn’t take much to see that the problems of three little people don’t amount to a hill of beans in this crazy world. Someday you’ll understand that. Now, now… Here’s looking at you kid.” (Casablanca, 1942)

OR!!!… maybe both Peeta and Gale will die and she’ll end up with Cinna??? I LOVE Cinna. The trick he pulled with the wedding-dress-turned-mockingjay-costume was the bravest thing a guy has done in the books so far. I like Peeta and Gale, but I guess I’m really Team Cinna. 😉

~Julie

~*~

I don’t want to make any predictions, because I get too depressed and scared every time i think about all of the possible ways it could go down, and none of them are very happy. Someone’s gonna die–and it’s going to break me. I’m bracing for the worst possible scenario, and I may or may not have bought a box of tissues this weekend in anticipation of crying my eyes out.

In the end, I’m Team Katniss, and I’m all for her ending up with whoever makes her happy, whether that be Gale, Peeta, or Haymitch.

~Sarah

~*~

I’m predicting a whole lot of epic action, quite a bit of romance, and definitely a few deaths – particularly, the deaths of Gale and Haymitch. The fight against the Capitol will not go easy, and many lives will be lost. I think Katniss will be unsure of herself as a leader of the revolution, and Gale will be the one to help her – and will ultimately sacrifice himself to save her once the battle between the district’s and the Capitol begin. Katniss will then be faced with the choice to spare or destroy everyone from the Captiol – and will choose to spare them (remembering people like Cinna as proof of their ability to be good).

And I’m not predicting Gale will die because I’m Team Peeta – I just think that the loss of such a close childhood friend (who also happens to be quite the risk-taker and revolutionist) will be absolutely heart-breaking – especially with her feelings being so conflicted. Peeta may lose a limb, though.

~Vanessa

~*~

I think we’ll finally get quality Gale time! Even if it involves spending a lot of time helping to run a rebellion, like Han and Leia (now I’m thinking of Gale as a young, darker-haired Harrison Ford). This makes Peeta Luke so, eventually he’ll realize he really loves Katniss like a sister and all that kissing was just a bit misplaced and they’ll laugh it off and it’ll all be ok in spite of the way they were lusting after each other earlier.

Anyway–Peeta’s been trying to die for Katniss for two books and during whatever raid or battle they have to save him, I think he’s finally going to kick the bucket, tragically. He’s too good to live and I will be angry when it makes me cry like a little girl. But really, I think it’s up in the air. If all three members of the love triangle do survive there really has to be a massacre of the secondary characters, like Haymitch and Fennick. I wouldn’t mind if Effie died too.

~Jenn

~*~

Well, I’m totally Team Peeta, so any outcome that benefits him is one I would like.

However, with an epic trilogy like this one, obviously main characters are going to die. I LOVE Cinna, but I have a feeling he may already be dead. And I think Haymitch is going to redeem himself for some of his less noble actions and sacrifice himself for the rebellion. Gale’s probably going to die, too. Either that, or come ridiculously close. And realize Katniss is nothing more than a sister to him. Because that’s obviously how it should go!

But we have to remember this story is ultimately about Katniss. I don’t think she’ll die (though, like Gale, she may come close), but she may do quite a few reckless things in order to save those she loves. Who knows – maybe her sister and/or mother will really step up and help run the rebellion! I think that’s something I’d really like to see.

And while I fully support Peeta/Katniss, I think that, in the end, Katniss is going to end up alone. If both Peeta and Gale survive, she might not be able to choose. And if one of them dies, she may not be able to get over it enough to let the other fully into her heart. But she’s a strong woman, and I think, ultimately, whatever happens for her romantically will be best.

As long as she doesn’t end up with Gale, of course!

~Sammy

~*~

So? Agree with us? Think we’re absolutely bonkers? Let us know what YOUR predictions are!

49 Responses to “Mockingjay Predictions”

  1. Elizabeth August 23, 2010 at 12:46 AM #

    Am I the only one ever who thinks that there’s a possibility Katniss’s dad is alive? Am *I* the one who’s bonkers?

    • Kat Zhang August 23, 2010 at 1:27 AM #

      Ooh, I never did think of that. lol. I guess it’s possible!

    • samanthabina August 23, 2010 at 10:12 AM #

      I’ve definitely considered it! But part of me wonders if that would be too convenient, now that the rebellion has started. Hmmmm.

    • Caitlin August 23, 2010 at 12:04 PM #

      I remember walking out of the theater after seeing the first Pirates of the Caribbean movie being all “Will’s dad is totally not dead” and many people giving me weird looks, so I say that it’s totally possible that Katniss’ dad is still alive. (Although he died in a coal mine collapse, right?)

  2. Aurora Blackguard August 23, 2010 at 3:00 AM #

    I think that Katniss isn’t going to join the revolution and that she’s going to go after Peeta and then in some roundabout way, decides that circumstances along the way will lead her to finally toppling President Snow and taking charge of Panem. In the process of that, Peeta will be severely injured (not die!), Gale will live and Haymitch will die (cause we all KNEW that he was going to croak soon)and Cinna will be the Vera Wang to Panem 🙂

    Anyway, in the end, I just wanna see Katniss kick butt!!

    And NO, Katniss Everdeen will NOT die if I have anything to say about it.

    • jenn fitzgerald August 23, 2010 at 11:16 AM #

      I agree that she’s going to go after Peta, but I think she’s going to need District 13 and the rebellion’s help to break into the Capitol to save him. Lol, Cinna as Vera Wang!

      • Aurora Blackguard August 24, 2010 at 1:47 AM #

        While I agree that she MIGHT need help from D13, but I think that she was a bit too quickly thrown into the whole rebellion thing. I mean, she just wants Prim and her mom to live happily, perhaps with Peeta/Gale.

        I have to agree with Caitlin though – if Peeta/Gale really love her, they’ll do what she wants.

        So what DOES she want?? 😉

    • Kat Zhang August 23, 2010 at 11:18 AM #

      Yeah, I don’t really see her dying. I think the book is about survival–and living with the consequences of survival, with the pain and the memories and the regrets. Katniss’s strength will lie in her having to continuing onward, forging a new society after the fall of the Capital (…the Capital HAS to fall, right, lol?). The only way she could die is if everything turned out perfectly and everyone was going to live happily ever after…which I totally don’t think is going to happen. Thus, Katniss will live 🙂

      At least…that’s what would happen if *I* were Ms. Collins ;P

      • Caitlin August 23, 2010 at 12:03 PM #

        Reading your comment makes me think that poor Katniss is going to get what she wants (through great sacrifice of course) and then flounder because she doesn’t know how to live in that world.

        This is where Prim (and Peeta IMHO, but probably not actually, or maybe both of the boys if they both survive… I think it’s significant that Peeta would be content with being friends with Katniss for the rest of forever if that’s what made her happy. end tangent) need to come in and support her and teach her how to be less jaded/cynical again.

  3. tymcon August 23, 2010 at 8:51 AM #

    Lol am i the onyl person who hasn’t read the Hunger Games?:O:P

    • Aurora Blackguard August 23, 2010 at 9:02 AM #

      O.O OH NO! Tim!! As your friend, it is my sworn duty to advise you to GO READ THE HUNGER GAMES AS SOON AS YOU CAN!!! Trust me (and the girls) that it is da’ bomb!!

      No, really 🙂

    • Vanessa August 23, 2010 at 10:18 AM #

      Tim, listen to Aurora (and the rest of us)!! If there is ONE book you need to buy out of all the others, it is THE HUNGER GAMES. It should be at the top of your to-read pile. Actually, it should come before any book you are currently reading; it’s THAT good. Buy it, and then open it up – don’t even finish reading whatever you’re currently reading. I want you to read it ASAP! It is epic. And awesome. And action-filled. And just AMAZING!

    • Heather August 23, 2010 at 11:07 AM #

      I must disagree with these guys! Although it’s an epic book, you definitely shouldn’t go and buy it straight away. Make sure there is nothing important you’re supposed to be doing tomorrow, and get all work/school obligations out of the way first. Once you start reading THE HUNGER GAMES, there is NO TIME for anything else, so clear your schedule!

      • jenn fitzgerald August 23, 2010 at 11:13 AM #

        Yeah, I’m going to second Heather on clearing your schedule first. It’s one of those books that if you put it down to do something, you Can’t stop thinking about it.

        • Vanessa August 23, 2010 at 1:25 PM #

          LOL! I guess it’s a good thing you guys are being the voice of reason! :p

          • samanthabina August 23, 2010 at 2:14 PM #

            Yes, clear your schedule! I missed an entire day of class due to CATCHING FIRE, and I made sure to tell my internship that I’m not coming in Wednesday, because I’ll have been up all night Tuesday reading :-p

      • tymcon August 23, 2010 at 11:44 AM #

        Lol I half expected their to be a dry, echoing voice saying: Join usssss. Join usssss. When i was reading the replysXD
        Well I already spent fifty-euro on books (being mailed from book depositry right now:P), and I dunno…i’m broke nowXD
        Omg randomness: I’m starting my last year of secondry school in nine days:O
        More Radnomness: Everybody by some books from Book Depositry. Free shipping:O
        Oh no Auroura:O (sniff, sniff) I can’t do what you say.
        (Thunder booms outside)

        • Kat Zhang August 23, 2010 at 11:50 AM #

          hahaha 🙂

          Good luck with your last year of secondary! I’m not entirely clear on the Irish school system, but I’m guessing secondary is sort of like high school in the United States?

          • tymcon August 23, 2010 at 12:05 PM #

            I don’t know. Doesn’t America have two high schools? Well i’m 17, and then i’m off to university. Um there’s playschool, then there’s primary, then secondry, then university.
            Yeah, there’s your beginners guide to Irish education system:P

        • jenn fitzgerald August 23, 2010 at 7:40 PM #

          The Library! Mine were all out and I was too impatient to reserve copies but it’s great when you have time to wait. Unless your library system works differently?

        • Aurora Blackguard August 24, 2010 at 1:52 AM #

          You willl paaaaaaaayyyyy 😡

          Lol, No. Listen to Heather. but really – chocolate or the gym???

    • Ella August 23, 2010 at 9:41 PM #

      I haven’t read it either, actually >____>

  4. Heather August 23, 2010 at 9:25 AM #

    I just found out that Mockingjay is released in Britain on the 25th, not the 24th. So please don’t post any spoilers straight away! Or maybe I should just stay off the internet in general, since it’s probably going to be posted on lots of other sites too. I’m hoping the date is just a typo! 😦

    I agree with Kat that Prim will probably have a more important role (and with Jenn about Effie dying), and although I’m Team Peeta, I don’t really mind who Katniss ends up with (if anyone) as long as she’s happy.

    I really hope she doesn’t die though. Has anyone ever read a book written in first person where the narrator dies? I don’t know how that would work, but it sounds interesting.

    • Kat Zhang August 23, 2010 at 9:53 AM #

      Don’t worry. We won’t post any spoilers!

    • Vanessa August 23, 2010 at 10:22 AM #

      I have!!!! (read a book in first person where the narrator dies). I can’t for the life of me remember what it was called, I read it so long ago… I just know that the protagonist sacrifices himself, and becomes incredibly sick, and knows he is dying at the end of the book. And the last few lines were heartbreaking as he feels his eyes closing.

      Makes me REALLY wish I could remember what book it was!

      And like Kat said, we won’t post spoilers!

    • jenn fitzgerald August 23, 2010 at 11:09 AM #

      It would be kind of cruel if the release date was a day later there!

      I’ve been wondering if Prim will have a bigger role or not, I agree there’s a pretty good chance she will get to do more.

      • Vanessa August 23, 2010 at 1:17 PM #

        I think Prim will have a bigger role. I certainly hope she does!

      • Vanessa August 23, 2010 at 1:27 PM #

        Oh, and I’d cry if I had to wait another day for MOCKINGJAY! I’ll keep my fingers crossed that it’s just a typo!

        • Heather August 24, 2010 at 12:07 PM #

          Even worse! Amazon isn’t dispatching it until the 31st. I may actually kill someone.

    • Julie Eshbaugh August 23, 2010 at 11:25 AM #

      It’s so funny that you should point that out, Heather, because, honestly, I wasn’t even thinking about that when I made that prediction. My hubby read what I’d written (which, in all honesty, is just a crazy guess and I hope like heck she doesn’t die!) and he says, “Well, how is she going to narrate her own death?” I hadn’t even thought of it. I guessed it could work like V said – that she would close the book with her own dying words – or the final chapter could be narrated by a different character.
      Anyway, I hope she makes it. I love her.

    • Elizabeth August 23, 2010 at 2:38 PM #

      Going Bovine by Libba Bray.

      It’s really interesting and really amazing. Very sad, too.

  5. Nicole August 23, 2010 at 11:30 AM #

    I’m willing to bet that Haymitch dies. either haymitch or peeta but not both. possibly katniss… BUT NOT CINNA. CINNA MUST LIVE!!!

    • Kat Zhang August 23, 2010 at 11:31 AM #

      I honestly did not know there was so much Cinna love in the world, lol. 😛

      • Sarah J. Maas August 23, 2010 at 3:22 PM #

        Me neither!!! I’ve been rereading the books these past 2 days, and I totally see why people love Cinna now!!! For some reason, when I read the books the first time through, I had him confused with Flavius in terms of looks. 😛

        • jenn fitzgerald August 23, 2010 at 7:42 PM #

          I adore Cinna and I was freaking out during Catching Fire when the peacekeepers got him D:

    • Aurora Blackguard August 24, 2010 at 1:49 AM #

      YES! Cinna must livee!! The world needs that kind of fashion sense!!! 😀

  6. Caitlin August 23, 2010 at 11:57 AM #

    Sammy
    I agree with you so much! I totally wish that was what was going to happen, but I think it’ll go down a little differently. 😦

    I do think there’s a huge possibility of Peeta dying, but in the end I am hope hope hoping that they don’t make him into one of those tongue-less servants because Peeta could basically be the voice of the revolution (it’s like Katniss needs him to be the voice of the Revolution because he’s a PR genius!, Gale to be the brute force/guns of the revolution and herself to be the face of the revolution.)

    Also, despite being Team Peeta for myself/my own personal interestes, a big huge part of me wants Katniss to look at her choices and choose not to end up with anyone romantically. I don’t want this to be because one or both has died either, I want this to be kind of a Frankie Landau-Banks-esque moment where Katniss decides she’d be happier chillin’ with her family than repopulating North America with one of the guys.

    • samanthabina August 23, 2010 at 2:18 PM #

      Oh, I probably got everything wrong (minus Haymitch dying, which I am pretty sure will happen) :-p

      But yes. I think it might be more true to Katniss’s personality and convictions to end up alone. As much as I love Katniss/Peeta, I just can’t see it happening. Nor do I see Katniss/Gale happening, either.

      We shall seeeeeeeeeeeee!

  7. Vanessa August 23, 2010 at 12:07 PM #

    Jenn, I’m now picturing Gale as a young Harrison Ford! Which is NOT good, because young Harrison Ford was my first love (Hans Solo & Indiana Jones! *swoon*). Must… resist… and stay Team Peeta!

    • jenn fitzgerald August 23, 2010 at 7:45 PM #

      Noo! Give in! He’s totally Katniss’ Han Solo. …my mom still teases me about how much I loved Harrison Ford as a kid

  8. priscillashay August 23, 2010 at 12:08 PM #

    I heard Suzanne’s going to be in NY at the Scholastic Store on the 26th.. I’ll try to get a signed copy for you guys!

    Lol, I love how the consensus is SOMEBODY’s going to die

    • Vanessa August 23, 2010 at 1:24 PM #

      Jealous!!! I’m waiting for her to come over to Canada for some signings! Definitely get a picture with her!!!

    • Sarah J. Maas August 23, 2010 at 3:23 PM #

      lol, my parents live in Manhattan, so I’m sending my mom to the Bank Street Bookstore for her signing there the next day!!!! (or whenever it is, I can’t remember off the top of my head, but I made my mom go in last week to reserve a signed copy for me, lol)

  9. Susan August 23, 2010 at 12:12 PM #

    aaah I had to avoid reading this whole page as I’m still waiting on a copy of “Catching Fire” from my library! But it had better come before Friday (actually, Wednesday most preferably), because it turns out Suzanne Collins is going to be on my college campus to do a signing and small talk about Mockingjay! I’m so excited – it’ll be my first ever author signing!

    • Vanessa August 23, 2010 at 1:23 PM #

      Lucky! I’m jealous that you’ll get to meet her! Signings are always fun!

      I’m sure you’ll blow right through CATCHING FIRE! And then make sure you have a copy of MOCKINGJAY in your possession, because you will not want to wait!

      Oh, and be sure to take pictures when you meet Suzanne Collins at the signing!!!!

  10. Jessica August 23, 2010 at 4:49 PM #

    I think I might be the only oneon team Finnick!!

  11. Angela August 23, 2010 at 8:25 PM #

    Has anyone seen the youtube video that was posted recently. Suzanne Collins reads the first chapter of Mockingjay, which was totally awesome.

    And it helped me develop my theory.

    I think that since Peeta is captured and stuff, Katniss will realize how much she loves him, and when they`re reunited sparks–no, a huge inferno will arise. Katniss is the girl on fire, after all =D

    I`m totally a Team Peeta girl. ❤

  12. Theresa Milstein August 23, 2010 at 9:59 PM #

    This is Harry Potter Book 7 all over again. I was on pins and needles reading that book, barely putting it down while I read it in one day.

    Like that series, I really have no idea what to expect with this series. If one of the guys is killed, it will be to make it easier for Katniss to wind up with one without choosing.

Comments are closed.

