Saturday Grab Bag: Mashup

28 Aug

Mashup:

Here are some great links on writing, the industry, and all things book related. We highly recommend you read them!

  • 5 Questions With Suzanne Collins: Author of The Hunger Games Trilogy
  • – Because here at LTWF we’re absolutely in love with THE HUNGER GAMES trilogy (and since this week was Mockingjay’s release week), we thought we’d share a great video featuring the wonderful Suzanne Collins.

  • New Contest! YA/MG Pitch to Query Letter
  • – This blog is having a pitch contest for (you guessed it!) MG and YA MSS. Submit yours, or take part by leaving comments and feedback! If you check out the blog, you’ll see quite a few already posted.

  • Merit Badger
  • – CA Marshall shows off some awesome merit badges (from a site called Merit Badger), which create fun badges for writers! How awesome is that? Check it out! (And yes, I’m posting a link to a link :p).

  • The Two Story, Climb Inside Bookshelf Tower
  • – Yes, that’s right. Book lovers behold! You can literally climb inside this bookshelf! This is something that I’ve already put on my wishlist.

  • The Fiction Generator
  • – Yes! Now YOU can generate amazing works of fiction with the fantastic Fiction Generator! (Note: This is absolutely hilarious. Definitely check this one out).

  • Telling Tales
  • – Tim O’Brien talks about the unending labor of a fiction writer which is to be creative, and to vividly imagine a story or sequence of events that isn’t boring.

  • New York Times Bestseller Seth Godin to No Longer Publish Books Traditionally
  • – Yup. That’s right. Exactly what the article title says.

  • The Highest-Paid Authors
  • – A list of the highest-paid authors in the industry right now.

    ~~~


~~~

Share any cool links you’ve come across in the comments!

And have a great weekend!

7 Responses to “Saturday Grab Bag: Mashup”

  1. CA Marshall August 28, 2010 at 12:19 AM #

    OMG, I’m in a mashup post! Thanks for including me! Did you guys see the new badges Merit Badger has posted since I wrote my post? I LOVE the idea trapping one! They would totally make a mint from me if they sold t-shirts with the badge designs on them!

    • Kat Zhang August 28, 2010 at 12:43 AM #

      oooh. Me too!!!

    • Vanessa August 28, 2010 at 12:47 AM #

      If it wasn’t for you, I would still be totally in the dark about the awesomeness that is the Merit Badger badges! So, thank YOU! 😀

      If they sold those in any form, I’d totally buy them :p

  2. tymcon August 28, 2010 at 4:52 PM #

    Oh I remember that merit badge thing. I could be wrong but didn’t it start from a I shoudl be writing podcast?

    • Vanessa August 29, 2010 at 5:22 PM #

      I’m not sure actually! That was the first time I saw it!

  3. Kelly August 28, 2010 at 9:04 PM #

    Does anyone else find rule 6 of orwell’s confusing? XD

    • Kat Zhang August 28, 2010 at 9:56 PM #

      Lol. I think it just means: “In the end, rules are made to be broken, so if obeying one of these rules makes something feel wrong to you, then go ahead and break it!”

Comments are closed.

