Introducing the Newest LTWF Contributor, Vee

6 Sep

                                                    

Hey everyone!

I’m super excited to be here! Hopefully I can contribute something worthwhile to this already wonderful community.

My name is Vahini Naidoo, but everyone calls me Vee. I’m seventeen years old and I’m from Sydney, Australia. I’m currently in my final year of high school – only a month to go till graduation, woot! – and after that I plan to pursue something at University, hopefully somewhat writing related. My ultimate goal for life beyond University is to live in a castle. I also have some plans for world domination. Standard stuff, you know.

I’ve been writing since forever. I think I wrote my first novel at ten, and I wrote really weird songs about the correlation between Wingdings and the meaning of life for my never-got-off-the-ground band when I was thirteen. However, I’ve only been writing seriously for the past two years after being kick started by the brilliant thing that is NaNoWriMo (anyone out there doing it this year?). At first, I posted my unrevised NaNo attempts on Fictionpress without any intent of getting them published, however as time went on I found that I wanted to seek publication.

I queried for a long time before receiving three offers of representation this April. I decided to sign with my awesomesauce agent Ammi-Joan Paquette of the Erin Murphy Literary Agency. Two of my books – THE COLORS OF SKY, a contemporary YA about one girl’s mission to find Heaven on Earth and THE GNOME IS WATCHING, about a girl who repeatedly re-enacts her best friend’s suicide in order to find out why her friend did it, with tragic results (and yes there actually is a garden gnome in it!) – are on submission to editors. I’m currently working on an untitled manuscript about locker wars and etch-a-sketch mysteries, which is pretty fun.

I look forward to contributing to the blog and getting to know you readers!

~~~~

Vahini Naidoo is a high schooler who eats instant noodles like she’s already in college. She writes contemporary YA novels and is represented by Ammi-Joan Paquette at the Erin Murphy Literary Agency. You can find her over at her blog.

37 Responses to “Introducing the Newest LTWF Contributor, Vee”

  1. Kim September 6, 2010 at 9:05 AM #

    YAY! Aussie! Aussie! Aussie!

    You must have wonderful talent by being signed at so young an age. Congrats!

    I’m doing NanoWrimo. Who doesn’t?

    • Vee September 6, 2010 at 9:32 AM #

      OY OY OY!

      (And now everyone who’s not Australian probably thinks I’m weird…)

      Always nice to meet fellow Aussies and WriMos 😀

      • Ereza September 7, 2010 at 3:18 AM #

        This is awesome! I don’t think you’re weird (because I’m Aussie too lol.) Yay another contributor 🙂

  2. Lydia Sharp September 6, 2010 at 9:25 AM #

    Yay! I met Vee on AW. She’s awesome. 🙂

    • Vee September 6, 2010 at 9:33 AM #

      Hey Lydia, nice to see you *waves* You’re pretty awesome yourself 🙂

  3. jenn fitzgerald September 6, 2010 at 9:49 AM #

    Yay Vee! It’s great to have you joining us 😀

    • Vee September 7, 2010 at 3:04 AM #

      YAY 😀

  4. samanthabina September 6, 2010 at 9:53 AM #

    I’m so glad it’s official now! Yay!

    • Vee September 7, 2010 at 3:04 AM #

      Lol, I know, it’s only taken forever.

  5. Julie Eshbaugh September 6, 2010 at 10:11 AM #

    Welcome Vee! I know you will be an amazing addition to the crew here at LTWF. Yay! 🙂

    • Vee September 7, 2010 at 3:04 AM #

      Thanks, Julie ❤

  6. Kat Zhang September 6, 2010 at 10:11 AM #

    Yay!! Welcome, Vee! Join the rest of us LTWFers vying for world domination ;D

    • tymcon September 6, 2010 at 2:03 PM #

      Lol one of my titles for a blog repost for a competition was help LTWF plans for world dominationXD

    • Vee September 7, 2010 at 3:05 AM #

      Kat, we should come up with some group world domination plans or something. World domination ftw 😀

  7. Ella September 6, 2010 at 11:48 AM #

    Welcome! Looking forward to hearing from you. :3

    • Vee September 7, 2010 at 3:05 AM #

      Thanks, Ella!

  8. Aurora Blackguard September 6, 2010 at 11:50 AM #

    Welcome! I’m totally doing NaNoWriMo this year! So awesome to meet you 😀

    • Vee September 7, 2010 at 3:06 AM #

      Yay, we can obsess together in November. It’s great to meet you too 🙂

  9. Biljana September 6, 2010 at 1:54 PM #

    Wooo! Finally out in the open :D! Great to have you with us!

    • Vee September 7, 2010 at 3:07 AM #

      Thanks, Billy. I’m so excited to be here! 😀

  10. CA Marshall September 6, 2010 at 2:01 PM #

    Yay!! Welcome Vee!!

    • Vee September 7, 2010 at 3:07 AM #

      Thank you! 😀

  11. tymcon September 6, 2010 at 2:06 PM #

    I’ve always wondered how people becoem LTWF people. I love australian writersXD

    • Vee September 7, 2010 at 3:12 AM #

      If you check out the “Writers” page you’ll see that we’re unfortunately not accepting new members at the moment, but you can always email us guest posts etc 😀

      And Aussie writers are great 🙂

  12. Myra September 6, 2010 at 2:33 PM #

    Welcome, Vee!

    Another seventeen-year-old with an agent… it’s so awesome to see people my age already agented (though I always feel so inadequate). ;D Ah well, I’m nowhere near ready for publication. And I’m definitely trying out for NaNoWriMo this year, though I hard it will be with college… we have finals during November, so, I dunno. I’ll try, though, because NaNo is always so much fun. 😀

    • Vee September 7, 2010 at 3:15 AM #

      Hi Myra!

      Glad to hear you’re still trying with NaNo — I absolutely know how hard it can be with finals (I’ve, er, had finals during November pretty much every year. Except this year, yay!) but like you said it’s always still a blast 😀

  13. Sarah J. Maas September 6, 2010 at 2:57 PM #

    YAY!!!!!!! SO happy that it’s finally official!!!!! 😀 😀

    WELCOMEEEEE!

    • Vee September 7, 2010 at 3:16 AM #

      Thank youuuu ❤ I did take a while to announce myself, didn't I? 😉

  14. Vanessa September 6, 2010 at 9:13 PM #

    ABOUT TIME we get to announce you to the world! :p Welcome Vee! 😀

    • Vee September 7, 2010 at 3:16 AM #

      I KNOW, right? And thank you! 🙂

  15. Armith-Greenleaf September 7, 2010 at 2:52 AM #

    Omg 17 and with an agent! I commend you, that is *awesome* 😀 Looking forward to your posts! (and to spamming them with silly comments, heh.)

    • Vee September 7, 2010 at 3:18 AM #

      Thanks 😀 I love comments almost as much as I love chocolate, so I’m looking forward to them!

  16. Madeleine September 7, 2010 at 10:09 PM #

    Awesome! And your books sound fascinating! I’d definitely pick them up.

    • Vee September 9, 2010 at 5:57 AM #

      Thanks 🙂

Comments are closed.

