Two BIG Announcements!

24 Sep

As you guys might know, LTWF has been closed to new applicants for a while. However, as of now, we’re reopening for one or two new members and we’re really, really excited about it!

Unlike before, when we were open for an extended amount of time, this time we’ll only be open for a month. If you’d like to join us here behind the scenes, please send us an application to letthewordsflowblog AT gmail DOT com.

At this time, we request that all applicants either be at the querying stage or beyond (if you’re very close to querying, that’s okay, too) OR have some other experience in the publishing industry (be an intern, etc). Also, applicants need to have been on Fictionpress at some point.

Please include in the application:

1. A few paragraphs about yourself. No big deal–just let us know who you are!
2. An excerpt of your novel. Please send at least the first chapter, but you can send as much as you’d like. Heck, send the whole thing if you’re up to it! (you can attach this. No viruses, please!)
3. A sample blog post

  • Clarification: We meant a blog post like the ones we write here at LTWF. Basically, pretend you’re already a member and it’s time for you to write your first article (NOT your intro post, but your article). What would you write? Show us 🙂

4. If you have a blog or are on twitter, please let us know

We LTWF girls are pretty darn close, and we’re not only looking for someone to help us write articles and run the site, but we’re honestly looking for another writer to join our gazillion behind-the-scenes emails, chats, and skype calls 🙂 (no really–many of us talk every single day)

Our community is really important to us, and LTWF is a time commitment. You certainly don’t have to check in with us every day, but please consider whether you’d be able to post at least one article a month and have time to contribute to the QOTW posts.

Remember, the application period lasts one month. So get those emails in!

What’s exciting news number two? We’re having another live chat on Sept 30th at 9PM EST. The topic is just going to be getting to know us girls here at LTWF. If you have any questions about us or the site, come on over! Also, we’d love to get to know our readers a little more (and it would probably be pretty boring just to hear us talk for an hour!), so come let us know about you, too. Our last chat was FANTASTIC (it lasted 2 1/2 hours!!), so don’t miss this one!

If you have any questions about the application process, either let us know in the comments or come talk about it during our live chat!

PS Like we said before: guys are totally welcome to apply 🙂

44 Responses to “Two BIG Announcements!”

  1. samanthabina September 24, 2010 at 12:51 AM #

    Who’s excited? I’M excited!

    • Vee September 24, 2010 at 7:29 AM #

      Meeeeee! *jumps up and down like a little kid*

    • svonnah September 24, 2010 at 8:55 AM #

      Me too!!!

      • Kat Zhang September 24, 2010 at 9:17 AM #

        Me THREE 😀

        • Vanessa September 24, 2010 at 10:11 AM #

          ME FOUR!!!!!

          • jenn fitzgerald September 24, 2010 at 12:48 PM #

            Super Excited!! 😀

            • Biljana September 24, 2010 at 6:52 PM #

              You broke the pattern!! 😉

              I’m insanely excited about this.

  2. Meagan Spooner September 24, 2010 at 12:59 AM #

    Alas, I was only ever on Fanfiction.net way back in the day before it split. And that was so long ago I don’t care to think about it. 😉

    Good luck finding new members! I look forward to hearing about them!

    • Kat Zhang September 24, 2010 at 9:18 AM #

      Thanks, Meagan!

  3. Heather September 24, 2010 at 2:21 AM #

    You guys are awesome, but I don’t think I’m qualified enough to join your ranks 😛
    I can’t wait for the live chat though! 2am or not, I’ll be there 🙂

    • svonnah September 24, 2010 at 8:56 AM #

      Maybe one day? Sorry about the 2AM… we soooo appreciate you joining us!

    • Vanessa September 24, 2010 at 10:12 AM #

      2 am?! You are a TROOPER! ❤

  4. Kim September 24, 2010 at 3:13 AM #

    How I wish I were querying! No one would be as cool as Biljana though, she’s funny as.

    • svonnah September 24, 2010 at 8:57 AM #

      I agree with your first and second statements, but I don’t agree with your third. Biljana is NOT as funny as nothing. 😉

      • Kim September 24, 2010 at 9:39 AM #

        Haha, pardon my Aussie slang. Biljana is imcomparably funny.

        • Vanessa September 24, 2010 at 10:14 AM #

          It’s so true… I’m constantly hanging out with Biljana in hopes that some of her awesome-funny-coolness will rub off on me.

          • Kat Zhang September 24, 2010 at 1:40 PM #

            I thought that was the major reason we kept her around? ;P

            <3s for Billy

            • Biljana September 24, 2010 at 6:54 PM #

              Omg I’m squeeing all over the place I’m so flattered

              • svonnah September 24, 2010 at 7:06 PM #

                That’s not funny.

                • Biljana September 25, 2010 at 2:21 AM #

                  No but your face is.

                  BAM.

                  • Vanessa October 4, 2010 at 11:49 AM #

                    BAHAHAHA

  5. Jennifer September 24, 2010 at 9:04 AM #

    I’d love to join, if only because I know you all would be the kickass-est friends, but I and my writing are not at a point that would be beneficial to the readers. Maybe someday. =)

    • Kat Zhang September 24, 2010 at 9:20 AM #

      Aw, thanks, Jennifer 🙂 And yeah, maybe someday soon!

    • Vanessa September 24, 2010 at 10:15 AM #

      FOR SURE someday!

      And psssh, who says we can’t be kickass friends now?

  6. Joana September 24, 2010 at 10:25 AM #

    Definitely going to apply 🙂 I really admire this blog and how helpful it is to writers (I was one of those people whose query was featured a while back so I know first-hand about that!).

    • Kat Zhang September 24, 2010 at 10:28 AM #

      Very cool! Looking forward to your application 🙂

  7. Olga September 24, 2010 at 11:06 AM #

    Ohgosh. I WISH I was somewhere near querying. But I’m the neurotic story-starter kind of writer, not the sit-down-and-finish-THEN-move-on kind. 😦

    However, for the fictionpress thing, one of my stories – finished YEARS ago – just got a series of awesome reviews with some glorious critique. I’m very happy. I know the story’s faults perfectly well. I’m not inclined to fix them. Not sure if I want to do anything with it.

    Good luck to all the applicants!

  8. Julie Eshbaugh September 24, 2010 at 11:40 AM #

    Olga, congrats on the recent flurry of reviews! Isn’t it great when an old FP story gets some attention? Now go sit down and finish something! 😉 Just teasing you, but if you really WISH you could be querying, that’s the only way to get there. Hope to see your application one day!

    • Olga September 24, 2010 at 12:02 PM #

      I AM sitting down and WORKING on something. I rather like it. In spite of the complete unlikeability of my MC. Unlikeability isn’t a word, is it? Whatever. It is now. 😀

      I’m actually pausing between writing here and typing there. It’s a bit of chaos. I love it.

  9. Ellen September 24, 2010 at 11:47 AM #

    I’m not sure if I qualify. I’m in the last big overhaul stage of my story, which I’m working on as an independent study project at school. Hopefully, once I finish this final round of edits, I’ll be ready to query.

    However, I have yet to meet with the person who’s helping me edit, so until I’ve done that, I have no idea where I stand.

    Would you consider me, or am I still too far from the query stage to be accepted?

    • Kat Zhang September 24, 2010 at 11:49 AM #

      Go ahead and send us an application 🙂

  10. tymcon September 24, 2010 at 12:29 PM #

    Hmmmmm what time will Ireland be on? Like the difreence in the time zones. I’d love to apply (well actually I wouldn’t because i’m lazy) just to make sure nobody thinks the sites sexist;) But I haven’t started quering. And I haven’t finished first story:(

    • jenn fitzgerald September 24, 2010 at 12:47 PM #

      That’ll be 1 or 2 am for you 🙂 I know the UK is 5 hours ahead of EST

    • Kat Zhang September 24, 2010 at 1:00 PM #

      Yeah, I think it would be 2am 😛 We’d still love to have you there, though!

  11. Ellen September 24, 2010 at 1:57 PM #

    On your application: what does number three, ‘a sample blog post’ mean? Like, a sample post for discussion on this blog, or a post from your own blog?

    Please let me know so I can send in an application.

    Thanks!

    • Kat Zhang September 24, 2010 at 2:01 PM #

      Maybe we should clarify this, haha. Seems like a number of people are having trouble understanding. We meant a blog post like the ones we write here at LTWF. Basically, pretend you’re already a member and it’s time for you to write your first article (NOT your intro post, but your article). What would you write? Show us 🙂

  12. CA Marshall September 24, 2010 at 1:58 PM #

    I’d feel awkward posting a book that I’m querying… Would it count to just sign up for FictionPress? Tee hee! jk!

    I’m so excited to see who you guys pick! Yay for more LTWFers!

    • Kat Zhang September 25, 2010 at 10:59 AM #

      Hehe 😀

      Thanks, Cassandra!

  13. Arianna Sterling September 25, 2010 at 9:05 PM #

    Never before have I wished so much I was close to querying. I still have to rip apart the first draft of Breathtaken…take my list of revisions and make them, instead of just staring at the list like I have been. I won’t be querying for months yet, or I would so apply for this.

    Arianna

    • Arianna Sterling September 25, 2010 at 9:11 PM #

      (A further note which just occcurred to me) I’m actually tempted to switch my focus from my current WIP to revisions, just so I can be closer to querying and apply. In love with the place? Very much so.

      • Kat Zhang September 25, 2010 at 9:16 PM #

        Haha, thanks, Arianna! 😀

  14. Catherine September 29, 2010 at 12:09 PM #

    If we’ve already queried a bit, and are getting ready to query again in a couple months, does that count?

    • Kat Zhang September 29, 2010 at 12:29 PM #

      Sure, go ahead 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. QOTW: Favorite Banned Book « Let The Words Flow - November 4, 2010

    […] The topic will be ‘getting to know the LTWF girls’, in honor of the fact that we are accepting applications for […]

Comments are closed.

