Saturday Grab Bag: Mashup and What We’re Reading

9 Oct

Mashup:

Here are some great links on writing, the industry, and all things book related. Some are serious, and some are just downright hilarious. We highly recommend you read them!

  • Adult Literary Fiction Can Bite Me: A YA Manifesto
  • – YA lovers rejoice!! There are people (even librarians!) sticking their necks out for Young Adult books. This is one hilarious argument – with some very valid points! Only problem? Plot A sounds WAY better than Plot B!

  • Take Yourself Seriously if You Want to Get Published
  • – “The bottom line is that the person who is blabbering and whining on to a room full of strangers at a workshop or on a writing forum online is the one who is telling everyone else how insecure they are” – Great post on the right attitude needed to get published.

  • Quick Revision Checklist
  • – An awesome (and quick!) revision checklist (which has some great things to look out for – highly recommended!)

  • I Will Be Your Friend, But I Will Not Be Your Fan: A Rant About How Authors Use Social Media For Self-Promotion
  • – People say taking marketing and promotion into your own hands as an author is a great thing. But here is an interesting take on why authors shouldn’t self-promote (with some very valid points).

  • Hunger Games – Banned Book at School?
  • – Banned Books Week has come and gone (and again, thanks to everyone who participated in it!), but sadly, the call for banning still continues. I guess it doesn’t come as much of a surprise that someone would want to ban The Hunger Games, but calling it “filth” and claiming it desensitizes children to violence is absolutely ridiculous (and totally wrong).

  • Will Tweet For A Book Deal
  • – An article on why aspiring writers (or especially witty, funny, in-the-know people) should stay on Twitter (and how it can lead to landing an agent/book deal).

  • Alice Kuipers Writing App
  • – For all you writers on the go, here is an app (for the iPhone or the iTouch) full of writing tips – all at your fingertips! Pretty damn cool if you ask us (and written by author Alice Kuipers!).

  • How NOT To Get Published
  • – You’ve heard of and have read the horror stories about the road to publishing and its mishaps – but if you want to make a fool of yourself, here’s a list of ways to NOT get published. Very funny, and very true!

  • Pitch Session
  • – Natalie. M. Fischer, literary agent extraordinaire, talks about her pet peeves when it comes to face to face pitches (at conferences) – and also adds what she likes. Very helpful and insightful post!

 

~~~

Biljana and June showing some love for Mandy! ❤

~~~

Quotes:

“My breakthrough with the first book came through persistence, because a lot of publishers turned it down!”
— J.K. Rowling

~~~

What We’re Reading:

Savannah: Song of Solomon by Toni Morrison

Kat: Lessons From a Dead Girl by Jo Knowles

Julie: Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen

Vanessa: Rereading The Hero and the Crown by Robin McKinley

Sammy: Lady Lazarus by Michelle Lang

~~~

Share any interesting links/quotes you’ve come across. Reading an interesting book? Let us know that too in the comments!

And also, THANK YOU to everyone for the blogoversary congratulations – you are THE BEST!


15 Responses to “Saturday Grab Bag: Mashup and What We’re Reading”

  1. Alanna October 9, 2010 at 10:34 AM #

    “Reading an interesting book?” – Revolution by Jennifer Donnelly and Entangled by Cat Clarke 🙂

    • Vanessa Di Gregorio October 10, 2010 at 1:20 PM #

      I remember the first time I heard of Revolution by Jennifer Donnelly, I wanted to pick it up.

      But I’ve NEVER heard of Entangled! It sounds amazing, though (I just checked it out on Goodreads)!

  2. Renee October 9, 2010 at 2:17 PM #

    Reading a VERY interesting book–EON by Alison Goodman. An excellent read so far!!!

    • Vanessa Di Gregorio October 10, 2010 at 1:09 PM #

      I’ve heard SO many good things about EON! Every time I’m at a bookstore, I always pick it up (and then put it back down for some reason).

      Next time though, I’ll be sure to buy it!!

  3. Olga October 9, 2010 at 7:23 PM #

    I’m reading The Prophet, by Kahlil Gibran – rereading, actually. For about the fifth time. I’m in love with this book and highly recommend it to everyone. It makes you think.

    • Vanessa Di Gregorio October 10, 2010 at 1:14 PM #

      I’ve never heard of that book! I’ll definitely take a look at it.

      • Olga October 10, 2010 at 7:13 PM #

        Warning: It’s not YA. It’s more philosophy and spiritualism than anything else. 🙂

  4. Nicole October 10, 2010 at 12:30 AM #

    Wheel of Time Series by Robert Jordan

    • Vanessa Di Gregorio October 10, 2010 at 1:11 PM #

      I’ve always wanted to read that series! I really ought to pick it up. I’ve been in an epic fantasy mood lately too :p

  5. Caitlin October 10, 2010 at 3:30 PM #

    I’ve been reading a lot of things lately (including Cassandra Clare’s Mortal Instruments series) but I’m really enjoying Everything Bad is Good for You by Steven Johnson. It’s basically about how things we’re traditionally told are a vast wasteland or are dumbing down society are actually getting smarter and smarter.

    • Kat Zhang October 11, 2010 at 10:41 AM #

      How interesting! I’ll have to check that one out 🙂

  6. Leah Scrimshaw October 10, 2010 at 4:31 PM #

    Heh, I’m reading two pretty famous books (one of which I know most of you have read) which are very, very different.
    Firstly there’s Foundation. I decided that I really needed to read some classic sci-fi, so I picked up Foundation and Dune and am reading Foundation first. In a way, I’m finding it very weird to read as it is so completely not character based. I mean, you get to know a couple of characters and then it skips fifty years, and they’re dead. And it keeps doing it!
    And secondly, there’s Lolita. I heard so much about this book and, after having seen the two opening paragraphs in a comment here, I just couldn’t resist reading it. It’s, um, disturbing in a way, being narrated in first person, but, oh, do I love Nabokov’s writing. The word ‘intoxicating’ just fits so perfectly.

    • Kat Zhang October 11, 2010 at 10:43 AM #

      Wow, I think I might have trouble reading FOUNDATION, too, then. Falling in love with characters is one of my favorite parts of reading and writing, so I’m not a big fan of fiction where plot takes precedent over people.

      I’m reading LOLITA right now, too!

  7. Summer October 16, 2010 at 2:53 PM #

    The link for the Quick Revision Checklist doesn’t work 😦

    • Vanessa Di Gregorio October 17, 2010 at 9:48 PM #

      Oh no, it’s not? It’s working fine for me (unless someone else has fixed it). Let me know if it still isn’t working (cause it’s SUCH a good list)!

Comments are closed.

