Introducing the newest LTWF contributor…Susan Dennard!

27 Oct

So, in case you missed the chat last night, we have a BIG ANNOUNCEMENT!

After many weeks of deliberating, we’re beyond thrilled to welcome Susan Dennard to our ranks! We were blown away by Susan from the moment we read her application–she’s funny, smart, and all-around awesome. From her first email, she gelled with us so well that it actually was a bit of a shock! Not to mention she lives in Germany and can see a freaking CASTLE from her window (we all died of jealousy when we heard that). Susan also recently signed with Sara Kendall at Nancy Coffey Literary & Media (after only querying for two weeks)!

We don’t want to hog her intro post, so we’ll end this here, but we just wanted to extend a HUGE welcome to Susan! We can’t wait for you guys to get to know her, too!

-The LTWF Team

 

 

 

~~~

by Susan Dennard

~~~

I am so excited to be writing this intro I have to force myself to avoid all-caps, italics, and clapping with giddy joy.

My hands tremble as I type.

I’m Susan. I’m a 26-year-old American living in Germany. I have the luxury of writing full-time, eating wiener schnitzel to my heart’s content, and listening to alpine yodeling on the radio (no joke).

I’ve been writing since I was a kid, and though I went to college to study creative writing, I foolishly dove into marine biology and statistics as majors. Then I went to the Arctic to do my M.Sc. research. Yeah, I lived in a tent on the sea ice while catching sharks and halibut (there’s actually a Dirty Jobs episode about our research!).  Then I even more foolishly fell in love with a Frenchman, got married, and moved to Germany last year. That move prompted me to hunker down and learn to Write For Real.

Many nibbled-nails, revised drafts, and beta readers later, I finalized my young adult steampunk novel, The Spirit-Hunters. I sent it out to agents’ inboxes a few weeks ago, and I was lucky enough to garner a lot of interest in a short amount of time. Two weeks later, I had several offers of representation, and just last weekend, I SIGNED WITH NANCY COFFEY LITERARY! (Sorry about the all-caps – the excitement just couldn’t be contained.)

The Spirit-Hunters is about Eleanor, a high-society 16-year-old in 1876 Philadelphia, who — to save her brother from a necromancer — must join forces with a rag-tag spirit-hunting team.  Now, Eleanor has to kick undead butt and deal with her growing attraction to the team’s exasperating but gorgeous inventor.  You can learn more about it here.

While I’m polishing Eleanor’s story for submissions, I’ll also be NaNoWriMo-ing (don’t you love how I just created a verb?) with a YA sci-fi.  Screechers tells the tale of Echo, a 17-year-old on death row who is the only survivor after “screechers” — government created monsters — attack her outpost.  But when Echo sets out to warn the other outposts of impending doom, the government and the screechers set out to kill her.

I look forward to getting to know the other ladies of LTWF, and more importantly, all the readers! It’s a pleasure to “meet” you, and if you ever have questions about writing, living in Germany, or fish (I am still a marine biologist, after all), don’t hesitate to ask.  I’ve been following LTWF for a while — absorbing their words of wisdom, words of comfort, and words of AWESOME.  I can’t wait to give back in the same way.

One final thing before I go: I’m having a Giant Giveaway Extravaganza on my blog! This entire week, I’m giving out free stuff for readers and writers alike. It’s to celebrate signing with NCLit, to celebrate my introduction to LTWF, and to help everyone prepare for NaNoWriMo.

As we say here in Deutschland, auf Wiedersehen!

~~~~

Susan Dennard is a writer, reader, lover of animals, and eater of cookies. She recently signed with Sara Kendall of NCLit. You can learn more about her writing process, crazy life-thoughts, and crippling cookie-addiction on her blog or twitter.

46 Responses to “Introducing the newest LTWF contributor…Susan Dennard!”

  1. Mac_V October 27, 2010 at 12:09 AM #

    WELCOME! It sounds like you have a fantastic and exciting life! I can’t wait to hear more from you on the blog and good luck with NaNoWriMo! I’m doing it too and I couldn’t be more excited! 😀 And congrats on being signed!

    Mac 🙂

  2. Jennifer October 27, 2010 at 12:17 AM #

    Congratulations and welcome! Your novel sounds AWESOME, as do you. The penguins in your photo are icing on the cake.

  3. Sarah J. Maas October 27, 2010 at 12:25 AM #

    YAAAAAAAAAAYYYYYYYYYYYYY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ❤

  4. Kat Zhang October 27, 2010 at 12:26 AM #

    Susan, that is the COOLEST picture EVER. Beyond awesome. We’re so glad to have you 😀

  5. Vee October 27, 2010 at 12:33 AM #

    YAYYYYYY SUSAN! So glad to have you with us 🙂 And I’m with Kat, that picture is AWESOME.

  6. sdennard October 27, 2010 at 12:43 AM #

    Why thank you, all. ::cough, cough:: The photo of Antarctic Sooz is rather special.

    And it’s SUCH a pleasure to meet you, Mac_V and Jennifer! Thanks for the comments!

  7. Nhi October 27, 2010 at 12:46 AM #

    OOH LA LA, WHAT IS THIS? Another author to stalk – sorry ‘follow’? Oh LTWF, stop spoiling us so!

    No seriously, WELCOME ABOARD TO THE MAGICAL BLOGSPHERE OF LTWF! (And you thought *you* were the only one who liked to abuse their capslocks).

    I heard something about the views of CASTLES from your home and I’m all envious. I can’t wait to hear from you, and maybe I’ll get to live near castles too someday. *sighs dreamily*

    • Nhi October 27, 2010 at 12:47 AM #

      Oh, and I read something along the lines of you having a Frenchman for a husband. Now I’m REALLY jealous. 😀

      • sdennard October 27, 2010 at 12:54 AM #

        Not to brag, Nhi, but my Frenchman is pretty amazing. 😉 Of course, I suppose I’m quite biased…

        And about that castle, I should post a picture on here some time — I also promised the LTWF ladies I’d show them. It’s a lurrrrvely castle. You expect Rapunzel or Sleeping Beauty to be inside.

        • Savannah J. Foley October 27, 2010 at 8:30 AM #

          Yes, she totally said we could all come hang out with her in Germany and drag her to the castle everyday! Let it be known there is now a public record of this promise…

  8. priscillashay October 27, 2010 at 12:59 AM #

    omg, where do you guys keep finding these AMAZING people??

    HI SUSAN! 🙂

    • priscillashay October 27, 2010 at 1:00 AM #

      btw…you don’t even look cold in the pic o.O

    • sdennard October 27, 2010 at 1:01 AM #

      Thanks for calling me amazing, priscillashay! 🙂 I’m sooooo susceptible to flattery.

      Oh, and I was definitely cold — even if it was Antarctica’s summer when I was there. Antarctic summer = Rest of the world’s winter. Brrrrrrrr.

    • savannahjfoley October 27, 2010 at 9:07 AM #

      They find us! 🙂

  9. Biljana October 27, 2010 at 1:47 AM #

    Wooooo welcome, Susan!!! 😀

  10. Angela October 27, 2010 at 3:33 AM #

    You are totally awesome!!! ❤ I can`t wait to read your novel when it`s published.

    You must share your experience of getting a novel published outside of the U.S. I live in Japan, so I`m a bit afraid of the obstacles I`ll face when I query agents in the U.S. <333

  11. Aurora Blackguard October 27, 2010 at 3:43 AM #

    and HI! SO NICE TO MEET YOU!!!! 😀

    Gosh, MARINE BIOLOGGGGGYYY!! I never thought.. DUDE. That is so cool. Clearly I am blown away by you since I can barely form coherent sentences right now. Germany! And a FRENCHMAN!!!!! I am SO in awe of you right now.

    Your novel sounds SO cool and if you don’t get picked up by a publisher soon, I can and I will take a jack knife to someone. Welcome!!!

  12. CA Marshall October 27, 2010 at 4:03 AM #

    YYYYYYYAAAAAAAYYYYYYY *happy dance*! Welcome to LTWF!

  13. sdennard October 27, 2010 at 5:01 AM #

    Angela, Aurora, and CA — thanks so much! Such fabulous welcomes from everyone! ::sigh:: I feel all warm and fuzzy inside.

  14. samanthabina October 27, 2010 at 8:23 AM #

    YAY! This is SO awesome! We’re soooo happy to have you, Susan!

  15. JoSVolpe October 27, 2010 at 9:05 AM #

    Yay! Congrats, Susan!!!

  16. tymcon October 27, 2010 at 9:22 AM #

    Someone who lives in Europe! Yayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy.
    Phase one of infiltration completeXD
    Now if only we can get someone inside enchanted inkpot…
    Welcome to LTFW

    • sdennard October 27, 2010 at 9:27 AM #

      I soooooo intend to be that person, tymcon. I’ve had my sights set on Enchanted Inkpot for a while…

      • tymcon October 27, 2010 at 9:38 AM #

        (maniacal laughter)

  17. Vanessa Di Gregorio October 27, 2010 at 9:45 AM #

    WOOOOO!!! Welcome Susan! 😀 (LOVE the picture, btw!!)

  18. katharine October 27, 2010 at 9:55 AM #

    Yay Susan– congratulations!

  19. Jane October 27, 2010 at 10:38 AM #

    Congrats!!!!!

    okay, completely off subject . . . and feel free to delete this if you feel like it’s too much personal info on a public forum . . . but you’re Jennifer’s sister, aren’t you? I was classmates with her in college, and she very proudly mentioned a sister in Germany writing a novel, married to a Frenchman, etc . . . but wow, I never expected to see her pop up on a blog that I’ve been following religiously since Day 1! If I’m completely off with my suspicions . . . oops! If not, then that’s awesome! The world is tiny! lol.

    Congrats again! I look forward to your future posts!

    Cheers,
    Jane

    • sdennard October 27, 2010 at 11:05 AM #

      WOAH!!!! I AM JEN’S SISTER!!!!!!!!!!

      Super small world, and it’s a pleasure to meet you!

      • Jane October 27, 2010 at 12:06 PM #

        Yay! I knew it! You both share the same gorgeous smile! =) So happy to “meet” you too! =D

  20. SKendall October 27, 2010 at 11:13 AM #

    YAY, Susan! Fab intro post–can’t wait to read more. I’m a huge LTWF fan. And DUDE, PENGUINS.

    • sdennard October 27, 2010 at 11:38 AM #

      I know — PENGUINS!

      They’re actually pretty gross… Very stinky. All that pink stuff on the ground is guano.

  21. Joan October 27, 2010 at 4:00 PM #

    Spirit Hunters sounds GREAT!!
    Nice to meet you, Susan!! I look forward to all your surely awesome contributions 🙂

  22. Hope October 27, 2010 at 4:25 PM #

    Hallo Susan! Your novel sounds great, I love Steampunk and there simply isn’t enough around. I’m also really psyched that you live in Germany because Germany is awesome and also my neighbour country hehe (I live in Holland.) Deinen Buch scheint mir sehr Toll haha, I know very little German. Anyway, I’m looking forward to your posts!

  23. Ella October 27, 2010 at 4:39 PM #

    Missed the announcement in the chat last night, but…welcome! Glad to have you! *throws confetti*

  24. sdennard October 27, 2010 at 4:47 PM #

    Wow… Just wow. I am overwhelmed by the kindness and openness of all these comments. Thanks to EVERYONE for welcoming me, and thanks to the LTWF ladies for letting me be a part of your community.

    ::shakes head in awe::

  25. fromawriter October 27, 2010 at 6:04 PM #

    Welcome Susan! You have a very awesome life, I have to say. And great novel ideas too! I’m looking forward to your future posts on LTWF ;D

  26. hayleighbird October 27, 2010 at 7:03 PM #

    Ummmm… I think you lead my dream life, Susan!

    • Vanessa October 27, 2010 at 11:36 PM #

      You know, I was just thinking that the other day. Plus… she lives by a CASTLE! (SO jealous!)

  27. Heather October 27, 2010 at 7:24 PM #

    Hiiiii! -waves-
    Congrats on getting an agent after only two weeks of querying. That must be some kind of record! 🙂

  28. Myra October 27, 2010 at 9:03 PM #

    Welcome to LTWF! 🙂

    And uh… just have to say that OMG I AM SO JEALOUS. Living in the German countryside–with the view of a castle no less!–would be a dream come true for me. That sounds sooo amazing. 😀 And so does your novel. I love steampunk and the necromancy element makes it sound like an all-around awesome book.

  29. Chele October 27, 2010 at 9:41 PM #

    Ack, I’m a bit late with this but WOOOO HELLO SUSAN! ;DD

    I literally went “OMG OMG WHAT SO COOL!” at almost every sentence in your intro post. Germany! A castle! A Frenchman! FREAKIN’ ANTARTICA! -hyperventilates-

    I’m kowtow-ing to you right this moment. WELCOME YOU’RE AWESOME YAYYYYY!

  30. kate October 27, 2010 at 10:00 PM #

    wow, your life thus far seems super awesome, and i kind of want to be you! what part of germany are you in?

    • Susan October 28, 2010 at 3:56 AM #

      Bavaria, actually. I can see the Alps on a clear day. 🙂

  31. Olga October 28, 2010 at 4:21 PM #

    Bavaria = AMAZING BEER COUNTRY!!! Sorry for the caps. I turn 21 in less than a month. (LESS THAN A MONTH!!) Anyway, welcome aboard! I can’t wait to hear – er…read – from you – by you? – whatever – yes. 🙂

  32. Lea Kaplan October 30, 2010 at 6:28 PM #

    Welcome to the blog, Susan! I’m looking forward to getting to know you through Vanessa’s stories in class and all your blog posts.

    I just want to point out the coincidence of you being a marine biologist – simply because my protagonist in my current WIP, which I’m looking forward to truly diving into on Monday at the start of NaNo, wants to be a marine biologist. Forget about asking questions about writing, the blog, or being signed by an agent – I’ll have to ask you about your day job!

Comments are closed.

