QOTW: Writer Munchies

29 Oct

In honor of Halloween this weekend, we thought we’d answer this QOTW about treats from Angela!

After following a lot of writers on twitter, I realized that we all have something called “writer`s munches”. For example, mine is chocolate. I can`t write a single word without a bite of my chocolate-y goodness.

What food or drink do you like to snack on when you write? I think this is also a good time to exchange recipes, lol.

~~~

Cheesy popcorn is my snack of choice. I may or may not have eaten an entire bag during one rather furious writing session a week ago… It’s like I eat it without thinking, and when I finish a chapter, the bag is gone. I’m convinced a ghost came and ate half the bag when I wasn’t looking.

As for my drink of choice, I firmly believe apple cider makes any writing session a million times better.

The Writer and Former Intern Currently Querying

~~~

CHOCOLATE COVERED RAISINS. They’re just so damn good. I don’t like raisins alone or raisins in bread or anything but when they’re covered in chocolate, it’s just the perfect mix of sweet and tangy and fruity and YUM. If that’s not available, any kind of small finger food that doesn’t leave your hands greasy/sticky/grimy is awesome because I don’t have to worry about picking up utensils. It’s faster to use fingers, pop it in your mouth, and continue writing :P.

Drink of choice is just water. I always have water on my desk.

The Writer Editing Her First Novel!

~~~

Coffee first and foremost.  Then, I tend to eat cookies…  Any kind will do, but usually I end up with something called “Karamellgebäck” (caramel cookies).  They’re pretty AMAZING, and you can’t eat just one.  Plus, they go perfectly with coffee — an amazing taste bud combination.

Next, I go crazy over candy — specifically sour gummy bears.  Germans are known for their amazing gummy bears, and my particular favorites are soooooo delicious and sooooo addictive.  Strangely, though, this one brand is really hard to find.  I can only ever get them at this one Bauhaus (like a Home Depot), and then only when they happen to have them in stock.  Needless to say, when they are available, I LOAD UP.  I look like an idiot — going to a Bauhaus only to buy ten giant packages of gummy bears.  But my cravings shall not be denied!

I’m actually giving away all my favorite munchies for my giveaway extravaganza.  What a crazy random happenstance!

The Newest LTWF Contributor!

~~~

I like rice crackers, sometimes and tea. Lots and lots of tea (I’m very seriously addicted to tea, I drink like six-seven cups a day and if I try to cut back and drink four I get the worst headaches. Withdrawal symptoms from tea, I kid you not). I’m also a fan of chocolate. But I don’t really eat very much when I write — usually I just forget to eat because I get all caught up in the story.

The Other Writer on Submissions

~~~

I don’t have a go-to snack… I think I usually take food breaks because the part I’m writing is tough and I just don’t want to deal with it. Eating is an avoidance tactic, lol. I usually go for leftovers, but something sweet definitely has more appeal. I’ll eat energy bars, little ice cream cups, potato chips… anything bad for me, really. And let’s just say that we have way less Halloween candy for trick-or-treaters today than we had when I first bought it (note to self: NEVER by Halloween candy until the day before!)

Does anyone else like to munch but also resent it cause then your hands get icky and you have to wipe them on something before you type again? I wish I could eat and type at the same time, lol.

-The Writer Converting Three Books Into One!

~~~

It’s a toss up between brownies, or toast with Nutella. Actually, since brownies require time to actually make (time I don’t really have these days), I’d say it’s more often than not toast and Nutella. I swear I have a serious addiction to that stuff. I sometimes even eat spoonfuls of Nutella straight from the jar! I mean… bread and choclate/hazelnut spread? HEAVEN!

The Writer in the Publishing Industry Working On Her First Novel!

~~~

I really don’t snack while I write, because, like Savannah, I use snacking as an excuse for a “get-up-from-the-laptop” break.  I love gummy bears, and at Easter, I could (and practically do) live on marshmallow Peeps.  Susan’s story about going to the store just to buy massive amounts of sweets hits home with me.  At Easter, I’ll get in the check-out lane with a cart FULL of Peeps. (They last for months, but you have a very short window in which to stock up.)  I usually try to make some fraudulent chit-chat with my husband to deceive the cashier – something like, “Do you think this will be enough Peeps for all the kids at the party?” but he always tells the cashier that I’m full of crap and they’re all for me!  Ah, well, I couldn’t be too embarrassed; I just confessed the truth of my addiction on the internet!

Beverage of choice?  Easy – Diet Coke with Lime.  🙂

The Writer on Submissions!

~~~

I require Diet Coke. Beyond that, I love gummy bears or baked sour cream and cheddar chips. Mmmmmm.

I also love skittles.

The Writer and Literary Agent

~~~

I definitely need some form of caffeinated beverage, preferably coffee, diet coke, or diet mountain dew. But if it’s late enough in the day (past 6), I need a pot of caffeine-free tea sitting on my desk. As for food…I’m pretty much prone to eating everything from dumplings to cheetos, though I DO have a soft spot for ravioli…

The Writer With Her First Book Deal!

~~~

 

Like Vee I need tea, lots and lots of hot tea, or in the middle of summer, good, southern sweet tea. I don’t tend to eat when I’m writing because I forget, and food just gets in the way, it makes my hands sticky and crumbs get on the keyboard. A nice big mug is much easier to deal with!

The Other Writer Currently Querying

~~~

Add me to the list of people who can’t eat while they’re writing. I can’t really do anything while writing. I have to completely be in the zone, which is hard enough with my gnat-sized attention span. However, I eat all the time while staring at my manuscript and willing it to write itself 🙂 Munchies of choice are cereals–anything that’s satisfyingly crunchy and at least a little sweet. Right now, I’ve got a bit of an obsession with Raisin Bran Crunch. I don’t know what’s up with the raisin hate, Billy–raisins are awesome! And the cereal is really good. Really. You should try it. Just don’t blame me once the addiction takes hold.

-The Writer Who Just Signed With an Agent!

~~~

What are YOUR go-to writer munchy foods?

34 Responses to “QOTW: Writer Munchies”

  1. priscillashay October 29, 2010 at 12:51 AM #

    haha, I’m with Kat. I can and WILL get distracted if I’m doing anything else while writing. But, I do love the occasional Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie :3 Not while I’m typing though..keys might get sticky :/

    • savannahjfoley October 29, 2010 at 10:40 AM #

      That’s the exact problem I have! Can’t write and eat at the same time… probably a good thing.

  2. Nicole October 29, 2010 at 2:31 AM #

    I like something warm, soup, pasta, toast, doesn’t matter as long as it’s filling.

    Weird thing is I find the creative juices flow when I’m in a chair I can sit cross legged in.

    • savannahjfoley October 29, 2010 at 10:40 AM #

      I seem to write best when I’m reclined on a bed or couch.

      • priscillashay October 29, 2010 at 5:34 PM #

        me too! I can’t sit straight and write for some odd reason o.O

  3. Kel October 29, 2010 at 5:20 AM #

    OMG, I used to live in Holland and those sour gummy bears are amazing!!! So weird that you can’t buy them in regular stores, though. In Holland they’re like normal stock items and even the smaller drug stores will sell them. If you live anywhere near the border I suggest going to some place in Holland and just STOCK like crazy. Sigh…those gummy bears are so amazing…I love how they make your face go all weird due to their epic sourness!

    • sdennard October 29, 2010 at 8:15 AM #

      I can find sour gummies — mmmmmm, Haribo Pasta Fruities — but these Saure Baeren are special. Dunno why they’re so hard to find (at last in my region).

      🙂

  4. Angela October 29, 2010 at 6:20 AM #

    Thanks for answering my question. I`m getting hungry just from reading your responses =D

    @Sammy: I love cheese popcorn. Actually, I love anything that has cheese in it really. Sometimes, I like to cut of slices of cheese and nibble on them like a mouse when I`m reading over stuff.

    @Biljana Chocolate raisins. Yum. ^^ I also agree with the sticky, greasy food thing. I hate getting my computer keys dirty.

    @Susan: My world is not completely without a nice cup of coffee. I miss gummy bears. I can`t eat them because of braces. *sigh*

    @Vahini: Yay, rice crackers! My mom is Japanese, so my house is always stocked with them. I like how you can nibble on them and stuff.

    @Savannah: One time I bought a big bag of chocolates for my friends. Two days later, it was empty, because I had eaten them all.

    Vanessa: Nutella is the best spread… Ever! I also like to eat it with a spoon. It angers my mom =D

    @Mandy: Ahhhh. Sour cream and cheddar chips are the best =D

    @Sarah: I miss cheetos. The cheetos they sell in Japan are sweet. It`s horrible T_T

    @Jennifer: I know what you mean. I wish there was a way to write without using my hands so then I can use them to eat.

    @Kat: I do the same thing whenever I want my story to write itself. To me, food is some sort of procrastination.

    • sdennard October 29, 2010 at 8:17 AM #

      Ah, I had braces for 4 years. How I missed candy and gum (and how I hated playing the trumpet!)…

      • Angela October 29, 2010 at 9:06 AM #

        Ouch >.<

        I`m so glad that I chose the violin, because it doesn`t involve teeth.

    • savannahjfoley October 29, 2010 at 10:42 AM #

      That happens to me ALL THE TIME!!!

  5. Jess October 29, 2010 at 7:16 AM #

    I’m with Julie and Sav – I eat lots while I’m avoiding writing. My stretch breaks are really snack breaks, and I’m a SALTY girl. Salt and vinegar chips. Any chips. Chips please.

    I just drink water though. (Good thing, too, with all that salt, huh?) 😀

  6. tymcon October 29, 2010 at 7:33 AM #

    Lol strangely enough I can’t eat nutella with bread. IT’s jsut…blegh. So isually eat it on its own or crackers. Woho!

    There’s never really anythign in the house, so I can’t really have a continious writer’s munchie. Seriously, I am awesome at making a supper out of nothingXD Good preperation for university. Although I will never cook chicken or mince. I don’t trust myself.

    I don’t drink but a lot of people I know do. They’re under the age limit. “The writer on submission” (dies of embaressment because can’t remember neame) ‘s story really reminded me of what they do when they buy the beer/vodka etc. One went up with a full uncooked chicken, spaghetti, (I forget what drink), and bread.

    This is an incredibly funny article. And I’m lookign forward to when my four year old sister goes trick-or-treating (evil smile)

    • savannahjfoley October 29, 2010 at 10:43 AM #

      That’s Julie 🙂

      I don’t much care for the taste of alcohol, but I’m terrified to write while toasted because I don’t want to find out it’s easier or something, and then become an alcoholic just to write better.

      • Sammy Bina October 29, 2010 at 12:33 PM #

        …I’ve written while drunk. I don’t recommend it. I had to delete about six pages of nonsense, haha.

  7. Christina October 29, 2010 at 8:03 AM #

    Hahaha I am a huge coffee and tea drinker. Doesn’t matter whether its its early in the morning or midnight. I always drink which ever one I’m craving and its never decaf. Haha I can have coffee/tea and literally go straight to bed without a problem.

    And I used to live in Germany for a while (Spangdahlem) and I practically lived off the Haribo gummy bears!!! What kind of gummy bears are you talking about Susan?

    I know this sounds weird, but does anyone remember Coke Black? It was a mixture of coca cola and coffee…haha I know it sounds weird but it was really so good! Used to save it and wait till I new I was having a good day writing and would reward myself with it.

    • sdennard October 29, 2010 at 8:15 AM #

      Saure Baeren is the name of the brand — they’re expensive… BUT WONDERFUL. You can usually find them at those gourment candy stands that crop up at Weihnachtsmarkts. Or in the one Obi near my house. ::shrug::

      • Biljana October 31, 2010 at 12:47 PM #

        Do you know it just clicked that Saure Baeren = Sour Bears.

  8. Cristina Rose October 29, 2010 at 9:31 AM #

    I definitely can’t eat while writing! It’s too distracting for me. I’m a tea person for sure, or iced water in the summer / whenever I’m not feeling tea. I’m a fiend for any sweet or tangy drink with ice in it, too. Drinks with calories are my best friends and worst enemies…

    I do sympathize with Vanessa’s addiction, though … V, the ONLY way I eat Nutella is out of the jar!! It’s so addictive! Try it on graham crackers, too. It’s absolute heaven.

    • savannahjfoley October 29, 2010 at 10:43 AM #

      That is the thing about eating like candy or something when writing… soon I realize I’m just focusing on eating!

      • Cristina Rose October 29, 2010 at 1:27 PM #

        That, or you wind up eating WAYYY more than you intend when you’re actually in the zone. hahaha.

    • Vanessa Di Gregorio October 29, 2010 at 11:31 AM #

      Have you ever had Nutella and Peanut Butter together? It’s tastes like Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups!

      (And yeah, Nutella on anything is good. I’ve yet to put it on something and hate it).

      • Cristina Rose October 29, 2010 at 1:28 PM #

        Oh my gosh I never have, actually! If you like chocolate and PB though, try Peanut Butter & Co.’s Chocolate Peanut Butter. It’s AMAZING, and though it can be a bit hefty in calories (like all chocolate & peanut butter products) it’s all natural and made with real cocoa so it isn’t bad for you!

      • Angela October 29, 2010 at 6:06 PM #

        Try having a nutella and crunchy peanut butter sandwich and add in bananas. It`s awesome @_@

        • Cristina Rose October 30, 2010 at 4:28 PM #

          Oh YUM!! Stop giving me ideas!

        • Biljana October 31, 2010 at 12:48 PM #

          I’VE DONE THAT! Amazing.

  9. Rowenna October 29, 2010 at 1:45 PM #

    I was just going to say “I’m more of a drinker when I write” and then realized how that sounded lol! But I do tend to have a beverage–tea, or coffee, or ice water–while writing, and forget about eating.

    All these responses are making me hungry…and reminding me how amazing Nutella is!

    • Biljana October 31, 2010 at 12:50 PM #

      I almost feel as if I should let Vanessa answer this lol.

      One of the reasons I like eating is that when I really get into a scene, I get disinterested in the food. It’s a weird way of knowing that the scene’s going well :P.

  10. Cassie October 29, 2010 at 5:17 PM #

    This has my vote for greatest article ever simply because it combines my two favorite pastimes – writing and eating =D

    Anyway, I find that I can’t eat while writing, as it distracts me, too. But when I’m reading someone else’s work or proof-reading my own, I typically have some sort of snack (I too can clean an entire jar of Nutella with just a spoon, Vanessa!!) or some kind of drink. I tend to go for the “pop ’em in your mouth” type of snack, though – like peanut m&ms or choco covered raisins (YUM!). And now that it’s colder out I find that I gravitate towards hot chocolate. Lately, I’ve been adding a spoonful of instant coffee to my hot cocoa to have a makeshift mocha…it’s got nothing on Starbucks, but when the budget’s tight, I find that hunger/thirst is the best spice!!

    And now I’m craving snacks (thanks guys…) Happy Halloween!! =D

    • Biljana October 31, 2010 at 12:51 PM #

      Yes! Chocolate covered raisins! They’re amazing.

      And I’ve done that before, adding some coffee to hot chocolate. Reeeallly good.

  11. Kaye October 29, 2010 at 5:46 PM #

    I usually make myself a cup of tea, but then get sucked into writing and forget about it. By the time I remember, it’s usually cold. Ick. I don’t really eat while writing, but when I get up I go for a handful of almonds or some toast with avocado on it (I have a serious avocado addiction. They’re just SO good).

    Also, Julie, have you tried finding peeps around other holidays? One of my friends has a similar peep obsession, and she always gets Halloween and Christmas and Valentine’s Day themed peeps too. Not sure where she finds them, though.

  12. October 29, 2010 at 6:08 PM #

    No, I did not just polish off a small container of ice cream. Really. I swear.

    Usually, though, anything with chocolate. Dark with additional flavor, FTW!

  13. Mac_V October 29, 2010 at 7:55 PM #

    Mine is definitely chocolate. During NaNoWriMo if I’m writing at Barnes & Noble, I definitely have a cup of hot chocolate sitting next to me. And one of those giant cookies sometimes, too.

    P.S. Susan, you made my day with your “crazy random happenstance” ❤

    Look at my wrist, I gotta go!

  14. Ashley October 30, 2010 at 1:51 AM #

    I have to agree with Savannah on eating as an avoidance tactic. I’d plead guilty on that charge 🙂

Comments are closed.

