Saturday Grab Bag: Mashup

30 Oct

Mashup:

Here are some great links on writing, the industry, and all things book related. Some are serious, and some are just downright hilarious. We highly recommend you read them!

  • Children’s Author Eva Ibbotson dies at age 85
  • – Sad news in children’s publishing. R.I.P. Eva Ibbotson.

  • Eva Ibbotson: Ogres, Aunts and Happy Endings
  • – Another article from The Guardian from a few weeks earlier where they talk to Eva Ibbotson and her writing.

  • Editor Help for Jane Austen
  • – See, even Jane Austen wasn’t perfect.

  • Pride, Prejudice and Poor Punctuation
  • – Another post about Austen. She is renowned as a pristine literary stylist; but her semicolons were not her own – instead she scattered dashes through her prose (among other things).

  • Kids Lit vs. Adult Lit
  • – Here is another article about kids lit vs. adult lit. But this one is more about the lack of respect kids lit gets – how writers of kids lit aren’t respected as much, or thought highly of – and why people who look down on kids lit book and authors are wrong to do so. Loved this article.

  • 100 Best First Lines From Novels
  • – We love opening lines. So here’s a list of the 100 best first lines according to The American Book Review.

  • Coverspy
  • – We also love book covers. Coverspy is a tumblr of – you guessed it! – book covers. It’s a visual feast for your eyes!

    Notes from the Twittersphere:

  • Don’t put the first paragraph of your query in the subject of your email.
    @WolfsonLiterary
  • Don’t send pages from the middle of the book. The BEGINNING needs to grab me.
    – @ WolfsonLiterary

~~~

Quotes:

“Some readers have found children’s literature to be a rack of hats: didactic, useful books that keep us warm or guard us against weather. I find children’s literature to be a world of snakes: seductive things that live in undergrowths and that may take us whole.”

— Seth Lerer, Children’s Literature: A Reader’s History from Aesop to Harry Potter

~~~

What We’re Reading:

Vanessa: The Healing Wars Book 2: Blue Fire by Janice Hardy

Sammy: Twenty Boy Summer by Sarah Ockler

Sarah: Behemoth by Scott Westerfeld

Savannah: The Witching Hour by Anne Rice

Julie: Whisper by Phoebe Kitanidis

Susan: Travels With My Aunt by Graham Greene

Mandy: Prisoners in the Palace by Michaela MacColl

~~~

If you’ve come across any great links/quotes, share them in the comments! And let us know what you’re reading, too! 😀

 

10 Responses to “Saturday Grab Bag: Mashup”

  1. Christina October 30, 2010 at 1:45 AM #

    I read Perfume: The Story of a Murderer which was absolutely amazing! I really recommend that! The movie was just as amazing, a bit different from the book, but still amazing in its own way.

    I had also never read The Hunger Games before-can’t believe i didn’t know about it- but after you guys gushed about it, I decided to check it out. Read the first book and bought all three the next day. I really loved it!

    Two other books that got recommended a while back, the sky is everywhere, the foretelling, and the amulet: the stonekeepers part 1 and 2. I read those a while back, but they were all excellent 🙂

    Has anyone read any of those? And are there any opinions about The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo or Megan Whalen Turner’s The Thief …i was thinking about reading one of those.

    Thanks! Happy Reading 🙂

    • Savannah J. Foley October 30, 2010 at 9:45 AM #

      I saw the movie and it was astounding. I’ve been meaning to read the book.

    • Vanessa October 31, 2010 at 10:47 PM #

      Megan Whalen Turner’s THE THIEF is one of my fave books! (And Gen is one of my fave characters ever!). DEFINITELY pick it up – I highly recommend it! 😀

      Also, I’m so glad that you’ve enjoyed books that we recommended!! That put a huge smile on my face!

      I’ve never heard of Perfume, but I’ll definitely check it out!

  2. Aurora Blackguard October 30, 2010 at 1:49 AM #

    OMG HOW DID YOU GET YOUR HANDS ON A BEHEMOTH, SARAH???????

    Somehow, I still don’t believe it that Jane Austen needed help.

  3. Theresa Milstein October 30, 2010 at 9:49 AM #

    That is a wonderful quote. I’m saving it.

    • Vanessa October 31, 2010 at 10:47 PM #

      Glad you liked it! 😀

  4. Lilly October 30, 2010 at 10:18 AM #

    EVA IBBOTSON CAN’T BE DEAD! Her novels are one of the most prominent parts of my childhood! *runs to bookshelf to hold her books to my face*

  5. Sammy Bina October 30, 2010 at 12:10 PM #

    Once I move to NYC next year, my goal is to end up on Coverspy.

  6. Lea Kaplan October 31, 2010 at 12:26 PM #

    Knowing that Vanessa tends to put these together, I’m not at all surprised to see the hate-on-Austen links. Haha

    Also, that Shane Peacock article is brilliant. Gotta love YA, especially when adult novelists back it up!

    Thanks for another great grab bag!

    • Vanessa October 31, 2010 at 10:48 PM #

      HEY! The girls send me links they find too! (And… well, you know… I just happened on those by accident, ahaha).

      Glad you liked the links! 😀

Comments are closed.

