Book Recommendation: FIRELIGHT by Sophie Jordan

31 Oct

“Just surrender to the sizzle.” (Kirkus Reviews )

With her rare ability to breathe fire, Jacinda is special even among the draki—the descendants of dragons who can shift between human and dragon forms. But when Jacinda’s rebelliousness leads her family to flee into the human world, she struggles to adapt, even as her draki spirit fades. The one thing that revives it is Will, whose family hunts her kind. Jacinda can’t resist getting closer to him, even though she knows she’s risking not only her life but the draki’s most closely guarded secret.

I truly enjoyed FIRELIGHT.  From the first page I was unable to put the book down. Firelight is book full of vivid prose and description!  The characters seem to materialize right in front of you and drag you into their story with them. Jacinda and Will were favorite characters of mine, but I couldn’t help but feel drawn to by Jacinda’s sister, Tamra, as well.

Jacinda is a draki. As a descendant of dragons, she has two forms: her human one, and her truer draki form, complete with shimmering skin and dragon wings!  What makes her even more unique among her kind? She has the ability to breathe fire, thought to be lost among her species.

I really only had one issue with Jacinda, and that was her lack of decisiveness.  She see-sawed back and forth about Will a bit too much for my taste.  However, Will is a hunter, and what’s more, a hunter of her own kind.  So maybe Jacinda has a right to her indecisiveness.  It only interrupted my enjoyment of the story in spots.

In general, I would say that this series is very intriguing and Sophie Jordan has definitely brought a fresh voice to YA paranormal!

 

~~~

Julie Eshbaugh is represented by Natalie Fischer of the Sandra Dijkstra Literary Agency. You can follow her on LiveJournal here and on Twitter here.

 

11 Responses to “Book Recommendation: FIRELIGHT by Sophie Jordan”

  1. Angela October 31, 2010 at 7:11 AM #

    Great choice. Firelight is one of my favorite books of this year.

    • Julie Eshbaugh October 31, 2010 at 5:46 PM #

      Thanks Angela! I completely agree!!! 🙂

  2. Amie Kaufman October 31, 2010 at 7:32 AM #

    This one’s been on my radar for a little while, it sounds wonderful. Thanks for the review, you’ve cemented my interest.

    • Julie Eshbaugh October 31, 2010 at 5:46 PM #

      Great Amie! I really think you’ll enjoy it! 🙂

  3. tymcon October 31, 2010 at 7:51 AM #

    I read a chapter and it was really good. BUT I’m tentative to spend money on this. Every single YA supernatural/fantasy/paranormal romance that’s came out in the last two years (barrign Hex Hall) I couldn’t read.
    They had the gay best freind, the brooding stranger, so on so fort. Yes I did just take those from an article I read a while ago. Anyway, the males weren’t acting liek males (sounds chauvinistic but it’s true), now that’s fine for alot of characters, but when ever single male character either acts incredibly pervy, or incredibly freidnly, or incredibly brooding, I’m kind of rollign my eyes at that stage.
    Don’t even get me started on the mothers.

    • Julie Eshbaugh October 31, 2010 at 5:50 PM #

      LOLOL Tim! I feel your pain! I hope some day you can read my YA SF romance, so I can see if you can get through it. 😉 I also know how you feel about spending money on a book you’re unsure about. I suggest you wait until Firelight shows up in your library! 🙂

      • TymCon November 1, 2010 at 5:45 AM #

        I’d actually love that. Sci-fi and fantasy YA (or romance) is gettign a bad name:S

  4. Theresa Milstein October 31, 2010 at 8:49 AM #

    I bought this book but haven’t read it yet.

    Your issue with Jacinda was the same one I had with the protagonist in the Eternal Ones. In that book, it seemed more like a tool to heighten conflict.

    • Julie Eshbaugh October 31, 2010 at 5:52 PM #

      Hey Theresa! I REALLY hope you enjoy Firelight!

  5. Vee November 1, 2010 at 5:44 AM #

    Great review, Julie! This book looks really good. Can’t wait to pick it up 🙂

    • Julie Eshbaugh November 1, 2010 at 8:04 AM #

      Thanks Vee! Definitely check it out if you enjoy the genre. 🙂

Comments are closed.

