Holiday Gifts for Writers – What are you asking for?

5 Nov

Not sure what to put on your Wish List this year?

We’re interested in putting together a Gift List of items you’ve put on your holiday wish list. Writing-related, of course! We’ll take your suggestions and post them with our own.

Tell us what you want!

22 Responses to “Holiday Gifts for Writers – What are you asking for?”

  1. Jess November 5, 2010 at 2:51 PM #

    You mean besides a book deal or e-reader? πŸ˜›

    In THAT case, I am ALWAYS happy with gift cards to BN. Or a new journal and pretty pens. Or chocolate.

    I am not much help here, methinks. >.>

    • savannahjfoley November 5, 2010 at 2:53 PM #

      Oh of course, book deal should always top the list.

  2. Rachel November 5, 2010 at 3:13 PM #

    The Chicago Manual of Style, please.

  3. Tymcon November 5, 2010 at 3:41 PM #

    A talk with Geroge rr martin, Brandon Sanderson and Derek Landy.

  4. fromawriter November 5, 2010 at 3:53 PM #

    Books. Gift cards. Moleskine. It’s a really simple list, but I really want those books so πŸ˜„
    I guess getting a critique from an editor on your manuscript’s first pages count too. Because those are nice.

  5. Ali November 5, 2010 at 4:01 PM #

    Subscriptions to fashion magazines! I always have trouble with interesting character costuming. Also, maybe Discover mag or Wired for some science and tech inspiration.

  6. Kate November 5, 2010 at 5:34 PM #

    I really want a new, awesome bookshelf!

  7. Shana November 5, 2010 at 6:11 PM #

    I second the bookstore gift cards and Moleskine notebooks, and some good gel pens. And a new iPod Touch. πŸ˜‰ That last one is frivolous, but there are so many handy apps on there that would keep my laptop page tied to my writing, while I could research on my iPod (and listen to music).

  8. Nicole November 5, 2010 at 6:54 PM #

    College tuition is my dream present. Doubt I’ll get it though.

    iTunes gift card, amazon giftcard, and furniture top my list.

  9. ohemgillie November 5, 2010 at 8:40 PM #

    I’d love a taller bookcase, but don’t have the room. I guess asking for a ceiling that isn’t sloped would be a bit much, haha.

    I’m always happy with books, and maybe a good subscription or two. One year, I was given a very nice teapot, so a new mug and a tea sampler would be nice too – especially Mighty Leaf, yum!

  10. Anna November 5, 2010 at 10:23 PM #

    I want to have a room make over. I want it to look cozy and crowded with books. Like a personal library πŸ™‚ With a desk and cool pens and “quills”. (And a random bed just there.)

  11. Ellen November 5, 2010 at 11:55 PM #

    I would never say no to a gift card for Barnes and Noble. Either that, or a couple more journals. I’ve gone through about three this year.

  12. Aurora Blackguard November 6, 2010 at 3:30 AM #

    I would LOVE more moleskines. That or just plain candy πŸ˜€ OOOOO!! Banned Books bracelets! Maybe you guys should do a livechat just before Christmas. Wrapping up the year and all

  13. Elizabeth November 6, 2010 at 12:59 PM #

    Scrivener for Windows would be awesome.

  14. Tymcon November 6, 2010 at 3:46 PM #

    Woops thought we were meant to be unrealistic. Definetly a moleskin. And index cards. And loads of refill pads. The ringbinder ones.
    (I can’t write backstory, or worldbuilding on my computer for some strange reason)

  15. Ella November 7, 2010 at 12:42 AM #

    Moleskines. Snazzy spiral-bounds. Money. Books. Books on writing. One of those querying guides with lists of agents/publishers. B&N gift certificates. Starbucks gift certificates. Any kind of gift certificate, because everyone knows we’re poor. Snacks. Coffee mugs. Free time. Sanity…

  16. Kelly November 7, 2010 at 6:52 AM #

    A writerly token (pen, moleskine with scribbled notes… etc) from each LTWF author so we can sell them on eBay when you get famous!

    … Or just keep them to feel inspired πŸ˜€

    • Kelly November 7, 2010 at 6:52 AM #

      by writerly token I mean something thats already in your possession – even better if you’ve used them before! πŸ˜„

    • Kat Zhang November 7, 2010 at 3:00 PM #

      LOL, Kelly. We’re flattered πŸ˜›

  17. Vanessa November 10, 2010 at 2:45 PM #

    I love how many people want Moleskines! Which reminds me…. we should be having a Moleskine giveaway soon!

  18. Nichola Alana November 11, 2010 at 4:14 PM #

    You know what would be so cool? If you guys made a self-published book through blurb or something with all your posts from this blog. I’d buy it πŸ˜‰

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Best Gifts for Writers for the Holidays « Writing Tips Blog - November 21, 2010

    […] Holiday Gifts for Writers – What are you asking for? […]

Comments are closed.

