Books I’m Dying to Read

27 Nov

Click Here to enter into the livechat once it’s 3pm EST!

~~~

Hey guys! Kat here 🙂

I don’t know about you, but life has been pretty hectic over here, and it’s only going to get crazier as we get into the holiday season (more importantly, final exam season!). In the whirlwind of tests and classes and work and revising, my reading has gone by the wayside a little. I think I’ve read more manuscripts in the past few months than I have actual books!

I love my CPs’ manuscripts to death, but there are some books I’m dying to get my hands on, too.

First up is UNWIND, a YA by Neal Shusterman. I actually have this book and everything…I even read a few chapters a while ago and then was forced to put it down for some reason and never got the chance to pick it back up. But I will, because it sounds absolutely fascinating!

The Second Civil War was fought over reproductive rights. The chilling resolution: Life is inviolable from the moment of conception until age thirteen. Between the ages of thirteen and eighteen, however, parents can have their child “unwound,” whereby all of the child’s organs are transplanted into different donors, so life doesn’t technically end. Connor is too difficult for his parents to control. Risa, a ward of the state is not enough to be kept alive. And Lev is a tithe, a child conceived and raised to be unwound. Together, they may have a chance to escape and to survive.

The next book isn’t really fair, I guess, because it hasn’t come out yet, so I’m really just teasing you. But I want ACROSS THE UNIVERSE by Beth Revis. It’s also YA.

You can find the first chapter here, and CA Marshall, who got her paws on an ARC (can you say jealous??), gave the book a great review, here.

Seventeen-year-old Amy joins her parents as frozen cargo aboard the vast spaceship Godspeed and expects to awaken on a new planet, three hundred years in the future. Never could she have known that her frozen slumber would come to an end fifty years too soon and that she would be thrust into the brave new world of a spaceship that lives by its own rules.

Amy quickly realizes that her awakening was no mere computer malfunction. Someone-one of the few thousand inhabitants of the spaceship-tried to kill her. And if Amy doesn’t do something soon, her parents will be next.

Now Amy must race to unlock Godspeed’s hidden secrets. But out of her list of murder suspects, there’s only one who matters: Elder, the future leader of the ship and the love she could never have seen coming.

Here at LTWF, we cover mostly YA and MG books, but I’ve been reading more and more adult lit recently, and my next two OMG-READ books fall under that category.

THE ROOM by Emma Donoghue. It’s told from the point of view of Jack, and if you look up the book trailers they have for it on Youtube, they’re absolutely chilling in their innocence mixed in with the sinister. My campus bookstore is currently teasing me by having this book at a 20% discount…sigh…

To five-year-old Jack, Room is the entire world. It’s where he was born, where he and his Ma eat and play and learn. At night, Ma puts him safely to sleep in the wardrobe, in case Old Nick comes.

Room is home to Jack, but to Ma it’s the prison where she’s been held for seven years. Through determination, ingenuity, and fierce motherly love, Ma has created a life for her son. But Jack’s curiosity is building alongside Ma’s desperation — and she knows Room cannot contain either indefinitely. …

Told in the inventive, funny, and poignant voice of Jack, Room is a powerful story of a mother and son whose love lets them survive the impossible.

And finally (but certainly not least!) THE PARTICULAR SADNESS OF LEMON CAKE by Aimee Bender. I’ve read some of Bender’s short stories before, and her use of magical realism is very interesting. I’m not sure how it’ll translate to an entire novel, but I’m eager to find out.

On the eve of her ninth birthday, unassuming Rose Edelstein, a girl at the periphery of schoolyard games and her distracted parents’ attention, bites into her mother’s homemade lemon-chocolate cake and discovers she has a magical gift: she can taste her mother’s emotions in the cake. She discovers this gift to her horror, for her mother—her cheerful, good-with-crafts, can-do mother—tastes of despair and desperation. Suddenly, and for the rest of her life, food becomes a peril and a threat to Rose.

The curse her gift has bestowed is the secret knowledge all families keep hidden—her mother’s life outside the home, her father’s detachment, her brother’s clash with the world. Yet as Rose grows up she learns to harness her gift and becomes aware that there are secrets even her taste buds cannot discern.

Well, those are just four books in my LONG list of books-to-read. Hope you guys have more reading time at the moment than I do 😀

~~~

Kat Zhang is a Spoken Word poet and a Creative Writing major. She has recently signed with literary agent Emmanuelle Morgen and spends most of her free time whipping HYBRID–a book about a girl with two souls–into shape for submission to publishers. You can read more about her writing process and books at her blog.

34 Responses to “Books I’m Dying to Read”

  1. Adriana Marachlian November 27, 2010 at 12:08 AM #

    I like your list of book 😀 Unwind sound awesome! I might just have to go find it now lol

    And I totally understand. This let’s-make-your-life-miserable-during-the-last-weeks-of-school-thing that professors have going on is totally not cool :/

    I have the Hunger Games series in my to-read list. Haven’t even read the first one yet! They’re sitting on my bookshelf, taunting me 😥

    Hope you get more time to read after finals!

    • Sammy Bina November 27, 2010 at 1:22 PM #

      Adriana, before you do anything else – literally. Not even breathing – go pick up THE HUNGER GAMES.

    • Kat Zhang November 27, 2010 at 3:17 PM #

      Thanks! And yes, definitely read THG series. Not until you have some free time, though, because with all three of them there like that, you’re not going to stop until you finish all three 😛

  2. laradunning November 27, 2010 at 12:49 AM #

    Those all sound like interesting books. I will have to add a few to my very, very long to read list.

    • Kat Zhang November 27, 2010 at 3:19 PM #

      Haha, if I actually wrote down everything on my to-read list, it would probably be long enough to pass for all those essays I’m supposed to be writing…hmmm…now that’s not such a bad idea…:P

  3. Susan November 27, 2010 at 2:15 AM #

    Across the Universe sounds awesome! I definitely want to try to find that when it comes out. (heading to goodreads to add it to my to-reads shelf…so many books…)

    And I’ve been hearing tons of great things about Room. I think I might pick it up at some point and give it a shot.

    Thanks! 🙂

    • Kat Zhang November 27, 2010 at 3:19 PM #

      Hope you do! And you’re welcome! 😀

  4. Glaiza November 27, 2010 at 3:19 AM #

    I really like the sound of Unwind *adds to the TBR list*

  5. Theresa Milstein November 27, 2010 at 8:56 AM #

    I can’t wait for Across the Universe to come out. The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake sounds interesting.

    • Kat Zhang November 27, 2010 at 3:20 PM #

      I know, me neither. It comes out 1/11/11, which is the most amazing release date, too…

  6. Melissa November 27, 2010 at 10:44 AM #

    I had never heard of Unwind before, but it does sound absolutely chilling. At the same time, it makes me really curious to know more about the writer, where he got the idea, etc. I would hate to think that there is a political agenda behind it.

    • Kat Zhang November 27, 2010 at 3:20 PM #

      I really want to finish it..sigh

  7. Julie Eshbaugh November 27, 2010 at 12:20 PM #

    I’ve had my eye on ACROSS THE UNIVERSE since Beth Revis gave an interview to QueryTracker when she signed with her agent! Can’t wait for it!

    • Kat Zhang November 27, 2010 at 3:21 PM #

      Cool, Julie! Wow, it’s so exciting to follow a writer from signing with an agent to the book release!

  8. Sammy Bina November 27, 2010 at 1:21 PM #

    Definitely pick up Aimee Bender! She’s Joe’s favorite author, and he turned me onto her a little while ago. I haven’t had time to read any of her full-length stuff, but I agree, the short stories are awesome. Joe assures me that her novels are just as good. Plus, come on. The cover has cake on it.

  9. priscillashay November 27, 2010 at 3:27 PM #

    I loved Unwind! You should definitely finish it *nudge nudge* 🙂

    http://priscillashay.wordpress.com/2010/04/01/unwind-by-neal-shusterman-33110/

    • Kat Zhang November 27, 2010 at 3:30 PM #

      Ooh, cool 😀 I will!

  10. CA Marshall November 27, 2010 at 3:59 PM #

    Thanks for linking to my review, Kat! ❤

    • Kat Zhang November 27, 2010 at 7:01 PM #

      No problem! 🙂

  11. Judy November 27, 2010 at 7:56 PM #

    I’ve had Unwind on my list for quite a while now! Thanks for reminding me of it again! I’m also looking forward to Across the Universe (I adore the cover).

    But Room sounds absolutely terrific. I have it placed on hold at the library, but I am 498 in line 😦 It sounds like it’s getting a lot of hype.

    I also put the Aimee Bender novel on hold too.

    Rah for being a student and not being able to afford books!

    • Kat Zhang November 27, 2010 at 7:59 PM #

      WOW, Judy! 498?? And I thought 127 was a lot when I was looking for CATCHING FIRE!

      I feel you on the not being able to afford books front…

  12. jenn fitzgerald November 27, 2010 at 9:48 PM #

    cool selection, Kat, they all look like good books!

    • Kat Zhang November 27, 2010 at 9:57 PM #

      Thanks, Jenn!

  13. Heather November 28, 2010 at 12:29 PM #

    UNWIND is amazing, it’s one of my favourite books EVER. Definitely pick it up if you get the chance! 🙂 The other three sound awesome too, I’ll have to add them to my TBR list… as if it wasn’t long enough already!

    • Kat Zhang November 30, 2010 at 10:05 AM #

      Cool! And yeah, haha, my TBR list can probably be seen from outer space ;P

  14. Vanessa November 28, 2010 at 12:48 PM #

    I’m going to write a book recommendation for ROOM!!! It was AMAZING!

    • Kat Zhang November 30, 2010 at 10:05 AM #

      Great!! Can’t wait to read it, too!!

  15. Brigid Kemmerer November 28, 2010 at 6:03 PM #

    Oh, I loved “Room.” It had it’s weak points (most of which bothered me because I have a young child), but the story was fantastic, and the voice wasn’t irritating at all. (I worried that the five-year-old POV would get tiresome.) It’s very well written. I tore through it.

    • Kat Zhang November 30, 2010 at 10:07 AM #

      Yeah, the whole five-year-old POV intrigued me. Seems like something very difficult for the author to tackle. Glad to hear it didn’t get irritating 🙂

  16. beth November 29, 2010 at 10:29 PM #

    *grin* Thank you for adding my book to your list! (Also: I have ROOM, and it is awesome. And I almost picked up LEMON CAKE….wish I had now….)

    • Kat Zhang November 30, 2010 at 10:07 AM #

      You’re welcome, Beth!

  17. Marina February 18, 2011 at 4:49 PM #

    I just had to let you know that Aimee Bender is coming to give a reading at my University. When our teacher told us I was like, hey I know who that is!

    • Kat Zhang February 19, 2011 at 1:40 PM #

      Neat!! 😀

Comments are closed.

