Saturday Grab Bag: Mashup

11 Dec

Mashup:

Here are some great links on writing, the industry, and all things book related. Some are serious, and some are just downright hilarious. We highly recommend you read them!

  • Twitter: It’s Not You, It’s Me
  • – A writer’s letter to Twitter – a really great read if you’re on Twitter as well (or even if you’re thinking of using it).

  • What is Dystopian Fiction?
  • – As someone who took a Utopian/Dystopian literature course a few years back, I’m thrilled that Dystopian fiction is trending in YA. In this article, Meagan Spooner talks about what makes dystopian fiction… well, dystopian. (I also loves that she brings up Thomas Moore’s Utopia, which I recommend you read).

  • Lulu Title Scorer
  • – Think your title has what it takes? How likely is it that your title becomes a bestseller? Try out this title scorer!

  • Your Mileage May Vary
  • – A wonderful post by author Libba Bray, responding to a message from a reader seeking advice for her future.

  • What Happens When It IS You
  • – What it feels like to be on submission.

  • 5 Things That Make A Writer
  • – Interesting article on what makes a writer.

    ~~~

~~~

Quotes:

“If writers were good businessmen, they’d have too much sense to be writers.”
— Irvin S. Cobb

~

“Be persistent. Editors change; tastes change; editorial markets change. Too many beginning writers give up too easily.”
— John Jakes

~

“I don’t want to create responsible shows with lawyers in them. I want to invade people’s dreams.”
—Joss Whedon, writer/producer

~~~~

If you’ve come across any great links/quotes, share them in the comments!

 

10 Responses to “Saturday Grab Bag: Mashup”

  1. Meagan Spooner December 11, 2010 at 1:20 AM #

    Oh yay, thanks for mentioning my post! It ended up with a totally awesome discussion in the comments, so much fun.

    That picture blows my mind. I want to live in that house–except that after a few months it would be totally deconstructed into piles of “TBR” and “have read, will share.”

    • Julie Eshbaugh December 11, 2010 at 10:51 AM #

      LOL Meg, I KNOW EXACTLY WHAT YOU MEAN! It would be like a giant game of Jenga… “I think if I pull this one out, it should still be able to stand…” 🙂

  2. Matt Roberts December 11, 2010 at 6:24 AM #

    Thanks so much for mentioning GetMeWriting.com! It’s always good to be mentioned alongside other great writing sites!

    • Julie Eshbaugh December 11, 2010 at 10:58 AM #

      I LOVED your 5 things! I just read them all out loud to my hubby, who writes, but is not “a writer.” GREAT POST! 🙂

  3. Amanda Hoving December 11, 2010 at 1:25 PM #

    Looking forward to checking out these links (especially on Twitter, I’m a newbie)…thanks for sharing!

  4. Nicole December 12, 2010 at 2:57 AM #

    The Libba Bray blog spoke to my heart.

    • Vanessa Di Gregorio December 13, 2010 at 11:41 AM #

      Yeah, that’s how a bunch of the LTWF girls felt reading it!

      • Nicole December 17, 2010 at 2:52 AM #

        I showed that to an old high school teacher, he loved it. 🙂

Comments are closed.

