Woohoo! LTWF is on a roll!

13 Dec

Susan shared some AWESOME news with you guys the other day, and now I’m going to share some of my own…drumroll…my book’s sold!!

Seventeen-year-old Vahini Naidoo’s untitled debut, about a girl trying to come to terms with her best friend’s recent suicide, and to understand what part she and her friends may have played in the event, to Marilyn Brigham at Marshall Cavendish, for publication in Fall 2012, by Ammi-Joan Paquette at Erin Murphy Literary Agency (NA).

You can read more about it over on my blog , where I pretty much happy dance all over the place, and post pictures of cupcakes, and on my agency website.

Do you know what this means?! I’m going to be an Apocalypsie! With Sarah and Susan! Wooohooo!

And now to get to the part of the post where I assume the role of an Oscar winner and begin to thank everyone. I’ll try and keep it short and sweet (the full version is on my blog), but I  must mention that my  agent, Ammi-Joan Paquette, has been amazing. Without her guidance, insight and absolute faith in my work, this would never in a million years have happened.

I also want to say thanks to the lovely LTWF ladies (ahh, too much ‘l’ alliteration!) for all their support. These guys have been so willing to commiserate with me when I’m whining about rejections and revisions and whatever else. Without them, I probably would have gone somewhat crazy during the submission process.  And lastly, to you readers! For all the interesting comments and pearls of wisdom that you guys impart in our comments section. I’m so glad to be a part of such a stellar community 🙂

~~~~

Vahini Naidoo is a seventeen-year-old author from Sydney, Australia. Her currently untitled debut novel, an edgy YA thriller, will be available from Marshall Cavendish in Fall, 2012. She’s represented by Ammi-Joan Paquette at the Erin Murphy Literary Agency.

49 Responses to “Woohoo! LTWF is on a roll!”

  1. Kat Zhang December 13, 2010 at 1:37 AM #

    Veeee!! ❤ ❤
    You already know I love your book and that I'm CRAZY excited for you, so I'll just go with emoticons to express myself:

    XD 😀 😀

    • Vee December 13, 2010 at 4:23 AM #

      What did people do before emoticons?!

      Thanks Kat. I’ll just use emoticons to express myself, too:

      <33333333 x 5 million.

  2. Chele December 13, 2010 at 2:23 AM #

    ASDFASDFJK SO AMAZINGGGGGG!

    Congrats congrats congrats, Vee! ❤ ;DDD

    • Vee December 13, 2010 at 4:23 AM #

      Thanks, Chele!

      I’m so excited 😀

  3. Heather December 13, 2010 at 4:24 AM #

    Sheesh, leave some room in the publishing industry for everyone else! 😛
    Congrats! Roll on 2012 🙂

    • Vee December 13, 2010 at 4:34 AM #

      LOL, we’re totally intending to crowd everyone else out. It’s all part of an evil plan for world domination 😉

      And thank you!

  4. Meagan Spooner December 13, 2010 at 4:28 AM #

    WOOO! Congratulations!!! This has been such an awesome week for you ladies. You deserve it!

    Go Apocalypsies~

    • Vee December 13, 2010 at 4:36 AM #

      Thanks Meagan!! And go the Apocalypsies indeed, I’m so in love with that name 😀

  5. Aurora Blackguard December 13, 2010 at 7:04 AM #

    WHOOOOOHOOOOOOOO!! LTWF FTW!!!!!!!

    I’m with Heather on this. 😀 Can they like, get everything published before we all die?

    • Vee December 13, 2010 at 6:34 PM #

      Haha, it’d be really cool if we could 😀 😀 *fingers crossed*

  6. authorguy December 13, 2010 at 7:05 AM #

    Congratulations. It’s a great feeling, isn’t it?

    • Vee December 13, 2010 at 6:36 PM #

      It’s a wonderful feeling! And thank you!

  7. katharine December 13, 2010 at 10:29 AM #

    You guys rock!

    • Vee December 13, 2010 at 6:37 PM #

      Haha, thanks *rocks on* 😀

  8. Victoria Dixon December 13, 2010 at 10:46 AM #

    Congratulations and enjoy the cupcakes! 😀

    • Vee December 13, 2010 at 6:37 PM #

      Omg, if only I had REAL cupcakes. I did have some amazing chocolate cake though 😀

      Thank you!

  9. Savannah J. Foley December 13, 2010 at 10:48 AM #

    Yay Vee! So glad to see you make it big time!

    • Vee December 13, 2010 at 6:38 PM #

      Haha, ‘big time’, lawl. But thanks Sav!!!! 😀 😀 😀

  10. Taryn December 13, 2010 at 10:54 AM #

    I feel cool by association.

    Congrats!

    • Vee December 13, 2010 at 6:39 PM #

      I feel cool by association to LTWF as well, Taryn!! Everyone here is so awesome.

      Thanks 🙂

  11. Caitlin December 13, 2010 at 11:19 AM #

    Once again, I am SO HAPPY FOR YOU, Vee! This is so exciting!!! I cannot WAIT to go out and buy your book!!!

    • Vee December 13, 2010 at 6:40 PM #

      *happy dances with Caitlin*

      THANK YOU <33333

  12. Julie Eshbaugh December 13, 2010 at 11:23 AM #

    Wow, Vee! This is so incredible!!! I am so happy for you. 😀 ❤ ❤ ❤

    • Vee December 13, 2010 at 6:41 PM #

      Thanks, Julie!!! <333333333 😀 😀 😀

  13. Vanessa Di Gregorio December 13, 2010 at 11:31 AM #

    WOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!! PARTY TIME!!!!! 😀
    ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤

    I am so happy for you Vee!!!

    • Vee December 13, 2010 at 6:42 PM #

      YAY PARTY!!!!!!!!!!!! 😀

      Thanks, V ❤

  14. Sammy Bina December 13, 2010 at 11:55 AM #

    I don’t think I have enough exclamation marks for how excited I am, so we’ll go with this: YAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAY VEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    • Kat Zhang December 13, 2010 at 4:02 PM #

      Sammy, I love how your exclamation marks go OFF the white space and intrude upon the Tags list ;D

    • Vee December 13, 2010 at 6:43 PM #

      Dudeeee, I’m with Kat. Your exclamation marks are seriously impressive 😀

      And thank you ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤

  15. Arianna Sterling December 13, 2010 at 1:06 PM #

    I already congratulated you on AW, but there is no such thing as too much congratulations.

    Yaaaaaaay Vee–or as I know you, yaaaaaay ink!

    • Vee December 13, 2010 at 6:44 PM #

      Thanks Arianna!!! 😀 Glad to see you over here, by the way, you lurker 😉

  16. Sarah J. Maas December 13, 2010 at 2:18 PM #

    WAHHOOOOOOOOO, VEE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 😀 😀 😀

    • Vee December 13, 2010 at 6:45 PM #

      😀 😀 😀 Thanks Sarah! ❤

    • Sammy Bina December 13, 2010 at 10:08 PM #

      Sarah, where is your excitement? You need more exclamation marks. Here, I shall add them for you:

      !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

      • Kat Zhang December 13, 2010 at 11:15 PM #

        XD ❤

      • Vee December 14, 2010 at 5:28 AM #

        LOL, Sammy ❤

  17. Brenda Agaro December 13, 2010 at 3:09 PM #

    Congrats! Your book sounds awesome, can’t wait to read it! 😀

    • Vee December 13, 2010 at 6:45 PM #

      Thanks, Brenda! I’m glad you think the book sounds interesting! 😀

  18. Ella December 13, 2010 at 9:13 PM #

    Congraaats!

    Haha, your FMC shares me screenname. >3> The novel sounds really interesting, can’t wait for it to come out.

    • Ella December 13, 2010 at 9:14 PM #

      *me.

    • Vee December 14, 2010 at 5:31 AM #

      Hehe, so she does! That’s a cool coincidence.

      Thanks, Ella! 😀

  19. lostinbelieving December 13, 2010 at 9:55 PM #

    Oooh awesome ! Congrats ! Haha I saw that you are only 17. I aspire to be an author that young ! I’m 15, so I have two years to go. xD

    • Vee December 14, 2010 at 6:14 AM #

      Good luck! I think it’s detrimental to want to be published super young, because so much of the timing is ultimately out of your hands (lengthy response times, publishing is slow etc), but I definitely wish you well on your journey!! 😀

      I started writing my first ‘serious’ novels when I was fifteen, too 🙂

  20. Biljana December 13, 2010 at 10:35 PM #

    WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    YEAHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    • Vee December 14, 2010 at 6:17 AM #

      Thanks, Billy!!!!! ❤

  21. Judy December 14, 2010 at 12:52 AM #

    Congratulations!!!! Another piece of exciting news!

  22. Emmy December 14, 2010 at 1:29 AM #

    Yay!!!! Congratulations!!!

  23. Jess December 21, 2010 at 1:36 PM #

    Congrats, Vee!!! Sorry this is so late, I’m catching up on the Deal listings for the past couple weeks and just saw it. 🙂

  24. Madeleine December 30, 2010 at 2:04 PM #

    I’m totally late – but SUPER CONGRATS!

Comments are closed.

