Book Recommendation: Anna and the French Kiss

30 Dec

For the past month, all I’ve been hearing about is ANNA AND THE FRENCH KISS by Stephanie Perkins, so when I found myself at Barnes & Noble with some Christmas money to blow, I knew which book I’d be taking home. Our very own Mandy Hubbard had mentioned how much she enjoyed it, along with just about every YA reader out there. Trusting their expert opinions, I happily grabbed my copy off the shelf, marched to the checkout line, and promptly forgot to read it over the Christmas holiday. Luckily, I had a flight that would require some entertainment, and wound up reading the entire book in one sitting yesterday.

YOU GUYS. If you don’t already own a copy of this book, go out today and buy it. Check it out from your local library. I don’t care how you get a hold of it, just do it. You won’t regret it.

Anna is looking forward to her senior year in Atlanta, where she has a great job, a loyal best friend, and a crush on the verge of becoming more. Which is why she is less than thrilled about being shipped off to boarding school in Paris—until she meets Étienne St. Claire: perfect, Parisian (and English and American, which makes for a swoon-worthy accent), and utterly irresistible. The only problem is that he’s taken, and Anna might be, too, if anything comes of her almost-relationship back home.

As winter melts into spring, will a year of romantic near-misses end with the French kiss Anna—and readers—have long awaited?

First of all, be prepared to laugh. No one warned me, so I’m telling you now. This book is hilarious. Anna is full of observations and commentary about her life and the people in it, and nearly all of them brought a smile to my face. Some of the conversations she has, and the things she does to avoid embarrassing herself, are just adorable. Stuck in a new city, in a new country where she can’t speak French, she’s constantly taking note of the way people act and speak. At one point she even writes out, phonetically, how to order a movie ticket. Little things like that are what really make this book shine. Not to mention that fact that it just makes you feel good. By the time you turn the last page, you’ll be grinning from ear to ear. I’m pretty sure it’s impossible not to.

Anna and St. Clair really make the story. Anna’s voice is fantastic, sarcastic, funny, charming, and exactly how your best friend sounds. You feel like you’ve known her your entire life. St. Clair is that guy you fantasize about, that you wish weren’t fictional. He has flaws, makes mistakes, but you can’t help but fall in love with him along with Anna, and every other girl who attends SOAP. Their friends are all people you can recognize from your own life, and like just about everyone on the planet, they have to deal with moving away from home, family drama, and the ups and downs that come with being a teenager. The high school drama is there, but never in a dose they can’t handle. Anna is forced to deal with stereotypes Americans have of foreigners, and vice versa. The situations these characters are put in are real, and the author does an incredible job of making you believe in everything that’s going on, and making you care. That’s the most important thing —  you really care about these characters. Even past the last page. (I would know, I’ve been thinking about this book nonstop since I finished it.)

I’ve read a lot of YA in my time, and I think this is one of the most convincing love stories I’ve ever come across. I believed every bit of it. Nothing seemed forced or unrealistic. Sure, there was some drama – its protagonists are teenagers – but it was never too much or over-the-top. It walked that fine line very well, and I actually found myself wanting to give the characters advice on numerous occasions. I think it’s rare when you care that much about a fictional character, and I applaud Stephanie Perkins for that. The girl has a gift.

Though my knowledge of Paris is similar to Anna’s at the very beginning of the book (Amelie and Moulin Rouge), I grew to know it along with her. As a reader, you’re gradually taught some of the idiosyncrasies of Paris and its people, how some things are pronounced, and even run across a few important landmarks. It’s like going to Paris, but not. Now that I’ve got this mental picture stuck in my head, I’m even more determined to see the real thing.

Part of the reason I really loved this book was because Anna’s journey is one many readers can connect with. She has to learn to navigate a new city, make new friends, adjust to a new culture, learn another language, and numerous other challenges. When she managed to overcome those problems, I wanted to cheer for her! I clapped when she finally braved the city on her own, and I felt her pain when she realized things at home weren’t as great as she remembered. Living abroad changes you. It’s unavoidable. I liked that Stephanie Perkins included that detail in her story because it made Anna’s situation even more realistic. And lord knows there are probably plenty of us who have been in love with our best friend at one time or another. If you have, this book will ring especially true for you. And if you haven’t, well, you’ll learn how frustrating it is! The emotional roller coaster is spot-on.

Everything about this story is totally charming, from the title to the very last sentence. I’m happy to report there are two companion novels that will follow, but in the meantime, if you buy one book this year, buy this one. I promise you won’t regret it.

~~~

Sammy Bina is in her last year of college, majoring in Creative Writing. Currently an intern with the Elaine P. English Literary Agency, she is taking a break from querying to work on a new project, a YA dystopian. You can find her on twitter, or check out her blog.

12 Responses to “Book Recommendation: Anna and the French Kiss”

  1. Angela December 30, 2010 at 5:00 AM #

    Great review! I couldn`t have written this better.

    I love Anna and the French Kiss. It`s my favorite book of 2010.

    I also want to marry Etienne so badly. Really, my heart is breaking with the knowledge that I`ll never be able to get my hands on him.

    • Sammy Bina December 30, 2010 at 11:03 AM #

      I think this comes in JUST behind MOCKINGJAY. So it’s like, my 1.5 favorite book of 2010. I love that it was obviously one of the best reads, and it came out at the very end of the year. Save the best for last, indeed!

      And I agree. *I* would like to marry St. Clair so, so, so bad. I also want to find a man called St. Clair. Best name ever.

  2. Mac_V December 30, 2010 at 10:52 AM #

    The second I opened my internet page today I laughed. With this as my homepage, the first thing I saw was “Book Reccommendation: Anna…” The page cut off the rest but I knew exactly what is was because I’ve been hearing the same thing. I bought the book a few days ago and I’m going to start reading it today (after busting through two entire books yesterday, Sapphique and The Body Finder) and I could not be more excited. I’ve heard so many good things about it and I cannot WAIT to sink my teeth in! Thanks for the review. I’m looking even more forward to reading this now… is it my lunch break yet?

    Mac ;p

    • Sammy Bina December 30, 2010 at 11:05 AM #

      Exactly. I haven’t heard one bad thing about this book. Anywhere. Plus I trust Mandy and CA Marshall’s opinion when it comes to books, so if the liked it, I knew I had to snag a copy. Good thing you did, too. Pick a comfortable spot because you won’t be leaving it all day. Let me know if you liked it!

      • Mac_V December 31, 2010 at 4:36 PM #

        Definitely loved it. My work was really slow (overload of teachers with few kids) so they let me read at work. Therefore it took me two days and my boss was about ready to kill me because she wanted to know what all my laughing fits were about, but I’ve now finished it and handed the book over to her.

        I loved it. I can’t wait to let several months lapse so I can be within reason so read it again. And I want to go to Paris and stand on that star. And eat that bread she described. And the pastries. My mouth was watering. And you were SO right about how funny it was! I was laughing so much! I loved Anna’s fantasies about what might happen and how ridiculous they were and the banter between her and St. Clair. Etienne. I was in love with him almost the whole book. I am so glad I listened to all of the suggestions I heard and I will be telling everyone who will listen to read it. I already have 4 out of my eight co-workers in a line to borrow it. ;p

        Mac

        • Sammy Bina December 31, 2010 at 4:40 PM #

          I’m so glad! I’ve already pushed it off on the two girls I interned with this summer, as well as the people I’m visiting over break. My sister’s next.

          And I will fight you for St. Clair. He is miiiiiine. ❤

  3. Savannah J. Foley December 30, 2010 at 11:12 AM #

    I randomly found Stephanie Perkins on Twitter months ago before her book came out, and was fascinated by her internal struggle about publishing a happy, romantic book without a huge political message or anything. I thought that was super interesting, and it’s been great to see her book become well-loved and received. I will order it for my Nook as soon as revisions are done.

    Thanks Sammy!

    • Sammy Bina December 30, 2010 at 5:26 PM #

      I am a firm believer that books don’t have to have a huge message hidden in the pages. This book is the perfect example. It’s a story about a girl and a boy in love, but who just can’t seem to get it right. And it’s still better than almost every book I’ve read this year. Or ever, really. I loved it that much.

  4. Brandi December 30, 2010 at 12:42 PM #

    I’m convinced, Sammy. This is about the third blog post about this book I’ve read this week! I know what I’m buying this weekend.

    • Sammy Bina December 30, 2010 at 5:27 PM #

      YES! Let me know what you think when you’re done! I’ve been preaching this book for the last two days, and I doubt I’ll be stopping any time soon.

  5. kristy February 28, 2011 at 12:06 AM #

    I stumbled across this book at the public library and i am sooooooo glad i did!! it was terribly sweet and cute! i would LOVEEEE to meet a St. Clair 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Book Recommendation: Lola and the Boy Next Door « Let The Words Flow - October 26, 2011

    […] been eagerly awaiting the companion novel to Stephanie Perkins’ ANNA AND THE FRENCH KISS (one of my favorite books of all time), but when the release day finally rolled around, I […]

Comments are closed.

