Saturday Grab Bag: Mashup

15 Jan

Mashup:

Here are some great links on writing, the industry, and all things book related. Some are serious, and some are just downright hilarious. We highly recommend you read them!

~~~

What We’re Reading:

Sammy: Fifth Avenue, 5 A.M.: Audrey Hepburn, Breakfast at Tiffany’s, and the Dawn of the Modern Woman by Sam Wasson

Sarah: Wildwood Dancing by Juliet Marillier

Savannah: Emotionally Weird by Kate Atkinson

Julie: Incarceron by Catherine Fisher

Mandy: Across the Universe by Beth Revis

Susan: The Iron King by Julie Kagawa

Jenn: Dead Until Dark by Charlaine Harris

Kat: The Tempest by William Shakespeare

~~~

How about you guys? What are you reading?

10 Responses to “Saturday Grab Bag: Mashup”

  1. katyupperman January 15, 2011 at 2:20 AM #

    I just started reading PURGED by Sarah Darer Littman. Issue book, clearly, and good so far. Just finished Sara Zarr’s ONCE WAS LOST, which I adored, and next up is Kimberly Derting’s THE BODY FINDER.

    I’m not officially participating in the Debut Author Challenge, though I’ll probably end up meeting the challenge anyway. 🙂

    • Sammy Bina January 16, 2011 at 6:58 PM #

      Oh! Let me know how THE BODY FINDER is once you’re done — I’ve been meaning to read it!

  2. Julie Eshbaugh January 15, 2011 at 12:38 PM #

    Great Grab Bag Sammy! I love the variety of the books we’re all reading! 🙂

    • Sammy Bina January 16, 2011 at 6:58 PM #

      Gracias, Senora Julie!

  3. Emily January 15, 2011 at 4:05 PM #

    Oh! I LOVE Juliet Marillier! Sarah, have you checked out her adult fiction? I ask cause I read her YA and had *no idea* at the time that she wrote adult– they’re worth reading if you have the time 🙂
    I’m currently reading Lords of the Bow by Conn Iggulden and searching for two I seem to have either lent out or lost 😦 by Matthew Reilly.

    • Sammy Bina January 16, 2011 at 6:59 PM #

      That’s why I stopped lending people my books — I always lost them! I won’t even let my sister borrow them anymore. Mainly because she dogtags the pages, but still 😉

  4. brandimziegler January 16, 2011 at 2:24 PM #

    My friend has finally convinced me to read Larsson’s THE GIRL WITH THE DRAGON TATTOO. I’m not a fan of crime novels so I’m struggling with this book. Also, I forget how dry adult fiction can be sometimes compared to YA (it’s been a few months since I’ve read something other than YA). Anyway, that’s what I’m reading now while trying not to fantasize about my next read.

    • Sammy Bina January 16, 2011 at 6:59 PM #

      I think I read the first chapter of that, but couldn’t get into it. I feel obligated to give it another go, but I have no idea when, haha. Good luck!

  5. Rosie G. January 16, 2011 at 9:02 PM #

    The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (and the two that follow it) are amazing if you can get past the first 80 pages i did the same i read the first couple of chapters and wasn’t particularly impressed but i stuck with it and got 80 ish pages through and then didn’t sleep for the next three days because i was so hooked i just read it pretty much continously when i wasn’t at work and then i read the next two pretty quickly after that too. I think its hard to get into especially because of all the swedish name places and character names and the references to swedish culture that you don’t really get if your not swedish but i think they are amazing books if you can get into them 😀 would definitely recommend sticking with it!

  6. Brown Eyed Mystic January 16, 2011 at 11:21 PM #

    I am not reading a YA but a non-fiction for now. The book I am on to is SYNCHRO DESTINY by Deepak Chopra. Enthralling read. I would definitely recommend it to others interested in Universal concepts and the meaning behind synchronicities that keep happening every now and then.

    -BrownEyed

Comments are closed.

