My Literary Valentine

14 Feb

Who’s your literary Valentine? Here are some of ours:

~~~

Dearest Peeta,

Basically, I think you’re perfect. You’re handsome and charming, and just this side of legal (I think). I really dig the way you can paint yourself to look like dirt, and wouldn’t mind getting dirty with you (No pun intended). I, too, enjoy cuddling and blonde curls. Like me, you enjoy baking, so we already have something in common. If you want, maybe sometime we could get together for dinner? Check yes or no:

__ Yes

__ No

XOXO,

Sammy

~~~

Dear Han Solo,

I realize you’re not a book character, but you’ve been in spin-off books and loads of fanfiction. More importantly, you’re the ONLY Valentine I want. Period. ❤ ❤

So, even though I think Leia is kick-butt awesome, it’s about time you ditched Her Worshipfulness and hooked up with me.

For one, I’m not a princess! You’ll never have to call me obnoxious title names. For two, I will never complain about the Millennium Falcon–I can appreciate vintage ships, my love. For three, there’s a bounty on my head too (I cheated a Jawa back on Tatooine; turns out they don’t like that), so we can evade the law, hand-in-hand!

And finally, the real deal-sealer (if you ask me): I can rock that metal bikini just as hard as Leia, if not better (but you’ll have to accept this invitation if you want to see for yourself ::wink, wink::).

Love you forever, Han baby. Holograph me when you get a chance.

-Sooz

~~~

Dear Heathcliff,

If I had been your Cathy, I would never have left you.

If I had been your Cathy, your heart would have never been broken.

I wouldn’t have settled for Edgar Linton out of vanity, when I knew that you were my soul mate.

If only I had been your Cathy, you wouldn’t be remembered today as an abusive brute.

You’d be known as the hero with the rebellious heart who sought his fortune with the woman he loved by his side.

But who knows?

Maybe your heart got a second chance?

Maybe a bit of your wildness was reborn in the man I love today?

And maybe a part of Cathy lives on in me – her impetuousness, her ambition, her passion.

So Happy Valentine’s Day, Heathcliff. And Happy Valentine’s Day to my real-life husband, Gary.

I will always see a bit of each of you in the other.

Love,

Julie

~~~

Draco Malfoy,

I don’t care what canon says about you. You are not pointy-faced. You are a hunky Slytherin sex god with brains and snark. And though some might say you’re cowardly and two-faced, to that I reply with LALALALALALALALALALALALALALALA.

Do me.

Yours, Biljana

~~~

Dear Ender Wiggins,

No, this is not a true valentine because Hello, you’re like nine years old by the end of the book and with the age difference, that’s just really icky. Plus, by the end of the book, you’ve SPOILER, SPOILER, and SPOILER…so I kinda don’t think you would make the best dinner date, anyway.

But if I could, I’d whisk you away somewhere in the middle of the book, just when everything’s going to hell and your life, if I can be honest, really, really sucks. Maybe if someone had taken you out of Battle School and sent you somewhere nice with a chocolate fountain and some singing valentines, SPOILER wouldn’t have happened at the end.

Which, considering the sequels, would probably have saved the world a whole lot of grief.

Love and Chocolate,

Kat

~~~

Dear Tobias,

Is it okay to write Valentines to your own characters? I worked with you for so long in fan fiction I feel like you’re my own creation. And, of course, you were the inspiration behind my male MC, so I’ve essentially been talking with you for… 8 years now. Don’t you think it’s about time we put aside these pretensions and explore this thing between us?

I know you’re still in mourning for your one true love, and you’re probably worried about how this would affect our working relationship, but seriously, who else is going to be okay with having a bird for a boyfriend? Let’s go out for a rodent sometime. I’m an adventurous eater 😉

Please be my Valentine?

Love forever. And ever.

Savannah

~~~

My darling George Cooper,

How do I begin? You’re tall, dark, and (if you ask me) roguishly handsome. In fact, you’re the most charming Rogue I know. You stole my heart long before you even realized that a certain cross-dressing girl had stolen yours – which, for the record, was a feeling that she didn’t reciprocate for a LONG time. I would never make you wait 8 years to get a piece of this. I would never take pansy Jonathon or big-guy Liam Ironarm as lovers, either – your finely tuned body is all I need. I wouldn’t have been too afraid to offer myself to you completely.

Believe me, I would have fallen into those strong arms of yours, instead of choosing Jonathan the “Prince”.

You may be considered a “commoner”, but in my eyes, you’re the only Prince there is.

I’ll be keeping my window open for you. Feel free to climb in anytime.

Yours forever,

Vanessa

~~~

Dear Mr. Darcy,

I’d like a tour of Pemberly’s grounds, if you know what I mean. Call me. No, seriously, call me.

Dear Mr. Tilney,

I’d love to go for a drive in your curricle, wink wink. Call on me whenever you’re free. ❤

Dear Commander Vimes,

You’re a grumpy old man and that’s awesome.

Hearts and cigars

Jenn

~~~

Dear Finnick,

Let’s be honest: we all know you’re the hottest victor to ever grace the arena. And the most badass. You could skewer me with that giant trident of yours any day. But I think you already know all of that. And that’s part of why I love you.

I’ll admit, there were others before you–Gale (I got over that SO fast, don’t worry), Peeta (can you blame me?)…but from the second I learned the truth about your horrible past, I’ve been totally and completely yours. Let’s ignore what happens at the end of MOCKINGJAY, okay? Because we know that’s just a mistake that can ultimately be blamed on your psycho wife, Annie.

Speaking of Annie…WHY? Seriously. WHY? You could do so much better. Like…me. Yeah, we’d pretty much be perfect together.

So, when you want someone to come rub oil on your sexy, rippling muscles, give me a call. I left my number on your nightstand. And carved it into the headboard of your bed. Just in case.

Yours forever and ever,

Sarah

P.S. Please don’t take any trips to the sewers of the Capitol. Like, ever.

 

~~~

 

Dear Gilbert,

You’re kind of perfectly cheeky, smart and nice. Anne is great and all, but I would never crack a slate over your head. Even if you did call me carrots, which would frankly be pretty strange considering my hair’s black – but I’m more than willing to put up with this strangeness. And, you know, my hair could be red, if that’s your thing. Hair dye rocks, baby, and unlike Anne I’m competent enough to not dye mine green.

See you in Avonlea?

Love,
Vee

 

~~~

Who is your literary valentine?

62 Responses to “My Literary Valentine”

  1. Angela February 14, 2011 at 12:25 AM #

    This just brightened my day! I was feeling depressed after my Star Wars marathon, because none of the books in my bookshelf held any interest for me (how can I even compare them to the epicness of Star Wars?)

    Happy Valentines Day! XOXO

  2. Ellen February 14, 2011 at 12:52 AM #

    Dear Erik,

    Where to begin? I’ve loved you since high school, in spite of the fact that you were masquerading as a crazy pants opera ghost. Your voice, your dress, even the face you think is so hideous are all totally alluring. Why waste time on insecure opera singers when you can have me instead?

    So ditch the girl who exposes you in front of an entire audience full of gawkers and come sing to me through my mirror. I totally love musical men!

    Yours,

    Ellen

    • savannahjfoley February 14, 2011 at 12:00 PM #

      Ah, Erik. That’s a good one.

    • Cheyenne February 14, 2011 at 1:12 PM #

      I was totally in love with Erik from age 12-18! I still read Susan Kay’s Phantom while listening to Michael Crawford and just drool for hours on end.

  3. Sammi K Walker February 14, 2011 at 12:58 AM #

    Dear Chaol,

    I’ve missed you, and 2012 seems so very far away. You have all of these amazing qualities… Buff, a strong career, loyalty, and buff- oh, did I already mention that one? Well, you’ve also god a good personality. Really, you’re good down to the core. I love that. Just like I ❤ you!

    Invite me to the winter ball?

    -Sammi W

    • Sarah J. Maas February 14, 2011 at 1:07 AM #

      lol, Sammi…this just made my LIFE.

      And I am SO glad you wrote a valentine to Chaol, because I reallly wanted to write one to him (and Dorian), but it seemed kinda wrong to write love letters to my own characters.

      Thank you for this!!!!!

      ❤ ❤ ❤

    • savannahjfoley February 14, 2011 at 12:00 PM #

      Chaol is pretty frickin hot.

      • Vanessa Di Gregorio February 14, 2011 at 1:15 PM #

        That he IS! ❤

        • Sarah J. Maas February 14, 2011 at 3:20 PM #

          Hahahaha I ❤ you guys so hardcore.

          • Sammi K Walker February 19, 2011 at 2:09 AM #

            To be honest, the only guy in QOG I didn’t envision as hot was the King. Every other guy? H.O.T. (was it just me?)

  4. Sammy Bina February 14, 2011 at 1:34 AM #

    Sarah, come on now. We all know Peeta trumps Finnick.

    • Aurora Blackguard February 14, 2011 at 8:40 AM #

      No, Sammy, no he doesn’t! He does not and he never will. Peeta has nuts on Finnick

      • Sammy Bina February 14, 2011 at 2:31 PM #

        Good thing I like nuts!

        • Aurora Blackguard February 15, 2011 at 5:47 AM #

          Sammy, you need to come to terms that Finnick just totally kicks Peeta’s butt. In every way XD

    • Vanessa Di Gregorio February 14, 2011 at 11:38 AM #

      Sammy, I’m totally on your side. Peeta 4 life! Ahahaha

      • Sammy Bina February 14, 2011 at 2:32 PM #

        We should start a fan club, V.

    • Sarah J. Maas February 14, 2011 at 3:21 PM #

      I’m not going to get into a Peeta vs. Finnick debate with you! (if only because I haven’t had enough coffee yet)

    • Caitlin February 14, 2011 at 10:19 PM #

      I’m with you too Sammy, I also love your “Check Yes or no”. Unfortunately his devotion to Katniss is a big part of why I love him, ARGH!!!

      • Sammy Bina February 15, 2011 at 1:51 AM #

        Another Peeta fan! Yes!

    • sparklinga February 14, 2011 at 10:50 PM #

      Must we choose? Can’t we just have both? This IS all in our heads, after all 😀

  5. Aurora Blackguard February 14, 2011 at 8:43 AM #

    Dear Andevai,

    You are a sexy hot mess of magic. I know you are only cold and aloof because you think that’s the only way to attract ladies (whether or not you will be killed by the other cold mages is irrelevant anyway) and you are right. I need you RIGHT here to cool me down.

    I know you think that Cat is the other half of your soul. It’s okay. I will totally pay for your brainwash treatment. I will be waiting for you on the other side of the spirit world.

    Many loves and frosty kisses
    Aurora.

  6. Olga February 14, 2011 at 11:55 AM #

    Dear Jack,

    You could do so much better than that nail-biting nervous wreck you chose to love. Namely, you could do me. A man who sings, drinks, and knows all the right French words (the dirty ones)? SOLD. Where do I sign?

    Love,
    Olga

  7. savannahjfoley February 14, 2011 at 12:11 PM #

    I would like to change my Valentine to Hannibal Lector.

  8. Cheyenne February 14, 2011 at 12:24 PM #

    These are all fantastic Valentines! You guys are awesome, totally made me smile. I’ve crafted my own personal literary Valentine below.

    Dear Sirius Black,

    Setting aside the fact that you died too early in the series (when, really, you’re the best character and even Daniel Radcliffe says so, and he should know, right?), I want you as my Valentine, now and forever (but only if you’re played by Gary Oldman). You’re the epitome of sexy wizardness and you aren’t afraid to show your emotions. The way you defended your best friend’s son as though he were your very own blood is the most attractive and admirable thing anyone in the world of Harry Potter has ever done, and your slightly rebellious side is of course a massive turn on.

    Despite my unfortunate penchant for bad boys, I still want you as my Valentine. At least you’re on the good side, even if you are a bit too reckless (if you’d been protecting ME, I would’ve jumped on top of you before Bellatrix could get anywhere near you… but I imagine it wouldn’t have been the right place or time for such festivities…). If you’re too busy this year, could you at least hook me up with your pal Lupin?

    Be mine ❤

    Cheyenne

    p.s.

    Dear Tom Bombadil,

    Send me some poetry about your bright blue jacket and yellow boots, baby.

    • Kat Zhang February 14, 2011 at 12:53 PM #

      LOL. I’ve got a friend or two who would agree with you 100% 😛

    • Vanessa Di Gregorio February 14, 2011 at 1:28 PM #

      Sirius Black is perfect. I love that man!

  9. Kerrie February 14, 2011 at 12:58 PM #

    Dearest Darlingest Howl,

    While we know it’s true you don’t really eat girls’ hearts, I just thought I’d let you know that mine is available upon request.

    Yours affectionately.

    • sdennard February 14, 2011 at 2:50 PM #

      OMGosh, that’s AWESOME! And how could I forget Howl!? He’s definitely one of my favorites!!! Le sigh…

      Maybe I can have an entourage: Howl and Han. 😉

    • Kat Zhang February 14, 2011 at 3:08 PM #

      Hahahaha!! I love Howl, too ;D

    • Sarah J. Maas February 14, 2011 at 3:22 PM #

      YES!!!!! Howl!!!! How could I have forgotten Howl?! ❤ ❤ ❤

    • Biljana February 15, 2011 at 12:56 AM #

      CANNOT believe I forgot Howl arghhhh!

    • Vanessa Di Gregorio February 15, 2011 at 10:54 AM #

      HOWL!!!!! ❤

  10. Dawn Brazil February 14, 2011 at 1:08 PM #

    I totally love Peeta. Oh, and Whit from Witch and Wizard. This was so fun to read.

  11. Elizabeth February 14, 2011 at 1:53 PM #

    Dear Fred Weasley,

    From the moment your flaming red hair was introduced at Kings Cross, I was smitten. And unlike your so-called loving mother, I can always tell you apart from George. I’ve always admired you pranks, especially the ones on Umbridge.

    You can sneak me out of Hogwarts for a butterbeer anytime. Just…try to avoid the underground tunnels when Voldemort attacks Hogwarts, k?

    With love and chocolate frogs,
    Elizabeth

    PS–Screw Angelina, pick me for the Yule Ball

    • Vanessa Di Gregorio February 15, 2011 at 10:53 AM #

      Is it wrong for me to want BOTH Fred and George? 😉

  12. Sammy Bina February 14, 2011 at 2:27 PM #

    OH! I forgot this one:

    Dearest St.Clair,
    You can French kiss me any time.

    Love,
    Sammy

    (For those of you who still haven’t checked out ANNA AND THE FRENCH KISS, now’s the perfect opportunity!)

  13. Rowenna February 14, 2011 at 3:39 PM #

    Vee! Agreed…almost. I was torn between Gilbert and…

    Oh, Walter Blythe–be still my soul. Tousled dark hair, hazel eyes, and a heart full of poetry. So what if some of the local gossip mongers call you a pansy–once they see you in that Lieutenant’s uniform, they’ll see what I saw all along–a strapping Canadian hottie. Write me poems from the front, and avoid the Piper. I get that the odd chick up the road likes you too, but well…I’m fiestier so when the influenza goes through I’ll probably make it and she hasn’t got such a great shot, right?

    Sigh. Rilla of Ingleside was my favorite Anne book–because Walter was the best Blythe.

    • Vee February 15, 2011 at 7:12 AM #

      Haha, what a great letter. Walter WAS quite dreamy. But I’d still pick Gil 😉

  14. tymcon February 14, 2011 at 4:56 PM #

    Dear Sabrial,

    You can put a spell on me any day.

    Dear Cersai,

    I wouldn’t last a week. Best week of my life though.

    Dear Katniss,

    You can bring home the bacon.

    XD

    • Ashley February 14, 2011 at 11:48 PM #

      LOL ;).

    • Julie Eshbaugh February 16, 2011 at 7:13 AM #

      Tim! I LOVE your one for Katniss! (and so true ;D)

  15. Mac_V February 14, 2011 at 8:48 PM #

    Dear Chaol,

    You have had my heart from the first day I read Queen of Glass. The thought of you makes me smile and that’s what love is supposed to do, isn’t it? You’re sweet and amazing, and even though Celaena doesn’t want to spend her life with you, I totally would. In a heartbeat. No one else can ever compare with you. Please sweep me away with your brooding looks and your giant sword. I’ll be waiting.

    Love forever and always,
    Meredith

    P.S. Bug Sarah and get her to post a QoG teaser with you in it. Thanks, Love!

    • Sarah J. Maas February 14, 2011 at 9:04 PM #

      LOL!!! Omg, I love you.

      ” …and even though Celaena doesn’t want to spend her life with you…” <–Wait until you read the new version before making statements like that!!!! Though I'm totally not saying anything more on THAT topic. 😉

      And hahaha, Chaol can totally sweep me away with his giant sword ANY DAY. ❤ ❤

      I'll see what I can do about a QOG teaser!!!!!!!!

      • Mac_V February 15, 2011 at 10:01 PM #

        You. Are. Such. A. Tease.

        *grumps*

  16. sparklinga February 14, 2011 at 9:06 PM #

    Dear Christopher,

    You are talk, sexy, and the Chrestomanci. Thus, I love you. Besides, your last name is Chant –How much more AWESOME can you get? So, come by my apartment anytime, any day, or now. Send me a text, e-mail, messenger pigeon, or smoke signal if you are interested. Thinking my name will also work.

    Yours now and yesterday,
    Sparks.

    P.S.: I threw all the silverware, no worries.

    • sparklinga February 14, 2011 at 9:58 PM #

      I’m gonna be a dork and reply to my own comment.

      Dear Finnick,

      Let’s ignore that scene in Mockingjay where you get eaten. Let’s have babies instead. I’ll be waiting –on my bed *wink wink*

      Loves,
      Sparks.

      lol

    • Vee February 14, 2011 at 10:40 PM #

      Omg, I love Christopher Chant! He’s so awesome. And that entire series of books is pretty freaking awesome, too 😀

  17. Jennifer February 14, 2011 at 11:37 PM #

    Dear Christopher,

    Everyone knows that evil is sexy. I live to dream, and I understand and appreciate a tortured soul. Unlike Boa, I would never run off with a man with so silly a surname as Hob. I don’t even mind giving up daylight hours to be with you, and I certainly will not try to get in the way of your quest to make nighttime eternal.

    Also, I’ve never been kissed, so we will be on equal footing in this awkward journey of love (and no, you don’t ever have to say that word if you don’t want to). Pledge your heart to me, and we can make Midnight the most banging place from now to the Hereafter.

    Just be sure to ditch your granny first.

    Most sincerely,
    Jennifer

  18. CA Marshall February 14, 2011 at 11:56 PM #

    Darcy and Tilney! *SWOON*

  19. Heather February 15, 2011 at 12:11 AM #

    Dear Will,

    Roses are red
    Violets are blue
    You’re the studliest man a woman could find
    And really…I don’t think Lyra would mind…

    😉

    • Vanessa Di Gregorio February 15, 2011 at 10:52 AM #

      AH!!! Oh, if Will Parry were legal, I’d totally go for him. (I mean, when we first meet him he’s 12, right?).

      Well, I can wait for him to grow into a man 😉

  20. Olga February 15, 2011 at 9:36 AM #

    I had to do a second one. Even though it’s not VD anymore.

    Dear Severus,

    Intelligence is any girl’s biggest requirements in a man. Turn on my mind, and you can have my body. No, really. Take it. Now.

    Love,
    Olga

  21. brandimziegler February 15, 2011 at 3:43 PM #

    Bahaha, these are awesome! I think I love Vanessa’s the best because I had a huge crush on George Cooper and I was so MAD at Alanna for picking Jonathan at first. Seriously, Alanna?!

    • Vanessa Di Gregorio February 16, 2011 at 11:15 AM #

      I KNOW! Alanna is CRAZY!

      I mean, Jonathan is okay, I suppose – but he ain’t no George Cooper! ❤ ❤

  22. Mac_V February 15, 2011 at 10:00 PM #

    I think we need to have a live chat about literary crushes. We all apparently have some serious crushes built up that I get the feeling we don’t talk about often.

    Anyone with me?

    • sparklinga February 15, 2011 at 10:36 PM #

      I agree! 😀 A live chat of this would be so awesome.

    • Kat Zhang February 16, 2011 at 2:13 AM #

      We haven’t had a live chat in a while, have we? Hmmm… ;D

  23. Leah Scrimshaw March 11, 2011 at 5:52 PM #

    I couldn’t resist writing my own on my blog, I hope you don’t mind: http://dancingtothethunder.blogspot.com/2011/03/be-my-valentine.html

    I did Alex of Tirragen (from the Song of the Lioness), because, let’s face it, he was the best thing that ever happened in the Tortal books and I’ve been living in denial since Lioness Rampant. Come on, people! He loved maths! How much more perfect could a knight be?

    Then there is Lorlen (from the Black Magician’s Trilogy), the sorely under-appreciated best friend who was so much more dream-worthy than Akkarin.

    And my final valentine’s was addressed to Dustfinger (from the Inkheart trilogy), because, whilst he may be quite a lot older than me, he made me sob whe I was reading those books. Any guy who makes me cry like that, must be worth spending time with…

    Ah, but there were s many more characters I could have done… Although I am very pleased to see the valentine’s letters to Chaol. He was my favourite character through and through when I read QOG, and if I wrote a letter to a character that wasn’t yet publiished/for sale, if would be him. I knew I would fall for him the very first time he turned up. *sigh*

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention My Literary Valentine « Let The Words Flow -- Topsy.com - February 14, 2011

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Kat Zhang, Let The Words Flow. Let The Words Flow said: Who is YOUR Literary Valentine? Here's a peek at ours: http://t.co/fmOuk4c #writing #books #valentinesday […]

Comments are closed.

