Friday Randomness

18 Feb

Soo… It’s that time again. (what time? No idea, really. I just couldn’t think of any other way to start this post.)

Kat here! Welcome to Friday Randomness. I really, really wish I could think of a word starting with the letter “F” that means “randomness,” because I am a big fan of alliteration, but no such luck 😦 Ah well.

Program for today: two books I want to read SO BAD and then “Who the LTWF girls would be if we lived in a steampunk world.”

The following books aren’t really “recommendations” per say, since I haven’t actually read either of them, but they’re definitely ones I want to read soon!

In no particular order:

DELIRIUM by Lauren Oliver

Before scientists found the cure, people thought love was a good thing. They didn’t understand that once love — the deliria — blooms in your blood, there is no escaping its hold. Things are different now. Scientists are able to eradicate love, and the governments demands that all citizens receive the cure upon turning eighteen. Lena Holoway has always looked forward to the day when she’ll be cured. A life without love is a life without pain: safe, measured, predictable, and happy.

But with ninety-five days left until her treatment, Lena does the unthinkable: She falls in love.

I’m in love with this concept. I love, love, love “what if” books like this. What if Love was a disease? What if it could be “cured”? I can’t wait to see how Oliver handles this.

ON THE JELLICOE ROAD by Melina Marchetta (just JELLICOE ROAD in the US)

My father took one hundred and thirty two minutes to die.

‘I counted.

‘It happened on the Jellicoe Road. The prettiest road I’d ever seen, where trees made breezy canopies like a tunnel to Shangri-La. We were going to the ocean, hundreds of kilometres away, because I wanted to see the ocean and my father said that it was about time the four of us made that journey. I remember asking, “What’s the difference between a trip and a journey?” and my father said, “Narnie, my love, when we get there, you’ll understand,” and that was the last thing he ever said.

‘We heard her almost straight away. In the other car, wedged into ours so deep that you couldn’t tell where one began and the other ended. She told us her name was Tate and then she squeezed through the glass and the steel and climbed over her own dead – just to be with Webb and me; to give us her hand so we could clutch it with all our might. And then a kid called Fitz came riding by on a stolen bike and saved our lives.

‘Someone asked us later, “Didn’t you wonder why no one came across you sooner?”

‘Did I wonder?

‘When you see your parents zipped up in black body bags on the Jellicoe Road like they’re some kind of garbage, don’t you know?

‘Wonder dies.’

I have a feeling this is going to be one of those books I devour and then spend the next week mourning my own prose, which will look like kindergarden babble next to the kind of writing in the book. Maybe that’s why I’ve put it off so long, hahaha. Soon, though. As soon as I have time, I am getting my paws on this.

And now…! Who the LTWF girls would be if we lived in a steampunk world? Susan put up a quiz on her blog recently, and a good number of us took it! Here are our results!

Kat: No-nonsense, Tough-as-nails Officer

Sarah: No-Nonsense, Tough-As-Nails Officer

Savannah: Downright Bonkers Scientist

Billy: Swashbuckling Airship Pirate

Susan: Inventive (and slightly befuddled) Tinkerer

Vanessa: Swashbuckling Airship Pirate

Jenn: Perfectly Polished Aristocrat

Vee: Swashbuckling Airship Pirate

Sammy: Swashbuckling Airship Pirate

Go take the quiz and let us know what you get!

33 Responses to “Friday Randomness”

  1. Ashley February 18, 2011 at 12:56 AM #

    Delirium’s concept is definitely intriguing. I will be checking it out, thanks for the recommendation!

    Have a super great weekend (and Friday), girls! 🙂

    • Kat Zhang February 18, 2011 at 1:00 PM #

      Thank you, Ashley! You too 😀

  2. Susan February 18, 2011 at 1:35 AM #

    Ooooh, I’m dying to read both of these… Of course, my TBR stack has now overflowed into several stacks of Enormous Reading Size, so we’ll see when I actually get around to it. 😉 Let us know if you love them!

    • Kat Zhang February 18, 2011 at 1:02 PM #

      Oh, man, same here. “Stack of Enormous Reading Size,” haha. Sounds very PRINCESS BRIDE!

  3. Sammy Bina February 18, 2011 at 3:21 AM #

    Both of those books are on my ‘To Buy’ list. Luckily, I’m hitting up B&N tomorrow! Hopefully I’ll manage to snag a copy of each and then some!

    (I should not be buying books when I haven’t even finished my TBR pile…)

  4. Vee February 18, 2011 at 7:30 AM #

    Oh my god, you guys should definitely read Jellicoe Road! I’m such a crazy fangirl for that book. It’s mind-numbingly gorgeous (but you have to stick with it, even if the beginning confuses you). Definitely one of my favourite books ever.

    (And yeah, Kat, I totally mourn my prose for a couple of weeks after I read Jellicoe Road) 🙂

    • Caitlin Vanasse February 18, 2011 at 2:02 PM #

      I totally agree Vee! I am basically obsessed with Melina Marchetta and waited years for [On the] Jellicoe Road to be published in the US. Luckily my University is nice enough to import her books for me, so I was able to read her two newest works before they were published state-side.

  5. Savannah J. Foley February 18, 2011 at 9:42 AM #

    Oh man, I’m the only Bonkers Scientist? And Susan, you’re the only Inventive Tinkerer! Haha!

    • Savannah J. Foley February 18, 2011 at 11:01 AM #

      Aww, and Jenn is the only Aristocrat! I think that’s unbelievably adorable.

    • Kat Zhang February 18, 2011 at 1:03 PM #

      Haha, yeah, you guys are special 😛 Meanwhile, Sarah and I will put together the troops and hunt Billy, Vee, Sammy, and Vanessa down!!

      • Sammy Bina February 18, 2011 at 5:32 PM #

        You really think you’d win? Foolish girl.

        • Kat Zhang February 18, 2011 at 5:34 PM #

          Dude. I have Sarah on my side. Winner of the hunger games? First to go cannibal??

          (I just have to make sure she doesn’t get hungry) 😛

          • Sammy Bina February 18, 2011 at 8:27 PM #

            I’m still confident that Billy, Vee, V and I can take you two down.

            Also, I was at B&N today. I had DELIRIUM in my hands! And then I set it down and picked up three other books. Fail. (But not really.)

            • Sarah J. Maas February 18, 2011 at 8:31 PM #

              Sammy, you know I will 1) hunt you down and 2) eat you for breakfast (literally). You guys don’t stand a chance.

  6. Patricia Beaudin February 18, 2011 at 11:47 AM #

    Okay, now I want to read Delirium. Been hearing people gush about it but no one really said what it was about. Now I know and I want it.

    • Kat Zhang February 18, 2011 at 1:03 PM #

      I know! Doesn’t it sound amazing?

  7. Henya February 18, 2011 at 12:30 PM #

    Two more books on my to buy list.
    Thanks.

    • Kat Zhang February 18, 2011 at 8:15 PM #

      You’re welcome 🙂

  8. priscillashay February 18, 2011 at 2:04 PM #

    Friday Flukes! (it was the only thing I could think of lol)

    I got the Polished Aristocrat, yay Jenn! 🙂

    BTW: @GalleyCat “Tomorrow 200 Borders stores in 35 states will launch liquidation sales w/ 20-40% discounts: http://mbist.ro/e9mDrU

    • Kat Zhang February 18, 2011 at 8:14 PM #

      Friday Flukes! Nice 😀

      Thanks for telling us about the discounts!

  9. Brandi February 18, 2011 at 8:19 PM #

    I’ve had both these books on my radar for a while too, Kat! I’m a huge Melina Marchetta fan and when JELLICOE ROAD was recommended on YA Highway I knew I had to read it. And I’ve been meaning to read Lauren Oliver. I got officer on Susan’s test which I expected since I was raised by an officer. Great post & quiz

    • Kat Zhang February 21, 2011 at 2:42 AM #

      Thanks!

  10. Rowenna February 19, 2011 at 1:20 PM #

    I’m a polished aristocrat…I think it’s mostly because I like the clothes! But think about how much room there is to smuggle stuff in a bustle. Right? Right.

    Happy weekend!

    • Kat Zhang February 21, 2011 at 2:42 AM #

      Haha, thank you 😀

  11. Kari T February 20, 2011 at 7:09 PM #

    Just found this site and I’m having a lot of fun reading through the articles. I”ll probably pass on the ‘Jellicoe Road’ as it seems like one of those “Oh-no-I-haven’t-used-a-metaphore-in-three-sentences” type of books. Delirium sounds more interesting. Thanks for sharing 🙂

    • Kat Zhang February 21, 2011 at 2:43 AM #

      Good to meet you, Kari! We hope you stick around 😀

    • Vanessa Di Gregorio February 22, 2011 at 4:25 PM #

      Hi Kari! Glad you’re enjoying our articles!

  12. Kristy February 20, 2011 at 10:03 PM #

    I think ‘Delirium’ sounds good! I’ll have to check that one out, see if I can get it on the Kindle! 🙂

    Ok Kat, I seriously can’t believe you didn’t think of the word ‘fortuitous’! So, you can totally have your alliteration in “Friday Fortuitousness!” 🙂 And bonus for us because these books were indeed a lucky perchance. 😉

    • Kat Zhang February 21, 2011 at 2:44 AM #

      Lol! Friday Fortuitousness will be the name of a future post ;P

  13. Susan February 21, 2011 at 10:55 AM #

    oooh, I’ve had Delirium on my to-read list for a bit now, but Jellicoe Road sounds wonderful! I’ll definitely be having to look into finding that now. Thanks!

    • Kat Zhang February 21, 2011 at 11:14 AM #

      You’re welcome! 🙂

Comments are closed.

