If You Like LTWF… Part 2

6 Mar

Hi all!

We are so absolutely amazed and thrilled with how much we’ve been able to accomplish with LTWF. This blog was originally created as a resource for other Fictionpress writers, and a place to showcase the successes of FP alumni. But in a little over a year, we’ve grown into a resource for all writers from all backgrounds and from all over the world; we’ve expanded into a place where we can share our love of books through our recommendations; a community full of writers beginning their path to publication, and authors who are already published; a blog with insider information from publishing professionals as well as writers; a site where writers can find critique partners, ask questions both serious and fun, and participate in live chats with other people who share a passion for writing. We hope that we’ve succeeded in making a place where people can connect, chill, learn, make friends, and have fun.

Along the way, we’ve picked up quite a few new readers. And we’ve added some new sections to our blog. For the readers who’ve been around for a long time, you might remember that last February we made an If You Like LTWF post, pointing out things that you might not have known about LTWF. But it’s been a year since then, so we thought now would be the perfect time to highlight aspects of this blog to readers both new and old (apologies if we repeat some of the stuff from part 1 – but if you’re new, we suggest you check it out as well).

Header Links

Writers: This is the page full of info on all of the contributors to LTWF, complete with snazzy pictures!

CPs: Our critique partner page was originally suggested to us by one of our readers, and we thought it was a brilliant idea. We were so excited to see it working – it’s a place where writers can find people to critique their work. It’s like a job board posting, but for CPs instead! If you’re looking for a critique partner, check out the postings listed – you never know, you might snag yourself a brilliant CP.

Reviews: We love books. And we’re pretty sure you do too (otherwise, you might want to reconsider being a writer :p)! Our reviews page lists all the books we’ve written recommendations for, alphabetical by the author’s last name. So if you’re looking for a good book to read, whether for inspiration or enjoyment, it’s the page to check out.

Live Chats: Every so often, we love to host live chats on different topics. This is where you can read transcripts of our past live chats, or suggest topics for future live chats you would like us to host.

QOTW: Every Friday (with a few exceptions here and there), we answer a Question of the Week. If you have a question you’d like us to try and answer, leave it on this page.

Sidebar

Book of the Month: Every month, we highlight a book we love as our Book of the Month.

Tag Field: If you’re looking for specific posts done by your fave contributor, or are looking for articles that talk about certain topics, this is the place to look. Just click on whatever topic/contributor you’re interested in, and every article tagged with that specific topic will come up.

What We’re Participating In: This year, we at LTWF have decided to participate in The Story Siren’s 2011 Debut Author Challenge.

Poll: While we love to add polls to our Saturday Grab Bags, we’ve also got a poll in our sidebar. Every so often we’ll change the poll;s question.

LTWF Specials:

Located in the sidebar as well, this section includes the following:

Query Week: So far, we’ve hosted Query Week twice – and they ended up being tremendously successful. Basically, we ask for our readers to submit queries to critique, and then post the queries (along with our critiques) up on the blog. Readers can then offer their own suggestions to improve the query. It’s a great way of understanding what makes a good query, and what needs to be considered when writing your own.

Glossary of Terms: Publishing is full of weird terms and confusing acronyms. So we’ve compiled a glossary to help you navigate this jargon-filled industry.

Worst Writing Week: We’ve showcased a lot of our highs on this blog, from finishing our MSS, to landing an agent, and to getting a book deal. But we also thought it would be best to highlight our lows as well, to prove that we started out really rough. (And you gotta admit – we were TERRIBLE when we first started to write. But hey, we all start somewhere!)

Other Specials:

Saturday Grab Bags: Every Saturday (with a few exceptions), we put together a grab bag full of pure awesomeness. From a mashup of great links for articles we’ve stumbled across, to writing quotes, cool bookish pictures, ‘what we’re reading’ lists of the books we’re currently devouring, ‘new this month’ sections where we highlight books that have been recently released, and randomly awesome notes from the Twittersphere, our Saturday Grab Bags are chock-full of great stuff. We encourage our readers to share any awesome links they might have found in the comments. You can check out all our Saturday Grab Bags by heading over to the Tag Cloud and clicking on “Saturday Grab Bag”.

~~~

So again, thank you to all our readers – both the silent ones and the verbal ones. Thank you for sharing your stories with us, and for accompanying us on our journeys. We couldn’t have done this without your support, and we hope we’re able to provide you with the best tips, inspirational bits, and book recommendations.

 

Advertisements

2 Responses to “If You Like LTWF… Part 2”

  1. Summer March 6, 2011 at 6:56 PM #

    On the current poll, can you add an option that we’re looking for a CP?

    • Vanessa Di Gregorio March 6, 2011 at 9:19 PM #

      Can’t believe I forgot that as an option! I’ll add that right now 😀

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: