A Fan Letter to YOU

8 Mar

by Savannah J. Foley

~~~

I’m a rock star.

You probably know my story already (because I’m always talking about it, *facepalm*), but let’s make it explicitly clear: Let The Words Flow is a blog whose contributors were previous FictionPress writers, and that includes me. I enjoyed a pretty successful life at FP, and retain some of my fans from that time to this day. I’ve received a decent amount of fan mail, and I gotta be honest, anonymous readers are the people who have said the nicest things to me, ever.

Getting fan mail is like it’s your birthday and you got that one present you’ve always, always wanted but never realistically thought you’d get. Your face instantly brightens into a huge grin, you get the urge to squee and jump up and down, and for an instant all your hard work is worth it, for real. Yes, you knew that the hours spent editing and tweaking and brainstorming meant something, but when you get a fan letter it’s like the universe took a moment to show up and say ‘I definitely agree.’ It’s complete and utter validation.

In short, it’s awesome.

I was very, very lucky to have the experience I did, and I know that not a lot of young writers have it. So, if you’ve never gotten a fan letter before, or if you haven’t had one in a couple years, today is your day.

I’m writing a fan letter to you.

I’m a stalker.

I know that LTWF has devoted readers who visit us every day. You guys read, comment thoughtfully, and engage us in discussions and, occasionally, fangirl-like squeeing. We really, really appreciate you guys.

And we stalk you.

Ha, you thought it would be the other way around, didn’t you? We’re the ones posting, we’re in ‘the public eye’ so to say, and so you’d think we’d be out living our fabulous lives, blogging generously, and not really paying much attention to those peons who comment on our articles, right? Or maybe that’s just how I think of everyone who runs a successful blog… Anyway, the truth is that we’re interested in you. We look you up. We visit your blogs, read your work, and, yes, talk about you. Probably me in particular.

I kind of have a reputation behind the scenes… I’m known as the Stalker. Curious about someone? Bam, I can hand over their blog, second blog, Facebook, Twitter, myspace, FP account, etc. Yeah it’s mostly googling and a little basic detective work, but you get the point. I’m curious. I’m a voyeur. I’m a writer.

So, I can safely say that I know you. A little, anyway. I know about your struggles in school, your worries about editing, about never writing again, about being a fraud, your family trouble, your stress about finals, your stress about picking colleges, your stress about finding a job, your worry that being a writer is so hard and takes so long and you’re going to be poor and anonymous and your stupid characters won’t just tell you what they want, etc.

I know. I’ve been there. I know how hard it is to get it done, and how insecure you feel after. I know what it’s like to struggle silently, unable to really talk about your work with family or friends because they just won’t get it. It’s why you hang out here.

Yes, I know you. And I think you deserve a fan letter of your very own. So here it is, an amalgam of my responses to the stuff I’ve seen on your blogs, your Twitters, and your FictionPress account.

You’re a rock star.

Dear Writer,

I hope you don’t think I’m a total stalker [though I kind of just admitted to you above that I am], but I just wanted to say that I’ve seen you around online, and the other day I happened across your blog where you had a sample chapter of your current novel posted. And I loved it. I couldn’t help writing you to tell you about it.

Seriously, you are SO talented! I kind of had my mouth open in shock that someone so young could have such a powerful grasp on what makes a great story. I was so upset when I got to the end of your sample because I wanted to read MORE right then! I can’t wait until this gets published and I can have a copy of my own.

Honestly, I think I stumbled across your work a few years ago, and I hope you don’t take this the wrong way, but you have improved so much in the past few years. If you ever think your writing is crap, just remember how far you’ve come, and that you’ll only continue to develop. I could really tell you’ve been working hard at getting better at your craft; it shines through in the realistic way your characters interact, and how strong their voices are. I couldn’t stop thinking about your MC after I was done -I was still thinking about them the next day!

I also saw on your blog that you’re going through some tough times, trying to make some big decisions that might have an effect on your writing life. I don’t know you personally, and of course you’ll make the right choice for you, but I just wanted to say that you should definitely not give up on writing, ever. Even if you have to go to school and work at the same time, it’s clear that your heart is in writing, and I know you’ll find a way to make it work someday. You have to. You’re obviously meant to do this.

Just wanted to let you know that I’m cheering for you, and I’ll be first in line when you get a book deal 🙂

Never give up!

Love,

Savannah

~~~

Seriously, if there’s something you’ve been meaning to say to a writer or blogger, professional or not, just say it. If they’re in a slump you will instantly kick them out of it, if they’re having a bad day you will instantly brighten it, and if they’ve been doubting themselves you will instantly cure them. And then they’ll make more of the stuff you like to read. 😛

~~~

Savannah J. Foley is the author of the Nameless (originally known as Woman’s World) series on Fictionpress and is signed with the Bradford Literary Agency. Nameless  is currently out on submissions. Her website is www.savannahjfoley.com, but she updates more frequently on her livejournal. You can read an excerpt from Nameless here.

51 Responses to “A Fan Letter to YOU”

  1. Steph March 8, 2011 at 12:05 AM #

    Dude, and I thought I was a creeper. =P

    (No. Seriously. I totally have a reputation amongst my friends for being a total creeper. Mostly when it comes to guys.)

    Anyway. I loved this post. And it totally made my day better. So thank you =)

  2. Tabitha March 8, 2011 at 12:16 AM #

    What a great blog. I could tell it was very heart felt.

    • savannahjfoley March 8, 2011 at 12:38 AM #

      Aww, thank you. It really was.

  3. Ashley March 8, 2011 at 12:26 AM #

    I’ve got something in my eye… don’t cry Ashley, don’t cry… I’ve always wanted to be a rock-star :)… oh crap, there goes the tears… *Looks around for a handkerchief*

  4. Vanessa Di Gregorio March 8, 2011 at 12:35 AM #

    LOL Sav, I about DIED of laughter when I read the “I’m a stalker” line! (And it’s so true, you really are :p)

    This post even made ME feel a little stirring inside my chest! No, really. This was a wonderful post. I was never successful myself on FP (I got some fanmail over my Fanfiction though, haha :p), so I gotta admit, this made me feel good. If I can be as rock star awesome as you one day, I’ll be happy 🙂

    • savannahjfoley March 8, 2011 at 12:40 AM #

      I know, it’s ridiculously true. Almost to the point of embarrassment.

      And you know you’re like 10 times the rockstar I am. If my nickname is the Stalker in the group, yours is the Rockstar (seriously, have you not noticed us calling you that?)

      …we also call Mandy a Rockstar too. So I guess you both have identical nicknames. 😛

      • Vanessa Di Gregorio March 8, 2011 at 11:08 AM #

        Mandy is our resident Rockstar. We’re going to have to figure out another nickname for me (cause, you know, rockstars don’t SHARE nicknames :p)

  5. Kat Zhang March 8, 2011 at 12:49 AM #

    “I kind of have a reputation behind the scenes… I’m known as the Stalker.”

    Hahahahahaha!! Just so you know, I just read that part aloud to Sammy and Billy on Skype, and we all laughed so hard 😛 ❤ ❤

    I'll never forget the thread you guys had on me when I first applied…Nope, I'm not the girl with the green wig, sorry! 😛

    • savannahjfoley March 8, 2011 at 9:23 AM #

      Haha I forgot you guys were on Skype. Hope you had fun!

      And for the record, it was a yellow wig, lol.

      • Kat Zhang March 8, 2011 at 5:23 PM #

        It looks green on my screen! 😛

  6. Nicole Zoltack March 8, 2011 at 3:13 AM #

    Aw, I really enjoyed this post. I’m a stalker, I’ll admit it. I don’t comment here as often as I would like but I read all the posts.

    • savannahjfoley March 8, 2011 at 9:24 AM #

      Well it’s great to meet you 🙂 Feel free to ghostread away!

  7. sparklinga March 8, 2011 at 3:50 AM #

    This was a really good post. Kind of exactly what I needed. And you are absolutely right, getting that ONE two-line comment, or that ONE little review saying how much somebody likes your writing really makes a difference. It’s like suddenly you are a better person, a better writer. You can do it now, because Readers out there think you can.

    🙂

    And, for the record, there were some parts on the fan letter that I was like,”Is she talking about ME?” lol

    Being the Stalker is totally the most interesting role. It’s like being a spy… but without the pay 😉

    • savannahjfoley March 8, 2011 at 9:26 AM #

      I view it as getting paid by information, lol. Glad you enjoyed it. 🙂

  8. Heather March 8, 2011 at 4:15 AM #

    Well, we’re all onto you now, Miss Savannah J. Foley, now we know your little secret…

    All joking aside, I really enjoyed and really appreciated this post. Affirmation is always a wonderful thing in any form, but there really is something special about receiving some comforting confirming words from a complete stranger. It makes the world smaller; it helps you feel less alone.

    I appreciate all of you here at LTWF. You’ve all inspired me to get back in the writer-ly trenches and get back to my dreams of being a published author. Thank you all for your hard work, and I hope for the best for you and your own dreams!

    • savannahjfoley March 8, 2011 at 10:23 AM #

      You’re right; there are some things you only believe from a stranger.

      We’re soooo glad that we’ve inspired you 🙂 That was the whole point!

  9. Bee March 8, 2011 at 6:53 AM #

    YOU are a rockstar. God, I love this post ginormously.

  10. Aurora Blackguard March 8, 2011 at 7:38 AM #

    You’re all rocksstars for sending this fanmail! (Note to self, move house, change identity and blog address in case Savannah decides stalking isn’t enough). YOU deserve it all and, (I was kidding above), I’d be happy for you to stalk me.

    I think.

    • savannahjfoley March 8, 2011 at 10:24 AM #

      Watch yourself; I’ll find you one day. 😉

  11. pinkwood March 8, 2011 at 8:15 AM #

    This is so true! There’s nothing like hearing that someone you’ve never met has been affected by something you wrote. It’s addictive. And like you, Savannah, I must admit I’m partial to the odd bit of stalking. It’s all perfectly healthy as far as I’m concerned. Ahem. I would say always reach out to someone if you think their work merits it. You never know where it will take you 🙂 x

    • savannahjfoley March 8, 2011 at 10:24 AM #

      Stalking is not only healthy, it’s /natural/ in this day and age. As long as you keep it online. Though I have been a creeper in real life, too…

  12. Rowenna March 8, 2011 at 9:41 AM #

    You’re the sweetest creeper ever! 🙂 Thanks for the pick me up on a cold, tired Tuesday.

  13. lbdiamond March 8, 2011 at 10:18 AM #

    This was really nice!

    Thanks!

  14. Caitlin March 8, 2011 at 11:07 AM #

    Aw, this was really sweet. And it definitely brightened up my morning. Thank you!! 🙂

  15. Zali Jun March 8, 2011 at 12:32 PM #

    I wish all creepers/stalkers were this effin’ awesome. I didn’t hit the word count yesterday that I was aiming for and felt absolutely awful. . .but this post definitely brightened up my day. Thanks for writing it! ❤

  16. Jennifer March 8, 2011 at 1:42 PM #

    Loved this post! I think stalking, to a point, is a common trait for writers. How else are we going to get juicy real-life info to use as character fodder?

    And I’m totally A Stalker, too. I’ve even found a few of your old high school blogs, Sav. Ha! Creepin’ right back at you! =P Actually, I’d be interested in what you found on me – my main accounts have different usernames and aren’t linked.

    Anway, I think it’s safe to say that Let The Words Flow, bloggers and authors and readers, are ALL rockstars.

    • savannahjfoley March 8, 2011 at 1:44 PM #

      O.O Oh god.

      • Vanessa Di Gregorio March 8, 2011 at 2:39 PM #

        Bahahaha best reaction ever Sav!

        (Jen, I want to see these high school blogs you’re talking about! :p)

        • Kat Zhang March 8, 2011 at 5:26 PM #

          Me three!! Good heavens. I’ve got stuff online from when I was like 12. Thankfully none of it was ever under my real name and is more or less untraceable…I hope!!

          • Jennifer March 8, 2011 at 7:48 PM #

            I’d feel rude giving them out without Savannah’s permission, so I’ll just say that one is on blogspot and has frequent mentions about an author of a fantasy series.

            • savannahjfoley March 8, 2011 at 8:27 PM #

              That’s a vicious lie… I ‘privated’ all those entries once I started querying, lol.

              • Jennifer March 8, 2011 at 8:52 PM #

                By mention I simply meant the name. I’m sure those other entries would have made for some entertaining reads.

                • savannahjfoley March 10, 2011 at 6:25 PM #

                  Sigh, they were. I felt like a celebrity gossip blogger; just spewing snark and antagonism.

            • Kat Zhang March 8, 2011 at 10:53 PM #

              I’m sure we can finagle the web address out of her >:D

              • Savannah J. Foley March 9, 2011 at 9:51 AM #

                I’m equally sure that you can’t. >.<

                • Vanessa Di Gregorio March 9, 2011 at 2:59 PM #

                  OH, it’s ON Sav! :p

                  • savannahjfoley March 10, 2011 at 6:26 PM #

                    Just so everyone knows, this ‘finagaling’ has utterly failed to take place. My secret is safe 😛

  17. henya March 8, 2011 at 4:13 PM #

    You mean I’m not the only one? Damn!!!!

    • Savannah J. Foley March 9, 2011 at 9:51 AM #

      Totally not. Stalkers are ‘in’ right now 😛

  18. A.Barone March 8, 2011 at 6:55 PM #

    Wow.

    I love this post. I don’t even mind the part about you being a creepy stalker, in fact in the context I find it rather endearing. ^_^ And I’ve got to say that there were moments where I (along with others) felt like you were writing just to me and I’ve just got to say that your post was just what I needed.

    Thank you.

    • Savannah J. Foley March 9, 2011 at 10:14 AM #

      Yay, I’ve graduated from creepy to endearing. I’m glad you enjoyed it.

  19. henya March 9, 2011 at 10:56 AM #

    You are funny!

  20. sparklinga April 3, 2011 at 8:56 PM #

    I totally just came back to this because it made me feel better about my life 🙂 Thanks… again lol

Comments are closed.

