Why We’re Not As Cool As You Originally Thought: Sarah J. Maas

15 Mar

So, I’m going to kick off our Why We’re Not As Cool As You Originally Thought series, where each LTWF member will post about what REALLY happens in their day-to-day life. I actually wrote this post for a similar series when I was in the Elevensies—and  also did something similar on my blog about what it’s really like to revise/rewrite a manuscript…

Anyway, keep your eyes peeled for other LTWF members’ posts! Next Wednesday, Sammy Bina will be posting about what her awesomely awesome life is REALLY like. Enjoy!

~

Why We’re Not As Cool As You Originally Thought:

Sarah J. Maas

I’m not going to pretend that my life is anything but average. In fact, I think that’s probably why I write epic fantasy. There definitely aren’t any dragons lurking around Los Angeles (though I hope I’m wrong!), and the closest I’ve ever come to meeting a Crown Prince is sitting next to Matt Damon in a restaurant (though he was really, really, distractingly hot).

So, while my heroine, Celaena, wakes up every morning in someplace that looks like this:

I wake up to this:

And while she’s keeping her assassinating skills at their prime by jogging for miles over terrain that looks like this:

I’m eating this:

And this:

Oh, and about three cups of this:

Once she’s gotten a workout and I’ve stuffed myself full of food and coffee, Celaena spends her days with some dudes who look a lot like this:

Whereas I spend my days with someone who looks like this:

Of course, we DO have some things in common. Like, we both spend our lunch hours doing this:

Or taking a few of these during the day:

But that’s about where the similarities end.

Because at night, she parties like it’s 1999 at one of these:


While I do this:

And while she’s fighting one of these in the dead of night:


I can be found doing this:


But at the end of the day, there’s nothing that either of us enjoys more than this:

~
Sarah J. Maas is the author of several novels, including QUEEN OF GLASS, a YA fantasy retelling of Cinderella that will be published by Bloomsbury in fall 2012. Sarah resides with her husband in Los Angeles. You can visit her blog here.

37 Responses to “Why We’re Not As Cool As You Originally Thought: Sarah J. Maas”

  1. Mac_V March 15, 2011 at 12:32 AM #

    *GASP* FAIL SARAH, FAIL!!

    Other than that (which I am going to ignore and pretend you DON’T watch… now) Your dog is an adorable cuddle-bug.

    Mac 🙂

    P.S. Your life is still awesome.
    P.P.S. Did the aliens in Battle L.A. actually destroy YOUR neighborhood? Like, you could see your house? Or just general area. Either way–awesome.
    P.P.P.S. (I will never see that movie because the PREVIEW scares me so don't feel bad if you give something away…)

    • Sarah J. Maas March 15, 2011 at 12:37 AM #

      lol, Jersey Shore is SOOO good!!! In a horrible, mind-numbing way! How can you NOT enjoy trashy people making asses out of themselves? 😉

      Re: Battle LA…YES! They didn’t show my house/specific address, but all the streets they named are around the block from my house. And the whole area they destroyed is my exact neighborhood. I pretty much learned that I will die a horrible, horrible death when the apocalypse happens.

  2. Deb March 15, 2011 at 1:23 AM #

    Yeah…..you’re still cool, lol!

    Love the last picture and your little dude? He’s a cutie. Thanks for the fun post, I’m looking forward to your book coming out in 2012!

  3. Steph March 15, 2011 at 1:51 AM #

    I got so excited when I saw that you were reading Incarceron in that one picture. You have no idea.

    I was going to comment on your taste in television, until I realized that I just spent the past three hours watching The Bachelor. So I guess I can’t really judge.

    • Sarah J. Maas March 15, 2011 at 12:44 PM #

      lol, I freaking loved INCARCERON! I should probably read SAPPHIQUE at some point…I think I’ve been putting it off because it’s the last book, and I hate the idea of the series ending (unless she’s decided to do a third book…?).

      And LOL! The Bachelor is WAY worse than Jersey Shore!!! 😉

  4. Ashley March 15, 2011 at 2:56 AM #

    You still rock, Sarah! Oh, and I want your dog, just letting you know 😉

    • Sarah J. Maas March 15, 2011 at 12:45 PM #

      lol! She’s SUCH a handful–major, major diva. She’s pretty much ruining my life in the best way possible. 😛

  5. Sammi K Walker March 15, 2011 at 3:27 AM #

    I want your puppy. ❤

    • Sarah J. Maas March 15, 2011 at 12:46 PM #

      Hahahaha you can take her! I need some peace & quiet around here!!! It’s really hard to write with a 22-pound dog in your lap. 😛

  6. Bee March 15, 2011 at 5:20 AM #

    This is awesomeness. If I had a book like that, I’d def think my life was very, very cool.

    • Sarah J. Maas March 15, 2011 at 12:47 PM #

      lol, awww! Thanks!!! I guess it’s neat that I get to live vicariously through Celaena, right?

  7. Angela March 15, 2011 at 6:44 AM #

    You got to sit next to Matt Damon?! He`s one of my dream husbands. I`m so jealous. D:

    • Sarah J. Maas March 15, 2011 at 12:48 PM #

      Haha, yes! I rarely get starstruck, but when I saw him, I could barely focus on my meal! He was SO hot, and all I could think (for the hour we were at the restaurant) was: “MATT DAMON! MATT DAMON! MATT DAMON!!!!!!!!!!!!” It was absolutely ridiculous.

      • Vanessa Di Gregorio March 15, 2011 at 1:56 PM #

        My hubby has a serious crush on Matt Damon. I’m pretty sure he’ll be super jealous when I tell him that you saw him in a restaurant, ahaha!

  8. Casie March 15, 2011 at 7:35 AM #

    Wow. This is actually super interesting in a non-creepy sort of way.

    But seeing those pictures has me so completely stoked for your book! Cannot wait! ❤

    • Sarah J. Maas March 15, 2011 at 12:48 PM #

      Haha, I’m glad you liked it!!!

      And thanks so much for the support!! I am SOOOO excited for you guys to read it!!!

  9. Rowenna March 15, 2011 at 9:19 AM #

    LOL Love it! Hmmm…am inspired to do a side-by-side “historical me” / “normal me” day in the life of post!

    • Sarah J. Maas March 15, 2011 at 12:49 PM #

      Ooooh! That sounds SO awesome!!! Let me know when you write that post! 🙂

  10. kate March 15, 2011 at 10:15 AM #

    but isn’t it the life of the mind that makes someone super cool? that’s my story, and i’m sticking to it.

    • Sarah J. Maas March 15, 2011 at 12:52 PM #

      Hehe, I think that’s a great way to put it! I’m sticking with your story, too. 🙂

  11. Kat Zhang March 15, 2011 at 10:39 AM #

    Lol, Sarah! This is like the 3rd time I’ve seen this and the first time I’ve realized how many pictures of you include your puppy! (and I totally misspelled puppy a moment ago…)

    • Sarah J. Maas March 15, 2011 at 12:53 PM #

      lol, I think the point of this post is probably that my life has been overrun by my dog. 😛

  12. Vanessa Di Gregorio March 15, 2011 at 10:51 AM #

    Bahahaha! Sarah, we pretty much love to eat the same stuff. Carbivores unite! :p

    I loved this post 😀

    • Sarah J. Maas March 15, 2011 at 12:54 PM #

      “Carbivore”!!

      I love it! I usually say I’m a carboholic, but I like Carbivore way more!!!! *carbivore fist bump*

      ❤ ❤

      • Kat Zhang March 15, 2011 at 4:02 PM #

        Add me to the list! I’m literally living on carbs, frozen yogurt, fruit, and caffeine right now.

        • Sarah J. Maas March 15, 2011 at 4:11 PM #

          lol, we should do a post about our horrible writing diets.

  13. Darlene March 15, 2011 at 1:47 PM #

    This made me smile. Cute post!

  14. Elizabeth March 15, 2011 at 4:57 PM #

    Dude, I totally love your blue nail polish.

    And this post. I love when authors include pictures in their blog posts.

    • Sarah J. Maas March 15, 2011 at 5:21 PM #

      Thanks!! I’m kinda/definitely obsessed with that color!!! 🙂

  15. laradunning March 15, 2011 at 6:30 PM #

    What a fun blog post! Fantasy vs. real life….sometimes its hard to tell which one is beter and sometimes its not.

  16. B.E.T. March 15, 2011 at 8:47 PM #

    Is it bad I find this incredibly cool? (I mean Matt DAMON! that’s awesome!!!)

    No, really isn’t that why all of us write fantasy, seriously? (especially the dude part, though your dog is especially adorable!)

  17. Cheyenne March 16, 2011 at 5:36 PM #

    Absolutely LOVE this post. The photos are fantastic, and I can’t think of anything more awesome than writing fantasy so your life pretty much rocks as hard as it can I think!

    Thanks for sharing 😀

  18. Jamie March 17, 2011 at 7:32 PM #

    The book that your reading in your lunchtime picture is the same one I found a week ago in my local book store. I put it on my list of recommended reads. Is it any good?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Why We’re Not As Cool As You Originally Thought: Vanessa Di Gregorio « Let The Words Flow - May 26, 2011

    […] might recall that Sarah and Sammy kicked off the Why We’re Not As Cool As You Originally Thought series. Well, today I […]

  2. Savannah J. Foley » Blog Archive » A Day In the Life: Talia - July 16, 2011

    […] Sarah J. Maas started off a new series at LTWF called ‘Why We’re Not As Cool As You Originally  Thought’ where she shows her life in comparison to her characters. I’ll be taking my turn at sharing a […]

Comments are closed.

