Why We’re Not As Cool As You Originally Thought: Sammy Bina

29 Mar

Hey ladies and gents! I feel exceptionally lazy — I was going to do a vlog for this, but realized my room was far too messy to show you guys (and didn’t want/have time to clean it up). It literally looks like a tornado blew through it. And my camera is lost (and potentially destroyed), so you get this lovely post instead!

*Events are not exaggerated.

Wake Up Time:
When I should wake up: 9am
When I actually wake up: Between 10 and 11…  1 if I’m feeling special.

Breakfast:
What I should be eating: Cereal and milk, a glass of freshly squeezed orange juice, perfectly browned toast, and bacon. Because you always need bacon.
What I’m actually eating: Nothing. Or leftovers from the night before.

Shower:
Optimum time spent in shower: 8 minutes and 32 seconds
Actual time spent in shower: 15 minutes and 97 seconds

Time between shower and class:
What I should be doing: Homework. Definitely homework.
What I’m actually doing: Checking twitter, tumblr, facebook, and all the fashion blogs I follow. Then I watch a few installments of A Very Potter Musical, maybe catch up on the show(s) I missed the night before. I probably bake, too.

Lunch also occurs during this time. And I actually know how to cook, so one of my roommates and I (I have eight) make an elaborate lunch based on recipes we found on tastespotting (aka the best website in the entire world. Next to LTWF.) Dessert is always included.

Class:
Attending either: History of Fashion (Clothes Class), The Nude in 19th Century French Art (Art Class), or Women and Our Bodies (Vagina Class).

Work:
What I should be doing: Making coffee.
What I’m actually doing: Plotting how to write my phone number on someone’s cup, just like in the movies.

Time between work and bedtime:
What I should be doing: Homework. Definitely homework.
What I’m actually doing: Watching Law & Order: SVU or Hoarders marathons, reading (for fun), window shopping online, watching youtube videos with my roommates.

Bedtime:
When I should go to bed: Midnight
When I actually go to bed: 3am

So, as you can see, my life is pretty uneventful! Sometimes I manage to find time to write, and on Sundays I go out for brunch. Exciting, I know.

~~~

Sammy Bina is finishing up her last semester of college as a creative writing major. She’s currently revising her YA dystopian, SILENCE, and is an intern for the Elaine P. English Literary Agency. You can follow her blog, or find her on twitter.

11 Responses to “Why We’re Not As Cool As You Originally Thought: Sammy Bina”

  1. Cheyenne March 29, 2011 at 6:58 AM #

    Vagina Class – LOL! Thanks for sharing! Hahah…

    This makes me miss university immensely. I appreciated university so much more when I returned after about 8 years in ‘professional jobs’ where I had to wear heels and be at my desk from 9-5 and be respectable (I hate jobs like that!). This time I could return to waking up at 10:30, going for a run along the beach, reading for 3 hours, going to a lecture or working in the editing suites, and then staying up til 3 AM working on a research paper, and on one could stop me 🙂 That was the life.

    None of this looking for jobs to pay the rent stuff! Bah!

    • Sammy Bina March 29, 2011 at 2:19 PM #

      I can honestly say I won’t miss school one bit. Ever. I know everyone keeps telling me I will, but I highly doubt it :-p

      (You can say I told you so in a couple of years.)

  2. Vee March 29, 2011 at 7:52 AM #

    Omg. You know what’s so weird about this? How freakily similar our days are. Everything’s pretty similar, but what really hit me was the time between breakfast and class — I SO DO THAT. Right down to the baking thing sometimes, only I don’t have cool roomies to do it with.

    Everyone’s going to have deja vu when they read my post, lawl 🙂

    • Sammy Bina March 29, 2011 at 2:19 PM #

      You could come live with me and then we could bake between classes!

  3. Kat Zhang March 29, 2011 at 9:33 AM #

    Haha, I have morning classes, so there isn’t usually that much time between breakfast and first class. And I have no oven D: so no baking… But the 3AM sounds familiar ;]

    • Sammy Bina March 29, 2011 at 2:20 PM #

      Morning classes are dumb, Kat. You clearly need to jump on the evening class bandwagon.

      • Kat Zhang March 29, 2011 at 4:17 PM #

        Only if you come and bake with me!!

      • Vanessa Di Gregorio March 31, 2011 at 10:39 AM #

        I agree! It’s all about the evening classes.

  4. Susan March 31, 2011 at 4:18 PM #

    haha the time betweens sounded exactly like mine – it’s amazing how we all still manage to do well in our classes!

    And honestly? Your life makes you cooler.

  5. Kelly April 2, 2011 at 12:48 PM #

    If you like tastespotting, check out: http://foodgawker.com/

    It’s amazing!!!!!!!!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Why We’re Not As Cool As You Originally Thought: Vanessa Di Gregorio « Let The Words Flow - May 26, 2011

    […] might recall that Sarah and Sammy kicked off the Why We’re Not As Cool As You Originally Thought series. Well, today I thought […]

Comments are closed.

