QOTW: Favorite Books

29 Apr

This week’s question is from Chantal, who asks:

I’d like to hear what each LTWF girl would choose as top 5 best books they’ve read in the past year, minus the one’s that have already been mentioned in reviews.

We didn’t all manage to come up with five, but here are our favorites!

~~~

In no particular order:

TEXAS GOTHIC by Rosemary Clement-Moore (not out until this summer)

FIRELIGHT by Sophie Jordan

THE GRAVEYARD BOOK by Neil Gaiman

SOULLESS by Gail Carriger

ARCHANGEL by Sharon Shinn

~~~

11 Scandals to start to win a Duke’s heart (Sarah Maclean)

Revolution by Jennifer Donnelly

Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Septys

.

.

.

~~~

LIFE AS WE KNEW IT by Susan Beth Pfeffer

WORLD WAR Z by Max Brooks

TOMORROW, WHEN THE WAR BEGAN by John Marsden

THE GRAVEYARD BOOK by Neil Gaiman

BEFORE I FALL by Lauren Oliver.

~~~

THE BOOK THIEF by Marcus Zusak, THE CHEESE MONKEYS by Chip Kidd, JANE EYRE by Charlotte Bronte, THE ATONEMENT CHILD by Francine Rivers, WHEN YOU ARE ENGULFED IN FLAMES by David Sedaris

.

~~~

INCARCERON by Catherine Fisher

THE POISON DIARIES by Maryrose Wood

I AM THE MESSENGER by Marcus Zusak

FARENHEIT 451 by Ray Bradbury

PERSUASION by Jane Austen

.

.

~~~

Finnikin of the rock, Game of Thrones

.

.

.

.

~~~

A Hat Full of Sky, Terry Pratchett

In the Hand of the Goddess, Tamora Pierce

Night Watch, Terry Pratchett

.

.

.

~~~

Mine would be ON THE JELLICOE ROAD by Melina Marchetta, REVOLUTION by Jennifer Donnelly, LIKE MANDARIN by Kirsten Hubbard, FALL FOR ANYTHING by Courtney Summers and THE PAIN MERCHANTS by Janice Hardy.

.

.

~~~

I always recommend my faves, but there ARE a few I’ve read recently that I haven’t yet had time to write reviews for: THE SWEETNESS AT THE BOTTOM OF THE PIE by Alan Bradley and THE HUNDRED THOUSAND KINGDOMS by N.K. Jemisin

.

.

~~~

Oh, gah…this is always so hard!! Ummm…I adored THE SKY IS EVERYWHERE (yes, I did review it but I have to put it anyway!) I liked CEREUS BLOOMS AT NIGHT a lot (very beautiful language. Very not YA). To be honest, I haven’t done as much leisure reading as I would have liked this past year…Need to fix that! Ooh, yes THE BOOK THIEF. I second that one.

Man, I know I’m going to come back to this post tomorrow and rage about how I forgot like twenty books I loved. I always forget the books I’ve read when people ask this sort of thing 😦

~~~

Which books have been your favorites this past year?

11 Responses to “QOTW: Favorite Books”

  1. Julie Eshbaugh April 29, 2011 at 6:10 AM #

    Kat, I know how you feel! I actually went back to my Goodreads profile to help me remember what I’ve read. 😉 And I think Vanessa reviewed THE POISON DIARIES, but I threw it into my list anyway; I enjoyed it so much! 🙂

  2. Ashley April 29, 2011 at 7:04 AM #

    1. Game of Thrones
    2. Clash of Kings
    3. Fury of the Phoenix (By Cindy Pon)
    4. Warped (By Maurissa Guibord)
    5. Tiger’s Curse

    Happy Reading!

    • Sarah J. Maas April 29, 2011 at 1:54 PM #

      Oooh!!! I LOVED WARPED. I thought Will was so yummy!!!

      How was FURY OF THE PHOENIX? I really enjoyed SILVER PHOENIX, and can’t wait to read the sequel!

  3. Glaiza April 29, 2011 at 7:09 AM #

    *Adds more books to the TBR list 🙂 I adored Souless and I Am The Messenger.

    My favourties so far are: Eona by Alison Goodman (the most wonderful sequel ever), I Capture the Castle by Dodie Smith, The Magicians by Lev Grossman, Norwegian Wood by Haruki Murakami and Room by Emma Donoghue.

    • Vee April 29, 2011 at 11:03 AM #

      I LOVE I Capture the Castle. Definitely one of my favourite books. I read it when I was fifteen and it made such an impression 😀

  4. Heather April 29, 2011 at 9:25 AM #

    ROOM by Emma Donoghue and INVINCIBLE SUMMER by Hannah Moskowitz. I don’t think I’ve read any of the books you listed, so thanks for the recommendations! 🙂

    • Vee April 29, 2011 at 11:05 AM #

      I’m reading Invincible Summer and really loving it, at the moment! And ROOM is definitely on my TBR pile. Heard so many amazing things about it.

      I’m glad you got some potential reads from our recommendations 😀

    • Vanessa Di Gregorio May 2, 2011 at 10:40 AM #

      Wooo! So glad you also loved ROOM! 😀

  5. cgmason April 30, 2011 at 10:45 PM #

    oh yay! so many books for me to go out and grab, can’t wait!

  6. Audrey May 1, 2011 at 2:48 PM #

    I am very much loving the Markus Zusak and Melina marchetta mentions! 🙂 My favourites this year probably have to be Revolution, Anna and the French Kiss (ahhhh so adorable), Where She Went, and the upcoming Divergent! =D

    • Vanessa Di Gregorio May 2, 2011 at 10:41 AM #

      Melina Marchetta is AMAZING! I would’ve mentioned FINNIKIN OF THE ROCK, but I wrote a recommendation for it :p This was such a hard question for me to answer! (Good thing I’m lagging behind on the recommendations, otherwise I would’ve had nothing!)

Comments are closed.

