Saturday Grab Bag: Mashup

7 May

Mashup:

Here are some great links on writing, the industry, and all things book related. Some are serious, and some are just downright hilarious. We highly recommend you read them!

– An interesting article on the gender bias in Children’s books

– Want to find authors who are similar to some of your fave writers? Well, Literature Map has you covered! This awesome site lets you search an author, and will show you similar authors – and differentiates very similar authors to somewhat similar ones. Note: This may cause you to spend more money on books. You have been warned 🙂

~~~

~~~

Quotes:

Everybody walks past a thousand story ideas every day. The good writers are the ones who see five or six of them. Most people don’t see any.”

– Orson Scott Card

~~~

Happy Saturday everyone! Let us know what’s up in the comments!


8 Responses to “Saturday Grab Bag: Mashup”

  1. Julie Eshbaugh May 7, 2011 at 5:09 PM #

    I love that Orson Scott Card quote. So true!

  2. Juni Case May 7, 2011 at 7:31 PM #

    OH. MY. GOD. The Literature Map is so freakin’ awesome! I am so glad that I will be home this summer so I can fully utilize my city’s library. . .books for free! 😉

    And I really love the picture above. That is my dream world.

    Thanks for the links!

    • Vanessa Di Gregorio May 10, 2011 at 3:37 PM #

      YES! So glad you love it too! (Especially since I only put up two links this time around – I’ve been pretty busy lately, and barely have time).

      And as soon as I saw that picture on Tumblr, I KNEW I had to use it for a Sat Grab Bag!

  3. Victoria Dixon May 8, 2011 at 4:46 PM #

    Thanks so much for that lit map link! It will help me track down other authors for comparisons in queries and my agent search. ;D

  4. Caitlin Vanasse May 9, 2011 at 2:04 PM #

    Thanks for pointing us to the Literature Map. It was interesting to see how many of the similar authors I’d already found on my own. Now if only it worked for books too.

    • Vanessa Di Gregorio May 10, 2011 at 3:39 PM #

      I know, right? I was pleasantly surprised to see that a lot of authors I love pop up when searching one another. But it’s nice to know that there are MORE authors similar to my fave ones that I DIDN’T know about 😀

Comments are closed.

