Perspective and Wonder

18 May

by Kat Zhang

~~~

If you’re a visiter to my personal blog, you probably know that I left for Madrid, Spain yesterday and arrived this morning 🙂 Can’t say I’ve done much yet, but just walking around the city, it seems wonderful. And the weather’s fantastic. But you’ll have to go to my blog if you want travel posts; here on LTWF, it’s all about the writing and the story-telling (weeellll, not entirely true, lol). So what does my trip to Spain have to do with writing? Especially since I’ve barely gotten off the plane?

This: 

And this: 

And this: 

Yes, I have a bit of an obsession with photographing scenes outside plane windows. But it’s not just about looking at a pretty cloud or the way the sunrise looks from 4300 meters. It’s about a different perspective. It’s about wonder.

Perspective and wonder. Those are two very important things for a writer, I think–the ability to see something in many different ways, to look at something not just from your own perspective, but from someone else’s. To look at the cloud bank not as a 21st century girl who has been zipping around in planes since she was three, who should really be long jaded by the scene outside a plane window, but as a 14th century worker who can only dream of seeing what clouds look like from above, or as some nymph of the skies, who has seen nothing else her entire life–who sees this as home.

Well, I’m off to read my orientation packet and try to at least get a vague sense of the metro layout before I need to meet up with the other people tonight 🙂 I can’t wait to really explore the city: its museums, parks, shops, restaurants…

Perspective and wonder, right? :]

~~~

Kat Zhang is a Spoken Word poet and a Creative Writing major. She is represented by Emmanuelle Morgen and her book HYBRID–about a girl with two souls–recently sold to Harper Children’s. You can read more about her writing process and books at her blog.

8 Responses to “Perspective and Wonder”

  1. Kathryn Leigh May 18, 2011 at 1:34 PM #

    Question: Are there any videos of your spoken word poetry?

    • Kat Zhang May 18, 2011 at 1:45 PM #

      Not of me only…Our annual show is always recorded and is usually up online somewhere, but to be honest, sound quality usually isn’t the best ;P I’m honored you asked, though! Maybe I’ll just record something someday, lol

      • Kathryn Leigh May 18, 2011 at 4:38 PM #

        I’d love to watch you. 🙂 I’m quite smitten with spoken word… in a shy, secret-admirer sort of way. Maybe one day I’ll become brave enough to declare my love for the whole world to see.

        For now, I’m just encouraged that you’re smitten too.

      • Vanessa Di Gregorio May 25, 2011 at 9:14 AM #

        We’ve been saying this for AGES! Kat, you need to get videos of your spoken word poetry up on this site! (Who cares about the quality, so long as we can hear you!)

  2. Jules Wood May 18, 2011 at 8:50 PM #

    Perspective and wonder. Huh. I like that so much. Being able to see something both through yourself and beyond yourself, and being intrigued enough to look. It is indeed a talent, and one the best writers possess, I agree.

  3. Glaiza May 20, 2011 at 7:09 AM #

    I’ve always felt that perspective and wonder are what helped me anchor how I saw the world when I was growing up – no wonder they translate so well into writing and reading 🙂

  4. Vanessa Di Gregorio May 25, 2011 at 9:38 AM #

    When you say things like “perspective and wonder”, it’s wonderfully clear that you’re a poet, Kat!

    Seriously, I want that phrase to be taped above my desk while I write!

Comments are closed.

