Book Review: Bossypants

23 May

By Sammy Bina

~~~

I admit, I do not religiously watch 30 Rock. In fact, I’ve only seen two episodes in my entire life. And while I watch SNL on occasion, it’s a very rare occasion. I can, however, quote Mean Girls with the best of them (“You go, Glen Coco! Four for you, Glen Coco!”) and really respect Tina Fey. I think she’s incredibly smart, hilarious, gorgeous, and totally in charge of her life. When Bossypants came out, I was hesitant to pick up a copy because I don’t really follow 30 Rock, and thought a lot of the humor would go straight over my head.

Boy, was I wrong. In fact, if anything, I think I took away some very important lessons after reading this book.

Some things I’ve taken away with me:
– Make sure I know where the lifeboats are when/if I ever go on a cruise.
– My Sarah Palin impersonation could use some work.
– If you even remotely look like someone famous, use it to your advantage.
– I should’ve spent more time with theater kids after high school.
– Never hike up a mountain at night to impress a boy.
– Don’t provide my children with informational packets meant for adults.
– It will be a huge hassle to get Oprah to appear on my future Emmy-nominated reality show.
– I need to be in more professional photo shoots.

Bossypants is essentially a memoir detailing the (not-so) finer points of Tina Fey’s existence. It covers her awkward childhood, reminding me of some of my own mishaps. Of course she talks about her time with SNL and her current place at 30 Rock. But above that, it’s incredibly empowering. The feminist in me fist-pumped at many points throughout the book. Tina Fey sets a great example, not just for women, but for anyone (especially the awkward and average) trying to do something with their life. After I finished, I felt like I could go out there and do anything. Except maybe fly.

Tina Fey tells it like it is. She encourages people to be who they are and nothing less. If there’s one thing I took away from her book, it’s that.

Also, to have a box of Kleenex nearby. To wipe away the constant flow of tears caused by endless laughter.

~~~

Sammy Bina graduated with a degree in Creative Writing, and is an intern for the Elaine P. English literary agency. She is currently editing her YA dystopian, SILENCE. You can follow her blog or find her on twitter.

13 Responses to “Book Review: Bossypants”

  1. Ashley May 23, 2011 at 3:41 AM #

    LOVE 30 Rock!

    I too was hesitate to read this book, because I don’t really like biopics, but Tina Fey is awesome and this was the review I needed. Thanks Sammy!

    By the way congrats on graduating! Now fist pump to that! 🙂

    • Sammy Bina May 24, 2011 at 1:46 AM #

      I’m not one for non-fiction either, to be honest, though I’ve been reading more of it lately. This was definitely one of the funniest things I’ve ever read, fiction or not.

      And thank you!

  2. Savannah J. Foley May 23, 2011 at 8:23 AM #

    I picked this book up at the grocery store last Saturday and read it in one afternoon. It was definitely funny, but it was more odd to see how Tina Fey thinks of herself. Also, I never noticed her facial scar before!

    • Caitlin Vanasse May 24, 2011 at 12:00 AM #

      I didn’t either! My brother, best friend, and I discussed not noticing she had a facial scar last night.

    • Sammy Bina May 24, 2011 at 1:47 AM #

      I think that’s part of what makes it so interesting, the way she talks about herself. I love that she’s so self-deprecating and still loves herself despite it. Tina Fey’s kind of my hero now.

  3. Meredith May 23, 2011 at 10:18 AM #

    Yes! I loved this book. I was hesitant to read it at first too because I don’t watch 30 Rock either and I’ve never been big on celebrity books either. But I am so glad I bought it. Hilarious! The prayer for her daughter was definitely my favorite part. 😀

    • Sammy Bina May 24, 2011 at 1:48 AM #

      That part was awesome, I agree. But my favorite part was the honeymoon bit. Or the nighttime hike to impress that boy. I literally had tears in my eyes from laughing so hard.

  4. LR May 23, 2011 at 10:30 AM #

    I loved this book and I loved your review! Those are all very valuable things to take from this book! LOL I was cracking up on the bus while reading this book! She’s so fetch 🙂

    • Sammy Bina May 24, 2011 at 1:48 AM #

      She totally is. I can only hope to be as fetch one day.

  5. laradunning May 23, 2011 at 6:09 PM #

    Sounds like a good book. I don’t watch 30 Rock ritually, but do like it when I do. Of course, Tina, rocked on SNL. Her and Jimmy were the best.

    • Sammy Bina May 24, 2011 at 1:49 AM #

      I loved the Sarah Palin skits. She’s just so. freaking. good. at it.

  6. Caitlin Vanasse May 24, 2011 at 12:03 AM #

    Sammy, I’m glad to hear the humor is good even for people who don’t watch 30 Rock. (You should consider watching though, it’s pretty awesome.) I got this book as a graduation gift, smuggled my kindle into the ceremony and read the first 30% while everyone was walking the stage. I loved it, but I also love Tina Fey and her 30 Rock character Liz Lemon and found myself reading the book in that light so it’s nice to know I can recommend it to my friends pretty equally across the board.

    • Sammy Bina May 24, 2011 at 1:50 AM #

      I love that you were reading. I was tweeting from my phone while making disparaging comments about other graduates’ footwear. I kept waiting for someone to trip during the ceremony, and was rewarded when a girl in 5 inch stilettos tripped on her way across the stage. This is why I wore flats.

Comments are closed.

